Wilderness Areas


 Inyo National Forest contains approximately one million acres of wilderness, in nine wilderness areas. Wilderness areas include the Hoover,  Ansel Adams, Owens River Headwaters, John Muir, Golden Trout, South Sierra, Boundary Peak, White Mountains and Inyo Mountains.

At a Glance

Permit Info: Wilderness Permits are required in John Muir, Ansel Adams, Hoover and Golden Trout Wildernesses. For more information about Wilderness Permits, click here...

General Information

General Notes:

"A wilderness, in contrast with those areas where man and his works dominate the landscape, is hereby recognized as an area where the earth and its community of life are untrammeled by man, where man himself is a visitor who does not remain...land retaining its primeval character and influence...protected and managed so as to preserve its natural conditions..."

Wilderness Act of 1964 - Section 2(c)



Show detail SHOW

Horse Riding & Camping

Show detail SHOW