Lower O'Brien Campground is composed of 10 campsites on the Salmon River located in a lodgepole pine forest. The Warm Springs Creek Trail is nearby. Visitors will find good fishing for steelhead and trout. An interesting trip from here is to explore the mining history of the area by touring the Land of the Yankee Fork north of Sunbeam Dam and resort on Forest rd. #013. Sunbeam Dam was the only dam ever built on the Salmon River. The river remains one of the last free-flowing rivers in the west. The dam was intended to provide power to mining operations located on the Yankee Fork, but in 1911, the mine property was sold at a Sheriff’s auction and part of the dam was dynamited in 1934. The campground closes on August 15 to allow for streambank revegetation to occur.
At a Glance
Pets must be on a leash.
There is a 10 day camping limit
Sawtooth NRA. For general campground information, contact the Sawtooth NRA Visitor Center at 208-72
This is a concession operated and first come/first serve campground.
For general information contact the Sawtooth NRA Visitor Center at 208-727-5000 or the Stanley Ranger Station at 208-774-3000.
From Stanley, go northeast 14 miles on ID 75, then turn south on Forest Road #454. Proceed past Upper O’Brien Campground to Lower O’Brien.