Lassen Forest Order No. 06-13-03 (Fire Restrictions)

Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50(a) and (b), and to provide for public safety and protect natural resources, the following acts are prohibited within the Lassen National Forest. This Order is effective from July 15, 2013, through the declared end of the 2013 fire season.

  1. Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, campfire, or stove fire, except in the Thousand Lakes Wilderness and Designated Recreation Sites listed in Exhibit A. 36 CFR 261.52(a).
     
  2. Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or building, the Thousand Lakes Wilderness, the Designated Recreation Sites listed in Exhibit A, or while stopped in an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable material. 36 CFR 261.52(d).
     
  3. Welding, or operating acetylene or other torch with an open flame. 36 CFR 261.52(i).
     
  4. Using an explosive. 36 CFR 261.52(b).
     
  5. Operating an internal combustion engine, except for a motor vehicle, outside of the Designated Recreation Sites listed in Exhibit A. 36 CFR 261.52(h).
     
  6. Possessing or using a motor vehicle off National Forest System roads and trails, or outside of the Designated Recreation Sites listed in Exhibit A. For purposes of this prohibition, a wheelchair is not considered to be a motor vehicle. 36 CFR 261.56.


Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this Order.

  1. Persons with a permit from the Forest Service specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or omission. Persons with a valid California Campfire Permit or a valid Forest Service fuelwood permit are not exempt from the prohibitions listed above. However, persons with a valid California Campfire Permit may use a portable stove or lantern using gas, jellied petroleum, or pressurized liquid fuel.
     
  2. Any Federal, State, or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or fire fighting force in the performance of an official duty.
     
  3. Persons with a Special Use Permit from the Forest Service for a recreation residence on the Lassen National Forest are exempt from Prohibition Nos. 1, 2, 5, and 6, while they are at their recreation residence.
     
  4. Persons with a valid Forest Service fuelwood permit may use a chainsaw to cut fuelwood beginning at daylight through 1:00 pm, provided that the cutting is done in compliance with the terms and conditions of the permit.

These prohibitions are in addition to the general prohibitions found in 36 CFR Part 261, Subpart A.

A violation of these prohibitions is punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an individual or $10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both. 16 USC 551 and 18 USC 3559, 3571, and 3581.


Executed in Susanville, California this _11th____ day of __July________, 2013.

 
/s/ Jerry Bird
JERRY BIRD
Forest Supervisor
Lassen National Forest 
 

View / Download signed Forest Order, including Exhibit A