Outfitter/Guides

All outfitter/guides operating on public lands must
have the proper state and federal licenses, registration,
and permits. Although an outfitter/guide may have
exclusive use of a campsite, they do not have
exclusive use of an area. To find out if an
outfitter/guide is properly permitted, check with a local
FS/BLM office or the Colorado Outfitters Association.
Colorado Hiking Certificate

In Colorado, the purchase of a hunting or fishing
license automatically gives you “Search and Rescue”
coverage (from time of purchase to the end of the
calendar year) if you become injured or lost in the
backcountry.

Hikers, bikers and skiers can get the same coverage
with a Colorado Hiking Certificate; cost is $3.00 for
one year.

Hiking certificates are available from the San Juan
Public Lands Center, Pagosa Ranger District Office,
Dolores Ranger District Office and other outlets

Off-Highway Vehicle Use |OHV

On Canyon of the Ancients Nat. Monument OHV use
is restricted to existing roads. The San Juan National
Forest & BLM San Juan Field Office has some areas
open to off road travel and trails. The Forest Service
travel management is depicted on the San Juan
National Forest Map.

Your OHV must be registered — either in your home
state or in Colorado (cost is $15.25). If your OHV is
registered in another state, and you will be in Colorado
for more than 30 days, your OHV must be registered in
Colorado. You must carry proof of registration with
you when using your OHV. Travel outside of
restricted areas is strictly illegal and may result in a
fine.

FIREARMS &~

B May not be discharged in or near a campground.
B Must alwaysbe carried in plain sight (even in your
vehicle).
On OHVs
B Must be fully unloaded in both the magazine and chamber.

B Must befully enclosed in a hard or soft case. Cases with
open ends or sides are prohibited.

OHYV registrations may be obtained from
Navajo State Park in Arbolesor at:
San Juan Public Lands Center — Durango

Columbine Ranger District —Bayfield
Lone Mesa State Park —Dolores
For additional outlets and information call Colorado State Parks
and Recreation Dept. at (303) 791-1920.

In Case of Emergency, call 911

The Buckskin Network will broadcast emergency
notifications at 6 a.m., 12 noon, and 6 p.m. for hunters
during the regular big game seasons. The following local
radio stations broadcast these messages:
KRTZ -98.7in Cortez  KIUP —930in Durango
KRSJ —-100.5in Durango KWUF — 1400 in Pagosa
KWUF —106.3 in Pagosa
The Colorado State Patrol in Grand Junction is the
central clearinghouse for all messages.

Pleasetell us...
Who, What, Where and When you saw it. Beas
specific aspossible! Toreport these or other violations

call the San Juan Public Lands
EYESIN THE FOREST HOTLINE AT:

(970) 385-1379

M aps

National Forest Maps $7.53 for plastic. Maps
include: San Juan, Rio Grande, Gunnison, and
Uncompaghre Forests. BLM mapsare $4.30 each.
Also topogr aphic maps of the Weminuche
Wilderness, LaGarita and South San Juan
Wilderness, and Durango Area Maps are $10.75.

San Juan National Forest/San Juan Field-BLM
offices are selling Rocky Mountain Huntin® Maps
thru the San Juan Mountains Association — these
maps cover at least 1 full hunting unit and parts of
surrounding units. The maps retail for $10.95 to
$12.75. Maps available cover:
Units 70, 71, 74, 75, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81
Units 681, 711, 771

A limited supply of USGS topographic maps are sold at
the San Juan Public Lands Center, as well as many local
sporting goods stores and directly from USGS in Denver.

San Juan Public Lands Center
15 Burnett Court
Durango, CO 81301
Ph: (970) 247-4874

Dolores Public Lands Office
100 N. 6™ St., Box 210
Dolores, CO 81323
Ph: (970) 882-7296

Columbine Ranger District
367 S. Pearl, Box 439
Bayfield, CO 81122
Ph: (970) 884-2512

Pagosa Ranger District
2" and Pagosa St., Box 310
Pagosa Springs, CO 81147

Ph: (970) 264-2268

San Juan Mountains Center
Blair Street
Silverton, CO 81433
Ph: (970) 387-5530

ONLY YOU

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) prohibits
discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex,
religion, age, disability, political beliefs, and marital or familial
status. (Not all basis apply to all programs.) Persons with
disabilities who require alternative means for communication of
program information (Braille, large print, audio tape, etc) should
contact the USDA office of Communications at (202) 720-2791.

To file a complaint write the Sec. of Agriculture, US Dept of
Agriculture, Wash, DC 20250 or call 1-800-245-6340 (voice) or
(202)720-1127 (TDD). USDA is an equal opportunity employer.
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Welcome to public lands in southwest Colorado!
You have chosen one of the most beautiful parts of
Colorado for your hunt. Here is some information to
point you in the right direction and help you avoid
some common problems hunters face.

Where can | hunt those deer & elk?

It is important to be able to find and get to lands that
are legal to hunt. In general, federal lands managed
by the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) and
U.S. Forest Service (FS) are open to hunting, as well
as most State wildlife lands. Other State lands may
be leased to a rancher and permission is required to
cross or hunt such lands.

Private land does not have to be posted with “NO
HUNTING” signs to be off limits. If you do not
have permission from the landowner to hunt on
private land, you are trespassing and can be
prosecuted. If it is necessary to cross private land to
get to public lands, you must still get permission
from the landowner to cross. County roads are
usually open to public use, but many dirt roads and
two-tracks in the area may be private.

You must have permission to hunt on tribal lands.
Crossing permits are required for crossing from
tribal land to access National Forest System lands.
The headquarters for the Southern Ute Tribe is in
Ignacio, Colorado (Ph: (970) 563-0125, ext. 2231).
Hunting is legal within the Weminuche, Lizard
Head, and South San Juan Wildernesses; however,
these areas are closed to motorized vehicles and
equipment, including chainsaws, ATVs and
mechanized vehicles, bicycles and deer carts. You
must be prepared to remove your game on foot or
horseback.

To help you locate the area you plan to hunt in and
determine the legal access to it, pick up an
appropriate land status map at a FS/BLM office.

PLEASE:

Respect any road closure you encounter. Closures
are in place to prevent resource damage and protect
wildlife habitat. Common sense should dictate what
roads are feasible for travel. Deeply rutted,
impassable roads result from people driving where
they shouldn’t and/or in unsuitable conditions.

Close any gates you open. Gates may be keeping
livestock in or out.

Ask yourself, “Am | going to be able to get out on
thisroad if rain or snow comes in unexpectedly?”
If the answer is no, you may want to choose another
route or park your vehicle where the good road
ends. The FS and BLM do not plow roads.

RUNNING A GOOD CAMP

Given the number of visitors that use these lands,
the cumulative impact can be devastating. We
suggest the following techniques to reduce the
impacts of hunter camps. These tips will help you
leave your camp looking as natural as possible for
everyone’s future enjoyment.

Camping

Camping outside of developed campgrounds
(dispersed camping) is allowed on both FS and
BLM lands unless posted otherwise. No permit is
required.

Please:
- previously used camping areas.
-camp 100 to 200 feet from lakes, ponds, streams
and trails.
-do not dig trenches around your tent.
You must:
- keep vehicles within 300 feet of roads.
-check trailhead postings for additional restrictions.

On the San Juan National Forest it is prohibited to
camp for more than 28 days within a continuous 60-
day period. After 14 days, you must move your
camp or equipment 3 miles from the previous site.
On BLM lands (San Juan Resource Area), camping
in any one location is limited to 14 days. If you wish
to stay longer you must move your camp beyond a
3-mile radius from your original campsite.

If you must leave your camp for safety reasons, such
as a heavy snowstorm — please notify the local
FS/BLM office. You are responsible for removal of
equipment and trash.

Firesand Wood

-A firewood permit is not necessary to gather wood
for your campfire.

-Use a camp stove for cooking whenever possible.
-1f you must build a fire keep it small, use down and
dead wood only, use existing fire rings rather than
building new ones, or best of all use a fire pan.
-Cutting live trees for tent poles, hanging racks, etc.,
is prohibited.

-Do not leave campfires unattended.

Trash and Sanitation

-“If you pack it in, pack it out.”

-Burn only trash that will be completely consumed.
Foil, cans, and glass must be packed out. Do not
bury food and trash as bears and other critters may
quickly dig it up.

-Carry out all leftovers, including cooking grease. If
buried, animals will likely dig it up.

-Dig a 6” to 8” deep “cat hole” for human waste. If
there are several people in your camp — dig a latrine.
-Latrines should be located at least 100 steps from
any water source. Fill latrines and remove seats and
structures when you leave.

-Do NOT use soap in streams or lakes.

Horse Use

-Please stay on trails.

-Highline or picket your stock. Use tree-saver straps
to protect trees from being girdled. A horse tied to a
tree can soon damage the tree and destroy
vegetation around it.

-Tie stock 200 feet or more from lakes, ponds,
streams and trails.

-Rotate stock throughout the area to reduce
trampling and prevent overgrazing.

-Restrictions may be greater in Wilderness areas;
check trailhead bulletin boards.

HAY AND GRAIN: To help prevent the spread of
noxious weeds, only the following are allowed on
federal lands:
1. State Certified Noxious Weed-Free hay,
straw or mulch with marked verification.
2. Cubed or Pelletized Feed made from
certified hay.
3. Steamed-rolled Grain.
*Lists of weed-free distributors are available at FS/BLM offices.

After the Hunt

It is against the law to waste game meat in Colorado.
If you are primarily interested in a trophy you must
still take care of the meat. The donation of a game
carcass to an orphanage, nursing home, or shelter for
the homeless is most welcome.

Hides, legs, gut piles, etc., should be left scattered in
the field, well away from camp areas and roadsides.
Be aware of the image you present to the general
public when you transport your game. Conspicuously
displayed carcasses can be extremely offensive to
others.

Each year thousands of hunters enjoy the beauty of
Colorado. By paying attention to a few simple
guidelines you can help make this a positive
experience for yourself and others.

Division of Wildlife
Wildlife management is an
important part of the
Forest Service and Bureau
of Land Management’s
mission and is done in
cooperation  with  the
Colorado  Division  of
Wildlife (DOW). DOW uses hunting, as a tool for
managing wildlife populations and the Forest Service
is responsible for managing the habitat used by these
animals.

The DOW is responsible for setting and enforcing
hunting rules and regulations. Information regarding
seasons, bag limits, permit drawings, and other
information may be obtained at DOW offices and
most sporting goods stores. In Durango, the DOW
may be reached at (970) 247-0855. It is your
responsibility to know the hunting regulations before
you go in the field.
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