Partnerships & Volunteering

 

Partnerships

logo of the US Forest Service logo of the US Forest Service logo of the National Park Service logo for California State Parks logo for the Pacific Crest Trail Association

Congress assigned the US Forest Service as the lead federal agency for managing the Pacific Crest Trail. The Forest Service partners with the Bureau of Land Management, National Park Service, California State Parks, and the Pacific Crest Trail Association, as well as numerous local and state governments to coordinate the management and operation of the trail. Jurisdiction for managing segments of the PCT has been divided among the federal land agencies according to where PCT sections are located.

Contact information for agencies managing sections of the PCT can be found here.

 

Volunteering and Getting Involved

Photo by L. Settlemeyer. Building trail in Oregon. Photo by Anitra Kass. Volunteers from Environmental Charter High School. Windigo Summit volunteers carrying a log

The Pacific Crest Trail Association (PCTA) is the Forest Service's major nonprofit partner in managing the trail. The PCTA's website provides a wealth of information for volunteering for the trail, planning a trip, checking on current trail conditions, or obtaining maps and other items. A PCTA representative can be reached at (916) 285-1846, or from contact information below:

 

Region Name
Geographic Boundaries
Staff
General Inquiries
PCTA Main Office
Front Desk
916-285-1846
Trail Information Specialist PCTA Main Office
Jack Haskel
jhaskel@pcta.org
916-285-1846
Volunteer Program Assistant PCTA Main Office
Merritt Hoeh
mhoeh@pcta.org
916-285-1838
Trail Operations Manager
PCTA Main Office
Jennifer Tripp
916-285-1846
Southern California
Mexico to Kennedy Meadows
Anitra Kass
akass@pcta.org
951-257-4100
Southern Sierra Region
Kennedy Meadows through Yosemite NP
Vacant, contact PCTA mainline 916-285-1846.
Northern Sierra Region
North Boundary of Yosemite NP through Lassen NF
Justin Kooyman
jkooyman@pcta.org
530-414-3422
Big Bend Region
Northern Boundary of Lassen NF to Windigo Pass
Ian Nelson
inelson@pcta.org
541-778-3252
Columbia Cascades Region
Windigo Pass to White Pass
Dana Berthold dberthold@pcta.org 541-844-9133
North Cascades Region
White Pass to Canada
Bob Woods
bwoods@pcta.org
206-999-0710