
ORDER NO. 05-01 
 
 

CONDITIONS OF MOTOR VEHICLE USE 
MARK TWAIN NATIONAL FOREST 

 
 
Pursuant to the Secretary of Agriculture's Regulations 36 CFR 261.50 (a) and (b), the following 
acts or omissions are prohibited on the Mark Twain National Forest: 
 
1.  Operating a vehicle in violation of the speed, load, weight, height, length, width, or other 
limitations specified by the order.  For the purpose of this order, possessing or operating a 
motorized vehicle on any Forest Development Road in violation of Missouri State law.  (36 CFR 
261.54d) 
 
2.  Being on the road.  For the purpose of the order, those roads and former roads having a physical 
barrier such as a gate, berm of earth, trench, post, former/grown-up road, or other device or all 
roads posted closed.  (36 CFR 261.54e) 
 
3.  Being on a trail.  Using a motor vehicle on a forest development trail unless designated for that 
use.  (36 CFR 261.55a) 
 
4.  Operating a vehicle in violation of the width, weight, height, length, or other limitations 
specified.  For the purpose of this order, vehicles over 50 inches in width are prohibited on forest 
development trails.  (36 CFR 261.55d) 
 
5.  To possess or use a vehicle off forest development roads.  (36 CFR 261.56) 
 
6.  Use by any type of traffic or mode of transport prohibited by the order.  Prohibits the use or 
possession of bicycles or mountain bikes on trails designated for foot traffic only.  (36 CFR 
261.55c) 
 
Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50 (e) the following persons are exempt from this order: 
 
1.  Persons with a permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or omission. 
 
2.  Any Federal, State, or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or fire fighting force in 
performance of an official duty. 
 
Dated this    21th   day of   February   2005 at Rolla, Missouri. 
 
       /s/ Ronnie Raum 

RONNIE RAUM 
Forest Supervisor 
Mark Twain National Forest 

 
 
Violation of the prohibitions of this Order are punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000.00 for 
an individual or $10,000.00 for an organization or imprisonment for not more than six months or 
both under authority of 16 USC 551, 18 USC 3559, and 18 USC 3571. 


