The Forest Service authorizes (permits) the private use of National Forest land for a variety of reasons, including recreation cabins, ski areas, resorts, outfitter guide such as pack stations, communication sites, etc. For information regarding the administration of existing special use permits or obtaining a new special use permit, please call the special uses person at one of our offices. More information...
A California campfire permit is required for a fire outside a designated recreation site. A permit is available free-of-charge from any Forest Service, California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection, or Bureau of Land Management office. Go to our Campfire Permit page for information on how to obtain a campfire permit.
Violation of these prohibitions is punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an individual or $10,000 for an organization or imprisonment for not more than six months or both, 16 USC 551 and 18 USC 3559 and 3571.
View More Features