The Grand Mesa, Uncompahgre and Gunnison National Forests are located in the western center part of Colorado.
Where is this Forest?


About the Forest

The GMUG is comprised of three individual national forests that are administered as a single unit from the Forest Supervisor’s Office in Delta, CO. However, this was not always the case. The Grand Mesa and Uncompahgre were joined in 1954, and the Gunnison was added in 1973. The earliest segment of the Forests, dubbed the Battlement Mesa Forest Reserve, was established in 1892. More on the history of the GMUG.

Today, the three forests total 2.9 million acres span 4 geographic areas and are managed by 5 Ranger Districts. 

Approximately 3.4 million visitors experience recreation activities on the forests annually including downhill skiing, snowmobiling, hunting, hiking, cross-country skiing, fishing, backcountry camping, and off-highway vehicle use.

Nine counties are encompassed by the GMUG including Mesa, Delta, Montrose, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Ouray, San Miguel, Saguache and Garfield.

The GMUG National Forest is a great place to work, live, and play!

The Annual Reports provides specific information about forest facts, recreation, wildlife species of interest, water resources, range, timber management and more .....

Briefing updates provide brief information on current or on-going issues on the GMUG National Forest