Order PSICC-2021-22

FOREST ORDER
USDA FOREST SERVICE
PIKE AND SAN ISABEL NATIONAL FORESTS
CIMARRON AND COMANCHE NATIONAL GRASSLANDS
SAN CARLOS RANGER DISTRICT

Occupancy and Use Regulations
Greenhorn Mountain Wilderness

Pursuant to 16 United States Code (U.S.C.) § 551, and 36 Code of Federal Regulations
(C.F.R.) § 261.50(a) and (b), the following acts are prohibited on National Forest System lands
within the Greenhorn Mountain Wilderness which is located on the San Carlos Ranger District,
Pike and San Isabel National Forests, Cimarron and Comanche National Grasslands, in
Pueblo, Custer, and Huerfano Counties, State of Colorado (the “Restricted Area”) and all trails
located within the Restricted Area (the “Restricted Roads and Trails”). The Restricted Area
and Trails are depicted on the attached map hereby incorporated into this order as Exhibit A.

This Order is necessary for the protection of natural resources.

PROHIBITIONS:

1. Entering or being in the Restricted Area with a group of more than 15 people, or with a
group of people and livestock consisting of a combined total of more than 25. 36 C.F.R. §
261.58(f)

2. Camping within one hundred (100) feet of any stream, except for sites specifically signed
and authorized for camping. 36 C.F.R. § 261.58(e)

3. Building, maintaining or using a campfire within on hundred (100) feet of any stream.

36 C.F.R. § 261.52(a)
4. Hitching, tethering, hobbling, or grazing any pack or saddle animal within one hundred

(100) feet of any stream. 36 C.F.R. § 261.58(aa)
5. Possessing a dog or other animal which is not under control. 36 C.F.R. § 261.58(s)
NOTE: the term “under control” is defined as the dog being leashed, and/or under direct
verbal control of the dog’s handler at all times.
6. Shortcutting a switchback in a trail. 36 C.F.R. § 261.55(e)
7. Possessing or using a wagon, cart, or other vehicle, except persons with wheelchairs as a
necessary medical appliance. 36 C.F.R. § 261.57(h)

EXEMPTIONS:

Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. § 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this Order:

1. Any Federal, State or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or firefighting force,
in the performance of an official duty.
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2. Persons with a USDA Forest Service permit specifically authorizing the otherwise
prohibited act or omission.

This order rescinds, replaces, and supersedes Order 2020-15, dated March 19, 2020.

This Order shall become effective on the date of signature, and remains in effect until
rescinded, or for three (3) years, whichever event occurs first.

Done at Pueblo, Colorado.

DIANA _Il?'isjli‘tg:lﬂsoigned by DIANA

TRUJILLO  S53eiy”

Diana M. Trujillo

Forest and Grassland Supervisor

Pike and San Isabel National Forests
Cimarron and Comanche National Grasslands

Violation of these prohibitions is punishable as a Class B misdemeanor by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an
individual or $10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or both. (16 U.S.C. § 551 and
18 U.S.C. §§ 3559 and 3571).
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