Secure Rural Schools and Community Self Determination Act and RAC's

Public Law 110-343 (also known as the Secure Rural Schools legislation) reauthorized payments to local counties and to the National Forests in 2008. It was reauthorized again through PL112-141.  Under this legislation, counties or the National Forest receive funding in several different titles. Title I funding goes to support roads and schools; Title II funding goes to support projects that benefit National Forests; and Title III is slated for projects that promote Firewise Communities and wildfire protection plans and to reimburse counties for emergency services on the National Forest.

For more information visit our Resource Advisory Committee webpage.