The south end of the Grindstone Ranger District offers over 200 miles of some of the most enjoyable and challenging OHV routes in the nation. The "Mendocino OHV Corridor" is a designated 40 mile, east-west route across the south end of the Forest connecting the Stonyford OHV Staging Area and the Upper Lake OHV Staging Area.
The riding area varies in elevation from 1,700 feet (at Fout Springs), to almost 6,000 feet (near Goat Mountain). Vegetation varies from low elevation chaparral to tall pine and fir forest in the high country.
The Grindstone Ranger District is not an OHV "park". Off-highway vehicle recreation is just one of the many uses allowed on National Forest lands. Please be considerate of others you may encounter in the forest.
Low Resolution Map of Stonyford OHV Area (pdf 1.35mb)
Staying on the designated trail system is a must. Check the appropriate map of the area to ensure you are staying on the designated trail system. There is a hefty fine for going off trail, it is punishable by a fine of not more than $5000.00 for an individual or $10,000.00 for an organization, or imprisonment for no more than six months, or both. All of the trails on the forest are two way, keep a look out for oncoming traffic, tractors and heavy equipment. Watch out for other riders. When in doubt, take time to think and look the situation over before you proceed. You are responsible to know rules and regulations. All provisions of the California Vehicle Code and Federal regulations are enforced.
The speed limit is 15 mph within 50 feet of a campground, campsite, or concentration of people or animals. California's Basic Speed Law applies: Don't drive faster than is safe for conditions. You may not drive a motor vehicle on a trail (CVC 38305) or a highway (CVC 22350) at a speed greater than is reasonable or prudent and in no event at a speed that endangers the safety of other persons or their property.
All California Vehicle Code laws pertaining to driving under the influence or open containers of alcohol apply to off-road. DON'T DRINK AND DRIVE.
Motor vehicles must stay out of vegetated areas. Stay on trails and obey all signs.
No person under age 18 shall operate an ATV on public lands unless satisfying one of the following conditions:
They are taking a prescribed safety training course under the direct supervision of a certified all-terrain vehicle safety instructor.
They are in possession of an appropriate ATV safety certificate issued by this state or issued under the authority of another state.
They are under the direct supervision of a parent or guardian, or an adult authorized by the parent or guardian, who is in possession of an appropriate ATV safety certificate issued by this state or issued under the authority of another state.
In addition, riders under the age of 14 must either possess an ATV safety certificate or the adult supervising the rider must possess an ATV safety certificate.
NOTE: No matter who possesses the ATV safety certificate, all riders age 14 and under must be supervised by an adult.
Riders age 14-17 may ride without adult supervision, but must possess an ATV safety certificate.
All ATV riders must wear a helmet. OHV's must have a U.S. Forest Service Approved Spark Arrestor in good working order in place at all times.
Please help us be good stewards of the land by staying on the trails and riding responsibly! We all must minimize our impacts in the outdoors. It is important for everyone to have the opportunity to enjoy California’s diverse and spectacular public lands, but to do so in a responsible manner, allowing our grandchildren and their children to enjoy them as we have. Remember, your chance to ride depends on good resource management and the continued support of the many OHV users who ride. Do not be the reason trails get shut down