Buckhorn, Iron Mountains from Marmot Pass, Photo by Gregg M. Erickson.

Logo: Olympic Forest Wilderness 50th


In 2014 the US Forest Service celebrates the 50th Anniversary of the Wilderness Act! Join Alex Weinberg, Olympic National Forest Recreation Specialist, as he ponders the wild in our What is Wilderness? series. Find Wilderness 50th events in Washington.


The Wilderness Act designated five Wildernesses on Olympic National Forest: 

Rugged peaks and forested terrain within these protected areas, bordering Olympic National Park, are popular with hikers, backpackers, and mountain climbers. Please view the special Regulations associated with Wilderness areas and always use Leave No Trace techniques to help keep these areas wild, clean, and pristine.

Maps are available for these areas.

View Larger Map

Know Before You Go

Wilderness Travel Information

Know Before You Go!- Weed Free Feed requirement, Safety Information, and more.