State, Private & Community Forests

Northern Region (Region 1) and Intermountain Region (Region 4)


Within the US Forest Service, State and Private Forestry works directly with state agencies to provide financial and technical support for natural resource management across state, private, tribal, and federal lands. The states encompassed within the Forest Service's Region 1 are: Northern Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, and Region 4: Southern Idaho, Nevada, and Utah.  

Map of both Region 1 and region 4

Our staff also works with regional, statewide, and local agencies, organizations, and citizens to address many of today's key natural resource issues: forest health, wildfire preparedness and mitigation, invasive species, loss of open space, and well being of rural, resource-dependent communities. 



 State and Private Forestry


Grants and Agreements Administration

Forest Health Protection

Tribal Relations

State Fact Sheets

  (State and Private Forestry Funding, by State)

Partner Links