
Wayne National Forest 
Rules for operating/riding Off-Highway Vehicles (OHV) 

 
The following trails rules apply to all Wayne National Forest OHV riding areas. 

 
1.   Trails are open for use from April 15th through December 15th each year. 

 
2.   OHVs are allowed only on designated trails marked with orange diamonds; cross-country 

travel is prohibited. 
 

3.   Cross streams only at designated bridge crossings…do not ride through streams or wetlands. 
 
4.   OHVs greater than 50 inches in width are prohibited on Wayne NF trails. 

 
5.   All riders, including passengers (16 years and older), must have a valid Wayne National 

Forest (Wayne NF) trail permit for use of the trails. These may be purchased from Wayne NF 
offices, local vendors, or online. 

 

6.   Any OHV operator 16 years of age or older must have a current valid state driver’s license in 
possession when riding.  Riders under 16 years of age must be accompanied by a rider 18 years 
or older who possesses a valid state driver’s license. (A learner’s permit is not considered a 
valid state driver’s license.) 

7. Any person 16 years of age and older who does not have a valid state driver’s license may 
purchase a Wayne National Forest trail permit and ride as a passenger only. 

 
8.   Ohio state registration is required of all off-road motorcycles and all-purpose vehicles (APV). 

Registration can be obtained at the Bureau of Motor Vehicles or from the Deputy Registrar. 
If you are from out-of-state, and your vehicle is registered in your home state, Ohio will 
grant reciprocity, otherwise, you must acquire a temporary APV sticker from these offices 
prior to riding on the Wayne NF. 

 
9.   All OHV riders are required to wear eye protection and a helmet that meets US Department of 

Transportation safety standards. 
 
10.  OHV operators and passengers are prohibited from possessing an alcoholic beverage, as 

defined by state law, at or within 100 feet of cleared edges of OHV trailheads. Possession is 
also prohibited within 100 feet of the centerline of the designated OHV trails, Company Road 
(FR 1985), Coe Road (FR 1980), FR 3602, Hanging Rock Road (FR 105), and Hanging Rock Spur 
Roads (FR 105 A, B, and C) as defined in the closure order maps posted on the website and at 
trailheads. 

 

11. Possessing a controlled substance in violation of state or federal law is prohibited. 
 
 
 

 
 



12. Possessing a device capable of assisting ingestion of a controlled substance into the human 
body by any of the following methods: smoking, inhaling, snorting, injecting, swallowing, 
dissolving, applying, or by any other means, in violation of state or federal law is 
prohibited. 

 
13. It is prohibited to operate any vehicle including OHVs: 

 

  In an unsafe manner. 
 

  When possessing or while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. 
 

  Without eye protection and a helmet that meets United States Department of 
Transportation safety standards. 

 
  In a manner which damages or unreasonably disturbs soil, wildlife, or vegetation. 

 
  Without an operable braking system; for night use, a brake light is required. 

 
  From 30 minutes after sunset to 30 minutes before sunrise, unless equipped with 

working head and taillights. 
 

  With internal combustion engines not equipped with a properly installed USDA Forest 
Service-approved spark arrester or exhaust system. 

 
  That emits a noise in excess of ninety-nine (99) decibels at twenty (20) inches from the 

exhaust outlet. 
 

  Carrying passengers in excess of the manufacturer’s recommendation. 
 

14. All campfires must be contained within a fire ring on or within 150 feet of any designated trail 
and developed parking area. 

 

15. It is prohibited to have a campfire within 150 feet of any oil/gas production and storage 
equipment. 

 

16. All campfires must be attended and be completely extinguished before leaving the area. 
 

17. Obey all State of Ohio open burning regulations. 
 

18. Follow all state laws for transporting firearms and for carrying concealed handguns in Ohio. 
 

19. Follow all state hunting, trapping, and fishing laws. 
 

20. An OHV may not be used for pursuing, capturing or killing animals or fowl. 


