UNITED STATES DEPARTMEN T OF AGRICULTURE
FOREST SERVICE
SOUTHERN REGION

Order Number FS-RO-08-01-2014

Five-Year Closure of
All Caves and Abandoned Underground Mmes
on National Forest System Lands

Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50 (a) and (b), the following acts are prohibited within all National
Forests that are administered by the Southern Region, excluding El Yunque National Forest
in Puerto Rico and caves with entrances completely under water. ‘This closure is effective
for a period of five years from the date of signature, unless terminated earlier by the Regional
Forester. :

1. Entering any cave or abandoned underground mine, regardless of
distance or depth, located on National Forest System Lands in the
Southern Region. 36 C.F.R. § 261.53 (a), (b), and (d).

The term “cave” means any naturally occurring void, cavity, recess, or system of
interconnected passages which occurs beneath the surface of the earth or within a
cliff or ledge (including any cave resource therein, but not including any vug,
mine, tunnel, aqueduct, or other manmade excavation) and which is large enough
to permit an individual to enter, whether or not the entrance is naturally formed or
manmade. Such term shall include any natural pit, sinkhole, or other feature
which is an extension of the entrance (Federal Cave Resources Protection Act 16
US.C.§ 4302).

Note: The above prohlbltlon does not apply to Blanchard Springs Caverns
on the Ozark St. Francis National Forest in Arkansas.

Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50 (e), the folloWing persons are exempted from this order:

1. Persons with written authorization by a Forest Service Officer specifically
authorizing an otherwise prohibited act or omission.

2. Any Federal, State or local officer or member of an organized rescu¢ or
firefighting force working in the performance of an official duty.



Executed in Atlanta, Georgia this {224 day of June, 2014,

,/2?3;’797%77————
LIZ AGPAOA
Regional Forester

Southern Region

Violation . of thesé prohibitions set forth above is punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an- -
individual and $10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, or both. See
16 US.C. 551,18 U.S.C. 3559 and 3571. '



