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Photo Credits: New Mexico Department of Game and Fish, 
Colorado Division of Wildlife and Valles Caldera National Preserve.

Customer ID Number 
Anyone applying for a public land draw license or permit, or 
purchasing a license via a private landowner authorization 
or a Valles Caldera access authorization must first obtain 
a Customer ID Number in person at any Department office 
or online at www.wildlife.state.nm.us/. This number shall be 
obtained only from the Department and MUST be included on 
each application. Any application without a valid Customer ID 
number will be rejected.

What’s New in 2010-2011
This booklet contains information valid from April 1, 2010, 
through March 31, 2011.  All dates refer to 2010 unless 
otherwise noted. 

New Application Deadlines
Feb. 3 is the deadline to apply for oryx draw licenses, bear 
WMA permits, population management hunts, and turkey 
draw permits. Online applications must be made BEFORE 5 
p.m. MST. Changes to applications will be allowed until the 
deadline.

April 7 is the deadline to apply for public deer, elk, pronghorn 
antelope, ibex, Barbary sheep, javelina, and bighorn sheep 
draw licenses. Online applications must be made BEFORE 5 
p.m. MDT. Changes to applications will be allowed until the 
deadline.

New Application Fee
The new nonrefundable application fee for residents is $10 and 
$27 for nonresidents.

Full Fee Up Front
Anyone applying for any public draw deer, elk, pronghorn 
antelope, bighorn sheep, oryx, ibex, javelina or Barbary sheep 
license, MUST pay the full license and application fee when 
applying.

No Application Restriction-Year Holdout
Hunters who successfully drew a Quality (Q) or High-Demand 
(HD) deer or elk license or any pronghorn license last year, are 
allowed to apply for a Quality (Q) or High-Demand (HD) hunt 
for deer or elk, or any pronghorn license next year.

Deer Permits/Licenses
There is no longer a Deer Permit. Hunters must only draw a 
Public Land Deer License or purchase a Private Land-Only 
Deer License.

New Unit 6A/6C Boundary
The northern boundary between the two units has moved 
westward to the Coyote/Cuba Ranger District Boundary in the 
San Pedro Parks Wilderness. See page 17.

Furbearer Hunter and Trapper Reporting
Furbearer hunters and trappers MUST report their hunting and 
trapping results by April 7. Additionally, ALL furbearer hunters 
and trappers, both resident and nonresident, MUST purchase 
their trapper license from a Department office, online at www.
wildlife.state.nm.us or via Form 3. Trapper licenses will NOT be 
available from other license vendors. Those who do not report, 
cannot purchase a trapper license for the following season.

New License For Resident Disabled Veterans
Resident Disabled Veterans are now able to purchase a 
combination Fishing and Small Game license for $10.00. 
These licenses are available only at Department offices.
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Important Phone Numbers
General Information	 (505) 476-8000
To obtain publications and forms	 (800) 862-9310
Hunter Education	 (505) 222-4731
Special Hunts License Sales	 (505) 476-8087
Special Hunts Fax	 (505) 476-8180
Wildlife Management	 (505) 476-8038
Depredation Coordinator	 (505) 476-8047
Depredation Hotline	 (888) 727-4883
Bear Harvest Hotline	 (877) 950-5466
Cougar Harvest Hotline	 (877) 950-5466
Law Enforcement	 (505) 476-8066
Operation Game Thief (to report poaching)	 (800) 432-GAME (4263)
Fisheries Management	 (505) 476-8055
Conservation Services	 (505) 476-8101
TDD (number for hearing impaired)	 (505) 476-8143
Mandatory Hunter/Trapper Reporting	 (888) 248-6866

Web Addresses and Offices
NM Department of Game and Fish:
		  www.wildlife.state.nm.us
Mandatory Hunter/Trapper Reporting:
		  www.newmexico-hunt.com
Main Office
P.O. Box 25112, Santa Fe, NM  87504  or 
1 Wildlife Way, Santa Fe, NM  87507
Area Offices
Northwest Office
3841 Midway Pl. NE, Albuquerque, NM  87109 
(505) 222-4700  Fax (505) 222-4720
Southwest Office
2715 Northrise Dr., Las Cruces, NM  88011
(575) 532-2100  Fax (575) 522-8382
Northeast Office
215 York Canyon Rd., Raton, NM  87740 
(575) 445-2311  Fax (575) 445-5651
Southeast Office
1912 W. Second St., Roswell, NM  88201 
(575) 624-6135  Fax (575) 624-6136

State Game Commissioners
Jim McClintic, Chair
9017 Camino del Sol, Albuquerque, NM  87111 
Sandy Buffett, Vice Chair
320 Aztec St. Suite B, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Dr. Tom Arvas
7905 Spain NE, Albuquerque, NM  87109
M. H. “Dutch” Salmon
P.O. Box 878, Silver City, NM  88062
Alfredo Montoya
P.O. Box 856, San Juan Pueblo, NM  87566
Leo V. Sims, II
P.O. Box 2630, Hobbs, NM  88241-2630
Kent Salazar
1621 Vassar Dr. SE Albuquerque, NM 87106

Important Dates For Hunters
Feb.	 3	 Deadline to apply for oryx draw 
licenses, bear WMA permits, population-
management hunts, and turkey draw permits.
	 15	 Deadline for ALL deer and elk hunters 
to report their hunting results.

Mar.	 10	 Results of oryx draw licenses, bear 
WMA permits, population-management hunts, and 
turkey draw permits available on the Department’s 
Web site at www.wildlife.state.nm.us or in 
person at any Department office.
	 25	 Information available by phone for 
oryx draw licenses, population-management, bear 
WMA, and turkey draw permits.

April	7	 Deadline to apply for public land deer 
draw licenses, Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A private 
land-only deer licenses, elk, pronghorn antelope, 
ibex, Barbary sheep, javelina and bighorn sheep 
draw licenses. 
	 7	 Deadline for ALL furbearer trappers 
and hunters to report their trapping and hunting 
results via www.newmexico-hunt.com.

June	1	 Elk E-PLUS landowner lists available 
on Department’s Web site. 
	 9	 Results of drawings for public land 
deer draw licenses, Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A 
private land-only deer licenses, elk, pronghorn 
antelope, ibex, Barbary sheep, javelina and 
bighorn sheep available on the Department’s Web 
site at: www.wildlife.state.nm.us or in person at 
any Department office.
	 23	 Drawing results available by phone 
for public land deer draw licenses, Units 2A, 2B, 
2C, 4 and 5A private land-only deer licenses, elk, 
pronghorn antelope, ibex, Barbary sheep, javelina 
and bighorn sheep.

July	 1	 Private land deer licenses available at 
license vendors. 
	 6	 Pronghorn antelope A-PLUS landowner 
list available on Department’s Web site.
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Hunter Education Rules
No one under 18 years of age may hunt with a firearm or 
purchase a firearm hunting license without first obtaining 
a certificate attesting that they have passed New Mexico’s 
or another state’s hunter education course. It is illegal for 
anyone under 18 to apply for any type of firearm license 
before completing a hunter education course. Uncertified 
juveniles may shoot (not hunt with) a firearm if under adult 
supervision or in a supervised program.  Youth hunters in 
New Mexico must carry their hunter education cards on 
them while hunting.

The New Mexico Department of Game & Fish does 
not recognize passing an NRA course as satisfying the 
requirement for passing an approved state hunter education 
course.  Other states may require hunters of any age to 
have state training. Check their requirements if you plan 
to hunt out-of-state. All hunters on Fort Bliss, including 
McGregor Range, are required to have proof of passing a 
state hunter education course prior to hunting. 

Bow hunter education is not mandatory to hunt with a 
bow and arrow in New Mexico, but the Department highly 
recommends it. The Department’s bow hunting education 
class teaches responsibilities and ethics, hunt preparation, 
equipment basics, tree stand safety and shot placement. 
Be sure to check the local requirements if you will be bow 
hunting out-of-state.

Hunter education courses are offered year-round throughout 
New Mexico.  There is no minimum age requirement to sign 
up,  however an adult must accompany children younger 
than 11 years of age. Students are required to read a 
manual and complete a worksheet prior to class, attend all 
class sessions and pass both a written test and a firearm 
proficiency test before becoming certified and receiving a 
card.  

Students have fun and learn a variety of skills, including 
safe firearm handling, ethics, hunter responsibility, 
marksmanship, wildlife identification and conservation, 
and the basics of survival. Some classes are live-fire and 
cover all the material in a hunter education course plus an 
additional day of shooting on a certified range. This is the 
only course that incorporates firearms in a live-fire situation. 

The goal is to teach students how to feel comfortable with 
a loaded firearm and how to shoot and hunt with it safely. 
Volunteer instructors incorporate many different teaching 
techniques, including videos, lectures, and hands-on 
activities.  

The Hunter Education Program is always looking for 
additional volunteer instructors.  If you are interested in 
becoming an instructor, call the Hunter Education Office in 
Albuquerque at (505) 222-4722 for details. 

Don’t wait until the last minute to register for a course or you 
may miss the deadline to apply for a hunt. For class dates 
and times, contact the Department Office closest to you or 
call the Hunter Education Program in Albuquerque at (505) 
222-4731, or visit: http://www.wildlife.state.nm.us/education/
hunter_ed/index.htm. 

Replacement hunter education cards may be obtained by 
calling (505) 222-4731 or log onto: http://www.wildlife.state.
nm.us/education/hunter_ed/index.htm to print a duplicate 
New Mexico hunter safety certificate from your home. If you 
request a duplicate card via the phone, please allow five to 
seven business days for the new card(s) to arrive.

Introduction
To obtain public-land licenses for deer, elk, pronghorn antelope, 
javelina, ibex, Barbary sheep, bighorn sheep, oryx, WMA or Unit 
2 turkey, and WMA bear, hunters must first complete Form 2010 
or apply online.
All completed and correct applications are entered into a random 
computerized drawing that determines which applicants are 
successfully drawn for permits or licenses. Some applicants 
may be drawn the first year they apply. Others may apply 
unsuccessfully for years. New Mexico does not grant preference 
to unsuccessful applicants. It’s truly the luck of the draw.
Applications are drawn one at a time. The computer will 
attempt to award the applicant’s first choice hunt, then the 
second choice, then the third choice until one of the applicant’s 
choices is filled.  If all of the applicant’s hunt choices are filled 
by previous applicants, the computer advances to the next 
application.
If an applicant listed a fourth choice deer or elk hunt, they are 
placed in a pool from which some hunts may be awarded by 
random drawing of unfilled and available hunts. These hunts 
may not be the most desirable hunts, but still can provide the 
successful applicant an opportunity to hunt.
If an applicant is awarded a fourth choice hunt, they will be 
charged the corresponding hunt fee.
Successful draw applicants will be mailed licenses. Please allow 
one month after draw results are posted on the Department’s 
Web site to receive licenses.

Refunds and Transfers
No hunt, including fourth choice deer or elk hunts, can be 
exchanged for another hunt or refunded except: The Director 
of the Department may grant the refund or transfer of a hunting 
license or permit if the licensee has died, sustained a severe 
injury or life-threatening illness, or has been deployed by the 
United States military prior to the start of the hunt, prohibiting the 
licensee from hunting. When the transfer of a license results in 
a higher license fee due to age, residency, etc., the difference 
must be paid prior to issuance of the new license or permit. The 
Director may grant the transfer of a license or permit to a person 
who has been qualified through a non-profit wish granting 
organization. For more information, please call the Special 
Hunts Office at (505) 476-8087.

The Draw Hunt Quota System
New Mexico’s hunt drawing system is based on a quota to 
allocate special draw hunting opportunities on public lands. 
Draw hunt licenses and permits are awarded by random 
computer drawing.  
Residents receive 78% of the available licenses or permits.  
Nonresidents who choose to use outfitters will receive up to 12% 
of the available licenses or permits. Nonresidents who apply 
to hunt without outfitters will receive up to 10% of the available 
licenses or permits.  

Hunts Affected by Quotas
•	 Deer, elk, pronghorn, Barbary sheep, Javelina draw licenses
•	 Bear and turkey draw permits
•	 Valles Caldera access authorizations

Hunts Not Affected by Quotas
•	 OTC licenses for elk, bear, turkey, cougar, Barbary sheep and 

off-Florida Mountain hunt for ibex (IBX-1-528)
•	 Elk and pronghorn antelope licenses obtained via private land 

authorizations. 
•	 Private land-only deer licenses 
•	 Private land deer draw licenses in Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A.
•	 Draw licenses for oryx, ibex and bighorn sheep.



Ammunition
Hunters may use only soft-nosed or hollow-point bullets.  Full 
metal-jacketed and tracer bullets are not legal.  Use of sabots 
in muzzleloading rifles, except restricted muzzleloaders, is 
legal. See page 6 for definition of restricted muzzleloaders.

Antelope Management Unit (AMU)
A portion of the state used to manage pronghorn antelope 
harvest.  These units are different from Big Game 
Management units.  See map on page 44.

Antler Point Restricted Elk (APRE/6)
A legal APRE/6 elk must have six or more points of any length 
on at least one antler for an APRE/6 hunt. A brow tine or eye 
guard counts as one point. A burr at the base of the antler 
does not count as a point.

Antlerless Elk (A)
Any male or female elk without antlers.

Bearded Turkey
A turkey with a visible beard.

Big Game Management Unit (GMU)
A portion of the state used to manage deer, elk, bighorn 
sheep, Barbary sheep, turkey, bear, cougar, ibex, oryx, and 
javelina.  Different units are used to manage pronghorn 
antelope.  See map on page 17.

Big Game Species
Include deer, elk, bear, cougar, pronghorn antelope, Barbary 
sheep, bighorn sheep, javelina, oryx, and ibex.

Bighorn Ram
Any male bighorn sheep.

Bow and Arrow 
Bows include compound, recurved and longbows. Sights on 
bows  may not magnify targets or project light.  Arrows must 
have broadheads with steel cutting edges.  No drugs may be 
used on arrows.  Arrows cannot be driven by explosives.  

Broken-Horn Oryx
An oryx of either sex that has one or more horns missing at 
least 25% of its normal growth.  

Crossbow and Bolt
Crossbow use is legal by Certified Mobility-Impaired hunters 
who may use crossbows to hunt any protected species during 
any legal season unless otherwise restricted.  Legally licensed 
elk hunters may use crossbows during several Elk Rifle, 
Muzzleloader/Bow hunts. See pages 33, 38 and 39. Sights on 
crossbows may not magnify targets or project light. Bolts must 
have broadheads with steel cutting edges.  No drugs may be 
used on  bolts.  Bolts cannot be driven by explosives.

Depredation Damage Stamp
A fee required of all big game hunters that has been added 
to the price of each big game license.  The fee is $3 for each 
resident and $10 for each nonresident big game license.  
Money generated from the sale of these stamps is being used 
to develop permanent solutions to chronic wildlife nuisance 
problems throughout the state.

Either Sex (ES)
Any male or female game animal.

Either Sex White-tailed Deer (ESWTD)
Any male or female white-tailed deer.

Established Road
A road, built and/or maintained by equipment, which shows 
no evidence of ever having been closed to vehicular traffic 
by such means as berms, ripping, scarification, reseeding, 
fencing, gates, barricades or posted closures. 

Female or Immature Ibex (F-IM)
An ibex with horns less than 15 inches long.

Female or Immature Pronghorn Antelope (F-IM)
A pronghorn antelope without horns or with both horns shorter 
than its ears.

Fork-Antlered Deer (FAD)
Any deer possessing an antler which has a definite fork, showing 
two or more distinct points.  A burr at the base does not constitute 
a point or fork. 

Fork-Antlered Mule Deer (FAMD)
Any mule deer possessing an antler which has a definite fork, 
showing two or more distinct points.  A burr at the base does not 
constitute a point or fork. 

Fork-Antlered White-tailed Deer (FAWTD)
Any white-tailed deer possessing an antler which has a definite 
fork, showing two or more distinct points.  A burr at the base does 
not constitute a point or fork. 

Fourth Choice Deer or Elk Hunt
Applicants marking a fourth choice indicate they WILL accept a 
deer or elk license for ANY HUNT in a specific quadrant of the 
state.  Be aware that success rates for some fourth choice hunts 
may be low due to small, localized populations of deer or elk.  A 
hunter drawing a fourth choice elk hunt could receive a license 
with an antlerless bag limit even if their first three choices were 
for bull licenses and vice versa.  No refunds will be made to 
successful applicants. The fourth choice assignment will always 
be for the same sporting arm type as the first choice on an 
application. See pages 20 and 32 for more information. Not all 
hunts are included in the fourth choice pool.

Habitat Management and Access Validation
All hunters, trappers and anglers on any lands must purchase and 
possess a $4 Habitat Management and Access Validation once 
during the year (April 1-March 31). Fees will be used to lease 
private land for public use, provide public access to landlocked ar-
eas of public land and provide for the improvement, maintenance, 
development and operation of property for fish and wildlife habitat 
management.  This fee will NOT be charged to hunters, anglers 
and trappers younger than 18 years of age, 100% Disabled Resi-
dent Veterans or resident anglers 70 years of age and older. This 
Validation does NOT replace the Habitat Stamp. See page 11.

Handicapped Hunter
To obtain a reduced-fee general hunting or general hunting 
and fishing license, a handicapped hunter must have a severe 
physical impairment that substantially limits one or more major life 
activities and must furnish adequate proof of this disability.  See 
page 8.

High-Demand or (HD) Hunt
An elk or deer draw hunt which had at least 22% nonresident 
applicants for the previous two license years.

Junior Elk or Junior Deer Hunting License
Reduced-fee elk or deer licenses are available to resident hunters 
younger than 18 years of age. See page 7 for fees. 

Junior General Hunting and Fishing License or
Junior Small Game and Fishing License
Reduced-fee combination licenses are available to resident 
hunters younger than 18 years. Junior hunters must provide proof 
of successfully passing a hunter education course when making 
application and purchasing a firearms hunting license and must 
carry this proof while hunting in the field. 

Landowner Permission
It is unlawful to hunt, fish or trap on private land without 
possessing valid written permission from the landowner whose 
property the hunter or angler is hunting, fishing or trapping unless 
otherwise allowed in rule. The landowner’s signature with a date 
and telephone number written on a valid license, or other piece of 
paper, shall constitute valid written permission. 

Definitions and Terms
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License Year
A 12-month period beginning April 1 through March 31. 

Mature Buck Pronghorn Antelope (MB)
A pronghorn antelope with at least one horn longer than its ear.

Mature Bull Elk (MB)
A male elk with at least one brow tine extending six or more 
inches from the main beam or at least one forked antler with 
both branches six or more inches long. A spike bull is not 
considered a legal mature bull elk.

Mentor/Youth Only Hunt
A draw hunt consisting of one adult (18 years of age or older) 
and up to three youths (younger than 18 years of age as of 
the opening day of the hunt). The exception is the hunt on the 
Valles Caldera allows only one youth with a mentor.

Military Only Hunt
Applicants must be on full-time active duty in the military and 
must provide proof of current military assignment by the ap-
plication deadline.

Mobility Impaired-Only Hunts
See page 8 for definition.

Muzzleloader
Includes rifles and shotguns in which the charge and projectile 
are loaded through the muzzle.  Only black powder, Pyrodex, 
or an equivalent substitute may be used.  Smokeless powder 
is illegal. Legal muzzleloading shotguns are those capable of 
being fired from the shoulder only.  Muzzleloaders may use 
in-line ignition, pelleted powder, sabots, belted bullets, and 
scopes. See Restricted Muzzleloader, next column.

Nongame Hunting
Nongame species include: rabbits, coyotes, skunks, and 
Himalayan tahr. Residents are not required to have a license 
to take nongame species.  Nonresidents may possess coyotes, 
tahr, skunks and rabbits but first must purchase either a 
nonresident, nongame license, or have any current New 
Mexico nonresident hunting license. Nongame hunting is not 
permitted on Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) with the 
exception of Water Canyon WMA.  See special restrictions 
on page 12 of this document under State Game Commission 
Owned Lands before hunting on any WMA.

Once-in-a-Lifetime License
A draw license that can only be issued once in an applicant’s 
lifetime.  This license may not be applied for if an applicant has 
previously held one.  

Over-the-Counter or OTC License or Permit
A license or permit available from vendors and Department 
offices statewide.  No drawing is required to purchase these 
licenses or permits.

Population Management Hunt
A hunt designed to manage the number of deer, elk, pronghorn 
antelope, or oryx on public or private lands when they damage 
property or interfere with military operations.

Protected Furbearers
A Trapper License is required for all residents 12 or older, 
all nonresidents who trap protected furbearers, and all 
nonresidents who trap  and possess unprotected furbearers 
such as coyotes or skunks.   Residents 12-17 may purchase 
a Junior Trapper License. Protected furbearers are raccoon, 
badger, weasel, fox, ringtail, bobcat, beaver, muskrat and 
nutria.

Protected Species
Anyone hunting protected game (big game, turkey, squirrels 
or game birds) must have a valid license in possession while 
hunting.

Private Land Authorization
Documentation from a private landowner that allows a hunter to 
purchase an elk or pronghorn antelope license valid either on the 
landowner’s land or unit wide. 

Private Land-only Deer License
A license authorizing hunters to hunt deer only on private land with 
written permission for a specific Game Management Unit. 

Quality or (Q) Hunt
These are hunts designed to provide an increased opportunity to 
achieve a successful harvest, a harvest from a wider selection of 
mature deer or elk, or a pleasurable experience based on timing of 
the hunt and hunter density.  Quality hunts are determined by the 
State Game Commission. 

Resident
See page 8 for definition.

Restricted Muzzleloader (for certain deer hunts)
Any muzzle-loading rifle (including a smoothbore flintlock or musket) 
using open sights in which the charge and projectile are loaded 
through the muzzle.  Only black powder, Pyrodex, or an equivalent 
substitute may be used.  In-line ignition, pelleted powder, sabots, 
belted bullets, multiple projectiles and scopes are illegal.

Senior Elk or Senior Deer Hunting Licenses or Senior 
Small Game/Fishing License
Reduced-fee licenses are available to resident hunters 65 years of 
age and older. See page 7 for fees.

Senior Hunter
A resident hunter 65 years of age or older is entitled to a reduced-
fee general hunting, senior elk, or general hunting and fishing 
license.

Spike Bull Elk
A spike bull elk is a male elk with antlers having a single beam 
without branches.  A spike elk may be legally harvested ONLY in an 
either sex hunt.

Standard or (S) Hunt
These are deer or elk hunts in which the fee charged for a license is 
the regular fee as opposed to a Quality or High Demand fee.

State Trust Land
Lands administered by the Commissioner of Public Lands and 
granted to the State of New Mexico from the Federal Government 
for the economic support of public institutions such as public 
schools and universities.

Two-Track Road
A road which shows no evidence of ever being closed to vehicular 
traffic by such means as berms, ripping, scarification, reseeding, 
fencing, gates, barricades or posted closures.

Unprotected Species
Residents are not required to have any license to take unprotected 
species. Nonresidents may possess coyotes, skunks, tahr and 
rabbits but first must purchase either a nonresident, nongame 
license or have any current New Mexico nonresident hunting 
license. 

Wildlife Management Area (WMA)
Properties owned or managed and under the control of the State 
Game Commission.

Youth Hunter
To be eligible for a hunting license, each applicant for any Youth-
Only hunt must be younger than 18 years old on the beginning 
date of the hunt. Youth hunters must be certified and provide proof 
of successfully passing a hunter education course when making 
application or purchasing a license for a firearm hunt.  Youth 
hunters must carry this proof while hunting in the field with a firearm.

Definitions and Terms continued
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Draw Licenses/Permits
Fees include the nonrefundable application fee and Depredation 
Damage Stamp fee. A Habitat Stamp is required for hunting, fishing, 
and trapping on U.S. Forest Service and BLM lands and must be 
purchased separately. A Habitat Management and Access Validation 
is required and must be purchased separately and possessed while 
hunting.  These must be purchased only once per year.

Elk Licenses
Residents age 18 to 64 and all Nonresidents
Bag Limit	 Fee Type	 Resident	 Nonresident
A-Antlerless	 S-Standard	 $63.00	 $352.00
MB-Mature Bull	 S-Standard	 93.00	 562.00
ES-Either Sex	 S-Standard	 93.00	 562.00
A-Antlerless	 Q-Quality	 63.00	 787.00
MB-Mature Bull	 Q-Quality	 93.00	 787.00
ES-Either Sex	 Q-Quality	 93.00	 787.00
A-Antlerless	 HD-High Demand	 63.00	 787.00
MB-Mature Bull	 HD-High Demand	 93.00	 787.00
ES-Either Sex	 HD-High Demand	 93.00	 787.00

Junior/Senior Elk Licenses*
Bag Limit	 Fee Type	 Resident	 Nonresident
A-Antlerless	 All	 61.00	 not issued
MB-Mature Bull	 All	 61.00	 not issued
ES-Either Sex	 All	 61.00	 not issued
*See pages 5 and 6 for eligibility requirements

Deer Licenses
Bag Limit	 Fee Type	 Resident	 Nonresident
ALL	 S-Standard	 49.00	 297.00
ALL	 Q-Quality	 49.00	 382.00
ALL	 HD-High Demand	 49.00	 382.00

Pronghorn Antelope Licenses
Bag Limit	 Fee Type	 Resident	 Nonresident
ALL	 S-Standard	 63.00	 297.00

Javelina Licenses
Bag Limit	 Fee Type	 Resident	 Nonresident
ALL	 S-Standard	 68.00	 192.00

Bighorn Sheep Licenses
Bag Limit	 Fee Type	 Resident	 Nonresident
ALL	 S-Standard	 163.00	 3,187.00

Oryx Licenses
Bag Limit	 Fee Type	 Resident	 Nonresident
ALL	 S-Standard	 163.00	 1,637.00

Ibex Licenses
Bag Limit	 Fee Type	 Resident	 Nonresident
ALL	 S-Standard	 113.00	 1,637.00

Barbary Sheep Licenses
Bag Limit	 Fee Type	 Resident	 Nonresident
ALL	 S-Standard	 113.00	 387.00

Bear Permits**
Bag Limit	 Fee Type	 Resident	 Nonresident
ALL	 S-Standard	 10.00	 27.00

Turkey Permits**
Bag Limit	 Fee Type	 Resident	 Nonresident
ALL	 S-Standard	 10.00	 27.00

**Successful applicants also must purchase Over-the-Counter 
Licenses for these species.

License Information
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Over-the-Counter (OTC) Licenses
Licenses, stamps and validations are available through the 
Department’s Web site, from local vendors, any Department office, or 
by mail using Form 3.  Add $1 vendor fee.  See page 8, for eligibility 
requirements for Jr/Sr/Handicapped reduced-fee licenses. The 
Depredation Damage Stamp fee has been added to each big game 
license. A Habitat Stamp must be purchased and possessed if hunting, 
fishing or trapping on U.S. Forest Service or BLM lands. A Habitat 
Management and Access Validation must be purchased separately 
and possessed while hunting. This fee will NOT be charged to hunters, 
anglers and trappers younger than 18 years of age, 100% Disabled 
Resident Veterans or resident anglers 70 years of age and older. 

Type of License	 Resident	 Nonresident

Private Land Deer (Standard)	 $39.00	 $270.00
Private Land Deer (Quality)	 39.00	 355.00
Private Land Junior/Senior Deer	 27.00	 Not Issued
General Hunting	 43.00	 Not Issued
	 (Deer, squirrels and game birds)

General Hunting & Fishing	 62.00	 Not Issued

Junior General Hunting 	 18.00	 Not Issued
	 (Residents, age 17 and younger)

Junior General Hunting and Fishing	 23.00	 Not Issued
	 (Residents, age 17 and younger)

Senior or Handicapped General Hunting	 27.00	 Not Issued

Senior or Handicapped General Hunting and Fishing
		  31.00	 Not Issued

Turkey  First Tag (spring or fall)	 25.00	 100.00
	       Second Tag (spring only)	 10.00	 10.00

Bear		 47.00	 260.00

Cougar	 43.00	 290.00

Oryx (Private land-only)	 153.00	 1,610.00

Barbary Sheep (Statewide and Private land-only)	103.00	 360.00
AVailable ONLY at a Department office, on the Department’s Web site or via Form 3.

Ibex (off-Florida Mountains only)	 103.00	 1,610.00
Available ONLY at a Department office or via Form 3.

Small Game	 20.00	 90.00
	 Squirrel and game birds other than turkey.

Resident Small Game & Fishing	 33.00	            Not Issued

Resident Disabled Veteran Small Game and Fishing
	 (Available only at Department offices) 	 10.00	 Not Issued

Junior or Senior Small Game & Fishing	 16.00	 Not Issued

Temporary Small Game  (4 days)	 NA	 33.00

Trapper	 20.00	 345.00
Nonresident Trapper licenses are sold only by the Department of Game and Fish.  
Apply ONLY at a Department office, on the Department’s Web site or via Form 3.

Junior Trapper  (Residents age 12-17)	 9.00	 Not Issued
Apply ONLY at a Department office, on the Department’s Web site or via Form 3.

Nongame Animals	 Not Required	 65.00
Rabbits, ground squirrels, etc.  Does not include trapping coyotes or skunks. To hunt 
nongame, nonresidents must have a nongame or any current New Mexico nonresident 
hunting license.

Habitat Stamp	 5.00	 5.00
Mandatory on all U.S. Forest Service and Bureau of Land Management properties. 
Must be purchased only once per year.

Habitat Management & Access Validation	 4.00	 4.00
A Habitat Management and Access Validation must be purchased and possessed 
by hunters, anglers and trappers. This is a once-per-year fee. This fee will NOT be 
charged to those younger than 18 years of age, 100% Disabled Resident Veterans or 
resident anglers 70 years of age and older.

 Duplicate License (For lost or destroyed license)	 6.00	 6.00



A New Mexico Resident Is:
1. A United States citizen who, for a period of not less than 90 days 
immediately preceding the date of application for the license, has been 
domiciled in New Mexico and does not claim residency elsewhere for 
any purpose. Temporary or seasonal residents, who maintain a primary 
residence outside of New Mexico, DO NOT qualify for resident licenses;
2. A citizen of another country who is legally within the United States and 
has actually lived in New Mexico for 90 days immediately preceding his 
license application;  
3. A student who has attended an educational institution in New Mexico 
and has actually lived in the state for at least 1 full term immediately 
preceding license application and who presents, at the time of purchase, a 
certificate or letter of their enrollment and attendance signed by the proper 
authorities of such institution;
4. A member of the U.S. Armed Forces permanently assigned to a 
military installation located within New Mexico and who presents with their 
application, a certificate or letter verifying their military assignment signed 
by their commanding officer;
5.  A member of the U.S. Armed Forces, who presents with their 
application, a certificate or letter verifying their military assignment signed 
by their commanding officer, and who is officially stationed at a military 
reservation located partially in New Mexico and an adjacent state, but only 
for a special license valid only for hunting and fishing in New Mexico and 
only on those reservations.
Opportunities for Disabled Hunters
Reduced-Fee Resident Handicapped Licenses
A reduced-fee license is available to any resident of New Mexico that 
provides proof of a severe physical or developmental disability.  To 
qualify an applicant must have one or more disabilities that substantially 
limit one or more major life activities. Once a handicapped licensee has 
clearly wounded a legal game animal, another person may assist in 
tracking, retrieving and killing the game. This license requires the holder 
to purchase and possess a Habitat Stamp and Habitat Management and 
Access Validation as required (see pages 5 and 11).  All other laws and 
rules must be followed.  
100-Percent Disabled Resident Veteran
A free lifetime general hunting and fishing license is available to resident 
veterans certified as 100% disabled as a result of having served in the 
armed forces.  To take advantage of this benefit when applying for a public 
land deer license, the individual must first obtain a Disabled American 
Veteran (DAV) Card and enter the number on the application form (Form 
2010).  This DAV Identification Card issued by the Department permits 
the holder to fish, hunt small game, and not be charged for a deer license.   
Application forms are available from any Department office or online at 
www.wildlife.state.nm.us/.  Once the card is issued, a hunter does not 
need to get it renewed.  Holders of this card must apply for a public draw 
deer license by completing Form 2010 and submitting it by the application 
deadline.  Applicants DO NOT need to submit an application fee or license 
fee when applying for the public draw license.  Holders of this card may 
obtain a private land-only deer license, at no charge, at any Department 
office.  Do not obtain a private land-only deer license unless you know you 
were not successful in the draw. It is illegal to have more than one deer 
license. With this card it is not necessary for the licensee to purchase and 
possess a Habitat Stamp and Habitat Management and Access Validation 
when angling, hunting small game or deer.  All other hunting activities 
require the purchase and possession of these stamps (see pages 5 and 
11).  All other laws and rules must be followed.
Reasonable accommodation to shoot from a stationary vehicle or receive 
other assistance may be granted on an individual basis.  Call (505) 476-
8029 or write to the Human Resources Division, 
PO Box 25112, Santa Fe, NM 87504.
Disabled Resident Veteran
Small Game and Fishing License
Resident veterans who have a service-related disability of less than 
100 percent are eligible for a $10.00 combination Small Game and 
Fishing License. These licenses are available only at Department 
offices. Applicants MUST provide a copy of the Veterans Administration 
Award Letter as verification of disability. A Habitat Stamp and Habitat 
Management and Access Validation are required (see pages 5 and 11). All 
other laws and rules must be followed.
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Mobility-Impaired (MI) - Residents and Nonresidents
To apply for MI designated antelope, oryx, deer or elk hunts, the 
individual must have a four-year MI Card PRIOR to submitting an 
application and enter their MI number on their application.
To qualify for MI certification, an individual must have a permanent 
impairment that limits their mobility to a walker, wheelchair, two 
crutches, severely restricts the movement in both arms or have 
a combination of permanent mobility type disabilities that cause 
comparable substantial functional limitation which they are unlikely 
to recover. This form may be obtained by calling 505-476-8087 or 
on-line at www.wildlife.state.nm.us/.  This form must be signed by the 
applicant’s physician attesting that one of the above Mobility-Impaired 
conditions applies.   
The MI card allows the licensee to shoot from a stationary vehicle 
that is not on a public road or highway.  Once the licensee has clearly 
wounded a legal game animal, another person may assist in tracking, 
retrieving and killing the game.  The MI card allows the licensee to 
hunt any protected game during their properly licensed season with a 
crossbow.  No additional crossbow permit is necessary (see page 5 
and 15 for crossbow restrictions). This MI card requires the holder to 
purchase and possess a Habitat Stamp and Habitat Management and 
Access Validation as required (see pages 5 and 11). All other laws and 
rules must be followed.
Junior Licenses
Reduced-fee junior licenses are available. A Junior General Hunting or 
Junior General Hunting/Fishing License or Junior Small Game/Fishing 
License or Junior Elk License or Junior Deer License is available only 
to residents who have NOT reached their 18th birthday by the day 
of their hunt. Hunters wishing to take advantage of any reduced-fee 
junior license to hunt deer on public land must apply for a public land 
deer draw license on Form 2010 by the application deadline.  Junior 
licenses to be used for hunting deer on private land can be purchased 
at local license vendors, any Department office, with Form 3 or online 
at the Department’s Web site. It is recommended the hunter not 
purchase the private land deer-only license until the hunter knows 
whether they were successful in the draw.  The Junior Elk License is 
only available through making application for the public draw.
Senior Licenses
Reduced-fee senior licenses are available. A Senior General Hunting or 
Senior General Hunting/Fishing License or Senior Small Game/Fishing 
License or Senior Elk License or Senior Deer License is available 
only to residents age 65 or older. Other licenses are available at local 
vendors or Department offices. Hunters wishing to take advantage of 
any reduced-fee senior license to hunt deer on public land must apply 
for a public land deer draw license on Form 2010 by the application 
deadline. Senior licenses to be used for hunting deer on private land 
can be purchased at local license vendors, any Department office, with 
Form 3 or online at the Department’s Web site.  It is recommended 
the hunter not purchase the private land deer-only license until the 
hunter knows whether they were successful in the draw.  The Senior 
Elk License is only available through making application for the public 
draw.

License Privileges Can Be Revoked
A varying number of points are assessed based on the type of violation 
committed, including providing false information on a harvest report.  
Any person accumulating 20 points or more within any consecutive 
three-year period, shall be considered for revocation and suspension 
of all hunting, fishing and trapping license privileges, or guiding and 
outfitting registration or for revocation and suspension of any permit or 
certificate issued under Chapter 17 and its implementing rules.

Defendants may request a hearing by an outside Hearing Officer if they 
disagree.  Recommendations for point assessment are made to the 
State Game Commission, which in turn, can revoke a person’s license 
privileges.  

As a state participating in the interstate “Wildlife Violator Compact”, 
New Mexico may recognize the suspension of license privileges 
of a person listed as a wildlife violator by another participating 
state.  Contact the Law Enforcement Division for specific revocation 
information at (505) 476-8065.



It Is Illegal to:
•  Kill more than one elk, one pronghorn antelope, one cougar, 
one Barbary sheep, one bighorn sheep, one javelina, one oryx, 
one ibex, one bear, one deer, or one turkey during any license 
year except as permitted by rule.  This may or may not apply to 
Native American lands; see Hunting on Native American Lands, 
page 13.
•  Apply for, buy or use more than one license or tag for any big 
game species during any license year, except as permitted by 
rule.
•  Possess or transport a handgun if one is younger than 19 
years of age, unless: attending a hunter education or handgun 
safety course; using the handgun for target shooting at an 
established and officially authorized range where shooting 
is permitted; involved in organized competition with the 
handgun; participating in or practicing for a performance by 
an organization that has been granted exemption from federal 
income tax by the U.S. Commissioner of Internal Revenue; 
legally hunting or trapping; traveling with an unloaded handgun 
to or from one of the activities listed above; or on property of 
one’s parent, grandparent, or legal guardian and supervised 
by one of these persons.  A person who commits unlawful 
possession of a handgun is guilty of a misdemeanor.  A 
handgun means a loaded or unloaded pistol, revolver, or firearm 
which will or is designed to or may readily be converted to expel 
a projectile by the action of an explosion, the barrel length 
of which, not including a revolving, detachable, or magazine 
breech, does not exceed 12 inches.
•  Take or attempt to take any game for another person or to use 
a license issued to another.
•  Take or attempt to take game species over ground baited with 
any material or scent distributed there to entice the animals, 
except quail or turkey on private land.  Scent-masking agents 
may be used on one’s person, but not to attract big game.
•  Use live animals as blinds or decoys to take or try to take 
game species.
•  Use any electrically or mechanically recorded calling device 
to take or try to take protected species except protected 
furbearers, cougars and nongame species.
•  Use tracer or full-metal-jacketed ammunition to take or try to 
take game species or protected furbearers.
•  Park any motor vehicle or camp within 300 yards of any man-
made water hole, water well or watering tank used by wildlife or 
domestic stock without prior consent of the private landowner, 
private land lessee, or public land management agency.
•  Shoot at, wound, take, attempt to take, or kill any protected 
species or artificial wildlife (decoy) on, from or across any 
graded and maintained public road, or to shoot at game from 
within the fenced right-of-way of any paved road or highway or 
from within 40 feet of the pavement or maintained surface if no 
right-of-way fence exists.
•  Shoot at, pursue, harass, harry, drive or rally any protected 
species by use of or from a motor-driven vehicle, powerboat, 
sailboat or aircraft.
•  Hunt from, signal game’s location to hunters from, or harass 
game with aircraft; hunt game observed from aircraft within 48 
hours of observation; or hunt game the same day of air travel, 
except by commercial airline or direct flight to a landing strip.
•  Shoot a turkey from its roost.
•  Shine spotlights or other artificial lights into areas where big 
game or livestock might be, if persons using the light have in 
possession any firearm or implement capable of killing big game 
or livestock. 
•  Discharge a firearm within 150 yards of a dwelling or building, 
not including abandoned or vacated buildings on public land, 
during the hunting seasons, without permission of the owner or 
lessee thereof.
•  Take any animals that are protected by law but not listed 
as game species and those that are listed as endangered or 
threatened species.
•  Apply for or buy any firearm hunting license if under the age of 
18 without successfully completing a Hunter Education Course.
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New Mexico law makes the following unlawful: reckless and careless 
handling of firearms; improper handling of fire; property damage; 
polluting streams, lakes and other water; discarding refuse on public 
or private property without permission; damaging telephone wires by 
gunfire or otherwise interfering with communications; and hunting while 
intoxicated.

Attention: Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV) Users
New Mexico has requirements for off-highway vehicles (OHV) that 
became law Jan. 1, 2006. The law is designed to protect the safety of 
all citizens and ensure responsible OHV use.  OHVs include all-terrain 
vehicles (ATVs), recreational off-highway vehicles (ROVs) snowmobiles, 
and dirt bikes. It is the owner’s responsibility to know the laws.

All OHVs used on public lands must be registered and owners must pay 
user fees used to promote safety and a system of dedicated OHV trails 
throughout the state. Nonresidents must purchase either a two-year or a 
90 day permit available at Department of Game and Fish offices) unless 
the OHV is registered and the user paid a user fee in another state. 

All riders younger than 18 must wear a helmet and protective eye wear, 
must have adult supervision (unless they have taken an approved safety 
course), carry their OHV safety permit, and have a valid license. No rider 
younger than 18 may carry a passenger even on an OHV specifically 
designed for two persons. Riders under the age of 10 must have 
parental supervision and ride an OHV that is age and size appropriate. 

Furthermore, the New Mexico Statutes state: “It is unlawful to operate 
an off-highway motor vehicle on private lands or roads except with the 
express permission of the landowner or leaseholder of the lands”.
Vehicles must have U.S. Forest Service approved spark arrestors and 
a headlight and taillight if driven at night. No rider may ride under the 
influence of drugs or alcohol. There is a 10 M.P.H. speed limit within 200 
feet of a business, person, horseback rider or occupied dwelling. OHVs 
may not be operated on any paved street or highway, except to cross a 
road after coming to a complete stop. 

Department of Game and Fish officers have the authority to request 
OHV driver identification, registration and check for compliance.

For more information, visit the Web site: www.B4uRide.com or 
call (505) 476-8171.

Vehicle Travel on Public or Private Lands
It is illegal to drive a motor-driven vehicle off established roads or two-
track roads in a hunting, trapping or angling area if the vehicle bears 
a person licensed to hunt, trap or fish for species on which season is 
open in that area.  It is illegal for a person so licensed to ride in or upon 
such a vehicle.  The Department defines an established road as a road, 
built and/or maintained by equipment, which shows no evidence of ever 
having been closed to vehicular traffic by such means as berms, ripping, 
scarification, reseeding, fencing, gates, barricades or posted closures.
It is also illegal to use motor-driven vehicles on any roads or areas 
closed to vehicular traffic under the Habitat Protection Act or other 
state or federal regulations, including anywhere within the boundaries 
of any designated U.S. Forest Service or Bureau of Land Management 
wilderness area or Bureau of Land Management (BLM) National 
Monument including Tent Rocks National Monument.  Obey all postings 
and know the regulations of the appropriate land management agency.

The U.S. Forest Service is considering new regulations that will prohibit 
cross-country motorized vehicle travel on many U.S. Forest Service 
lands, once routes are designated.  The Southwest Regional Office 
(505) 842-3292 can direct you to the appropriate Ranger District for 
current information regarding the GMU you wish to hunt. Currently, off-
road vehicle travel, for any reason, is not permitted in the Lincoln and 
portions of other National Forests.  You may not take vehicles more than 
100 yards off established roads in areas protected under the Habitat 
Protection Act, as posted. 

You may take vehicles off established roads on certain public lands to 
retrieve legally taken and tagged big-game carcasses, provided that 
state or federal regulations do not prohibit such use.  These regulations 
do not restrict landowners, lessees or their employees from driving off-
road on their own or leased State Trust Lands while in connection with 
legitimate agricultural activities. 



Tagging
All big game and turkeys must be tagged by the person who 
killed the animal.
1.  Immediately after killing any big game or turkey, notch out the 
month and day of kill from the carcass tag.
2.  Attach the tag, NOT THE LICENSE, to the carcass.  The 
tag must remain attached to the carcass when the carcass is 
left unattended in the field, is in camp, is in any vehicle, is at 
a residence, or is at a place of storage.  To prevent its loss, 
you may temporarily remove the notched tag from the carcass 
while you are removing the animal from the field to a camp or 
vehicle, but you must immediately reattach the tag upon arrival.  
If you have to make numerous trips to remove the carcass from 
the field, the tag should remain attached to the portion of the 
carcass you leave in a camp or vehicle.
3.  Bear, cougar  and bobcats must be tagged with a pelt tag in 
addition to the tag from the hunting license.  See pages 52, 54, 
and 57.
4.  Every bighorn ram head taken in or imported into New 
Mexico must have affixed to one horn a seal attached by the 
Department of Game and Fish or other wildlife agency.  The seal 
authorizes possession and transportation of the head within New 
Mexico.  Bighorn heads found in the field in New Mexico remain 
the property of the State.  See page 41.

Proof of Legal Game
You must keep proof of sex with all game species until you get 
the game to the place where it will be consumed or placed in 
cold storage.  The antlers or horns (or the scalp and both ears 
of female or immature animals) of any deer, elk, pronghorn 
antelope, bighorn or Barbary sheep, ibex, or oryx must remain 
attached to the skull or skull plate.  The external genitalia of 
any bear or cougar must remain attached to the hide and be 
readily visible until the hide has been inspected and tagged by 
a Department of Game and Fish representative.  The beard and 
a small patch of feathers surrounding the beard of a turkey must 
remain attached when the bag limit is a bearded turkey.

Federal Laws
Transporting illegally taken game across state lines is a violation 
of the federal Lacey Act. Such transport, if done in connection 
with commercial activity, may be classified as a felony.

Storage
Big game and turkey tags must remain with the meat. They  
authorize possession and storage for one year from the last day 
of the hunt. To store or possess meat after this date, you must 
have a storage permit from the Department of Game and Fish.

Trophies taken to a taxidermist should be accompanied by 
a written statement showing the kind and number of game 
involved, the name and hunting license number of the person 
who took it, and the date of delivery to the taxidermist.

Transportation of Horses
All horses being transported must be inspected by your local 
livestock inspector.  Nonresidents with horses must have proof 
of ownership.  More information is available from the Livestock 
Board in Albuquerque, NM at (505) 841-6161.

Blaze Orange
There is no state law requiring hunters to wear blaze orange, 
but it is highly recommended.  However, all hunters on military 
properties and youth hunters participating in firearm hunts on the 
Valles Caldera National Preserve must wear at least 244 square 
inches of blaze orange, approximately the size of a hunting vest. 
See specific requirements for each military reservation.

Transportation of Game
Game properly tagged or accompanied by a written statement 
may be transported within and outside the state.  However, 
bighorn sheep heads must have a seal; bear, cougar and bobcat 
hides must have a hide tag.  It is unlawful to transport portions 
of dead deer or elk taken in designated areas in which chronic 
wasting disease (CWD) has been confirmed. See page 21.
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Substantial Civil Assessments for Poaching
The State Game Commission has adopted substantial civil 
assessments for the illegal taking of trophy game animals to recover 
the loss of public trust resources.  Maximum assessments are:

•  Elk  	 $10,000.00
•  Deer	 $10,000.00
•  Bighorn sheep	 $10,000.00
•  Pronghorn antelope	 $8,000.00
•  Ibex	 $10,000.00
•  Barbary sheep	 $6,000.00
•  Oryx	 $10,000.00
•  Turkey	 $500.00
•  Trout	 $150.00

In addition to the above civil assessments, poachers may incur 
criminal fines listed below.
Criminal Fines for First Offense
•  Illegally taking or attempting to take elk, bighorn sheep, oryx, 

ibex or Barbary sheep; illegally selling big game meat: $1,000;
•  Illegally taking or attempting to take deer, pronghorn antelope, 	

javelina, bear, or cougar; exceeding the big game bag limit; 
falsely 	purchasing a resident license: $400;

•  Hunting with artificial light: $300;
•  Attempting to exceed the big game bag limit after having 

tagged a similar species: $200;
•  Hunting without a license, using another person’s license: $100;
•  Hunting without a Habitat Stamp or Habitat Management and 

Access Validation: $50 to $500;
Fines for other offenses can be up to $500 and/or six months 
in jail, fines for second, third, and subsequent offenses are 
increased.

Possession, Donation or Sale of Game
It is unlawful to possess game without a proper license or 
other evidence that game was legally taken.  Carcasses, meat 
and internal organs of game mammals or game birds may 
be donated, but not sold or bartered.  Only the skin, head, 
antlers, horns and claws of legally taken protected species and 
feathers from non-migratory game birds may be donated, sold 
or bartered.  The person conveying any of the above to another 
person must supply the recipient with a written statement 
showing a description of the skin, head, antlers, horns, claws or 
feathers, or kind and number of the game, the date and county 
where the item was taken, the disposer’s name and address, 
number of the hunting license under which the hunter took the 
item, and the date and place of the transaction or donation. 
(See page 16 for an example of a donation certificate.)  It is 
unlawful to possess the head, horns or antlers of all big game 
species found in the field (except for obviously shed antlers) 
without a receipt from the Department of Game and Fish.
Waste of Game
Anyone who takes a deer, elk, pronghorn, bighorn, Barbary 
sheep, ibex, or oryx, must transport the edible portions of the 
meat from the field for human consumption. “Edible portions” 
of game mammals include all four quarters with 90% of the 
meat taken, backstraps, tenderloins and at least 75% of the 
neck meat. Hunters are not required to remove the rib cage or 
organs from the field. Anyone who takes a turkey, must remove 
the breast, legs and thigh meat from the field. Anyone who 
wounds or may have wounded any big game species must 
make a reasonable attempt to track the animal and reduce it to 
possession.  This requirement does not authorize trespass.
Use of Dogs
Dogs may not be used to hunt big game except bear and cougar. 
Furbearers may be hunted with dogs. Certain exceptions apply. 
See specific species sections.  When dogs are used during a 
hunt, the licensed hunter intending to harvest the bear or cougar  
must be present continuously once any dog is released. Leashed 
dogs may be used to locate wounded or dead pronghorn 
antelope, elk, deer, or javelina. Hunters must register at the local 
Department Area Office before their hunt begins.



Forfeitures
Sporting arms may be seized and forfeited if they are used in 
taking, or attempting to take, or illegally possessing or transporting 
big game during closed season, exceeding the bag limit on big 
game during open season, or taking or attempting to take big 
game by use of spotlight or artificial light.  Vehicles and sporting 
arms used by anyone charged with spotlighting or hunting with 
the aid of artificial light may be confiscated at the scene and are 
subject to forfeiture and sale at auction upon conviction.  

Habitat Management and 
Access Validation
A $4 Habitat Management and Access Validation must be 
purchased and possessed by hunters, anglers and trappers. This 
once-per-year fee will be used to lease private land for public 
use, provide public access to landlocked areas of public land and 
provide for the improvement, maintenance, development and 
operation of property for fish and wildlife habitat management.  
This fee will NOT be charged to those younger than 18 years of 
age, 100% Disabled Resident Veterans or resident anglers 70 
years of age and older.

Habitat Stamp
All anglers, hunters and trappers who use U.S. Forest Service 
and BLM lands in New Mexico must have a current Habitat 
Stamp.  Only one stamp is required per year to hunt, fish or trap 
on these lands.  The stamp is not required on other public property 
(such as state, county or municipal lands or parks, or on other 
federal lands, such as Bureau of Reclamation or Army Corps of 
Engineers), on private property, or on military reservations.  The 
stamp is NOT required in Unit 28, which is largely Bureau of Land 
Management property under military withdrawal.  Habitat Stamps 
are not required of anglers or trappers under age 12 or resident 
anglers over age 70 who have been issued free fishing licenses.

Habitat Stamps must be for the current license year (April 1-March 
31).  Users must sign the stamp across the face in ink, affix it 
to a current fishing, hunting or trapping license, and have it in 
their possession while fishing, hunting or trapping on U.S. Forest 
Service or BLM lands.  Alternatively, users can buy the stamp with 
the license and sign the license.

A Habitat Stamp is available from the Department of Game and 
Fish, by using Form 3, online, or from license vendors statewide.  
The cost is $5 plus vendor fee.  Stamps are not transferable to 
other persons, and no one may use a stamp signed by another 
person.  Funds derived from these stamps go for improving wildlife 
habitat. Note: it is not necessary to purchase a habitat stamp 
when applying for a draw hunt.  However, you must purchase one 
after receiving the license or permit if you will be hunting where 
one is required.  

Access to Public Lands
New Mexico has 9 million acres of National Forests and about 
13 million acres of BLM lands.  Most are open to public hunting 
and other recreation.  In addition, the State Game Commission 
has purchased an easement on state-trust land for fishermen, 
hunters and trappers to use.  It is the individual’s responsibility 
to get all pertinent information from each agency and to know 
the regulations that each agency has on its managed lands. 
Unfortunately, all regulations of all land management agencies 
cannot be included in this booklet.

The U.S. Forest Service and BLM may close some roads 
seasonally.  In addition, there are off-road vehicle restrictions in 
some units of USFS and BLM lands.  See page 9 for new OHV 
regulations. Their local offices will be able to assist you.

Much of New Mexico’s public land is mixed with privately owned 
property.  The private landowner has the right to control the use of 
private land.  Sportsmen must get written landowner permission 
to cross private land where no public access exists to get to the 
public land.  It is unlawful to post or otherwise restrict lawful uses 
of public land.

National Forests
Designated wilderness areas are roadless areas where no 
vehicles are allowed.  In addition, the U.S. Forest Service 
(USFS) has closed to vehicular traffic various roads in the 
National Forests to protect natural resources. 

It is unlawful to use vehicles on any roads that are closed under 
agreements executed under the Habitat Protection Act.

Outfitters and guides providing services in the National Forests 
must have a permit issued to them by the USFS authorizing 
them to provide such services on forest lands.  Call forest 
supervisors or district ranger offices responsible for the area 
you plan to hunt for general information and for information on 
outfitters and guides authorized to use forest lands.  You can 
get maps from the Office of Information, USFS, 333 Broadway 
SE, Albuquerque, NM  87102, (505) 842-3292.

Hunters may encounter prescribed burns while hunting in 
national forests.  The fires are tools to keep forest fuels at safe 
levels; to provide a diverse, healthy forest ecosystem; and to 
improve wildlife habitat.  Check with forest managers for burning 
plans in the area you want to hunt. Forest Service offices:  
Santa Fe (505) 438-5300, Carson (575) 758-6200, Cibola (505) 
346-3900, Lincoln (575) 434-7200, Gila (575) 388-8201 and 
Kiowa Grasslands (575) 374-9652.

Valle Vidal
Limited elk and turkey licenses for the Valle Vidal area of the 
Carson National Forest and the Greenwood Area of the Vermejo 
Park Ranch Inc. in Unit 55A are issued by draw only.  Properly 
licensed bear hunters who also possess a concurrent Valle Vidal 
elk license may hunt bears in open season only during the dates 
of their specified elk hunts. See page 52.

Valles Caldera National Preserve
All of Unit 6B is closed to hunting and trapping, except elk 
and turkey.  Limited elk licenses are offered only through a 
special draw. Turkey hunters must possess a Wild Turkey 
Access Authorization available from the Valles Caldera National 
Preserve. See page 30 and 47.

Sandia Ranger District of the Cibola National 
Forest in Units 8 & 14
Open for bow hunting only of bear, cougar and deer draw hunts. 
Spring turkey hunting is allowed only in the Unit 14 portion of the 
district.

Bureau of Land Management Lands
Public lands under jurisdiction of the Bureau of Land 
Management, including Wilderness Areas and Wilderness Study 
Areas (WSAs), are open to public hunting.

Motor or other mechanized vehicles are prohibited in wilderness 
areas and Tent Rocks National Monument.  Vehicle use in other 
areas, including WSAs, is limited to protect natural resources, 
and vehicles and other mechanized devices may NOT be taken 
off-road to retrieve game within WSAs or other travel-limited 
areas throughout the state.  Off-road vehicle travel may be 
restricted or prohibited on BLM lands depending on location. 
Check with the local BLM office.

All surface-disturbing activities are prohibited without prior 
authorization from local BLM offices. Temporary blinds and 
stands must be removed promptly at the end of each hunt 
period.  

Obey all posted rules.  It is your responsibility to know the 
restrictions and where they apply. Contact the appropriate BLM 
offices for more information: Albuquerque (505) 761-8700, 
Carlsbad (575) 234-5972, Farmington (505) 599-8900, Las 
Cruces (575) 525-4300, Roswell (575) 627-0272, Socorro (575) 
835-0412, Taos (575) 758-8851, Santa Fe (505) 954-7400. The 
BLM Web site is: www.nm.blm.gov/.

continued General Rules
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Bureau of Land Management Lands cont.
Wild Rivers Recreation Area
An area north of the confluence of the Red River and the Rio 
Grande west of Questa is closed to hunting and trapping.  This 
area is comprised of all or portions of the following sections, 
which are east of the west bank of the Rio Grande and north of 
the Red River: in T. 28N, R. 12E, Sections 4, 5, 6, 8, 9 and 16; in 
T. 29N, R. 12E, Sections 16, 20, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33 and 34.
Taos Overlook - Orilla Verde Recreation Area
A strip one mile wide on each side of the Rio Grande, beginning 
one mile north of the Taos Junction Bridge and proceeding 
south to the posted boundary. The Taos Overlook Area is closed 
to hunting and trapping.
Santa Cruz Lake Recreation Area
A portion of land extending 1/4 mile from the shoreline of Santa 
Cruz Lake and on either side of Rio Medio upstream to the 
Santo Domingo de Cundiyo Grant is closed to hunting and 
trapping.
Other BLM Lands
Aguirre Spring Campground, Dripping Springs Natural Area, Datil 
Well Campground and Three Rivers Petroglyph Site:  No shooting 
within 1/2 mile of the fenced boundary or 1/4 mile of hiking trails.
Hunting and trapping are prohibited within 150 yards of the 
following developed recreation sites: Valley of Fires Recreation 
Area, Fort Stanton Cave Campground, Haystack Mountain OHV 
Area and Mescalero Sands North Dune Areas.  In El Malpais 
National Conservation Area, vehicle use is limited to designated 
routes, off-road travel is prohibited.  From July 1-Sept. 15 and from 
Nov. 15-April 15, BLM Road 1103 in the BLM’s Ignacio Chavez 
Special Management Area in Unit 9 is closed to motorized vehicles 
because of soil conditions and erosion problems.  The Fort Stanton 
and Cedar Hills Management areas and the Rio Bonito tracts may 
have access restrictions.
State-Trust Lands
The State Game Commission has an easement lease ONLY for 
hunting, fishing and trapping on State-Trust Lands. 
If you are allowed access to State-Trust Lands:
You may:
•  Have access to State-Trust Lands, provided that such access is 

by public road, public trail or public land and, in some situations, 
roads that are on State-Trust Land.

•  Scout for big game seven days prior to the open season.
•  Hunt big game or game birds, or trap protected furbearers, during 

open hours and seasons.
•  Hunt unprotected species on State-Trust Lands only during the 

period in which your license is valid for protected species on 
those lands.

•  Camp with the agricultural lessee’s permission unless otherwise 
authorized by the Commissioner of Public Lands.

•  Take up to two guests per license holder on your hunt.
You Must:
•  Have in your possession if required, a valid hunting and/or fishing 

license and upon demand present it to an employee of either the 
State Land Office or Department of Game and Fish.

•  Respect other uses, such as surface or mineral leases.
•  Drive ONLY on established roads.
•  Close gates.
•  Pack out trash.
You Must Not:
•  Drive off-road for any reason.
•  Enter at any time other than to scout for big game before open 

season, and during open season and hunting hours for species 
for which you are licensed.

•  Use private roads or cross private lands without prior written 
permission of the landowner.

•  Remove wood, sand or gravel, or conduct other commercial or 
personal activities.

•  Harass or injure livestock or wildlife or damage private property 
such as dwellings or range improvements.

State-Trust Lands cont.
Unitization
To assure access and create larger, definable hunting areas, 
hunting and trapping privileges on some state-trust lands have 
been exchanged for the same privileges on private land.  These 
ranches are posted with signs advising that the private land has 
been unitized.  Watch for these signs and contact the landowner if 
you have any question about the location of the land open to public 
use. See www.wildlife.state.nm.us.

If You Are Denied Access
The right of entry to state-trust land is assured if access is available 
by public road (defined in Section 67-2-1, NMSA 1978) or across 
other public lands or trails.  If you are denied access, call the 
nearest State Land Office District Resource Manager, giving 
complete details, including location, date, time, and the name(s) of 
the person(s) denying access.  The State Land Office number in 
Santa Fe is (505) 827-5760.

National Parks and Monuments
All are closed to hunting and trapping without exception. 

State Parks and Monuments
All are closed, except: Portions of Elephant Butte and Navajo Lake are 
open to big game hunting.  Posted areas are closed to centerfire rifle 
hunting.  Sugarite Canyon State Park is open to bow hunting only for 
spring turkey and for deer and elk draw hunts.  Call the State Parks 
Division for more information at (505) 476-3355.

National Wildlife Refuges
All are closed, except parts of the Bitter Lake Refuge and parts of the 
Bosque del Apache Refuge are open during deer hunts.

State Game Commission-Owned Lands
Camping, parking, travel, fire, horse, burro and pet restrictions apply on 
Department lands.  Check for rules that may be posted in each area.  
Trash barrels will not be provided, and hunters must take their trash 
away when they leave.

Vehicular traffic is restricted on the Barker, Colin Neblett (Cimarron 
Canyon) and Urraca wildlife areas in Units 54 and 55A; on the Sargent,  
Humphries, and Rio Chama wildlife areas in Unit 4; and on the Marquez 
and Water Canyon areas in Unit 9.  Closed roads are conspicuously 
posted.  Hunting and retrieving kills must be by foot or horseback on all 
State Game Commission owned properties.  Only hunting for big game 
species listed below is allowed.  No hunting is allowed of unprotected 
species (rabbits, coyotes, prairie dogs, etc.) except as permitted by rule.

Heart Bar-A 1/2-mile strip on each side of the Gila River 
downstream from the Gila Cliff Dwellings National Monument, 
as posted, is closed to hunting unless otherwise opened by 
rule. 

E.S. Barker-Elk, bear, and deer draw hunts and spring turkey 
hunting.

Brantley-Deer draw hunts. The Seven Rivers and Huey 
waterfowl management area portion is closed to deer hunting 
except Youth-Only hunts.

Colin Neblett-Elk, bear, and deer draw hunts and spring and 
fall turkey hunting.

Humphries-Elk, bear and deer draw hunts.
Marquez-Elk, deer, bear, and spring turkey draw hunts.
Rio Chama-Elk and deer draw hunts.
Sargent-Elk, spring turkey, and bear draw hunts.
Urraca-Elk and deer draw hunts.
Water Canyon-Barbary sheep, deer and elk draw hunts and 

spring turkey and nongame hunting.
WS Huey-Deer and turkey draw hunts.

Other Lands
Big Hatchet Management Area (designated area) - Javelina, 
ibex and cougar hunting during open season in Unit 26.

General Rules continued
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WARNING!
Wolves Are A Protected Species

Parts of New Mexico are within the Mexican Wolf 
Restoration Area. Wolves are protected by the federal 
Endangered Species Act and by the New Mexico 
Wildlife Conservation Act.  Shooting a wolf could cost 
you up to a year in jail and as much as $50,000 as well 
as additional penalties under state law for violating the 
Endangered Species Act .

A combination of federal and state agencies and 
conservation organizations offer rewards totaling up 
to $45,000 for information leading to the arrest and 
prosecution of wolf poachers.

You MAY NOT Legally:
•	 Kill or injure a wolf because it is near you or your 

property.
•	 Kill or injure a wolf if it attacks your pet.
•	 Kill or injure a wolf feeding on dead livestock.
•	 Enter posted closures around release pens, active 

dens and rendezvous sites.
•	 Shoot a wolf because you thought it was a coyote or 

anything else.

You MAY Legally:
•	 Harass a wolf without injuring it, provided you report 

it within seven days.
•	 Kill or injure a wolf if it is in the act of killing, 

wounding or biting your cattle, sheep, horses, mules 
or burros on private or tribal land, but you must 
report it within 24 hours.

•	 Kill, injure or harass a wolf in defense of human life, 
but you must report it within 24 hours.

For more information about Mexican wolves or the 
Wolf Recovery Program, contact the Department’s 
Conservation Services Division at (505) 476-8101, or 
visit the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s Mexican wolf 
Web site at: http://ifw2es.fws.gov/mexicanwolf.

 continued General Rules
Hunting or Traveling on Native American 
Lands
Permission must be obtained from tribal officials before going on 
any reservation or tribal lands to hunt or fish.  Game or fish taken 
on or from a reservation must be accompanied by an official tribal 
document, such as a license or receipt, showing lawful possession.  
A New Mexico license is not required.
Tribal reservations and pueblos may have firearms, ammunition 
and travel restrictions that they enforce. It is advisable to completely 
separate any firearm from its ammunition when travelling across 
these lands. For specific information on transporting firearms, 
ammunition, season dates, permits and travel restrictions, hunters 
must contact the tribes directly.
Acoma (within Unit 9 and 13) Game and Fish Office, Pueblo of 
Acoma, P.O. Box 310, Acoma, NM 87304   (505) 552-9866.
Jicarilla Apache (Unit 3) Jicarilla Apache Tribe, Game and Fish, 
P.O. Box 313, Dulce, NM 87528  (575) 759-3255.
Mescalero Apache (Unit 35) Hunting Lodge, P.O. Box 269, 
Mescalero, NM 88340  (575) 464-9770 or (575) 464-7448.
Navajo (Unit 1) Navajo Tribe, Fish and Wildlife, P.O. Box 1480, 
Window Rock, AZ 86515  (928) 871-6452.
Taos (Unit 53) Taos Pueblo, War Chief Office, 
P.O. Box 2596, Taos, NM 87571 (575) 758-3883
Zuni (Unit 11) Zuni Tribe, Fish and Wildlife Office, P.O. Box 339, 
Zuni, NM 87327 (505) 782-5851 or (505) 782-2750.
Military Reservations
Hunting is allowed on some military reservations through cooperation 
of the U.S. Department of Defense, which controls access to these 
areas.  Hunters must obtain permission and conditions of access to 
these military reservations directly from each reservation. Hunters 
on military properties must wear at least 244 square inches of blaze 
orange (approximately the size of a hunting vest) while hunting. 
Hunters on McGregor Range/Fort Bliss are required to wear a blaze 
orange hat and a blaze orange hunting vest. The military may close 
portions of Units 10, 13, 18, 19, 20 and 28 for safety reasons.  Due 
to security concerns, the Director of the Department of Game and 
Fish may change or cancel all hunts on such lands. ALL hunters on 
McGregor Range/Fort Bliss are required to have proof of passing a 
certified hunter education course prior to hunting.
Kirtland Air Force Base
The base does not allow trespass within the fenced area.
Other Areas
All of Los Alamos County is closed to trapping, except the 
northern quarter of the county and a strip along the west bank of 
the Rio Grande to a line 1,000 feet below the Rio Grande canyon 
rim. Jornada Experimental Station in Doña Ana County is 
closed to all unescorted public access. New Mexico State University 
Chihuahuan Desert Rangeland Research Center (College 
Ranch) in Doña Ana County is closed to public access.  For more 
information, contact the Office of Real Estate at (575) 646-2807 or 
visit: http://chihuahuansc.nmsu.edu/index.htm.
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If you are in or around the Gila National 
Forest, you could encounter a wolf.  
Some wolves will have radio collars.  
Wolves appear similar to coyotes, but 
weigh two to three times as much.  
Compared to coyotes, Mexican wolves 
have large, blocky heads; large feet in 
proportion to their bodies; and a mane 
around their neck. Wolves can wag their 
tails above the horizontal plane of their 
back and sometimes run with their tails 
straight out. Coyotes often tuck their tails 
down and under their bodies. 

Mexican Wolf Coyote



Big Game Enhancement Packages
Two big game authorization packages will be auctioned by the 
Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation and the Mule Deer Foundation. 
All proceeds go toward big game habitat enhancement, 
conservation, and protection projects in New Mexico. Each 
package will consist of 5 authorizations one for each of the 
following species: deer, elk, ibex, oryx and pronghorn.  More 
information is provided on the Department’s Web site.

Bighorn Sheep Enhancement Licenses
The Wild Sheep Foundation (WSF) is assisting the Department 
of Game and Fish with an auction of one bighorn sheep 
license, and the New Mexico Chapter of the Foundation for 
North American Wild Sheep (NMFNAWS) will be assisting 
the Department with the raffle of one bighorn sheep license. 
Proceeds from the auction and raffle are used for bighorn 
sheep research, management and propagation in New Mexico.  
 
One license to hunt a Rocky Mountain or desert bighorn sheep 
will be auctioned during the Feb. 4-6, 2010 WSF National 
Convention in Reno, NV. For more information, please visit their 
Web site at www.wildsheepfoundation.org/. By June 1, 2010, 
the successful auction winner will choose one of five hunts 
offered. The license fee is included for the successful auction 
winner. See below for detailed hunt information.  

A second license will be awarded through a raffle.  The 
successful raffle winner will choose one of the remaining hunts 
not chosen by the auction winner.  The license fee is included 
for the successful raffle winner.  See below for detailed hunt 
information. The date and location of the drawing will be 
announced.  

Raffle tickets will be sold through NMFNAWS for $20 each.  
Deadline to purchase tickets is June 20.  To purchase tickets, 
send a check or money order to Lanny Rominger, 9117 Luna 
del Oro NE, Albuquerque, NM 87111, or call him at (505) 
821-5064.  Ticket stubs will not be provided.  NMFNAWS will 
complete and enter all orders not accompanied by tickets. The 
raffle winner does not have to be present to win.  Authorizations 
to obtain licenses may be used either by the recipient or any 
individual of the recipient’s choice through sale, barter or gift.

The bag limit for these hunts is any one ram. These hunts do 
not count as once-in-a-lifetime hunts.

Bighorn Sheep Auction and Raffle Hunts
The winning hunter may choose one of the following hunts:
Open Areas	 Max. Licenses	 Bag Limit	 Hunt Dates

Unit 27	 1	 1 Ram	 Aug. 1-Dec. 31

Units 16B, 22, 23 and 24	 1	 1 Ram	 Aug. 1-Dec. 31

Unit 45	 1	 1 Ram	 Aug. 1-Dec. 31

Unit 53 Wheeler Peak 	 1	 1 Ram	 Aug. 1-10 and
portion south of NM 38			   Sept. 1-Dec. 31

Units 53 Latir Mountains north
of NM 38 and Latir Mountains	
portion of Unit 55A	 1	 1 Ram	 Aug. 1-Dec. 31

Unique Hunting Opportunities
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Deer Enhancement Authorizations To Be 
Auctioned and Raffled
The Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation (RMEF) is assisting 
the Department of Game and Fish with the auction of one 
deer authorization. RMEF will conduct the auction for one 
authorization at their annual Elk Camp on March 4-7, 2010, at 
the Reno/Sparks Convention Center, Reno, NV.  Please visit the 
RMEF Web site at www.rmef.org/.

A second authorization will be raffled through the Northern New 
Mexico Chapter, Mule Deer Foundation Chapter. For more 
information, contact Jacob Tolk at jtolk@mail.com or Scott 
Hampel at shampel@muledeer.org/.

Proceeds from the auction and raffle will be used for deer habitat 
enhancement and management in New Mexico. 

Each license will be valid for use from Sept. 1, 2010 through 
Jan. 31, 2011 with any legal sporting arm. These licenses will be 
valid statewide on public land where hunting is allowed (including 
Department owned WMAs), and private land with prior written 
landowner permission. Authorizations to obtain licenses may be 
used either by the recipient or any individual of the recipient’s 
choice through sale, barter or gift. The bag limit for these hunts is 
one buck deer.

Elk Enhancement Authorizations To Be 
Auctioned and Raffled
The Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation (RMEF) is assisting the 
Department of Game and Fish with an auction and raffle of two 
bull elk authorizations. 

Proceeds from the auction and raffle are used for elk 
habitat enhancement and management in New Mexico. The 
authorizations will be valid for use from Sept. 1, 2010 through 
Jan. 31, 2011 with any legal sporting arm.

One elk authorization will be auctioned to the highest bidder 
by RMEF at their annual Elk Camp on March 4-7, 2010, at the 
Reno/Sparks Convention Center, Reno, NV.   Please visit the 
RMEF Web site at www.rmef.org/.

Raffle tickets for the other authorization will be sold for $20 each 
through the New Mexico Chapter of RMEF. For more information, 
contact Doug Doherty at (505) 892-1250 or ddoherty@rmef.org.
The raffle drawing will be held on a date and location to be 
announced. Visit the Department’s Web site for more information.

Authorizations to obtain licenses may be used either by the 
recipient or any individual of the recipient’s choice through sale, 
barter or gift.  The bag limit for these hunts is one bull elk.  These 
hunts do not count as once-in-a-lifetime hunts.

Win An Elk Or Oryx Incentive Authorization 
For CWD Testing 
Hunters may be selected by drawing to receive an elk or oryx 
incentive authorization. To participate, hunters must bring in 
freshly harvested deer or elk heads to any Department office 
or field collection station so tissues can be collected for chronic 
wasting disease testing. To be eligible, hunters are required to 
deliver the head within 48 hours of taking the animal. Incentive 
authorizations to purchase licenses may be used either by the 
recipient or any individual of the recipient’s choice through sale, 
barter or gift.

Gould’s Turkey Enhancement Permits
Two Gould’s turkey enhancement permits will be made available via lottery and auction. For more information on lottery tickets, 
visit: http://auctions.nwtf.org/item.php?id=344/. The other permit will be auctioned at the National Wild Turkey Federation’s 
convention in Nashville, TN. Visit: http://nwtf.org/special_events/convention.html/.



Legal Sporting Arms
Sporting arms legal for hunting big game species are listed 
on the individual species’ pages.  Exceptions to the following 
descriptions are noted where applicable.

Hunters may use only soft-nosed or hollow-pointed bullets.  
Full-metal-jacketed or tracer bullets are illegal.  No fully 
automatic arms may be used.

Sights on bows may not magnify targets or project light.  
Arrows must have broadheads with steel cutting edges.  No 
drugs may be used on a hunting arrow, and arrows cannot be 
driven by explosives.

Crossbow use is legal by certified Mobility-Impaired hunters 
and they may use crossbows to hunt any protected species 
during any legal season unless otherwise restricted.  Legally 
licensed elk hunters may use crossbows during several Elk 
Rifle, Muzzleloader/Bow hunts. See pages 33, 38 and 39. 
Sights on crossbows may not magnify targets or project light. 
Bolts must have broadheads with steel cutting edges.  No 
drugs may be used on  bolts.  Bolts cannot be driven by 
explosives.

Scopes, sabots, in-line ignition and belted bullets may be used 
with muzzleloaders but not Restricted Muzzleloaders. See 
page 6 for definition.

Criminal Trespass Is Against the Law!
A.  Criminal trespass consists of knowingly entering or 
remaining upon posted private property without possessing 
written permission from the owner or person in control of the 
land.  The provisions of this subsection do not apply if:
	 1.  The owner or person in control of the land has entered 
into an agreement with the Department of Game and Fish 
granting access to public hunters for the purpose of taking any 
game animals, birds or fish by hunting, fishing or trapping; or
	 2.  A person is in possession of a landowner authorization 
given to him by the owner or person in control of the land that 
grants access to that particular private land for the purpose of 
taking any game animals, birds or fish by hunting, fishing or 
trapping.

B.  Criminal trespass also consists of knowingly entering or 
remaining upon the unposted lands of another knowing that 
such consent to enter or remain is denied or withdrawn by the 
owner or occupant thereof.  Notice of no consent to enter shall 
be deemed sufficient notice to the public and evidence to the 
courts, by the posting of the fenced property at all vehicular 
access entries.

C.  Criminal trespass also consists of knowingly entering or 
remaining upon lands owned, operated or controlled by the 
state or any of its political subdivisions knowing that consent 
to enter or remain is denied or withdrawn by the custodian 
thereof.

D.  Any person who enters upon the lands of another without 
prior permission and injures, damages or destroys any 
part of the realty or its improvements, including buildings, 
structures, trees, shrubs, or other natural features, is guilty of 
a misdemeanor, and shall be liable to the owner, lessee or 
person in lawful possession for civil damages in an amount 
equal to double the value of the damage to the property injured 
or destroyed.

E.  Whoever commits criminal trespass is guilty of a 
misdemeanor.  Additionally, any person who violates 
the provisions of Subsection A, B, or C of this section, in 
connection with hunting, fishing or trapping activity, shall have 
his hunting or fishing license revoked by the State Game 
Commission for a period of not less than three years, pursuant 
to the provisions of Section 17-3-34, NMSA 1978.

Criminal Trespass cont.
F.  Whoever knowingly removes, tampers with or destroys any 
“No Trespassing” sign is guilty of a petty misdemeanor; except 
when the damage to the sign amounts to more than $1,000, 
in which case he or she is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall 
be subject to imprisonment in the county jail for a definite term 
less than one year or a fine not more than $1,000 or to both 
imprisonment and fine, at the discretion of the judge.

Unlawful Taking of Game On Private 
Property
It is unlawful to hunt, capture, take, attempt to take or kill any 
game animal or furbearer on posted private property without 
written permission of the landowner or person in control of the 
land, or if consent to remain on the property has been denied 
or withdrawn. It is unlawful to knowingly enter upon any private 
property to hunt, capture, take, attempt to take, or kill any 
game animal or furbearer without written permission of the 
landowner or person in control of the land. 
Any game animals or furbearers taken in violation of the 
above, shall be subject to seizure.

Military Closures
The U.S. Forest Service and the Military may delay or cancel 
hunts in portions of GMUs 10, 13, 18, 19, 20 and 28 and AMUs 
3, 9, 12, 18 and 19 due to concerns for public safety. Closures 
of these areas could occur on several occasions throughout 
the year and may affect a number of hunts listed in this 
booklet.
Closures typically will occur between the hours of 3:00 am 
and 8:00 am.  Evacuation of all people from these areas is 
required.  Roadblocks will be positioned along all roads leading 
into the closed areas.
The area subject to closure in Unit 10 includes approximately 
29 square miles of the Mount Taylor Ranger District, Cibola 
National Forest, located in the Zuni Mountains directly south 
and east of Fort Wingate Launch Complex and south of I-40.
The area subject to closure in Unit 13 includes approximately 
200 square miles of the western portion of the Magdalena 
Ranger District, Cibola National Forest, located in the Datil 
Mountains north of U.S. Highway 60 and northeast of Datil, 
NM.  Authority for the closures is 36 CFR 261.53 (E) and 36 
CFR 261.54 (E) New Mexico.

Law Prohibits Harassing Legal 
Hunters
New Mexico has a law (NMSA 1978, Chapter 17-2-7.1) 
prohibiting “hunter harassment” or interfering with another 
person who is lawfully hunting, trapping or fishing in an area 
where those activities are permitted.  The first offense is a 
petty misdemeanor, the second a misdemeanor.
If a person who commits interference possesses a license, 
certificate or permit issued to him/her by the State Game 
Commission, the license, certificate or permit will be subject to 
revocation.
Interference means:
1.  Intentionally placing yourself in a location where a human 
presence may affect the behavior of a game animal, bird, or 
fish or the feasibility of killing or taking a game animal, bird 
or fish, with the intent of interfering with or harassing another 
person who is lawfully hunting, trapping or fishing.
2.  Intentionally creating a visual, aural, olfactory or physical 
stimulus for the purpose of affecting the behavior of a game 
animal, bird or fish, with the intent of interfering with or 
harassing another person who is lawfully hunting, fishing or 
trapping.
3.  Intentionally affecting the condition or altering the placement 
of personal property used for the purpose of killing or taking a 
game animal, bird or fish.

Hunting Information
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Legal Hunting Hours
Legal hunting hours are from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset 
for all big game species and turkey.

Albuquerque Area Sunrise and Sunset Times
Mountain Daylight Time (MDT), shown in shaded blocks, 
begins at 2 AM, March 14, 2010 and ends at 2 AM, November 
7, 2010. Other times are Mountain Standard Time. For areas 
west of Albuquerque, add one minute for each 12 miles.  For 
areas east  of Albuquerque, subtract one minute for each 12 
miles.  

DATE		 RISE	 SET
July	 1	 5:56	 8:25
	 5	 5:58	 8:24
	 10	 6:01	 8:23
	 15	 6:04	 8:21
	 20	 6:07	 8:18
	 25	 6:11	 8:15
Aug.	 1	 6:16	 8:09
	 5	 6:19	 8:05
	 10	 6:23	 8:00
	 15	 6:27	 7:54
	 20	 6:30	 7:48
	 25	 6:34	 7:42
Sept.	 1	 6:39	 7:32
	 5	 6:42	 7:27
	 10	 6:46	 7:20
	 15	 6:50	 7:13
	 20	 6:53	 7:05
	 25	 6:57	 6:58
Oct.	 1	 7:02	 6:50
	 5	 7:05	 6:44
	 10	 7:09	 6:37
	 15	 7:13	 6:31
	 20	 7:17	 6:24
	 25	 7:20	 6:19
Nov.	 1	 7:28	 6:11
	 5	 7:32	 6:08
	 10	 6:37	 5:04
	 15	 6:42	 5:00
	 20	 6:46	 4:58
	 25	 6:51	 4:56
Dec.	 1	 6:57	 4:54
	 5	 7:00	 4:54
	 10	 7:04	 4:55
	 15	 7:08	 4:56
	 20	 7:10	 4:58
	 25	 7:13	 5:01

DATE		 RISE	 SET
Jan.	 1	 7:15	 5:05
	 5	 7:15	 5:08
	 10	 7:15	 5:13
	 15	 7:14	 5:17
	 20	 7:13	 5:22
	 25	 7:10	 5:27
Feb.	 1	 7:06	 5:35
	 5	 7:03	 5:39
	 10	 6:58	 5:43
	 15	 6:53	 5:49
	 20	 6:47	 5:54
	 25	 6:41	 5:58
Mar.	 1	 6:35	 6:02
	 5	 6:30	 6:06
	 10	 6:23	 6:10
	 15	 7:16	 7:14
	 20	 7:09	 7:19
	 25	 7:02	 7:23
April	 1	 6:52	 7:28
	 5	 6:47	 7:31
	 10	 6:40	 7:35
	 15	 6:34	 7:39
	 20	 6:27	 7:43
	 25	 6:21	 7:48
May	 1	 6:15	 7:52
	 5	 6:11	 7:56
	 10	 6:06	 8:00
	 15	 6:02	 8:04
	 20	 5:59	 8:08
	 25	 5:56	 8:11
June	 1	 5:53	 8:16
	 5	 5:52	 8:18
	 10	 5:52	 8:20
	 15	 5:52	 8:22
	 20	 5:52	 8:24
	 25	 5:54	 8:25

Hunting Information continued 
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Outfitted Hunts
	 New Mexico’s drawing system for hunts is based on a 
quota which allocates big-game hunting opportunities among 
resident and nonresident hunters. Residents receive 78% of 
the available licenses for any hunt code. Nonresidents who 
use registered outfitters will receive up to 12% of the available 
licenses. Nonresidents who hunt without outfitters will receive 
up to 10% of the available licenses. 
	 Nonresidents who receive a license by using a registered 
outfitter’s number are required by state law to hunt with that 
outfitter for the duration of their hunt.  Nonresidents who 
received one of the 12% outfitter pool licenses and hunt on 
their own, may be prosecuted for hunting without a valid 
license; a misdemeanor offense.    
	 The Department regulates the operations and professional 
conduct of registered outfitters. A registered outfitter is any 
person who advertises or holds himself out for hire to the 
public or accepts compensation for providing equipment or 
services for hunting activities. A registered guide works for the 
outfitter and shall have a written agreement or contract with the 
outfitter. Registered outfitters and guides must follow the State 
Game Commission’s code of conduct when carrying out all 
outfitter/guide activities. Violations of the rules and regulations 
can result in revocation of a the outfitter’s privileges. 
	 There are more than 250 registered outfitters operating 
in New Mexico.  A list is provided on the Department’s Web 
site at: www.wildlife.state.nm.us and is also available from the 
Outfitter and Guide Registrar: (505) 222-4711. Hunters hiring 
an outfitter should fully research perspective candidates and 
obtain their references prior to hunting. 
	 If using a registered outfitter in New Mexico, both outfitter 
and hunter are required to sign a contract prior to the hunt. The 
contract must be dated, signed by all parties and designate 
the terms, compensation and services to be provided by the 
registered outfitter. 
	 Anyone outfitting or taking clients on public lands, including 
landowners or their agents, must obtain a special recreation 
permit from the appropriate land management agency (BLM, 
U.S. Forest Service, and/or State Land Office). Public land 
management agencies may place a limit on the number of 
outfitters operating on public lands.  When negotiating with a 
prospective outfitter for a public land hunt, make certain that 
they have the necessary permits. Your written contract should 
include these details.
	 Not all individuals are required to be registered as an 
outfitter in New Mexico. Landowners and their agents are 
exempt from registration requirements when guiding a hunter 
that holds a landowner license. If a person buys or has for sale 
landowner authorizations this does not mean that they are the 
agent of the landowner.

White Sands Missile Range
	 White Sands Missile Range (WSMR) only allows the use of 
outfitters and guides for Oryx Once-In-A-Lifetime, Youth Only and 
Mobility Impaired hunts. Outfitters and guides are not authorized 
for Population Management or Security Badged hunts. Only those 
outfitters and guides registered IN ADVANCE of the hunt with WSMR 
will be allowed to operate on the Range. It is the hunter’s responsibility 
to insure that their outfitter or guide is in compliance with Range 
policies. Contact WSMR at (575) 678-7095 or (575) 678-3487 for 
registration requirements.



Big-Game Management Units Map
Do not use the map on this page to determine unit boundaries. Individual unit maps can be 
downloaded from the Department’s Web site at www.wildlife.state.nm.us.  

 continued Hunting Information
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14 Game Management Unit (Unit)

Unit Boundary

Tribal Lands



General Application Information
•  Applicant MAY apply for a population management hunt as well 

as any regular draw hunt, including once-in-a-lifetime hunts, if 
eligible, but must do so on a separate Form 2010.

•  Residents and nonresidents wishing to receive a population 
management license for elk, deer, pronghorn antelope, Barbary 
sheep and oryx must apply for one on Form 2010 by Feb. 3, 
2010.

•  No one may apply for more than one population management 
hunt per species.

•  Only one person may apply on each Form 2010, and a 
separate Form 2010 must be used for each species.

•  The correct license and application fee must be submitted for 
each species. Please refer to the Population Management 
License Fee chart on this page.

•  Applications are accepted only by mail or online at www.wildlife.
state.nm.us/.

•  Form 2010 is available at any Department office, on the 
Department’s Web site and from many license vendors.

•  A random computer drawing ranks applicants and places them 
on a list. The ranking number will be printed on the license. A 
license will be issued to hunters on the list. The license is not 
valid until issued a validation number by Department personnel.

•  When a population management hunt is necessary, Department 
officials will contact hunters in the order they appear on the 
list and notify them of the hunt areas, dates, bag limit, sporting 
arms to be used and any other special restrictions. 

•  The hunter will be asked to accept or decline. If a hunter 
declines a hunt, they will be moved to the bottom of the list and 
another hunter will be contacted.

•  Applicants may update their telephone number or address by 
calling the Depredation Coordinator at (505) 476-8047.

•  Being on a population management hunt list does not 
guarantee you will be contacted for a hunt.

Drawing and Ranking Results
•  All successfully drawn applicants will receive a license.
•  Drawing results are available on the Department’s Web site or 

by phone 10 days after the drawing.

No Refunds or Exchanges
•  No refund will be given for any deer, elk, pronghorn antelope, 

Barbary sheep or oryx population management list hunt after it 
has been validated (issued a validation number). Licenses for 
persons not contacted to participate in a deer, elk, pronghorn 
antelope, Barbary sheep or oryx list hunt will be refunded after 
April 2011.

•  License fees for persons not successful in drawing a population 
management hunt will be refunded by May 2010.

•  The application fee will not be refunded.
•  Licenses cannot be transferred to other persons or exchanged 

for other areas or hunts.
•  For exceptions, see page 4.

One License Per Species
•  No one may have more than one valid deer, elk, pronghorn 

antelope, Barbary sheep or oryx license in a license year.
•  Hunters who have an unvalidated population management 

license CANNOT also hold a regular draw or private land 
license for that species and must return the unvalidated 
population management license to the Department.

Population Management Hunts
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  continued  Population Management Hunts

Population Management List Hunt 
Application Information 
•  These hunts are scheduled as needed and possibly on short 

notice.  
•  Anyone may apply, but only one person may apply per 
	 Form 2010.
•  Only one hunt code per species may be chosen.

Species	 Hunt Code	 Area

Deer	 DER-5-100	 Statewide

Elk	 ELK-5-100	 Statewide

Pronghorn	 ANT-5-100	 Statewide

Barbary Sheep	 BBY-5-100	 Statewide

Population Management License Fees 
Fees listed below include the nonrefundable application fee 
and the Depredation Damage Stamp fee. Habitat Stamps 
are required for hunting, fishing, and trapping on U.S. Forest 
Service and BLM lands and must be purchased separately. 
A Habitat Management and Access Validation must be 
purchased separately.

Species	 Resident	 Nonresident

Deer	 $49.00	 $297.00

Elk	 $93.00	 $562.00
This is the fee for a mature bull elk. If the bag limit for your 
population management hunt is an antlerless elk, you will 
receive a refund at the end of the license year for the difference 
in license fees.

Oryx	 $163.00	 $1,637.00
White Sands Missile Range and Jornada Experimental Station 
charge a $150 access fee and San Andres National Wildlife 
Refuge charges a $100 access fee to all oryx hunters.  Other 
Federal agencies may charge access fees. Applying for the 
oryx population management hunt implies acceptance of this 
additional charge should you be called for one of these hunts. 
ALL hunters on McGregor Range/Fort Bliss are required to have 
proof of passing a certified hunter education course before they 
hunt. Additionally, hunters must wear a blaze orange hat and a 
blaze orange hunting vest while hunting.

Pronghorn Antelope
	 $63.00	 $297.00  

Win An Elk Or Oryx Incentive Authorization 
For CWD Testing 
Hunters may be selected by drawing to receive an elk or oryx 
incentive authorization. To participate, hunters must bring in 
freshly harvested deer or elk heads to any Department office 
or field collection station so tissues can be collected for chronic 
wasting disease testing. To be eligible, hunters are required to 
deliver the head within 48 hours of taking the animal.



  continued  Population Management Hunts
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Oryx Population Management “As Called” Hunts
Information for both hunts
•  These hunts are scheduled as needed and possibly on short notice.
•  Applicant MAY NOT apply for any other oryx population management hunt.
•  Only one person may apply per Form 2010.
•  Only one hunt code may be chosen.
•  Application must be made on Form 2010 by Feb. 3, 2010.

Specific information for Standard ORX-5-510 hunts
•  White Sands Missile Range and Jornada Experimental Range charge a $150 access fee and San Andres National Wildlife 

Refuge charges a $100 access fee to all oryx hunters. Other Federal agencies may charge access fees.
•  Anyone may apply for the ORX-5-510 hunt. Up to 250 individuals will receive a license with a ranking number.

	 Dates	 Hunt Code	 Hunters Called in 2008-2009
Standard Hunt	 TBD	 ORX-5-510	 104

Specific information for Fort Bliss ORX-5-511 hunts
•  Only active-duty Fort Bliss military personnel may apply for the ORX-5-511 hunt. Proof of assignment to Fort Bliss must 

accompany application, or if applying online, forwarded to the Department’s Special Hunts Office by the application deadline. 
Up to 30 individuals will receive a license with a ranking number.

•  All applicants for Fort Bliss hunts must possess proof of successfully completing a state certified hunter education course 
before their hunt. Hunters must wear a blaze orange hat and a blaze orange hunting vest while hunting.

	 Dates	 Hunt Code	 Hunters Called in 2008-2009
Fort Bliss (west of US 54)	 TBD	 ORX-5-511	 10

Title VI Funding
Certain programs of the New Mexico Department of Game and Fish receive federal funds from the U.S. Department of the Interior.  These programs are therefore subject to requirements of the New 
Mexico Human Rights Act and Title VI of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, which prohibit discrimination because of ancestry, sex, race, color, religion, national origin, age, or physical or mental handicap.  
If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility, please send a detailed description of the incident by certified mail to the New Mexico Department of Game 
and Fish. If you desire further information on Title VI, write: Department of Game and Fish, ADA Coordinator, PO Box 25112, Santa Fe, NM  87504 or Office of Equal Opportunity, U.S. Dept. of the 
Interior, Office of the Secretary, Washington, DC  20240. The Department of Game and Fish will schedule public meetings and operate facilities that are accessible to physically impaired persons.  
Reasonable accommodations will be made for other impairments, including hearing and sight.  If special aids are required, call (505) 476-8027 or write to PO Box 25112, Santa Fe, NM  87504 at 
least three working days prior to the meeting date. To initiate a complaint, write to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Division of Federal Assistance, 4401 Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: MBSP-4020, 
Arlington, Virginia 22203.
Fundos de Title VI
Ciertos programas del New Mexico Department of Game and Fish reciben fondos federales del U.S. Department of the Interior.  Estos programas son subyugados a requisitos de la ley de New 
Mexico Human Rights Act and Title VI of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, que prohíben la discriminacion por razones de ascendencia, sexo, raza, color, religión, origen nacional, edad o impedimento físico 
o mental.  Si usted cree que ha sufrido discriminación en cualquier programa, actividad o comodidades, por favor envíe por correo certificado una descripción detallada al Department of Game and 
Fish. Si desea mas informacion sobre Titulo VI, por favor escriba a: Department of Game and Fish, ADA Coordinator, PO Box 25112, Santa Fe, NM  87504 or Office of Equal Opportunity, U.S. Dept. 
of the Interior, Office of the Secretary, Washington, DC  20240. Al programar sus reuniones públicas, el Department of Game and Fish operará en facilidades que proveen acceso para personas 
con incapacidades físicas.  Las personas con otras incapacidades, inclusive del oído y de la vista, recibirán acceso razonable a las reuniones. Si usted necesita algún auxiliar o ayuda especial, 
por favor llame al número  (505) 476-8027 o escriba a Post Office Box 25112, Santa Fe, NM 87504, por lo menos tres (3) días antes de la reunión. Para iniciar una queja, escriba a U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service, Division of Federal Assistance, 4401 Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop:  MBSP-4020, Arlington, Virginia  22203.

Hunters Called For Population Management List Hunts
Species	 Hunt Code	 Area	 Hunters Called in 2008-2009

Deer	 DER-5-060	 NW	 0
	 DER-5-061	 NE	 0
	 DER-5-062	 SW	 0
	 DER-5-063	 SE	 0

Elk	 ELK-5-465	 NW	 0
	 ELK-5-466	 NE	 0
	 ELK-5-467	 SW	 0
	 ELK-5-468	 SE	 0

Pronghorn	 ANT-5-575	 NE	 12
	 ANT-5-576	 SE	 18

Oryx On White Sands Missile Range
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Public Land Deer Draw License
A Public Land Deer Draw License is issued only through the 
regular public draw. To hunt public land, an individual must 
apply for a Public Land Deer Draw License by submitting 
application Form 2010 to the Department by April 7, 2010. 
Anyone applying for a deer draw license, MUST pay the full 
license and application fee when making application.

Successful applicants will be issued a Public Land Deer Draw 
License. This License will indicate a hunt code and identify the 
unit, sporting arms type, season dates, and bag limit.  Attached 
to the license will be a deer carcass tag.

The Public Land Deer License authorizes the hunter to hunt 
on any open public land within the specified unit or hunt area 
and any private land in that unit (except for Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 
and 5A) as long as they secure written permission from each 
landowner on whose property they hunt.

While hunting, the Public Land Deer Draw License hunter must 
have in their possession a:
1.  Deer or general license for hunting or fishing, 		

indicating the appropriate hunt code,
2.  Habitat Stamp if hunting on BLM or U.S. Forest Service 

lands,
3.  Habitat Management and Access Validation when hunting 

on ANY lands,
4.  Written permission from the landowner if hunting on private 		
	 land. 

Types of Public Land 
Deer Draw Licenses
There are several types of public land deer hunts. There are 
standard hunts (S); quality hunts (Q), which are determined by 
the State Game Commission; and high-demand hunts (HD) for 
rifle, bow and muzzleloader.  Some hunts are both quality and 
high demand (Q/HD). High-demand hunts are those hunts for 
which nonresidents were at least 22% of the applicant pool for 
each of the two previous license years.

Fourth Choice Hunts
An applicant marking fourth choice indicates that they will 
accept a deer hunting license for ANY HUNT in a specific 
quadrant of the state. The 4th choice assignment will always 
be for the same sporting arm type as the first choice on an 
application.

Hunters should be aware that success rates for 4th choice 
hunts may be low due to small, localized populations of deer.  
Hunters that apply for and receive their 4th choice hunt will 
NOT receive a refund and cannot obtain a Private Land-only 
License if they are dissatisfied with the hunt they draw.

If applying for a 4th choice hunt, applicants must choose one of 
the 4 quadrants of the State listed below:

NW	 May include Units 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12 or 14.
NE	 May include Units 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 		
	 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58 or 59.
SW	 May include Units 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 		
	 24, 25, 26 or 27.
SE	 May include Units 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 		
	 39 or 40.

Changing Your Validation
A Public Land Deer Draw License CANNOT be changed or 
revalidated once issued through the drawing. The only deer 
license that may be changed are Private Land-only Licenses 
obtained from vendors, see page 21.

General Information
To hunt deer in New Mexico, all residents and nonresidents 
must have a hunting license. 

It is recommended that you do NOT purchase a General 
Hunting or General Hunting and Fishing License until you know 
if you were successful in the deer draw or unless you have 
access to private land.

Hunters must have:
1.  Public Land Deer Draw License (issued only through the 
draw), or a Private Land-only Deer License (available at any 
license vendor, except for Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A) and 
written permission from the landowner if hunting on private 
land, AND

	 2.  Habitat Stamp if hunting on BLM or U.S. Forest Service 		
	 lands, AND
	 3.  Habitat Management and Access Validation when hunting 
	 on ANY lands.
It is illegal to apply for, buy or use more than one license, or tag 
for any big game species during any license year, except when 
permitted by rule.

Discounted Resident Combination 
Licenses
Residents applying ONLINE for public land deer licenses 
will have the opportunity to select a combination license in 
conjunction with their deer application. 

Residents will have the choice to apply for a General Hunting 
and Fishing License or a General Hunting License or a Deer 
License or a Handicapped General Hunting and Fishing or a 
Handicapped General Hunting or a Junior/Senior Deer License.  
Additionally, applicants will have the option to purchase 
a Habitat Management and Access Validation, Habitat 
Improvement Stamp and/or Harvest Information Program (HIP) 
number, at the same time.

Online applicants will be charged the full fee up front at the 
application deadline.  An authorization number will be provided 
prior to April 15 to residents who select one of the combination 
hunting and fishing license options online along with the 
proper stamps and validations. This authorization number will 
serve as their legal Fishing License. Be aware that applicants 
selecting any combination hunting and fishing license will 
not be able to fish legally UNTIL they have received their 
authorization number. If you wish to fish April 1, you MUST 
purchase a separate Fishing License. Customers may obtain 
their authorization number by accessing their customer account 
between April 7 and April 15.

Residents who choose a combination license and who 
successfully draw for deer will be issued a deer license. 
Residents who are unsuccessful in the deer draw will be issued 
a refund for the difference of the full combination package price 
and the lesser one for which the authorization was issued. 
No refunds will be issued for licenses tied to an authorization 
number. 

License Fees
See page 7 for all deer license fees. The full license fee plus 
a nonrefundable application fee is required when submitting 
the application. DAV applicants DO NOT need to submit an 
application fee when applying for a public draw deer license. 
A Private Land-only Deer License may be purchased any time 
after July 1.
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Chronic Wasting Disease Rules
Currently Apply to Unit 19 and Control Area of Unit 34
It is unlawful to transport dead deer or elk, or their parts, taken from 
any Game Management Unit or other area designated by the Director 
in which the presence of, or possibility of, exposure to chronic wasting 
disease (CWD) has been identified to any location outside that Game 
Management Unit except for the following parts of deer or elk:
•  Meat that is cut and wrapped either privately or commercially.
•  Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the head or spinal 

column attached.
•  Meat that has been boned out.
•  Hides with no heads attached.
•  Clean skull plates with antlers attached.
•  Antlers with no meat or tissue attached.
•  Upper canine teeth, also known as “ivories.”
•  Finished heads mounted by a taxidermist.
You may not remove the whole head and spinal column. You must 
keep proof of sex with all game species until you get the game to the 
place where it will be consumed or placed in cold storage.
For Control Area Map of Unit 34, go to: www.wildlife.state.nm.us/
conservation/disease/cwd/documents/CWDcontrolarea2006.pdf/.

Win An Elk Or Oryx Incentive Authorization 
For CWD Testing 
Hunters may be selected by drawing to receive an elk or oryx 
incentive authorization. To participate, hunters must bring in 
freshly harvested deer or elk heads to any Department office 
or field collection station so tissues can be collected for chronic 
wasting disease testing. To be eligible, hunters are required to 
deliver the head within 48 hours of taking the animal.
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Bag Limit
The bag limit for most hunts is FAD, FAMD or FAWTD. (See 
Definitions on page 5). The only exceptions are Youth-Only 
hunts on the Brantley, Seven Rivers, and Huey WMAs, which 
are ES (either-sex) and the Youth-Only hunt in Units 41, 58 
and 59 which are ESWTD (either-sex white-tailed deer).

The antlers and attached segment of the skull must stay with 
the deer you take until it reaches the place where it will be 
consumed or placed in cold storage.

Legal Sporting Arm Types
Any Legal Sporting Arm
Centerfire rifle or handgun; shotgun no smaller than 28 gauge, 
firing a single slug; any bow and arrows; any muzzleloading 
rifle. Crossbows may be used only by certified Mobility-
Impaired Hunters, see page 15.

Bow Only
Any bow and arrows. Crossbows may be used only by certified 
Mobility-Impaired Hunters, see page 15.

Muzzleloader
Any muzzleloading rifle. Scopes and sabots are legal.

Restricted Muzzleloader Only
Any muzzleloading rifle (including a smoothbore flintlock or 
musket) using open sights in which the charge and projectile 
are loaded through the muzzle. Only black powder, Pyrodex, 
or an equivalent substitute may be used.  Use of in-line 
ignition, pelleted powder, sabots, belted bullets, multiple 
projectiles and scopes are illegal. 

Private Land-only Deer Licenses
To hunt only on private land (except in Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 
5A, see below), a hunter must obtain a Private Land-only Deer 
License from any license vendor or by completing Form 3 or 
order a license online. Attached to the license will be a deer 
carcass tag.
While hunting, the Private Land-only Deer License hunter must 
have in their possession a:
1.  Properly validated Private Land-only Deer License indicating 

the appropriate hunt code, AND
2.  Written permission from the landowner(s) on whose private 

land they are hunting, AND 
3. A Habitat Management and Access Validation
The Private Land-only Deer License will indicate a hunt code 
and identify the unit, sporting arms type, season dates, and bag 
limit. 
It is unlawful for any person to hunt on public land 
with a Private Land-only Deer License. 

Private Land Hunting in Units 2A, 2B, 
2C, 4 and 5A
Landowners must obtain a specially designated Form 2010 
from the Department’s NW Area office. Hunters wishing to hunt 
on private land in Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A must obtain the 
specially designated Form 2010 and the list of special hunt 
codes from the landowner on whose land they wish to hunt 
and apply with this form through the regular public draw.  Only 
this special Form 2010 may be used when making application 
for private land hunts in Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A.  When 
applying for private land hunts in GMU 5A, only one person 
may apply on each application form. This application must be 
submitted to the Department by April 7, 2010.

Private Land Deer Conservation 
Incentive Program
Private landowners that are engaged in significant improvements 
of deer habitat on their lands may be eligible for various incentives. 
For more information, contact (505) 476-8038.

Validating Your Private Land-only 
Deer License
When you obtain a Private Land-only Deer License, you must 
choose a hunt code that corresponds with a Public Hunt 
Code for the Unit, Sporting Arm and Season Date. If you are 
a nonresident and choose a corresponding Public Hunt Code 
designated as Quality, you must purchase a Quality Deer 
License. Only Department personnel may revalidate Private 
Land-only Deer Licenses. The deadline to revalidate your 
Private Land-only Deer license is by the beginning date of the 
first season validated.

Units 8 (firearm hunts), 46, 54, and 55 do not have public land 
hunts, therefore the selected hunt code must be one of those 
listed below. The fee type is standard (S).

Unit	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Licenses	 Bag Limit

Any Legal Sporting Arm
8	 Oct. 16-20	 DER-1-450	 Unlimited	 FAD
46	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-452	 Unlimited	 FAD
46	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-453	 Unlimited	 FAD
54	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-456	 Unlimited	 FAD
54	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-457	 Unlimited	 FAD
54	 Nov. 25-28	 DER-1-458	 Unlimited	 FAWTD
55	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-461	 Unlimited	 FAD
55	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-462	 Unlimited	 FAD
55B	 Nov. 25-28	 DER-1-465	 Unlimited	 FAWTD

Bow Only
46	 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-454	 Unlimited	 FAD
54	 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-459	 Unlimited	 FAD
55	 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-463	 Unlimited	 FAD

Muzzleloader and Bow
8	 Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-451	 Unlimited	 FAD
46	 Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-455	 Unlimited	 FAD
54	 Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-460	 Unlimited	 FAD
55	 Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-464	 Unlimited	 FAD



What You Must Know Before You Hunt - Any Legal Sporting Arm
Youth-Only Hunts:  Applicants must be younger than 18 on the opening day of the hunt, provide proof of hunter education certification to apply 
and carry their certificate while hunting with a firearm.  Blaze Orange Clothing:  Hunters must wear at least 244 square inches of blaze orange 
while hunting on military property. McGregor Range/Fort Bliss requires all hunters wear a blaze orange hat and a blaze orange hunting vest. Closed 
Areas:  Military reservations,  national parks and monuments, state parks and monuments, recreation areas, national wildlife refuges, state wildlife 
management areas and other locations may be closed or have restrictions placed on hunting.  The following other areas are closed to deer hunting:  
The Valle Vidal and Greenwood areas of Unit 55A are closed to all deer hunting; all state wildlife management areas are closed unless specifically 
open to hunting. Units 10, 13, 18 and 20:  These units are subject to closure by the U.S. Forest Service and/or the military during missile firings.  
Restricted Areas: Units 1, 3, 11, 35 and other tribal reservations are not included under state rules.  Contact tribal officials directly. Grapevine Canyon 
(McGregor Range Buffer Zone) in Unit 34 is accessible only by military permission.  All hunters on McGregor Range/Fort Bliss are required to have 
proof of passing a certified hunter education course before they hunt.

Draw Licenses, Seasons For Any Legal Sporting Arm
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses 	Bag Limit

  Private Land-only Licenses may NOT be issued by license vendors for hunts in Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A.

Unit 2
	 2A  Public Land Only Youth Only	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-101	 S	 50	 FAD
	 2A	 Public Land Only	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-100	 S	 200	 FAD
	 2B  Public Land Only Youth Only	 Oct. 16-20	 DER-1-112	 S	 150	 FAD
	 2B	 Public Land Only	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-109	 S	 300	 FAD
	 2B  Public Land Only	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-110	 S	 390	 FAD
	 2B	 Public Land Only	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-111	 Q/HD	 465	 FAD
	 2C	 Public Land Only	 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-125	 Q/HD	 24	 FAD
Unit 4
	 4  Humphries/Rio Chama WMAs	 Oct. 16-20	 DER-1-131	 S	 20	 FAD
	 4  Humphries/Rio Chama WMAs  Youth Only	 Oct. 16-20	 DER-1-133	 S	 10	 FAD
	 4  Humphries/Rio Chama WMAs	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-132	 S	 20	 FAD
	 4  Humphries/Rio Chama WMAs  Youth Only	 Nov. 24-28	 DER-1-134	 HD	 5	 FAD
Unit 5
	 5A  Public Land Only	 Nov. 9-15	 DER-1-139	 S	 30	 FAD
	 5B 	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-143	 Q	 15	 FAD
	 5B  Youth Only	 Nov. 24-28	 DER-1-144	 Q	 10	 FAD
Unit 6
	 6A and 6C  Mobility-Impaired Only	 Oct. 16-20	 DER-1-146	 S	 20	 FAD
	 6A and 6C	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-145	 S	 100	 FAD
Unit 7
	 7		  Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-149	 S	 25	 FAD
Unit 9
	 9  including Water Canyon and Marquez WMAs	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-154	 S	 10	 FAD
	 9  including Water Canyon and Marquez WMAs  Youth Only	
			   Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-155	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 10
	 10  Mobility-Impaired Only	 Oct. 16-20	 DER-1-162	 S	 20	 FAD
	 10		 Oct. 16-20	 DER-1-158	 S	 70	 FAD
	 10		 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-159	 S	 65	 FAD
	 10		 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-160	 S	 90	 FAD
	 10	  Youth Only	 Nov. 25-28 and Dec. 4-5 and Dec. 11-12
		    		  DER-1-161	 S	 25	 FAD
Unit 12
	 12		 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-165	 S	 200	 FAD
Unit 13
	 13  Youth Only	 Sept. 25-Oct. 3	 DER-1-170	 S	 100	 FAD
	 13		 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-168	 S	 500	 FAD
	 13		 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-169	 S	 500	 FAD
Unit 14
	 14  Sandia Ranger District is open to bow only	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-174	 S	 25	 FAD
Unit 16
	 16  Youth Only	 Sept. 25-Oct. 3	 DER-1-183	 S	 100	 FAD
	 16	 Mobility-Impaired Only	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-184	 S	 25	 FAD
	 16		 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-181	 S	 300	 FAD
	 16		 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-182	 S	 300	 FAD

Deer continued 
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FAD= Any deer with at least 2 points on one side, FAMD=Fork-antlered mule deer, FAWTD=Fork-antlered white-tailed deer, ES=Either-sex deer, ESWTD=Either sex white-tailed deer. 

Game Management Unit boundary maps are available on the Department’s Web site at www.wildlife.state.nm.us

16B is almost entirely 
wilderness, no motor-
ized travel allowed.
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continued Draw Licenses, Seasons for Any Legal Sporting Arm
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses 	 Bag Limit
Unit 17
	 17		 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-188	 Q	 175	 FAD
	 17		 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-189	 Q	 175	 FAD
	 17  Youth Only	 Nov. 25-28 and Dec. 4-5 and Dec. 11-12
		    		  DER-1-190	 Q	 100	 FAD
Unit 18
	 18  	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-194	 S	 100	 FAD
	 18 	 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-195	 S	 100	 FAD
Unit 20
	 20		 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-200	 S	 100	 FAD
	 20		 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-201	 S	 100	 FAD
Unit 21
	 21	 Youth Only	 Sept. 25-Oct. 3	 DER-1-207	 S	 100	 FAD
	 21		 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-205	 S	 500	 FAD
	 21		 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-206	 S	 500	 FAD
Unit 22
	 22		 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-211	 HD	 100	 FAD
	 22		 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-212	 S	 100	 FAD
Unit 23
	 23  except the Burro Mountains hunt area	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-216	 S	 450	 FAMD
	 23  except the Burro Mountains hunt area	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-217	 S	 50	 FAWTD
	 23  except the Burro Mountains hunt area	 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-218	 S	 450	 FAMD
	 23  except the Burro Mountains hunt area	 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-219	 S	 50	 FAWTD
	 23  Burro Mountains hunt area	 Oct. 9-13	 DER-1-220	 Q	 50	 FAMD
	 23  Burro Mountains hunt area	 Oct. 9-13	 DER-1-221	 Q	 50	 FAWTD
	 23  Burro Mountains hunt area  Youth Only	  Nov. 25-28 and Dec. 4-5 and Dec. 11-12
				    DER-1-222	 Q	 25	 FAD
Unit 24
	 24  Youth Only	 Sept. 25-Oct. 3	 DER-1-237	 S	 100	 FAD
	 24	 	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-233	 S	 300	 FAMD
	 24	 	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-234	 S	 50	 FAWTD
	 24	 	 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-235	 S	 300	 FAMD
	 24	 	 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-236	 S	 50	 FAWTD
Unit 25
	 25		 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-244	 S	 75	 FAD
	 25		 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-245	 S	 75	 FAD
Unit 26
	 26	 except Big Hatchets management area	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-249	 S	 75	 FAD
	 26	 except Big Hatchets management area	 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-250	 S	 75	 FAD
Unit 27
	 27		 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-254	 Q	 25	 FAMD
	 27		 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-255	 Q/HD	 25	 FAWTD
	 27		 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-256	 Q	 25	 FAMD
	 27		 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-257	 Q	 25	 FAWTD
Unit 28
	 28	 McGregor Range	 Oct. 9-10	 DER-1-262	 S	 10	 FAD
	 28	 McGregor Range  Military Only	 Oct. 9-10	 DER-1-263	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 29
	 29		 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-264	 S	 150	 FAD
	 29		 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-265	 S	 150	 FAD
Unit 30
	 30		 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-268	 S	 1,000	 FAD
	 30		 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-269	 S	 1,500	 FAD
	 30  Youth Only	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-270	 S	 250	 FAD
	 30  Youth Only	 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-271	 S	 250	 FAD
Unit 31
	 31  including Brantley WMA	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-274	 S	 400	 FAD
	 31  including Brantley WMA	 Nov. 20-24	 DER-1-275	 S	 400	 FAD
Unit 31/33	
	 31/33 Brantley WMA only and Huey Waterfowl Management Area only  Youth Only
			   Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-286	 Q	 15	 ES

FAD= Any deer with at least 2 points on one side, FAMD=Fork-antlered mule deer, FAWTD=Fork-antlered white-tailed deer, ES=Either-sex deer, ESWTD=Either sex white-tailed deer. 
Game Management Unit boundary maps are available on the Department’s Web site at www.wildlife.state.nm.us



Deer  continued 

24

Draw Licenses, Seasons for Any Legal Sporting Arm continued

Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses 	 Bag Limit
Unit 32
	 32	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-278	 S	 600	 FAD
	 32	 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-279	 S	 600	 FAD
Unit 33
	 33	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-282	 Q	 150	 FAD
	 33	 Nov. 20-24	 DER-1-283	 Q	 150	 FAD
Unit 34
	 34  Youth Only	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-291	 S	 50	 FAD
	 34  Mobility-Impaired Only	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-292	 S	 50	 FAD
	 34  	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-289	 S	 1,200	 FAD
	 34  	 Nov. 13-17	 DER-1-290	 S	 1,200	 FAD
Unit 36
	 36  except Fort Stanton BLM Area	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-295	 S	 300	 FAD
	 36  except Fort Stanton BLM Area	 Nov. 20-24	 DER-1-296	 S	 300	 FAD
	 36  including Fort Stanton Youth Only  Nov. 25-28 and Dec. 4-5 and Dec. 11-12
			   DER-1-297	 S	 25	 FAD
Unit 37
	 37	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-301	 S	 600	 FAD
	 37	 Nov. 20-24	 DER-1-302	 S	 600	 FAD
Unit 38
	 38	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-305	 S	 350	 FAD
	 38	 Nov. 20-24	 DER-1-306	 S	 350	 FAD
Unit 39
	 39	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-309	 S	 50	 FAD
	 39	 Nov. 20-24	 DER-1-310	 S	 50	 FAD
Unit 40
	 40	 Nov. 6-10	 DER-1-313	 S	 50	 FAD
	 40	 Nov. 20-24	 DER-1-314	 S	 50	 FAD
Unit 41
	 41	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-317	 S	 35	 FAD
	 41	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-318	 S	 35	 FAD
	 41  Youth Only	 Nov. 25-28	 DER-1-320	 S	 5	 FAD
	 41  Youth Only	 Dec. 4-8	 DER-1-321	 S	 15	 ESWTD		
	 41	 Dec. 11-15	 DER-1-319	 S	 10	 FAWTD
Unit 42
	 42	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-324	 S	 60	 FAD
	 42	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-325	 S	 60	 FAD
	 42	 Nov. 25-28	 DER-1-326	 S	 10	 FAWTD
Unit 43
	 43	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-329	 S	 50	 FAD
	 43	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-330	 S	 50	 FAD
Unit 45
	 45  Mobility-Impaired Only	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-336	 S	 25	 FAD
	 45	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-333	 S	 275	 FAD
	 45	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-334	 S	 275	 FAD
	 45  Youth Only	 Nov. 25-28 and Dec. 4-5	DER-1-335	 S	 25	 FAD
Unit 47
	 47	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-340	 S	 20	 FAD
	 47	 Oct. 30--Nov. 3	 DER-1-341	 S	 20	 FAD
Unit 48
	 48	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-344	 S	 50	 FAD
	 48	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-345	 S	 50	 FAD
Unit 49
	 49	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-347	 S	 100	 FAD
	 49	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-348	 S	 100	 FAD
Unit 50
	 50	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-350	 S	 50	 FAD
	 50		 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-351	 S	 50	 FAD
Unit 51
	 51		 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-353	 S	 100	 FAD
	 51		 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-354	 S	 100	 FAD
Unit 52
	 52		 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-356	 S	 100	 FAD
	 52		 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-357	 S	 100	 FAD
Unit 53
	 53		 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-360	 S	 100	 FAD
	 53		 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-361	 S	 100	 FAD

FAD= Any deer with at least 2 points on one side, FAMD=Fork-antlered mule deer, FAWTD=Fork-antlered white-tailed deer, ES=Either-sex deer, ESWTD=Either sex white-tailed deer. 
Game Management Unit boundary maps are available on the Department’s Web site at www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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continued  Draw Licenses, Seasons for Any Legal Sporting Arms
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses 	 Bag Limit
Unit 54 and 55
	 54 and 55  Colin Neblett WMA	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-363	 S	 15	 FAD
	 54 and 55  Colin Neblett WMA	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-364	 S	 15	 FAD
Unit 55
	 55  ES Barker WMA	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-365	 S	 5	 FAD
	 55  ES Barker WMA  Youth Only 	 Nov. 25-28	 DER-1-366	 S	 5	 FAD
	 55  Urraca WMA	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-367	 S	 10	 FAD
	 55  Urraca WMA	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-368	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 56
	 56		 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-369	 S	 15	 FAD
	 56		 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-370	 S	 15	 FAD
	 56  Youth Only	 Nov. 25-28	 DER-1-371	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 57
	 57		 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-374	 S	 25	 FAD
	 57		 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-375	 S	 25	 FAD
	 57  Youth Only 	 Nov. 25-28	 DER-1-377	 S	 10	 FAD
	 57		 Nov. 25-28	 DER-1-376	 S	 10	 FAWTD
Unit 58
	 58		 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-381	 S	 30	 FAD
	 58		 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-382	 S	 30	 FAD
	 58  Youth Only	 Nov. 25-28	 DER-1-384	 S	 10	 FAD
	 58  Youth Only	 Dec. 4-8	 DER-1-385	 S	 15	 ESWTD
	 58		 Dec. 11-15	 DER-1-383	 S	 10	 FAWTD
Unit 59
	 59		 Oct. 23-27	 DER-1-388	 S	 35	 FAD
	 59		 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-1-389	 S	 35	 FAD
	 59  Youth Only	 Nov. 25-28	 DER-1-391	 S	 5	 FAD
	 59  Youth Only	 Dec. 4-8	 DER-1-392	 S	 15	 ESWTD
	 59		 Dec. 11-15	 DER-1-390	 S	 10	 FAWTD

Draw Licenses, Seasons for Bow Only
What You Must Know Before You Hunt
Youth Only Hunts: Applicants must be under 18 on the opening day of the hunt.  Units 10, 18, 19 and 20: These units are subject to closure by the 
U.S. Forest Service and/or the military during missile firings.  Closed Areas:  Military reservations, national parks and monuments, state parks and 
monuments, recreation areas, national and state wildlife refuges and areas, and other locations may be closed or have restrictions placed on hunting. 
In addition, the following other areas are closed to deer hunting:  All state Wildlife Management areas are closed unless specifically open to hunting.  
Restricted  Areas:  Units 1, 3, 11, 35 and other tribal reservations. Contact tribal officials directly. 

Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses 	 Bag Limit

Private Land Only-Licenses may NOT be issued by license vendors for hunts in units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A.

Unit 2
	 2A	  Public Land Only	 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-103	 S	 40	 FAD
	 2A	  Public Land Only	 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-104	 Q/HD	 80	 FAD
	 2B   Public Land Only	 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-116	 S	 130	 FAD	
	 2B	  Public Land Only	 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-117	 Q/HD	 180	 FAD
	 2B	  Public Land Only Youth Only	 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-118	 S	 20	 FAD	
	 2B	  Public Land Only Youth Only	 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-119	 Q	 50	 FAD	
	 2C	  Public Land Only	 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-127	 Q/HD	 66	 FAD
Unit 5
	 5A  Public Land Only	 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-141	 S	 30	 FAD
Unit 6
	 6A and 6C	 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-147	 S	 100	 FAD
Unit 7
	 7		  Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-150	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 8
	 8  Youth Only	 Nov. 20-28	 DER-2-153	 S	 50	 FAD
	 8  		 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-152	 Q	 50	 FAD
Unit 9
	 9  including Water Canyon and Marquez WMAs	 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-156	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 10
	 10		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-163	 S	 120	 FAD

FAD= Any deer with at least 2 points on one side, FAMD=Fork-antlered mule deer, FAWTD=Fork-antlered white-tailed deer, ES=Either-sex deer, ESWTD=Either sex white-tailed deer. 
Game Management Unit boundary maps are available on the Department’s Web site at www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Draw Licenses, Seasons for Bow Only  continued

Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses 	 Bag Limit
Unit 12
	 12		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-166	 S	 75	 FAD
Unit 13
	 13		 Sept. 1-24	 DER-2-171	 S	 150	 FAD
	 13		 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-172	 Q	 150	 FAD
Unit 14
	 14		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-175	 S	 25	 FAD
Unit 15
	 15		 Sept. 1-24	 DER-2-177	 S	 100	 FAD
	 15		 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-178	 Q	 100	 FAD
Unit 16
	 16		 Sept. 1-24	 DER-2-185	 S	 200	 FAD
	 16		 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-186	 Q	 200	 FAD
Unit 17
	 17		 Sept. 1-24	 DER-2-191	 Q	 200	 FAD
	 17		 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-192	 Q	 200	 FAD
Unit 18
	 18		 Sept. 1-24	 DER-2-196	 S	 50	 FAD
	 18		 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-197	 Q	 50	 FAD
Unit 20
	 20		 Sept. 1-24	 DER-2-202	 S	 25	 FAD
	 20		 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-203	 Q	 25	 FAD
Unit 21
	 21		 Sept. 1-24	 DER-2-208	 S	 150	 FAD
	 21		 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-209	 Q	 150	 FAD
Unit 22
	 22		 Sept. 1-24	 DER-2-213	 S	 25	 FAD
	 22		 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-214	 Q	 25	 FAD
Unit 23
	 23  except the Burro Mountains hunt area	 Sept. 1-24	 DER-2-223	 S	 100	 FAMD
	 23  except the Burro Mountains hunt area	 Sept. 1-24	 DER-2-224	 S	 75	 FAWTD
	 23  except the Burro Mountains hunt area	 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-225	 Q	 100	 FAMD
	 23  except the Burro Mountains hunt area	 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-226	 Q	 75	 FAWTD
	 23  Burro Mountains hunt area	 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-227	 Q	 50	 FAMD
	 23  Burro Mountains hunt area	 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-228	 Q/HD	 50	 FAWTD
Unit 24
	 24	 	 Sept. 1-24	 DER-2-238	 S	 100	 FAMD
	 24	 	 Sept. 1-24	 DER-2-239	 S	 50	 FAWTD
	 24	 	 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-240	 Q	 100	 FAMD
	 24	 	 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-241	 Q	 50	 FAWTD
Unit 25
	 25		 Sept. 1-24	 DER-2-246	 S	 50	 FAD
	 25		 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-247	 Q	 50	 FAD
Unit 26
	 26	 except Big Hatchets management area	 Sept. 1-24	 DER-2-251	 S	 25	 FAD
	 26	 except Big Hatchets management area	 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-252	 Q	 25	 FAD
Unit 27
	 27		 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-258	 Q	 25	 FAMD
	 27		 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-259	 Q/HD	 30	 FAWTD
Unit 29
	 29		 Sept. 1-22 and	
			   Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-266	 Q	 200	 FAD	
Unit 30
	 30		 Sept. 1-22 and	
			   Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-272	 Q/HD	 300	 FAD
Unit 31	
	 31	  including Brantley WMA	 Sept. 1-22 and	
			   Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-276	 Q	 200	 FAD
Unit 32
	 32		 Sept. 1-22 and	
			   Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-280	 Q	 200	 FAD

16B is almost entirely wilderness, 
no motorized travel allowed.

FAD= Any deer with at least 2 points on one side, FAMD=Fork-antlered mule deer, FAWTD=Fork-antlered white-tailed deer, ES=Either-sex deer, ESWTD=Either sex white-tailed deer. 
Game Management Unit boundary maps are available on the Department’s Web site at www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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continued  Draw Licenses, Seasons for Bow Only
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses 	 Bag Limit
Unit 33
	 33		 Sept. 1-22 and	
			   Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-284	 Q	 100	 FAD
Unit 34
	 34		 Sept. 1-22 and	
			   Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-293	 Q/HD	 800	 FAD
Unit 36
	 36	  including Fort Stanton BLM Area	 Sept. 1-22 and	
			   Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-298	 Q	 250	 FAD
Unit 37
	 37		 Sept. 1-22 and	
			   Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-303	 Q	 200	 FAD
Unit 38
	 38		 Sept. 1-22 and	
			   Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-307	 Q	 200	 FAD
Unit 39
	 39		 Sept. 1-22 and	
			   Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-311	 Q	 50	 FAD
Unit 40
	 40       	 Sept. 1-22 and	
			   Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 DER-2-315	 Q	 50	 FAD
Unit 41
	 41		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-322	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 42
	 42		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-327	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 43
	 43		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-331	 S	 25	 FAD
Unit 45
	 45		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-337	 S	 120	 FAD
Unit 47
	 47		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-342	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 48
	 48		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-346	 S	 50	 FAD
Unit 49
	 49		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-349	 S	 100	 FAD
Unit 50
	 50		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-352	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 51
	 51		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-355	 S	 80	 FAD
Unit 52
	 52		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-358	 S	 100	 FAD
Unit 53
	 53		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-362	 S	 90	 FAD
Unit 56
	 56		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-372	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 57
	 57		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-378	 S	 15	 FAD
	 57  Sugarite Canyon State Park	 Nov. 1-30	 DER-2-379	 S	 40	 FAD
Unit 58
	 58		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-386	 S	 15	 FAD
Unit 59
	 59		 Sept. 1-22	 DER-2-393	 S	 10	 FAD

FAD= Any deer with at least 2 points on one side, FAMD=Fork-antlered mule deer, FAWTD=Fork-antlered white-tailed deer, ES=Either-sex deer, ESWTD=Either sex white-tailed deer. 
Game Management Unit boundary maps are available on the Department’s Web site at www.wildlife.state.nm.us

Mandatory Harvest Reporting
New Mexico’s Hunter-Trapper Reporting System

By Feb. 15, anyone who is licensed to hunt deer or elk, or by April 7, anyone who is licensed to hunt or trap furbearers in New Mexico, 
must report the results of their hunt or trapping season. This is true whether or not they hunted, trapped or harvested animals. Deer, elk, and 
furbearer hunters and trappers that do not report, will have ALL applications for draw hunts, population management authorizations, private land 
authorizations or trapper license application will be rejected the following year. 
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Draw Licenses, Seasons for Muzzleloader and Bow
What You Must Know Before You Hunt
Youth Only Hunts: Applicants must be under 18 on the opening day of the hunt, provide proof of hunter education certification to apply for and 
carry their certificate while hunting with a firearm.  Units 10, 18, 19 and 20: These units are subject to closure by the U.S. Forest Service and/or the 
military during missile firings.  Closed Areas:  Military reservations, national parks and monuments, state parks and monuments, recreation areas, 
national and state wildlife refuges and areas, and other locations may be closed or have restrictions placed on hunting. In addition, the following 
other areas are closed to deer hunting:  All state Wildlife Management areas are closed unless specifically open to hunting.  Restricted  Areas:  
Units 1, 3, 11, 35 and other tribal reservations. Contact tribal officials directly. 

Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses 	 Bag Limit

Private Land Only-Licenses may NOT be issued by license vendors for hunts in units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A.

Unit 2
	 2A	 Public Land Only	 Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-107	 S	 60	 FAD
	 2B	 Public Land Only	 Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-122	 S	 175	 FAD
	 2B   Public Land Only Youth Only	 Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-123	 S	 20	 FAD
	 2C	 Public Land Only	 Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-129	 Q	 27	 FAD
Unit 6
	 6A and 6C	 Oct. 9-13	 DER-3-148	 S	 100	 FAD
Unit 7
	 7		  Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-151	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 10
	 10		  Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-164	 S	 90	 FAD
Unit 12
	 12		  Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-167	 S	 75	 FAD
Unit 13
	 13		  Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-173	 S	 500	 FAD
Unit 14
	 14  Sandia Ranger District is open to bow only	 Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-176	 S	 50	 FAD
Unit 15
	 15  Youth Only	 Sept. 25-Oct. 3	 DER-3-180	 S	 100	 FAD
	 15		  Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-179	 S	 250	 FAD
Unit 16
	 16		  Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-187	 S	 300	 FAD
Unit 17
	 17		  Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-193	 Q	 200	 FAD
Unit 18
	 18		  Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-198	 S	 100	 FAD
Unit 19
	 19	 except the White Sands Missile Range portion, mandatory check-in and check-out
			   Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-199	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 20
	 20		  Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-204	 S	 100	 FAD
Unit 21
	 21		  Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-210	 S	 500	 FAD
Unit 22
	 22		  Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-215	 S	 100	  FAD
Unit 23
	 23  except the Burro Mountains hunt area	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-229	 S	 450	 FAMD
	 23  except the Burro Mountains hunt area	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-230	 S	 50	 FAWTD
	 23  Burro Mountains hunt area	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-231	 Q	 50	 FAMD
	 23  Burro Mountains hunt area	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-232	 Q	 50	 FAWTD
Unit 24
	 24  		  Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-242	 S	 300	 FAMD
	 24  		  Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-243	 S	 50	 FAWTD
Unit 25
	 25		  Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-248	 S	 50	 FAD
Unit 26
	 26  except Big Hatchets management area	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-253	 S	 75	 FAD
Unit 27
	 27		  Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-260	 Q	 25	 FAMD
	 27		  Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 DER-3-261	 Q/HD	 25	 FAWTD
Unit 29
	 29		  Oct. 23-27	 DER-3-267	 S	 50	 FAD
Unit 31
	 31  including Brantley WMA	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-3-277	 S	 120	 FAD

16B is almost entirely wilderness, 
no motorized travel allowed.

FAD= Any deer with at least 2 points on one side, FAMD=Fork-antlered mule deer, FAWTD=Fork-antlered white-tailed deer, ES=Either-sex deer, ESWTD=Either sex white-tailed deer. 
Game Management Unit boundary maps are available on the Department’s Web site at www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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continued  Draw Licenses, Seasons for Muzzleloader and Bow
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Unit 31/33
	 31/33  Brantley WMA, Seven Rivers & Huey waterfowl management areas only  Youth Only	
			   Nov. 25-28	 DER-3-287	 Q	 30	 ES
	 31/33  Brantley WMA, Seven Rivers & Huey waterfowl management areas only  Youth Only	
			   Dec. 26-Jan. 1, ‘11	 DER-3-288	 Q	 10	 ES
Unit 32
	 32		  Oct. 23-27	 DER-3-281	 S	 125	 FAD
Unit 34
	 34		  Oct. 23-27	 DER-3-294	 S	 350	 FAD 
Unit 36
	 36  except Fort Stanton BLM Area	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-3-299	 S	 75	 FAD
	 36  including Fort Stanton  Youth Only	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-3-300	 S	 25	 FAD
Unit 38
	 38		  Oct. 23-27	 DER-3-308	 S	 200	 FAD
Unit 39
	 39		  Oct. 23-27	 DER-3-312	 S	 50	 FAD
Unit 40
	 40		  Oct. 23-27	 DER-3-316	 S	 25	 FAD
Unit 41
	 41		  Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-323	 S	 25	 FAD
Unit 42
	 42		  Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-328	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 43
	 43		  Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-332	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 45
	 45		  Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-338	 S	 110	 FAD
	 45		  Oct. 2-6	 DER-3-339	 S	 40	 FAD
Unit 47
	 47		  Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-343	 S	 20	 FAD
Unit 56
	 56	  	 Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-373	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 57
	 57		  Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-380	 S	 15	 FAD
Unit 58
	 58		  Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-387	 S	 15	 FAD
Unit 59
	 59		  Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-394	 S	 25	 FAD

Draw Licenses, Seasons for Restricted Muzzleloader Only
Restricted Muzzleloader Firearm: Any muzzle loading rifle (including a smoothbore flintlock or musket) using open sights in which the charge and 
projectile are loaded through the muzzle.  Only black powder, Pyrodex, or an equivalent substitute may be used.  Use of in-line ignition, pelleted 
powder, sabots, belted bullets, multiple projectiles and scopes are illegal. Youth hunters must provide hunter education certificate number on 
application.

Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses 	 Bag Limit
Unit 9
	 9  including Water Canyon and Marquez WMAs
		  Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-157	 S	 10	 FAD
Unit 30
	 30	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-3-273	 S	 500	 FAD
Unit 33
	 33	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-3-285	 Q	 50	 FAD
Unit 37
	 37  	 Oct. 23-27	 DER-3-304	 S	 225	 FAD
Unit 52
	 52	 Sept. 24-30	 DER-3-359	 S	 30	 FAD

FAD= Any deer with at least 2 points on one side, FAMD=Fork-antlered mule deer, FAWTD=Fork-antlered white-tailed deer, ES=Either-sex deer, ESWTD=Either sex white-tailed deer. 
Game Management Unit boundary maps are available on the Department’s Web site at www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Sporting Arm Type	 Hunt Date	 Fee Type	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Bow Only	 Sept. 1-7	 Q	 17	 ES
Bow Only	 Sept. 11-15	 Q	 15	 ES
Muzzleloader Only	 Oct. 2-6	 Q	 15	 MB
Muzzleloader Only	 Oct. 2-6	 S	 10	 A
Any Legal Sporting Arm	 Oct. 9-13	 Q	 15	 MB
Any Legal Sporting Arm	 Oct. 9-13	 S	 8	 A
Any Legal Sporting Arm	 Oct. 16-20	 Q	 15	 MB
Any Legal Sporting Arm	 Oct. 16-20	 S	 8	 A
Any Legal Sporting Arm  Mobility-Impaired Only	 Oct. 23-25	 S	 15	 A
Any Legal Sporting Arm  Youth/Mentor*	 Oct. 30-Nov. 1	 S	 28	 A
Any Legal Sporting Arm  Youth/Mentor*	 Nov. 6-8	 S	 28	 A
Any Legal Sporting Arm  2-Person*	 Nov. 13-15	 S	 26	 A
Any Legal Sporting Arm	 Nov. 20-22	 S	 25	 A 
Any Legal Sporting Arm	 Nov. 27-29	 S	 25	 A
*Two persons are required to apply for each of these hunts. Both are able to hunt.

A unique experience
The Valles Caldera National Preserve (VCNP), Unit 6B, is one of New 
Mexico’s premier elk hunting locations and possibly the best place 
in the U.S. to harvest a trophy bull on public land. An abundant elk 
herd occupies the Preserve much of the year for breeding, calving 
and foraging. Our hunts are designed to pay homage to man’s oldest 
relationship with animals.

Solitude BY DESIGN  
At the mandatory orientation session, you will draw a specific area of 
the Preserve for your hunt.  There will be time to scout the Preserve 
before the hunt begins. Prime locations are abundant and we’ve 
eliminated the stress of competing with other hunters. You’ll share your 
3,000-6,000 acre area with a limited number of hunters.

Two Chances to hunt new mexico
You can enter the NMDGF’s state draw for other game management 
units, and the VCNP lottery for unit 6B at the same time. The VCNP 
lottery will be conducted first and applicants selected to hunt the VCNP 
will be removed from the NMDGF’s public elk drawing.

Direct entries
Once you have your NMDGF Customer ID Number, there are three 
ways to apply for this year’s lottery. 

•  Apply online at www.vallescaldera.gov/comevisit/elk
•  Apply over the phone by calling 1-866-382-5537
•  Apply by mail using the VCNP lottery ticket form  

State Quota System Will Be Applied
The State quota (78% to residents, 12% to non-residents with an outfit-
ter, and 10% to non-residents without an outfitter) will be applied to this 
lottery. 

Increase Your Chances
You may purchase up to 20 tickets per hunt code and enter as many 
hunt codes as you like.  

Lottery Winners
The Valles Caldera Trust will send you an access authorization that 
enables you to purchase an elk hunting license from the New Mexico 
Department of Game and Fish for Unit 6B. Authorizations are non-
transferable.  VCNP hunts ARE NOT once-in-a-lifetime hunts.

Affordable Fees
You must purchase at least one lottery ticket.  Ticket prices are $30 per 
ticket for bull/either sex hunts and $20 per ticket for antlerless hunts.  
There are discount packages for purchasing more than one ticket.  
There are no other required VCNP fees, but you will need to purchase 
your New Mexico Department of Game and Fish elk hunting license 
once you have been selected as lottery winner. 

Rules and regulations
All state laws, federal laws and all New Mexico Department of Game 
and Fish rules apply on the VCNP.  For a complete description of the 
VCNP rules and regulations, please visit our Web site.

Application Deadline
The application deadline is midnight April 7. 

Apply now at (866) 382-5537, or
www.vallescaldera.gov/comevisit/elk

Valles Caldera National Preserve (Unit 6B)-2010 Elk Hunt

An experiment in public 
land management...



Private Land (Ranch-Only) Hunts
Elk hunters hunting on inside COER ranch-only properties are 
restricted to the following hunt dates and sporting arm types. For 
hunting outside COER properties, check directly with the landowner 
for hunt details since bag limits, season dates and sporting arm types 
vary from ranch to ranch.

Any Legal Sporting Arm Hunts
License limited to any five consecutive days within the hunt period
Dates	 Units
Oct. 1-Nov. 30	 41, 42, 43, 47 and 59
Oct. 1-Dec. 31	 4
Oct. 1-Jan. 31, ‘11	 46, 54, 55A, 56, 57 and 58 (Jan. 1-31 is 		
	 restricted to antlerless elk hunts only)
Oct. 9-13	 24
Oct. 30-Dec. 31 (antlerless elk only)	 9
Oct. 2-Dec. 31	 5A
Oct. 9-Dec. 31	 2, 5B, 10, 45, 49, 50-53
Oct. 16-Dec. 31	 6A, 6C, 7, 16A, 16B/22, 16C, 16D, 21A, 21B, 34, 	
	 36 and 48
Oct. 23-Dec. 31	 16E and 23
Nov. 1-Dec. 31 (antlerless elk only)	 41, 42, 43, 47 and 59
Jan. 1-31, ‘11 (Rifle only, Antlerless elk only)
	 36 and 48 (restricted to specific ranches with 		
	 prior written Department approval)

Bow Only Hunts
License valid for entire the hunt period
Sept. 1-10	 13, 15, 16A, 16B/22, 16C, 16D, 16E, 17, 23, 		
	 34 and 36
Sept. 1-15	 2, 5B, 9, 10, 6A, 6C, 7, 21A, 21B, 48, 51 and 52
Sept. 1-22	 4, 5A, 41-45, 46, 47, 49, 50, 53, 54, 55A, 56, 57, 		
	 58 and 59
Sept. 11-18	 13, 15, 16A, 16B/22, 16C, 16D, 16E, 17, 23
Sept. 13-22	 34 and 36
Sept. 16-22	 2, 5B, 6A, 6C, 7, 9, 10, 48, 51 and 52
Sept. 16-24	 21A and 21B
Sept. 19-24	 13, 15, 16A, 16B/22, 16C, 16D, 16E, 17 and 23

Muzzleloader and Bow Hunts
License limited to any five consecutive days within the hunt period
Oct. 2-Dec. 31	 2, 10, 45, 48, 52 and 53
Oct. 9-Dec. 31	 6A, 6C, 7, 9, 34 and 36
Oct. 16-Dec. 31	 13, 15, 16E, 17 and 23
Jan. 1-31, ‘11  Muzzleloader only, antlerless elk only
	 13 (restricted to specific ranches with prior 		
	 written Department approval)

Youth-Only Hunts License limited to dates below
Any Legal Sporting Arm
Oct. 2-6	 34
Oct. 9-13	 16C, 16E and 23
Muzzleloader or Bow Only
Oct. 9-13  	 13, 15 and 17

Mobility-Impaired Hunts License limited to dates below
Any Legal Sporting Arm 
Oct. 2-6	 34 and 52
Oct. 9-13	 16A and 16D
Muzzleloader and Bow 
Oct. 2-6	 9
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Private Land Authorization Certificates
Private Land Authorizations
In order to purchase a private land elk license, the hunter negotiates 
with a qualified landowner who then provides hunt information to the 
hunter.  Using that information, the hunter completes a PLUS License 
Request form (available on our Web site on the Apps/ Permits page, 
Department offices or directly from the landowner).  
The completed form may be mailed with required fees to the 
Department’s Santa Fe office. Hunters may NOT hold both a private 
land and public elk license in the same year.  Hunters may NOT 
exchange a public draw license for a private land license. Please note:  
Landowner participation in the Elk Private Land Use System (E-PLUS) 
is voluntary.  Their experience with elk hunters directly affects access 
to private land that hunters have in future years.  Contacting the 
participating landowner before accessing an enrolled unit wide property, 
while not required, is a courtesy the Department encourages.

Ranch Only or Unit Wide
Check with the landowners to see if their authorizations are Ranch-
Only or Unit-Wide before negotiating. Report any hunting violations 
by other hunters or access restrictions by the landowner to the district 
conservation officer.
     Unit-Wide:  Unit-wide landowners must allow free, unrestricted and 
equal access, including vehicular access, to any legally licensed public or 
Unit-Wide private land elk hunter to their entire ranch during each public 
elk hunt in that Unit. This permission does not constitute permission to 
hunt any other species or during any other time period.
     Ranch-Only:  The ranch-only private land hunter is restricted to the 
property’s deeded acreage and hunt periods listed below.  In Units 4, 
5A, 46, 54, 55A, 56, 57 and 58, the hunter may also obtain valid written 
landowner permission to hunt other private lands within that Unit. No 
public land can be hunted using a Ranch-Only elk license.

Private Land License Fees*	
	 Resident	 Nonresident
Antlerless elk	 $72.00	 $361.00
Mature Bull or Either-Sex elk	 102.00	 571.00
Quality Antlerless elk	 72.00	 796.00
Quality Mature Bull or Either Sex elk	 102.00	 796.00
Junior/Senior elk license	 70.00	        Not Available
*High-Demand (HD) fees do not apply to private land hunts.

Fees include an administrative fee and Depredation Damage Stamp 
fee. Habitat Stamps are required for hunting, fishing, and trapping on 
U.S. Forest Service and BLM lands and must be purchased separately. 
A Habitat Management and Access Validation is required and must 
also be purchased separately.

Quality Ranch-Only Elk Hunts
Quality elk license fees shall apply to any mature bull (MB) or either sex 
(ES) private land authorization, except Youth Only, that include any hunt 
dates from Sept. 15-Oct. 15 for private lands that lie within the COER 
in Units 13, 15, 16 and 17, but shall not apply to private lands outside 
COER areas.

Quality Unit-Wide Elk Hunts
Quality elk license fees shall apply to any mature bull (MB) or either 
sex (ES) private land license, except Youth Only, for the following 
hunts:

Any Legal Sporting Arm Hunts
ELK-1-249, ELK-1-250, ELK-1-257, ELK-1-264, ELK-1-271, 
and ELK-1-272

Bow Only Hunts
ELK-2-229, ELK-2-238, ELK-2-248, ELK-2-256, ELK-2-262, 
ELK-2-270, ELK-2-278 and ELK-2-287.

Muzzleloader and Bow Hunts
ELK-3-231, ELK-3-240, ELK-3-280 and ELK-3-289.



Public Land Draw Licenses
General Information
There are several types of elk draw licenses available to hunters.  
These four types are designated in the column entitled FEE TYPE 
in the ELK SEASONS chart. There are standard hunts (S); quality 
hunts (Q), which are determined by the State Game Commission; and 
high-demand hunts (HD) for rifle, bow and muzzleloader. Some hunts 
are both quality and high-demand hunts (Q/HD). High-demand hunts 
include all hunts for each sporting arms type for which nonresidents 
were at least 22% of the drawing pool for each of the two previous 
license years.

Each elk draw license is valid only for a specific hunt in a specific 
area and for the dates designated on the license issued.  DRAW 
LICENSES MAY NOT BE TRADED FOR A PRIVATE LAND 
LICENSE, RETURNED FOR A REFUND, TRANSFERRED, SOLD OR 
BARTERED. See page 4 for exceptions.

It is illegal to apply for, buy or use more than one license or tag for any 
big game species during any license year, except as permitted by rule.

Application and License Fees
New Mexico residents pay the same fee for standard, quality or high-
demand hunts.  Nonresidents pay a higher fee for quality and high-
demand hunts.  Fees differ for mature bull, either-sex, and antlerless 
elk.  Habitat Stamps are required if hunting on U.S. Forest Service and 
BLM lands and must be purchased separately. A reduced-fee resident 
Junior or Senior elk license is available. The cost is $61.  See page 7 
for all elk license types and fees. Fees already include a nonrefundable 
application fee and the Depredation Damage Stamp.  A $4 Habitat 
Management and Access Validation must be purchased separately 
and possessed. See page 5. This fee will NOT be charged to hunters, 
anglers and trappers younger than 18 years of age, 100% Disabled 
Resident Veterans or resident anglers 70 years of age and older.    

Up to four persons may apply on an application for an elk draw license.   
It is unlawful to submit more than one application per species per year.  
If a hunter submits more than one application for the same species, all 
applications may be rejected.  Incomplete applications will be rejected.  
Application deadline for the drawing is April 7, 2010.  

If the license fees of your various hunt choices are different, you must 
send the HIGHEST fee.  If the license you are allotted in the drawing is 
a lower-cost license, you will receive a refund for the difference.  The 
application fee is nonrefundable.

Anyone may apply for an elk license, except for hunts specifically set 
aside as Youth-Only and Mobility-Impaired Only.  Youth-Only  hunts are 
open only to those younger than 18 years of age on the opening day of 
the hunt.  Hunter-education certification is required to apply for Youth-
Only hunts.

Late Season Over-the-Counter Licenses For Bow Only
An opportunity to bow hunt elk continues in Units 12, 34 and 37.  
Hunting elk outside the rut can be difficult and harvest success could 
be very low.  Harvest is restricted to an APRE/6.  See page 39 for open 
units, hunt dates and hunt codes. See page 7 for license fees.

Mobility-Impaired Hunters
Applicants for mobility-impaired licenses must include their mobility-
impaired certification number on their application. See page 8 for 
definition of mobility-impaired hunter, or call the Department of Game 
and Fish at 505-476-8087 for more information.
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Fourth Choice Hunts
An applicant marking fourth choice indicates that they will accept an elk 
hunting license for ANY HUNT in a specific quadrant of the state.  The 
fourth choice assignment will always be for the same sporting arm type 
as the first choice on an application.

Hunters should be aware that success rates for 4th 
choice hunts may be low due to small, localized 
populations of elk.  Hunters that apply for and receive 
their 4th choice hunt will NOT receive a refund if they 
are dissatisfied with the hunt they draw. Not all hunts 
are available in the fourth choice hunt pool.
A hunter drawing a fourth choice could receive a license with an 
antlerless bag limit even if their first three choices were for bull licenses 
and vice versa.

If applying for a 4th choice hunt, applicants must choose one of the 
4 quadrants of the State listed below:
NW	 May include Units 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12 or 14
NE	 May include Units 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 		
	 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58 or 59
SW	 May include Units 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 		
	 25, 26 or 27
SE	 May include Units 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 39 or 40

Valle Vidal
It shall be unlawful for anyone to apply for an elk license in the Valle 
Vidal if they held a license for elk in Valle Vidal anytime since 1983.  
Exceptions:  A person who has held a license with a bag limit allowing 
the hunter to take an antlered bull may apply for an antlerless elk license 
and vice versa;  a person who has held a Valle Vidal license issued 
through the incentive authorization program may apply. Youth hunters 
are eligible for this hunt only once as a youth (younger than 18).  
Successful applicants may apply for the other elk hunts thereafter if 
they qualify.

Legal Sporting Arms
Any Legal Sporting Arm
Centerfire rifle or handgun, .24 caliber or larger; shotgun no smaller than 
28 gauge, firing a single slug; bow and arrows; any muzzleloader rifle 
no smaller than .45 caliber. Crossbow use is legal by certified Mobility-
Impaired hunters who may use crossbows to hunt any protected species 
during any legal season unless otherwise restricted.  Legally licensed 
elk hunters may use crossbows during a few Elk Rifle, Muzzleloader/
Bow hunts. See pages 33, 38 and 39.

Bow Only
Any bow and arrows. Crossbows may only be used by Certified 
Mobility-Impaired Hunters, see page 15.

Muzzleloader
Any muzzleloading rifle no smaller than .45 caliber.  Scopes and 
sabots are legal for all elk hunts.

Bag Limit  (See Definitions and Terms)
MB  	 One mature bull. A spike bull is not legal.
A  	 One antlerless elk. 
ES  	 Any one elk.
APRE/6	 An elk with six or more points on at least one antler.

Win An Elk Or Oryx Incentive Authorization 
For CWD Testing 
Hunters may be selected by drawing to receive an elk or oryx incentive 
authorization. To participate, hunters must bring in freshly harvested 
deer or elk heads to any Department office or field collection station 
so tissues can be collected for chronic wasting disease testing. To be 
eligible, hunters are required to deliver the head within 48 hours of taking 
the animal.
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Unit 6C has low elk numbers with 
scattered populations. Please contact 
the Department’s NW Area Office before 
applying for these hunts.

MB= Mature bull elk, A= Antlerless elk, or ES= Either sex elk. Game Management Unit boundary maps are available on the Department’s Web site at www.wildlife.state.nm.us

Draw Licenses, Seasons for Any Legal Sporting Arm
What You Must Know Before You Hunt - Any Legal Sporting Arm
License Fees: See page 7.  Youth Only: Applicants must be under 18 on the opening day of the hunt, provide proof of hunter education certification to 
apply and carry their certificate while hunting with a firearm.  Unit 10 and 13: These units are subject to closure by the U.S. Forest Service and/or the 
military during missile firings.  Unit 34:  Grapevine Canyon (McGregor Range Buffer Zone) is accessible with military permission only. 

Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Unit 2
	 2		  Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-103	 S	 75	 MB
	 2		  Dec. 4-8	 ELK-1-104	 S	 100	 A
	 2 Youth Only	 Dec. 4-8	 ELK-1-105	 S	 50	 A
Unit 4
	 4  Sargent WMA	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-1-143	 Q	 10	 MB
	 4  Sargent WMA	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-144	 Q/HD	 10	 MB
	 4  Sargent WMA	 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-145	 Q	 10	 MB
	 4  Sargent WMA	 Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-146	 HD	 10	 MB
	 4  Sargent WMA	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 ELK-1-147	 S	 10	 A
	 4  Sargent WMA  Youth Only	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 ELK-1-148	 S	 10	 A
	 4  Humphries/Rio Chama WMAs	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-1-151	 S	 15	 MB
	 4  Humphries/Rio Chama WMAs	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-152	 S	 15	 MB
	 4  Humphries/Rio Chama WMAs	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 ELK-1-153	 S	 10	 A
	 4  Humphries/Rio Chama WMAs  Youth Only	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 ELK-1-154	 S	 15	 A
Unit 5
	 5A	 Public Land Only	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-1-108	 S	 10	 MB
	 5A	 Public Land Only	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-1-109	 S	 10	 A
	 5A	 Public Land Only	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-110	 S	 11	 MB
	 5A	 Public Land Only	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-111	 S	 10	 A
	 5A	 Public Land Only	 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-112	 S	 11	 MB
	 5A	 Public Land Only	 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-113	 S	 10	 A
	 5A	 Public Land Only	 Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-114	 S	 11	 MB
	 5A	 Public Land Only	 Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-115	 S	 8	 A
	 5B		  Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-157	 S	 165	 MB
	 5B		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-158	 S	 100	 A
	 5B		  Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-159	 S	 165	 MB
	 5B		  Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 ELK-1-160	 S	 100	 A	
	 5B		  Dec. 18-22	 ELK-1-161	 S	 12	 MB
Unit 6
	 6A		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-193	 S	 89	 MB
	 6A		  Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-194	 S	 88	 MB
	 6A		  Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 ELK-1-195	 S	 92	 A
	 6C		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-215	 S	 160	 MB
	 6C		  Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-216	 S	 104	 MB
	 6C		  Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 ELK-1-217	 S	 156	 A
	 6C		  Nov. 27-Dec. 1	 ELK-1-218	 S	 157	 A
	 6C		  Dec. 4-8	 ELK-1-219	 S	 108	 A
Unit 7
	 7		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-224	 S	 30	 MB
	 7		  Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-225	 S	 50	 A
Unit 9
	 9  including Water Canyon but not Marquez WMA   Crossbow use allowed
		      	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 ELK-1-131	 S	 200	 A
	 9  including Water Canyon but not Marquez WMA	 Nov. 13-17	 ELK-1-132	 S	 200	 A
Unit 10
	 10		  Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-137	 S	 70	 MB
	 10	 Youth Only	 Nov. 6-10	 ELK-1-138	 S	 120	 A
	 10		  Dec. 4-8	 ELK-1-139	 S	 100	 A
Unit 12
	 12		  Oct. 2-6	 ELK-1-361	 HD	 30	 MB
	 12		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-362	 S	 30	 A
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There is limited public land 
access in Unit 21B

MB= Mature bull elk, A= Antlerless elk, or ES= Either sex elk. Game Management Unit boundary maps are available on the Department’s Web site at www.wildlife.state.nm.us

16B is almost entirely wilderness, 
no motorized travel allowed.

Draw Licenses, Seasons for Any Legal Sporting Arm continued 
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Unit 16
	 16A  Mobility-Impaired Only	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-249	 Q/HD	 25	 MB
	 16A		 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-250	 Q/HD	 75	 MB
	 16A		 Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-251	 HD	 125	 MB
	 16A		 Dec. 4-8	 ELK-1-252	 S	 150	 A
Units 16B and 22
	 16B and 22	 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-257	 Q/HD	 160	 MB
	 16B and 22	 Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-258	 S	 160	 MB
	 16C	 Youth Only	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-263	 HD	 25	 ES
	 16C		 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-264	 Q/HD	 50	 MB
	 16C		 Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-265	 HD	 96	 MB
	 16C		 Dec. 4-8	 ELK-1-266	 S	 100	 A
	 16D	 Mobility-Impaired Only	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-271	 Q/HD	 25	 MB
	 16D		 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-272	 Q/HD	 53	 MB
	 16D		 Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-273	 HD	 50	 MB
	 16D		 Dec. 4-8	 ELK-1-274	 S	 100	 A
	 16E	 Youth Only	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-279	 S	 25	 ES
	 16E		 Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-281	 S	 71	 MB
	 16E		 Dec. 4-8	 ELK-1-282	 S	 75	 A
	 16E		 Dec. 11-15	 ELK-1-283	 S	 75	 A
Unit 21
	 21A		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-296	 S	 50	 MB
	 21A		  Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-297	 HD	 50	 MB
	 21B		 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-301	 S	 25	 MB
	 21B		 Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-302	 S	 25	 MB
	 21B		 Nov. 13-17	 ELK-1-303	 S	 15	 A
	 21B		 Nov. 20-24	 ELK-1-304	 S	 15	 A
	 21B		 Dec. 4-8	 ELK-1-305	 S	 15	 A
	 21B		 Dec. 11-15	 ELK-1-306	 S	 15	 A
Unit 23
	 23	 Youth Only	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-310	 S	 25	 ES
	 23		  Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-312	 HD	 50	 MB
Unit 24
	 24	 Youth Only	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-314	 S	 10	 ES
Unit 28
	 28	 Military Only	 Dec. 11-15	 ELK-1-364	 S	 8	 ES
	 28		  Dec. 11-15	 ELK-1-365	 S	 8	 ES
Unit 34
	 34 	 Youth Only	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-1-317	 S	 150	 ES
	 34 	 Mobility-Impaired Only	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-1-318	 HD	 50	 ES
	 34		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-320	 S	 150	 MB
	 34		  Nov. 27-Dec. 1	 ELK-1-321	 S	 250	 A
	 34		  Dec. 4-8	 ELK-1-322	 S	 250	 A
Unit 36
	 36		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-327	 S	 85	 MB
	 36		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-328	 S	 75	 A
	 36		  Oct. 30-Nov.3	 ELK-1-329	 HD	 86	 MB	
	 36		  Oct. 30-Nov.3	 ELK-1-330	 S	 75	 A
Unit 37
	 37		  Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-370	 S	 25	 MB
	 37		  Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-371	 S	 25	 A
Unit 38
	 38		  Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-372	 S	 15	 ES
Unit 43
	 43		  Sept. 25-29	 ELK-1-373	 S	 60	 ES
Unit 45
	 45		  Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-334	 S	 140	 MB
	 45		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-335	 S	 140	 MB
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 continued  Draw Licenses, Seasons for Any Legal Sporting Arm
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Unit 48
	 48		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-342	 S	 35	 MB
	 48		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-343	 S	 40	 A
	 48		  Dec. 4-8	 ELK-1-344	 S	 35	 MB
	 48		  Dec. 4-8	 ELK-1-345	 S	 60	 A
Unit 49
	 49		  Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-348	 S	 80	 MB
	 49		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-349	 S	 75	 MB
	 49		  Nov. 6-10	 ELK-1-350	 S	 80	 A
	 49		  Nov. 13-17	 ELK-1-351	 S	 75	 A 
Unit 50
	 50		  Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-164	 S	 127	 MB
	 50		  Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-165	 S	 13	 A
	 50		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-166	 S	 125	 MB
	 50		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-167	 S	 10	 A
Unit 51
	 51		  Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-171	 S	 218	 MB
	 51		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-172	 S	 218	 MB 
	 51		  Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-173	 S	 219	 MB
	 51		  Nov. 6-10	 ELK-1-174	 S	 238	 A
	 51		  Nov. 13-17	 ELK-1-175	 S	 239	 A
Unit 52
	 52		  Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-183	 S	 227	 MB
	 52		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-184	 S	 227	 MB
	 52  Youth Only	 Nov. 6-10	 ELK-1-185	 S	 50	 A
	 52  Mobility-Impaired Only	 Nov. 13-17	 ELK-1-186	 S	 50	 A
	 52		  Nov. 13-17	 ELK-1-187	 S	 60	 A
	 52		  Nov. 20-24	 ELK-1-188	 S	 151	 A
Unit 53
	 53  except the Cerro portion	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-355	 S	 75	 MB
	 53  except the Cerro portion	 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-356	 S	 125	 MB
	 53  except the Cerro portion	 Nov. 6-10	 ELK-1-357	 S	 60	 A
	 53  except the Cerro portion	 Nov. 13-17	 ELK-1-358	 S	 70	 A
Unit 54
	 54  Colin Neblett WMA-south	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-375	 S	 20	 MB
	 54  Colin Neblett WMA-south	 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-376	 S	 20	 MB
	 54  Colin Neblett WMA-south	 Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-377	 S	 20	 MB
	 54  Colin Neblett WMA-south	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 ELK-1-378	 S	 20	 A
Unit 55
	 55  Colin Neblett WMA-north	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-380	 S	 20	 MB
	 55  Colin Neblett WMA-north	 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-381	 S	 20	 MB
	 55  Colin Neblett WMA-north	 Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-382	 S	 20	 MB	
	 55  Colin Neblett WMA-north	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 ELK-1-383	 S	 20	 A
	 55  Urraca WMA	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-386	 S	 10	 MB
	 55  Urraca WMA	 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-387	 S	 10	 MB
	 55  Urraca WMA	 Oct. 23-27	 ELK-1-388	 S	 10	 MB
	 55  Urraca WMA	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 ELK-1-389	 S	 10	 MB
	 55  Urraca WMA	 Nov. 6-10	 ELK-1-390	 S	 15	 A
	 55  Urraca WMA	 Nov. 13-17	 ELK-1-391	 S	 15	 A
	 55  Valle Vidal and Greenwood areas	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-395	 Q/HD	 15	 MB
	 55  Valle Vidal and Greenwood areas Youth Only	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-396	 Q	 20	 MB
	 55  Valle Vidal and Greenwood areas	 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-397	 Q	 35	 MB
	 55  Valle Vidal and Greenwood areas Youth Only	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 ELK-1-398	 Q	 35	 A
	 55  Valle Vidal and Greenwood areas	 Oct. 30-Nov. 3	 ELK-1-399	 Q	 35	 A
	 55  Valle Vidal and Greenwood areas	 Nov. 13-17	 ELK-1-400	 Q	 50	 A
Unit 56
	 56		  Oct. 9-13	 ELK-1-402	 S	 10	 MB
	 56		  Oct. 16-20	 ELK-1-403	 S	 10	 A
Unit 57 and 58
	 57 and 58*	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-1-405	 S	 10	 MB
	 57 and 58*	 Dec. 4-8	 ELK-1-406	 S	 10	 A
	 * Except the northeast portion of Union County located in T32N, R35E, R36E and R37E
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Draw Licenses, Seasons for Bow Only and Muzzleloader
What You Must Know Before You Hunt - Bow Only and Muzzleloader
License Fees: See page 7.  Youth Only: Applicants must be under 18 on the opening day of the hunt.  Units 10, 13 and 18:  These units are 
subject to closure by the U.S. Forest Service and/or the military during missile firings.  Unit 34:  Grapevine Canyon (McGregor Range Buffer Zone) 
is accessible by military permission only. 

Draw Licenses, Seasons for Bow Only
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Unit 2
	 2		  Sept. 1-15	 ELK-2-100	 S	 120	 ES	
	 2		  Sept. 16-22	 ELK-2-101	 S	 120	 ES
Unit 4
	 4	 Sargent WMA	 Sept. 1-10	 ELK-2-141	 Q/HD	 10	 ES
	 4	 Sargent WMA	 Sept. 16-22	 ELK-2-142	 Q/HD	 11	 ES
	 4	 Humphries WMA	 Sept. 1-10	 ELK-2-149	 S	 10	 ES
	 4	 Humphries WMA	 Sept. 16-22	 ELK-2-150	 S	 10	 ES
Unit 5
	 5A	  Public Land Only	 Sept. 1-22	 ELK-2-107	 S	 11	 ES
	 5B		  Sept. 1-15	 ELK-2-155	 S	 75	 ES	
	 5B		  Sept. 16-22	 ELK-2-156	 S	 75	 ES
Unit 6
	 6A		  Sept. 1-15	 ELK-2-190	 S	 130	 ES
	 6A		  Sept. 16-22	 ELK-2-191	 HD	 99	 ES
	 6C		  Sept. 1-15	 ELK-2-212	 S	 159	 ES
	 6C		  Sept. 16-22	 ELK-2-213	 S	 158	 ES
Unit 7
	 7		  Sept. 1-15	 ELK-2-221	 S	 13	 ES	
	 7		  Sept. 16-22	 ELK-2-222	 S	 12	 ES
Unit 9
	 9	 Marquez WMA	 Sept. 1-10	 ELK-2-117	 S	 5	 ES	
	 9	 Marquez WMA	 Sept. 16-22	 ELK-2-118	 S	 5	 ES
	 9	 including Water Canyon, but not the Marquez WMA	
			   Sept. 1-15	 ELK-2-125	 S	 158	 ES
	 9	 including Water Canyon, but not the Marquez WMA	
			   Sept. 16-22	 ELK-2-126	 S	 157	 ES
Unit 10
	 10		  Sept. 1-15	 ELK-2-134	 S	 125	 ES
	 10		  Sept. 16-22	 ELK-2-135	 S	 125	 ES
Unit 12
	 12		  Sept. 1-22	 ELK-2-360	 HD	 30	 ES
Unit 13
	 13		  Sept. 1-10	 ELK-2-227	 S	 125	 ES
	 13		  Sept. 11-18	 ELK-2-228	 S	 100	 ES	
	 13		  Sept. 19-24	 ELK-2-229	 Q/HD	 75	 ES
Unit 15
	 15		  Sept. 1-10	 ELK-2-236	 HD	 250	 ES
	 15		  Sept. 11-18	 ELK-2-237	 HD	 200	 ES
	 15		  Sept. 19-24	 ELK-2-238	 Q/HD	 150	 ES
Unit 16
	 16A		 Sept. 1-10	 ELK-2-246	 HD	 150	 ES
	 16A		 Sept. 11-18	 ELK-2-247	 HD	 150	 ES
	 16A		 Sept. 19-24	 ELK-2-248	 Q/HD	 100	 ES
	 16B and 22	 Sept. 1-10	 ELK-2-254	 HD	 128	 ES
	 16B and 22	 Sept. 11-18	 ELK-2-255	 HD	 128	 ES
	 16B and 22	 Sept. 19-24	 ELK-2-256	 Q/HD	 127	 ES
	 16C	 Sept. 1-10	 ELK-2-260	 HD	 100	 ES
	 16C	 Sept. 11-18	 ELK-2-261	 HD	 75	 ES
	 16C	 Sept. 19-24	 ELK-2-262	 Q/HD	 75	 ES
	 16D	 Sept. 1-10	 ELK-2-268	 HD	 60	 ES
	 16D	 Sept. 11-18	 ELK-2-269	 HD	 50	 ES
	 16D	 Sept. 19-24	 ELK-2-270	 Q/HD	 40	 ES

Unit 6C has low elk numbers with scattered 
populations. Please contact the Department’s 
NW Area Office before applying for these hunts.

16B is almost entirely 
wilderness, no motorized 
travel allowed.
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Do Not Bring Firewood Into New Mexico From Another State!
The movement of firewood from one state to another has become the principal method of introducing new damaging insect pests and diseases into 
our forests.  Emerald ash borer, Sirex woodwasps, gypsy moth, Asian longhorn beetle, and oak wilt disease can be transported in firewood. They have 
caused significant damage to forests in other states. These pests are almost always fatal to trees and will decimate forests and riparian areas if they get 
established. If you inadvertently bring firewood into New Mexico from another state, burn all of it immediately. Please purchase or collect your firewood 
within New Mexico. Call the New Mexico Department of Agriculture at 575-646-3207 or visit: www.aphis.usda.gov/newsroom/hot_issues/invasive_
species&firewood/index.shtml.

continued Draw Licenses, Seasons for Bow Only
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Unit 16 continued
	 16E	 Sept. 1-10	 ELK-2-276	 S	 50	 ES
	 16E	 Sept. 11-18	 ELK-2-277	 HD	 50	 ES
	 16E	 Sept. 19-24	 ELK-2-278	 Q/HD	 50	 ES
Unit 17
	 17		  Sept. 1-10	 ELK-2-285	 HD	 75	 ES
	 17		  Sept. 11-18	 ELK-2-286	 HD	 75	 ES
	 17		  Sept. 19-24	 ELK-2-287	 Q/HD	 50	 ES
Unit 18
	 18		  Sept. 1-22	 ELK-2-363	 S	 50	 ES 
Unit 21
	 21A		 Sept. 1-15	 ELK-2-294	 HD	 50	 ES
	 21A		 Sept. 16-24	 ELK-2-295	 S	 50	 ES
	 21B		 Sept. 1-15	 ELK-2-299	 S	 25	 ES
	 21B		 Sept. 16-24	 ELK-2-300	 S	 25	 ES
Unit 23
	 23		  Sept. 1-10	 ELK-2-307	 S	 75	 ES
	 23		  Sept. 11-18	 ELK-2-308	 S	 75	 ES
	 23		  Sept. 19-24	 ELK-2-309	 HD	 50	 ES
Unit 34	
	 34		  Sept. 1-10	 ELK-2-315	 S	 200	 ES	
	 34		  Sept. 13-22	 ELK-2-316	 HD	 200	 ES
Unit 36
	 36		  Sept. 1-10	 ELK-2-324	 S	 82	 ES	
	 36		  Sept. 13-22	 ELK-2-325	 HD	 82	 ES
Unit 37
	 37		  Sept. 1-10	 ELK-2-366	 S	 15	 ES	
	 37		  Sept. 11-18	 ELK-2-367	 HD	 15	 ES	
	 37		  Sept. 19-24	 ELK-2-368	 S	 15	 ES
Unit 45
	 45		  Sept. 1-22	 ELK-2-332	 S	 150	 ES
Unit 48
	 48		  Sept. 1-15	 ELK-2-338	 S	 90	 ES	
	 48		  Sept. 16-22	 ELK-2-339	 S	 85	 ES
Unit 49
	 49		  Sept. 1-22	 ELK-2-347	 S	 120	 ES
Unit 50
	 50		  Sept. 1-22	 ELK-2-163	 S	 117	 ES
Unit 51
	 51		  Sept. 1-15	 ELK-2-169	 HD	 176	 ES	
	 51		  Sept. 16-22	 ELK-2-170	 S	 176	 ES
Unit 52
	 52		  Sept. 1-15	 ELK-2-178	 HD	 230	 ES
	 52		  Sept. 16-22	 ELK-2-179	 HD	 230	 ES
Unit 53
	 53		  Sept. 1-22	 ELK-2-353	 S	 120	 ES
Unit 55
	 55  ES Barker WMA	 Sept. 1-22	 ELK-2-384	 S	 10	 ES
	 55  Valle Vidal and Greenwood areas	 Sept. 1-15	 ELK-2-392	 Q	 20	 ES	
	 55  Valle Vidal and Greenwood areas	 Sept. 16-22	 ELK-2-393	 Q/HD	 20	 ES
Unit 57
	 57  Sugarite Canyon State Park	 Sept. 1-22	 ELK-2-404	 HD	 5	 ES

There is limited public land 
access in Unit 21B
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Unit 6C has low elk numbers with scattered populations. Please 
contact the Department’s NW Area Office before applying for this hunt.

Draw Licenses, Seasons for Muzzleloader and Bow 
Hunt Area	 Hunt Date	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Unit 2
	 2		 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-3-102	 S	 125	 MB
Unit 6
	 6A	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-3-192	 S	 100	 MB
	 6C  Crossbow use allowed	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-3-214	 S	 190	 MB
Unit 7
	 7		 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-3-223	 S	 25	 MB
Unit 9
	 9	Marquez WMA	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-3-119	 S	 5	 MB
	 9	Marquez WMA	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-3-120	 S	 5	 MB
	 9	Marquez WMA	 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-3-121	 S	 5	 MB
	 9	Marquez WMA	 Oct. 23-27	 ELK-3-122	 S	 5	 A
	 9	Marquez WMA	 Oct 30-Nov. 3	 ELK-3-123	 S	 5	 A
	 9	Marquez WMA	 Nov. 13-17	 ELK-3-124	 S	 5	 A
	 9	 including Water Canyon, but not the Marquez WMA Mobility-Impaired Only
			   Oct. 2-6	 ELK-3-127	 S	 40	 ES
	 9	 including Water Canyon, but not the Marquez WMA	
			   Oct. 9-13	 ELK-3-128	 S	 70	 MB 
	 9	 including Water Canyon, but not the Marquez WMA
			   Oct. 16-20	 ELK-3-129	 S	 70	 MB
	 9	 including Water Canyon, but not the Marquez WMA	
			   Oct. 23-27	 ELK-3-130	 S	 40	 MB
Unit 10
	 10	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-3-136	 S	 70	 MB
Unit 13
	 13  Youth Only	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-3-230	 S	 25	 ES
	 13	 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-3-231	 Q/HD	 75	 MB
	 13	 Oct. 23-27	 ELK-3-232	 S	 113	 MB
	 13	 Nov. 20-24	 ELK-3-233	 S	 100	 MB
	 13	 Dec. 4-8	 ELK-3-234	 S	 100	 A
Unit 15
	 15  Youth Only	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-3-239	 S	 25	 ES
	 15	 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-3-240	 Q/HD	 200	 MB
	 15	 Oct. 23-27	 ELK-3-241	 HD	 244	 MB
	 15	 Nov. 20-24	 ELK-3-242	 HD	 250	 MB
	 15	 Dec. 4-8	 ELK-3-243	 S	 250	 A
	 15	 Dec. 11-15	 ELK-3-244	 S	 250	 A
Unit 16
	 16E	 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-3-280	 Q	 71	 MB
Unit 17
	 17  Youth Only	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-3-288	 HD	 25	 ES
	 17	 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-3-289	 Q/HD	 97	 MB
	 17	 Oct. 23-27	 ELK-3-290	 S	 100	 MB
	 17	 Dec. 4-8	 ELK-3-291	 S	 100	 A
	 17	 Dec. 11-15	 ELK-3-292	 S	 100	 A
Unit 23
		  23	 Oct. 16-20	 ELK-3-311	 S	 50	 MB
Unit 34
		  34	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-3-319	 HD	 250	 MB
Unit 36
		  36	 Oct. 9-13	 ELK-3-326	 HD	 135	 MB
Unit 37
		  37	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-3-369	 S	 25	 MB
Unit 45
		  45	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-3-333	 S	 140	 MB
		  45	 Nov. 13-17	 ELK-3-336	 S	 50	 A



Draw Licenses, Seasons for Muzzleloader and Bow 
Hunt Area	 Hunt Date	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Unit 48
	 48  Crossbows allowed	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-3-340	 HD	 30	 MB		
	 48		  Oct. 9-13	 ELK-3-341	 S	 65	 MB
Unit 51
	 51		  Dec. 4-8	 ELK-3-176	 S	 145	 ES
Unit 52
	 52  Mobility-Impaired Only	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-3-180	 S	 50	 MB
	 52		  Oct. 2-6	 ELK-3-181	 S	 120	 MB
	 52		  Oct. 2-6	 ELK-3-182	 S	 50	 A
Unit 53
	 53  except Cerro portion	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-3-354	 S	 50	 ES
Unit 54
	 54  Colin Neblett WMA-south	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-3-374	 S	 20	 MB
Unit 55
	 55  Colin Neblett WMA-north	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-3-379	 S	 20	 MB
	 55  ES Barker WMA	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-3-385	 S	 10	 MB
	 55  Valle Vidal and Greenwood areas	 Oct. 2-6	 ELK-3-394	 Q/HD	 35	 MB

Late Season Elk Hunting Opportunities - Online Application Only
Any Legal Sporting Arm - What You Must Know Before You Hunt
DO NOT apply for these hunts during the regular public draw. These hunts MAY or MAY NOT be offered depending on harvest rates during the 
regular season. To receive information about how to obtain one of these licenses, visit our Web site www.wildlife.state.nm.us after Oct. 15, 2010.
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Unit 2		 To Be Determined	 ELK-1-106	 S	 100	 A
Unit 5B	 To Be Determined	 ELK-1-162	 S	 100	 A 
Unit 6B	 To Be Determined	 ELK-1-211	 S	 75	 A
Unit 6C	 To Be Determined	 ELK-1-220	 S	 65	 A
Unit 7		 To Be Determined	 ELK-1-226	 S	 100	 A
Unit 9  including Water Canyon but not Marquez WMA
		    	 To Be Determined	 ELK-1-133	 S	 308	 A
Unit 10	 To Be Determined	 ELK-1-140	 S	 100	 A
Unit 34	 To Be Determined	 ELK-1-323	 S	 100	 A
Unit 45	 To Be Determined	 ELK-1-337	 S	 25	 A 
Unit 48	 To Be Determined	 ELK-1-346	 S	 46	 A
Unit 49	 To Be Determined	 ELK-1-352	 S	 48	 A
Unit 50	 To Be Determined	 ELK-1-168	 S	 100	 A
Unit 51	 To Be Determined	 ELK-1-177	 S	 250	 A
Unit 52	 To Be Determined	 ELK-1-189	 S	 256	 A
Unit 53  except Cerro portion	 To Be Determined	 ELK-1-359	 S	 100	 A
Unit 55  Valle Vidal/Greenwood Areas	 To Be Determined	 ELK-1-401	 Q	 123	 A

Bow Only - What You Must Know Before You Hunt
DO NOT apply for these hunts during the regular public draw. These hunts MAY or MAY NOT be offered depending on harvest rates during the regular 
season.  To receive information about how to obtain one of these licenses, visit our Web site www.wildlife.state.nm.us after Oct. 15, 2010.
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Unit 12	 Nov. 21-24	 ELK-2-451	 S	 To Be Determined	 APRE/6
Unit 34	 Dec. 11-15	 ELK-2-452	 S	 To Be Determined	 APRE/6
Unit 37	 Dec. 4-8	 ELK-2-453	 S	 To Be Determined	 APRE/6

continued Elk
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MB= Mature bull elk, A= Antlerless elk, ES= Either sex elk, APRE/6= A bull elk with at least 6 points on one side. 
Game Management Unit boundary maps are available on the Department’s Web site at www.wildlife.state.nm.us

Chronic Wasting Disease Rules
Currently Apply to Unit 19 and Control Area of Unit 34
It is unlawful to transport dead deer or elk, or their parts, taken from any Game Management Unit or other area designated by the Director in which 
the presence of, or possibility of, exposure to chronic wasting disease (CWD) has been identified to any location outside that Game Management 
Unit except for the following parts of deer or elk: •  Meat that is cut and wrapped either privately or commercially • Quarters or other portions of 
meat with no part of the head or spinal column attached • Meat that has been boned out. •  Hides with no heads attached. •  Clean skull plates 
with antlers attached. •  Antlers with no meat or tissue attached. •  Upper canine teeth, also known as “ivories.” •  Finished heads mounted by a 
taxidermist. You may not remove the whole head and spinal column. You must keep proof of sex with all game species until you get the game to the 
place where it will be consumed or placed in cold storage. For Control Area Map of Unit 34, go to: www.wildlife.state.nm.us/conservation/disease/
cwd/documents/CWDcontrolarea2006.pdf/.



Youth Encouragement Hunts - Online Application Only
What You Must Know Before You Hunt
DO NOT apply for these hunts during the regular public draw. Only youth hunters who successfully fulfilled all application requirements and 
responsibilities for Public Land draw hunts ( including hunts sold through the lottery, secondary sale, Web site or late season sale) for 
deer, elk, pronghorn antelope, ibex, oryx, or bighorn sheep in the current license year and were unsuccessful in drawing or obtaining any 
of these licenses, will be eligible to register for these hunts. The Director, with concurrence of the Chairman of the State Game Commission, 
may adjust the number of licenses available in all Youth Encouragement Hunts listed below based on changes in population levels, harvest rates, 
habitat availability, or increases in unlawful hunting activities resulting from these hunts. These hunts will be administered by the Department 
through an Internet registration process and web sale, rather than the random draw process. The open GMUs, hunt dates, hunt code, number of 
licenses and bag limit shall be as indicated below. To receive information about how to obtain one of these licenses, visit our Web site www.wildlife.
state.nm.us after Oct. 1, 2010.

Any Legal Sporting Arm 
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Unit 5B	 Nov. 26-30	 ELK-1-419	 S	 20	 A
Unit 6A	 Nov. 26-30	 ELK-1-420	 S	 50	 A
Unit 6A	 Dec. 26-30	 ELK-1-421	 S	 50	 A
Unit 6C	 Nov. 26-30	 ELK-1-422	 S	 50	 A
Unit 6C	 Dec. 26-30	 ELK-1-423	 S	 50	 A
Unit 10	 Nov. 26-30	 ELK-1-426	 S	 35	 A
Unit 13	 Nov. 26-30	 ELK-1-427	 S	 60	 A
Unit 13	 Dec. 26-30	 ELK-1-428	 S	 60	 A
Unit 15	 Nov. 26-30	 ELK-1-429	 S	 60	 A
Unit 15 	 Dec. 26-30	 ELK-1-430	 S	 60	 A
Unit 16A	 Nov. 26-30	 ELK-1-431	 S	 60	 A
Unit 16A	 Dec. 26-30	 ELK-1-432	 S	 60	 A
Unit 16C	 Nov. 26-30	 ELK-1-433	 S	 60	 A
Unit 16C	 Dec. 26-30	 ELK-1-434	 S	 60	 A
Unit 16D	 Nov. 26-30	 ELK-1-435	 S	 60	 A
Unit 16D	 Dec. 26-30	 ELK-1-436	 S	 60	 A
Unit 16E	 Nov. 26-30	 ELK-1-437	 S	 60	 A
Unit 16E	 Dec. 26-30	 ELK-1-438	 S	 60	 A
Unit 17	 Nov. 26-30	 ELK-1-439	 S	 60	 A
Unit 17	 Dec. 26-30	 ELK-1-440	 S	 60	 A
Unit 34	 Dec. 26-30	 ELK-1-441	 S	 80	 A
Unit 36	 Nov. 26-30	 ELK-1-442	 S	 60	 A
Unit 36	 Dec. 26-30	 ELK-1-443	 S	 60	 A
Unit 49	 Nov. 26-30	 ELK-1-444	 S	 50	 ES
Unit 50	 Dec. 26-30	 ELK-1-445	 S	 80	 A
Unit 51	 Nov. 26-30 	 ELK-1-446	 S	 90	 A
Unit 51	 Dec. 26-30	 ELK-1-447	 S	 90	 A
Unit 52	 Nov. 26-30	 ELK-1-448	 S	 50	 A
Unit 53	 Nov. 26-30	 ELK-1-449	 S	 40	 ES
Unit 53	 Dec. 26-30	 ELK-1-450	 S	 100	 ES

Muzzleloader and Bow
Unit 9	 Nov. 26-30	 ELK-3-424	 S	 150	 ES
Unit 9	 Dec. 26-30	 ELK-3-425	 S	 50	 ES

Elk continued

40

Mandatory Harvest Reporting
New Mexico’s Hunter-Trapper Reporting System

By Feb. 15, anyone who is licensed to hunt deer or elk, or by April 7, anyone who is licensed 
to hunt or trap furbearers in New Mexico, must report the results of their hunt or trapping season. 
This is true whether or not they hunted, trapped or harvested animals. Deer, elk, and furbearer 
hunters and trappers that do not report, will have ALL applications for draw hunts, population 
management authorizations, private land authorizations or trapper license application rejected the 
following year.



Each year anglers, boaters, hunters and recreational shooters support fish and wildlife conservation efforts through the purchase 
of licenses, sporting equipment and fuels.  The Sport Fish and Wildlife Restoration program provides essential funding to 
professional wildlife and sport fish management agencies through excise taxes collected from the sale of fishing equipment, 
motorboat fuel, sporting arms, ammunition and archery equipment.  These funds are distributed yearly to help fund wildlife 
projects.
In New Mexico, funds are used to support the restoration of bighorn sheep and Gila trout; the management of game species; the 

operation of state fish hatcheries; lake renovations; and the operation and maintenance of waterfowl habitat.  These are just a few of the many 
worthwhile and important conservation projects funded with this money.  So, every time you buy a license, ammunition, or hunting and fishing 
gear, remember: You are part of the most successful user-pay, user-benefit wildlife conservation program in history! 

Pronghorn Antelope
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Sportfish and Wildlife Restoration Program

General Information
A license to hunt pronghorn in New Mexico may be obtained through 
a public drawing or by obtaining a private-land authorization.  Refer to 
PUBLIC LAND HUNTS and PRIVATE LAND HUNTS on next page. 

The Director may cancel portions of any pronghorn hunt or change the 
bag limit if population surveys indicate the need for such action.

License Required
A resident or nonresident pronghorn antelope license is required 
to hunt.  Each public-draw and private-land license is valid only 
on the ranch or lands for which it is issued and for a specific hunt.  
Public hunters drawn for Bow, Mobility-Impaired and the AMU 52 
Muzzleloader hunt ARE NOT assigned to a specific ranch and are 
required to hunt on legally accessible public lands or obtain written 
permission from landowners to hunt private land.  Hunters must 
possess a pronghorn antelope license with a valid carcass tag while 
hunting. A hunter may not hold both a private land and a public land 
pronghorn license in the same license year.  Licenses may not be 
refunded or transferred to other persons. See page 4 for exceptions.

Legal Sporting Arms
Any Legal Sporting Arm
	 Centerfire rifle or handgun; shotgun no smaller than 28 gauge, firing 

a slug; any bow and arrows; any muzzleloading rifle. Crossbows 
may only be used by certified Mobility-Impaired Hunters. For more 
information, see pages 5, 6, 8 and 15.

Bow Only
	 Any bow and arrows. Crossbows may be used only by certified 

Mobility-Impaired Hunters, see pages 5, 6, 8, and 15.
Muzzleloader
	 Any muzzleloader rifle. Scopes and sabots are legal.  See pages 6 

and 15.

No Off-Road Vehicle Travel
Whether on private or public land, it is unlawful for a legally licensed 
pronghorn antelope hunter to drive, or to ride in or on any motor vehicle 
that is operated off established roads. Hunters MAY NOT drive off 
established roads unless specifically allowed. See Vehicle Travel on 
Public Lands, pages 9, 11, and 12.

Hunting on Military Properties, Check 
Stations, and Wearing Blaze Orange
For some hunts, hunters will be required to check in and out in person 
at a check station.  McGregor Range/Fort Bliss requires all hunters 
wear a blaze orange hat and a blaze orange hunting vest. See page 
13.  AMU 3, 10, 12, 18 and 29 are subject to closure by the U.S. Forest 
Service and/or the military during military operations.  ALL hunters 
on McGregor Range /Fort Bliss are required to have proof of 
passing a certified hunter education course prior to hunting. 
Hunters entering McGregor Range/Fort Bliss will be subject to security 
searches.

Mobility-Impaired Hunters
Applicants for Mobility-Impaired licenses are required to write their 
Mobility-Impaired (MI) certification number on their application.  See 
page 8 for the definition of Mobility-Impaired hunter, or call the 
Department of Game and Fish at 505-476-8087. 

Bag Limit  (See Definitions and Terms)
MB    A pronghorn antelope with at least one horn longer than its ear.
F-IM  A pronghorn antelope without horns or with both horns                        
shorter than its ears.
ES      Any one male or female pronghorn antelope.

Draw Licenses for Public Hunts and Private Land Authorizations

The antlered skulls of deer and elk, as well as the horned skulls of ibex, oryx, bighorn sheep and pronghorn antelope, are both fascinating and 
valuable.  If found in the field, the skull remains state property unless from an animal taken legally by a licensed hunter during an approved 
hunting season, or a skull purchased from the State or a legally licensed hunter.  This rule applies to everyone, hikers as well as hunters.
The State Game Commission adopted this rule to combat poaching of our valuable big game resources.  It’s a very important law for 
conservation officers. It’s critical to regulate the shooting of big game animals taken just for their heads.
Deer and elk shed antlers every year. It’s legal to have shed antlers in your possession.  However, skulls with attached antlers found in the 
field are only available by purchase from the State.  Owners must retain the resulting paperwork.  If there is probable cause, conservation 
officers can confiscate any skull if they believe the animal was unlawfully killed or unlawfully possessed.  So if you find a skull with antlers or 
horns attached, leave it there and contact a conservation officer.

Skulls Are State Property
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Private Land Hunts
Pronghorn antelope hunting opportunities on private lands are issued 
through the Antelope Private Lands Use System (A-PLUS) to qualifying 
landowners who sign hunting agreements with the Department.

Obtaining a Private Land License
Hunters wishing to hunt pronghorn antelope on private lands must first 
negotiate with a participating landowner. If successful, the landowner 
will provide the hunter with the appropriate information to convert an 
authorization into a license.

A list of participating ranches who receive pronghorn antelope 
authorizations is available on the Department’s Web site at: www.
wildlife.state.nm.us.

Hunters can purchase a private-land pronghorn antelope license by 
submitting their required authorization information along with the proper 
license fee(s) by mail to the Department’s Special Hunts Office or 
delivering it in person to any Area Office.

Hunts on private land will coincide with public draw hunts, unless 
otherwise specified. Private land pronghorn antelope authorizations 
may be available from qualified participating landowners for the 
following areas, bag limits and dates.

Any Legal Sporting Arm Hunts
Female-Immature Pronghorn Antelope
Sept. 11-12 or Sept. 18-19
	 Selected ranches in AMUs 3, 5, 6, 10, 23-28, 31-34, 36-40 and 43.
Aug. 28-29
	 Selected ranches in the NE Area

Mature Buck Pronghorn Antelope
August 21-23 or Sept. 11-13
	 Selected ranches in AMUs 41, 42, 44-49 and 53-58.
Sept. 11-12
	 Selected ranches in AMUs 3, 5, 6, 10, 23-28, 31-34, 36-40 and 43.
Oct. 2-4
	 AMUs 3, 5, 10, 12, 13, 15-18 and 20.

Either-Sex Pronghorn Antelope-Youth Only hunters
Sept. 18-19
	 Selected ranches in the SE Area

Private Land License Fees
Resident  $72	 Nonresident  $306
Fees include the Depredation Damage Stamp fee and an administrative 
fee to cover the costs of administering the A-PLUS system. A $5 
Habitat Stamp is required if hunting, fishing, and trapping on U.S. 
Forest Service and BLM lands and must be purchased separately. A 
$4 Habitat Management and Access Validation is required and must be 
purchased separately, see page 11. 

Bag Limit  (See Definitions and Terms)
The bag limit for a private land hunt will be specified on the 
authorization and the license.

Reassignable vs. Ranch-Only Hunt Options
Both public draw and private land licenses are issued based on whether 
the authorized contact for each participating ranch has chosen the 
reassignable/unit-wide or ranch-only hunting option. Licenses issued 
to hunters as ranch-only are valid ONLY on that specific ranch and no 
reassignments will be allowed.

After the first day of the hunt, hunters issued reassignable/unit-wide 
licenses may be moved to other reassignable/unit-wide ranches within 
the same AMU upon approval by a District Conservation Officer. Only 
ranches with signed hunting agreements with the Department are open 
to pronghorn antelope hunting. The entire AMU is not open.

Draw Licenses for Public Land Hunts and Private Land Authorizations
Public Land Hunts
Application and Licenses
Up to four persons may apply on Form 2010. The deadline for 
application is April 7, 2010. See page 43 for a list of Public Land 
Hunts.

Public hunters drawn for any legal sporting arm and muzzleloader 
hunts (except in AMU 52) will be assigned to a particular ranch to 
hunt.  Ranch assignments are made following the draw by the Area 
Offices.  Members of the same hunting party may be assigned to 
separate but nearby ranches.  Area Offices will mail a letter and ranch 
map to assigned hunters notifying them of their assigned ranch.  Public 
hunters, when assigned to a ranch, have free, equal and unrestricted 
access to hunt the entire ranch including all private deeded land and 
public leased land associated with the ranch.  Hunters are allowed to 
scout the ranch two days before the start of their hunt.

Public hunters drawn for Bow, Mobility-Impaired and the AMU 52 
Muzzleloader hunt ARE NOT assigned to a specific ranch and are 
required to hunt on any legally accessible public lands or obtain written 
permission from landowners to hunt private land.

Public Land License Fees
License fee type is Standard (S).
Resident  $63	 Nonresident  $297
Hunters must possess a pronghorn antelope license with valid carcass 
tag while hunting.  Anyone applying for a pronghorn antelope 
draw license, MUST pay the full license and application fee when 
making application. Fees include the nonrefundable application fee 
and Depredation Damage Stamp fee.  A $5 Habitat Stamp is required 
if hunting, fishing, and trapping on U.S. Forest Service and BLM lands 
and must be purchased separately. A $4 Habitat Management and 
Access Validation is required and must be purchased separately, see 
page 11.

Bag Limit  (See Definitions and Terms)
The bag limit will be specified on each public draw license.



Draw Licenses for Any Legal Sporting Arm, Bow, 
Muzzleloader and Mobility-Impaired 
What You Must Know Before You Hunt
No Over-the-Counter Licenses:  There are no OTC licenses for pronghorn antelope. Youth Only:  Applicants must be under 18 on the opening 
day of the hunt, provide proof of hunter education certification to apply and carry their certificate while hunting with a firearm.  Mentor/Youth Only 
Hunt: A hunt consisting of one adult (18 years of age or older) and up to three youths (younger than 18 years of age as of the opening day of the 
hunt). Antelope Management Units (AMU) 3, 10, 12, 18, and 29:  Parts of these AMUs are subject to closure by the U.S. Forest Service and/or 
the military during military operations.  Hunters drawn for Bow, Mobility-Impaired, or the AMU 52 muzzleloader hunts are NOT assigned to a specific 
ranch, and are required to hunt on any legally accessible public lands or obtain written permission from landowners to hunt their private land. 
AMU 29: ALL hunters on McGregor Range/Fort Bliss are required to have proof of passing a certified hunter education course prior to 
hunting. Blaze Orange Clothing:  McGregor Range/Fort Bliss requires all hunters wear a blaze orange hat and a blaze orange hunting vest.

		  						     						      Maximum
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Fee Type	 Licenses	 Bag Limit 	

Any Legal Sporting Arm (Centerfire, muzzleloader and bow)
AMU 3, 5, 10, 12, 13, 15-18, 20	 Oct. 2-4	 ANT-1-100	 S	 100	 MB
AMU 3, 5, 6, 10, 23-28, 31-34, 36-39, 43  Mobility-Impaired Only
			   July 31-Aug. 1	 ANT-1-101	 S	 45	 MB
AMU 12  Mobility-Impaired Only	 July 30-Aug. 1	 ANT-1-102	 S	 2	 MB
AMU 13  Mobility-Impaired Only	 July 30-Aug. 1	 ANT-1-103	 S	 5	 MB
AMU 16  Mobility-Impaired Only	 July 30-Aug. 1	 ANT-1-104	 S	 2	 MB
AMU 18  Mobility-Impaired Only	 July 30-Aug. 1	 ANT-1-105	 S	 5	 MB
AMU 6, 23-27, 31-34, 36-40, 43	 Sept. 11-12	 ANT-1-106	 S	 300	 MB
Selected ranches in the SE Area  Youth Only	 Sept. 18-19	 ANT-1-107	 S	 75	 F-IM
AMU 20  Mobility-Impaired Only	 July 30-Aug. 1	 ANT-1-111	 S	 2	 MB
AMU 42, 44-49, 53-58  Mobility-Impaired Only	 July 31-Aug. 1	 ANT-1-112	 S	 25	 MB
Selected ranches in the NE Area  Youth Only	 Aug. 21-23	 ANT-1-113	 S	 20	 MB
AMU 41, 42, 44-49, 53-58	 Aug. 21-23	 ANT-1-114	 S	 500	 MB
Selected ranches in the NE Area  Youth Only	 Aug. 28-29	 ANT-1-115	 S	 50	 F-IM

Bow Only
AMU 42-58 are predominantly private land. Hunters are encouraged to obtain written permission from landowners before 
applying for a hunt in these units.
AMU 3, 5, and 10	 Aug. 14-22	 ANT-2-100	 S	 10	 MB
AMU 12	 Aug. 14-22	 ANT-2-101	 S	 15	 MB
AMU 13	 Aug. 14-22	 ANT-2-102	 S	 30	 MB
AMU 16	 Aug. 14-22	 ANT-2-103	 S	 25	 MB
AMU 17	 Aug. 14-22	 ANT-2-104	 S	 2	 MB
AMU 20	 Aug. 14-22	 ANT-2-105	 S	 30	 MB
AMU 6, 23-27, 30-34, 36-40, and 43	 Aug. 14-18	 ANT-2-106	 S	 200	 MB
AMU 42, 44-49, and 53-58	 Aug. 7-11	 ANT-2-107	 S	 100	 MB
 

Muzzleloader and Bow
AMU 11	 Oct. 2-4	 ANT-3-100	 S	 25	 MB
AMU 29	 Sept. 4-5	 ANT-3-101	 S	 40	 MB
AMU 29  McGregor Range  Youth Only	 Sept. 4-5	 ANT-3-102	 S	 10	 MB
AMU 29  McGregor Range  Military Only	 Sept. 4-5	 ANT-3-103	 S	 10	 MB
AMU 29  Selected Ranches  Mentor/Youth Only	 Sept. 4-5	 ANT-3-104	 S	 10	 MB
AMU 52  Portion west of Rio Grande  Youth Only	 Aug. 14-17	 ANT-3-105	 S	 25	 MB
AMU 52  Portion west of Rio Grande	 Aug. 14-17	 ANT-3-106	 S	 150	 MB
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Draw Licenses for Rocky Mountain and Desert Bighorn Sheep 
Application and Licenses
Bighorn ram licenses are once-in-a-lifetime licenses. You may apply 
for both Rocky Mountain and desert bighorn sheep subspecies in the 
same license year.  If applying for both bighorn sheep, the applicant 
must do so on a single application, Form 2010. Anyone who has held a 
Bighorn Sheep Enhancement license may apply for either one of these 
licenses.  See Unique Hunting Opportunities on page 14.  Hunters 
must apply by April 7, 2010.  Only one person may apply per form. 
Anyone applying for a bighorn draw license MUST pay the full 
license and application fee when making application.

Rocky Mountain Bighorn Sheep
Anyone may apply for a draw license to hunt Rocky Mountain bighorn 
except those who have previously held a draw license to hunt Rocky 
Mountain bighorn in New Mexico.  Anyone who has held a license to 
hunt desert bighorn sheep may apply for a draw license to hunt Rocky 
Mountain bighorn sheep. You may specify three choices of hunts for 
Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep.

Desert Bighorn Sheep
Anyone may apply for a draw license to hunt desert bighorn sheep 
except those who have previously held a draw license to hunt desert 
bighorn sheep in New Mexico.  Anyone who has held a draw  license 
to hunt Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep may apply for a draw license to 
hunt desert bighorn sheep.

Youth Only Hunt
Applicants must be younger than 18 on the opening day of the hunt, 
provide proof of hunter education certification to apply and carry their 
certificate while hunting with a firearm.  The bag limit for this hunt is 
one ram.  Youth hunters are eligible for this hunt only once as a youth 
(younger than 18).  Successful applicants may apply for the other 
bighorn hunts thereafter if they qualify.

License Fees
License fee type is Standard (S).
Resident  $163	 Nonresident  $3,187
Fees include the nonrefundable application fee and Depredation 
Damage Stamp fee. Habitat Stamps are required for hunting, fishing, 
and trapping on U.S. Forest Service and BLM lands and must be 
purchased separately. A Habitat Management and Access Validation is 
required and must be purchased separately.  

Legal Sporting Arms
Centerfire rifle or handgun of .24 caliber or larger; shotgun no smaller 
than 28 gauge, firing a single slug; bow and arrows; or a muzzleloading 
rifle no smaller than .45 caliber.  Crossbows may only be used by 
certified Mobility-Impaired Hunters, see page 15.

Bag Limit
One ram

Ram Heads Must Have a Seal Attached
Every bighorn ram taken in New Mexico must have a seal affixed to 
one horn by the Department. This seal authorizes possession and 
transportation of the head within the state.  Bighorn sheep legally taken 
and sealed in another jurisdiction (state, tribal entity, or country), do not 
have to be sealed again in New Mexico. Bighorn heads found in the 
field in New Mexico must remain in the field, and may not be legally 
possessed. Sealing must be done within 10 days after the animal is 
taken, before being imported into New Mexico, or before it is exported 
from New Mexico.  
Persons who take bighorn rams in New Mexico or who bring unsealed 
bighorn ram heads into the state must notify the Department so that the 
seal can be affixed within the 10 day period.  Imported heads not so 
declared are subject to seizure. Only legally taken heads will be sealed. 
When the Department attaches the seal, the head will be measured 
and photographed.

Bighorn Sheep
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Bighorn Hunt Areas
Rocky Mountain
Bighorn Sheep

Rocky Mountain
Bighorn Sheep

Rocky Mountain
Bighorn SheepDesert

Bighorn Sheep

Seasons
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Licenses	 Bag Limit	
Desert bighorn sheep
	 Unit 27  Peloncillo Mountains	 Nov. 1-30	 BHS-1-100	 1	 1 Ram
Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep
	 Unit 45 - Pecos Mountains	 Aug. 21-27	 BHS-1-101	 5	 1 Ram
	 Unit 45 - Pecos Mountains	 Aug. 28-Sept. 3	 BHS-1-102	 4	 1 Ram
	 Unit 45 - Pecos Mountains  Youth Only	 Aug. 28-Sept. 3	 BHS-1-103	 1	 1 Ram
	 Unit 53 - Wheeler Peak portion south of NM 38	 Sept. 5-15	 BHS-1-106	 4	 1 Ram
	 Units 53 and 55A - Latir Mountains portion north of NM 38 in Unit 53
	 and the Latir Mountains portion of Unit 55A	 Aug. 14-20	 BHS-1-107	 1	 1 Ram
	 Units 16B, 22, 23, 24  Turkey Creek and San Francisco River	 Jan. 8-16, ‘11	 BHS-1-108	 2	 1 Ram



What You Must Know Before You Hunt
Youth Only Hunt: Applicants must be under 18 on the opening day of the hunt, provide proof of hunter education certification to apply and carry 
their certificate while hunting with a firearm. Cougar Hunting in Unit 25, Florida Mountains Hunt Area: Cougar hunting is closed in the Florida 
Mountains Hunt Area during any ibex hunt.
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Any Legal Sporting Arm (Centerfire, muzzleloader and bow)
	 Florida Mountains in Unit 25 Youth Only	 Sept. 25-Oct. 3	 IBX-1-500	 15	 ES
	 Florida Mountains in Unit 25	 Oct. 9-17	 IBX-1-520	 50	 F-IM
	 Florida Mountains in Unit 25 Once-in-a-Lifetime	 Nov. 27-Dec. 12	 IBX-1-525	 15	 ES
	 Statewide except Florida Mountains Hunt Area	 Apr. 1, ‘10-Mar. 31, ‘11	 IBX-1-528	 Over-The-Counter	1 ES per tag
Bow Only
	 Florida Mountains in Unit 25	 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 IBX-2-535	 100	 ES
Muzzleloader and Bow
	 Florida Mountains in Unit 25	 Feb. 12-20, ‘11	 IBX-3-540	 20	 ES

Over-the-Counter Licenses, Draw Licenses

Ibex

Legal Sporting Arms
Any Legal Sporting Arm
Centerfire rifle or handgun; shotgun no smaller than 28 gauge, firing a 
single slug; any muzzleloading rifle; or any bow and arrows. Crossbows 
may only be used by certified Mobility-Impaired Hunters, see pages 8 
and 15.

Bow
Any bow and arrows. Crossbows may only be used by certified 
Mobility-Impaired Hunters, see pages 8 and 15.

Muzzleloader and Bow
Any muzzleloader rifle or any bow and arrows.

Florida Mountains Hunt Area
The portion of Game Management Unit 25 bounded by I-10 on the 
north, the U.S./Mexico border on the south, NM-11 on the west, 
and the Doña Ana/Luna County line on the east. 

Ibex Hunt Areas

General License Information
There are two types of ibex licenses available: an over-the-counter and a 
draw license. Hunters must have an ibex license with a valid tag.

Over-the-Counter License
The over-the-counter ibex license for outside the Florida Mountains 
Hunt Area is IBX-1-528. It can be purchased only from Department 
offices or by mail, using Form 3.  Form 3 must be filled out when 
purchasing an IBX-1-528 license. DO NOT apply for the IBX-1-528 
hunt on Form 2010. There is no deadline and no limit on the number of 
IBX-1-528 licenses. Holders of an IBX-1-528 license have an unlimited 
number of tags available to them upon request at any Department 
office.

Over-the-Counter License Fees
Resident $103	 Nonresident $1,610
Fees include a nonrefundable application fee and Depredation Damage 
Stamp fee.  Habitat Stamps are required for hunting, fishing, and 
trapping on U.S. Forest Service and BLM lands and must be purchased 
separately. A Habitat Management and Access Validation is required 
and must be purchased separately.
 

Draw License
Licenses for the IBX-1-525 rifle hunt are once-in-a-lifetime licenses 
issued by drawing.  To receive an ibex draw license for this hunt on 
the Florida Mountains Hunt Area, apply on Form 2010 by April 7, 
2010. Only one person may apply per form. Holding an OTC license 
does not preclude a hunter from applying for a draw license. If you 
have purchased an OTC license, you may apply for a Draw License by 
submitting only the nonrefundable application fee of $10 for residents 
and $27 for nonresidents, indicating your OTC license number. You 
may apply for the once-in-a-lifetime license only if you never held a 
IBX-1-525 ibex license. Any valid ibex license can be used for the year-
round IBX-1-528 hunt.

Draw License Fees
License fee type is Standard (S).
Resident $113	 Nonresident $1,637
Hunters must apply by April 7, 2010. Anyone applying for an ibex 
draw license, MUST pay the full license and application fee when 
making application. Fees include a nonrefundable application fee and 
the Depredation Damage Stamp fee.  Habitat Stamps are required for 
hunting, fishing, and trapping on U.S. Forest Service and BLM lands 
and must be purchased separately. A Habitat Management and Access 
Validation is required and must be purchased separately.

Bag Limit (See Definitions) 
F-IM:  One female or immature ibex only. 
ES: Any one ibex of either sex.
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Over-the-Counter Licenses, Draw Permits
General Information
Turkey hunters have a spring and fall hunting season and may purchase an 
over-the-counter license and may apply for a draw permit.  

Licenses and Tags
A resident or nonresident spring or fall turkey over-the-counter license 
with valid tags is available from Department offices, license vendors, 
online, or by mail using Form 3. Hunters may purchase both spring 
and fall licenses. Spring turkey hunters will be issued one tag with their 
license and may purchase a second tag. See Bag Limit below. 
One Turkey Bag Limit Units – Use of First Spring 
Turkey Tag
Spring turkey hunters may take only one turkey in Units 15, 16, 21, 22, 
23 and 24.  The first spring turkey tag shall ONLY be valid in the above 
units.  Turkeys tagged with a 2nd Spring Turkey Tag in any of these 
Units are tagged improperly and are subject to seizure.
Two Turkey Bag Limit Units – Use of Second 
Spring Turkey Tag
Spring turkey hunters may take two turkeys in the open portions of 
Units 4, 5, 6A, 6C, 7, 9, 10, 12-14, 17, 18, 20, 29, 32-34, 36-49 and 
51-59.  The first spring turkey harvested may be tagged with either the 
first or second turkey tag in these units.  However, the second turkey 
tag cannot be used to tag a turkey in those Units with a one turkey bag 
limit (15, 16, 21, 22, 23 or 24).      

License Fees
Fee type is Standard (S).	 Resident	 Nonresident
Spring License	   $25	   $100
Second Tag (spring only)	 10	 10
Fall License	   25	   100
Habitat Stamps are required for hunting, fishing, and trapping on U.S. 
Forest Service and BLM lands and must be purchased separately. A Habitat 
Management and Access Validation is required and must be purchased 
separately.

Legal Sporting Arms
Any shotgun, including muzzleloading shotguns using shot only, 
or bow and arrows. No centerfire or rimfire rifle or handgun use is 
allowed. Crossbows may only be used by certified Mobility-Impaired 
Hunters, see page 15. It is illegal to shoot a wild turkey roosting in a tree 
or a structure.

OTC License Hunts
What You Must Know Before You Hunt
Unit 34:  Grapevine Canyon (McGregor Range Buffer Zone) is 
accessible by military permission only. Units 10, 13, 18 and 20:  
These units are subject to closure by the U.S. Forest Service and/
or the military during military operations. Closed Areas:  The Urraca 
WMA in Unit 55, the Rio Chama and Humphries WMAs in Unit 4, 
Rattlesnake Canyon in Unit 2A.  The Valle Vidal is open only to hunters 
who possess a draw permit. See Draw Permit Hunts, next column.

Open Areas For OTC License Hunts
Spring Season-April 15-May 10*
Units 4 (except Sargent, Humphries, and Rio Chama wildlife areas), 
5, 6A, 6B**, 6C, 7, 9 (including Water Canyon WMA but not Marquez 
WMA), 10, 12-14 (bows only in Sandia Ranger District), 15-18, 20-
24, 29, 32, 33, 34, 36-49, 51-54 (including Colin Neblett/south), 55 
(including Colin Neblett/north and Barker but not Urraca WMA or Valle 
Vidal/Greenwood areas), 56, 57 (bow only in Sugarite Canyon State 
Park) 58 and 59.
*A Youth Only hunt is April 10-11 in any of the above open areas.
**Valles Caldera National Preserve-Contact the VCNP directly  for 
more information about this hunt. Bag limit is one bearded turkey.

Bag Limit for Spring Season
The bag limit is a bearded turkey. In the open portions of the units listed 
above, the beard and a patch of feathers surrounding the beard must 
remain on the bird until it is delivered to the place where it will be eaten 
or placed in cold storage.

OTC License Hunts continued
Fall Season-Sept. 6-14
Units 7, 9 (except Marquez WMA), 10, 12, 13, 15-17, 21-24, 29, 34, 36, 
37, 40-42, 45-48, 54 (including Colin Neblett/south), 55 (including Colin 
Neblett/north but not Urraca WMA, Valle Vidal/Greenwood areas), 56, 
58, and 59.

Bag Limit for Fall Season
The bag limit is any one turkey in the units listed above.

Draw Permit Hunts
Application for these draw permits must be made by Feb. 3, 2010, 
using Form 2010 or online at www.wildlife.state.nm.us submitting 
a nonrefundable application fee of $10 for residents and $27 for 
nonresidents. Two applicants may apply per form. Successful 
applicants must purchase an OTC turkey license. Habitat Stamps 
are required for hunters and trappers on U.S. Forest Service and BLM 
lands and must be purchased separately. A Habitat Management 
and Access Validation must be purchased separately.  Youth Only 
Hunts:  Applicants must be under 18 on the opening day of the hunt, 
provide proof of hunter education certification to apply, and carry their 
certificate while hunting with a firearm.

Bag Limit for Draw-Permit Hunts
The bag limit is any one bearded turkey. Youth hunters may take 2 
bearded turkeys during any Youth Only hunt on the W.S. Huey WMA 
if they possess a second turkey tag. Properly licensed Draw Permit 
hunters may take a second turkey if they purchase and possess a 
second turkey tag.

Areas Open For Draw Permit Hunts
Hunt Area	 Hunt Date	 Hunt Code	 Permits	
Unit 2 except the Rattlesnake Canyon closure area	
	 Apr. 15-30	 TUR-1-100	 100
Unit 2 Youth Only except the Rattlesnake Canyon closure area	
	 Apr. 15-30	 TUR-1-101	 50
Sargent WMA in Unit 4
	 Apr. 15-30	 TUR-1-102	 5
Humphries/Rio Chama WMAs in Unit 4
	 Apr. 15-30	 TUR-1-103	 12
Marquez WMA in Unit 9	
	 Apr. 15-30	 TUR-1-104	 5
Huey WMA Unit 33  Youth Only	
	 Apr. 10-11	 TUR-1-105	 3
Huey WMA Unit 33  Youth Only	
	 Apr. 17-18	 TUR-1-106	 3
Huey WMA Unit 33  Youth Only	
	 Apr. 24-25	 TUR-1-107	 3
Huey WMA Unit 33  Youth Only	
	 May 1-2	 TUR-1-108	 3
Huey WMA Unit 33  Youth Only	
	 Sept. 11-12	 TUR-1-109	 4
Huey WMA Unit 33  Youth Only	
	 Sept. 18-19	 TUR-1-110	 4
Huey WMA Unit 33  Youth Only	
	 Sept. 25-26	 TUR-1-111	 4
Valle Vidal Unit 55
	 Apr. 15-30	 TUR-1-112	 20

Turkey

REWARD! The New Mexico Chapter of the National 
Wild Turkey Federation will pay a reward of up to $200, 
in addition to any reward paid by Operation Game Thief, 

for information leading to the conviction of any person who 
violates New Mexico turkey hunting rules or rules protecting the state-
endangered Gould’s turkey. 47



Javelina Draw Licenses
Application and Licenses
Hunters must possess a valid resident or nonresident javelina license 
with valid tag.  All licenses are issued by drawing.  Up to four persons 
may apply on Form 2010.  Application must be made by April 7, 2010.

Legal Sporting Arms
Centerfire rifle or handgun; shotgun no smaller than 28 gauge, firing 
a single slug; any muzzleloading rifle or muzzleloading handgun; 
or bow and arrows. Crossbows may only be used by 
certified Mobility-Impaired Hunters, see page 15.

License Fees
License fee type is Standard (S).  
Resident  $68	 Nonresident  $192
Anyone applying for a javelina draw license, MUST pay the 
full license and application fee when making application. 
Fees include a nonrefundable application fee and Depredation 
Damage Stamp fee.  Habitat Stamps are required for hunting, fishing, 
and trapping on U.S. Forest Service and BLM lands and must be 
purchased separately. A Habitat Management and Access Validation 
must be purchased separately.

Bag Limit  One javelina.

What You Must Know Before You Hunt
No Over-the-Counter Licenses:  There are no OTC licenses for javelina.  Youth Only:  Applicants must be under 18 on the opening day of the hunt, 
provide proof of hunter education certification to apply and carry their certificate while hunting with a firearm. Units 13 and 20:  These units are subject 
to closure by the U.S. Forest Service and/or the military during missile firings.  JAV-1-100, JAV-1-104 and JAV-2-103 Hunt:  Javelina will be in small, 
isolated groups except in Units 23-27 (including the Big Hatchets). ALL hunters on McGregor Range/Fort Bliss are required to have proof of passing a 
certified hunter education course before they hunt. Blaze Orange Clothing:  McGregor Range/Fort Bliss requires all hunters wear a blaze orange hat and 
a blaze orange hunting vest.

Draw Hunts Any Legal Sporting Arm (Centerfire, muzzleloader and bow)
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Statewide Youth Only	 Jan. 1-Mar. 31, ‘11	 JAV-1-100	 100	 ES
Unit 19 and 23-27	 Feb. 1-15, ‘11	 JAV-1-102	 1000	 ES
Statewide (except Units 19, and 23-27)	 Jan. 16-Mar. 31, ‘11	 JAV-1-104	 1000	 ES
Unit 28  McGregor Range  Military Only	 Jan. 1-2, ‘11	 JAV-1-105	 5	 ES

Bow Only
Unit 19 and 23-27	 Jan. 16-31, ‘11	 JAV-2-101	 300	 ES
Statewide (except Units 19, and 23-27)	 Jan. 1-15, ‘11	 JAV-2-103	 300	 ES

Barbary Sheep Draw, Private land and Statewide Licenses
License Required
Hunters must possess a valid resident or nonresident Barbary sheep license with valid tag. Licenses for Units 28 (McGregor Range-Military Only), public 
land within 29-34, 36 and 37 are issued only by drawing. For draw licenses, up to four persons may apply on Form 2010. Application must be made by 
April 7, 2010. Private land and statewide hunt licenses are available through Department offices, on the Department’s Web site and via Form 3. 

License Fees: Draw Resident  $113  Nonresident  $387. Private Land and Statewide Resident  $103  Nonresident  $360.
Anyone applying for a Barbary sheep draw license, MUST pay the full license and nonrefundable application fee when making application. Hunters 
must apply by April 7, 2010. Habitat Stamps are required for hunting, fishing, and trapping on U.S. Forest Service and BLM lands and must be 
purchased separately. A Habitat Management and Access Validation must be purchased separately and possessed.

Bag Limit  One Barbary sheep.

Legal Sporting Arms
Centerfire rifle or handgun; shotgun no smaller than 28 gauge, firing a single slug; any muzzleloading rifle; or any bow and arrows.  Crossbows may 
only be used by certified Mobility-Impaired Hunters, see page 15.

Draw Hunts Any Legal Sporting Arm (Centerfire, muzzleloader and bow)
McGregor Range/Fort Bliss requires all hunters wear a blaze orange hat and a blaze orange hunting vest. ALL hunters on McGregor Range/Fort 
Bliss are required to have proof of passing a certified hunter education course before they hunt. 
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
	 Units 29, 31-34, 36 and 37	 Feb. 1-March 15, ‘11	 BBY-1-100	 600	 ES
	 Unit 30	 Feb. 1-28, ‘11	 BBY-1-101	 600	 ES
	 Unit 28  McGregor Range Military Only	 Jan. 1-2, ‘11	 BBY-1-102	 5	 ES

Private Land and Statewide Hunts Any Legal Sporting Arm (Centerfire, muzzleloader and bow)
Closed Areas: Units 8, 13, 14, 16, WSMR and Fort Bliss portions of Units 19, 22-24, 26-34, 36 and 37, Sugarite Canyon State Park, Rio Grande 
Wild and Scenic River Area including the Taos Valley Overlook, all WMAs except Water Canyon, the Valle Vidal and the Valles Caldera. 
	 Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
	 Units 29, 31-34, 36 and 37 Private Land Only	 Feb. 1-March 15, ‘11	 NA	 Unlimited	 ES
	 Unit 30 Private Land Only	 Feb. 1-28, ‘11	 NA	 Unlimited	 ES
	 Statewide, except Closed Areas listed above	 April 1, ‘10-March 31, ‘11	 NA	 Unlimited	 ES
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Premier Hunts, Once-In-A-Lifetime  Centerfire Firearm, Muzzleloader and Bow
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Licenses	 Bag Limit	
	 Rhodes Canyon	 Aug. 21-22	 ORX-1-100	 70	 ES
	 Rhodes Canyon	 Oct. 9-10	 ORX-1-102	 70	 ES
	 Rhodes Canyon	 Dec. 11-12	 ORX-1-104	 70	 ES
	 Rhodes Canyon	 Jan. 29-30, ‘11	 ORX-1-106	 70	 ES
	 Rhodes Canyon	 Feb. 26-27, ‘11	 ORX-1-108	 70	 ES
	 Red Canyon	 Sept. 25-26	 ORX-1-110	 30	 ES
	 Red Canyon	 Jan. 1-2, ‘11	 ORX-1-112	 30	 ES
	 Stallion Range	 Aug. 14-15	 ORX-1-114	 70	 ES
	 Stallion Range	 Nov. 13-14	 ORX-1-116	 70	 ES
	 Stallion Range	 Jan. 15-16, ‘11	 ORX-1-118	 70	 ES
	 Stallion Range	 Feb. 12-13, ‘11	 ORX-1-120	 70	 ES
	 Stallion Range	 March 19-20, ‘11	 ORX-1-122	 70	 ES
	 Mobility-Impaired Only	 TBA	 ORX-1-124	 15	 ES
(WSMR will attempt to accommodate Mobility-Impaired hunters, in terms of hunt area and hunt date.  Please contact WSMR directly if you have questions before applying.)

Youth Only Hunt Centerfire Firearm, Muzzleloader and Bow  This hunt is NOT Once-In-A-Lifetime 
Youth Only:  Applicants must be under 18 on the opening day of the hunt, provide proof of hunter education certification to apply, and carry their 
certificate while hunting with a firearm.
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Stallion Range  Youth Only	 Sept. 11-12	 ORX-1-138	 20	 ES

Draw Licenses 
Application and Licenses
These hunts all occur on White Sands Missile Range (WSMR).  Up to 
two persons may apply per Form 2010.  Application must be made by 
Feb. 3, 2010.  Only U.S. citizens may apply for  WSMR Security Badge 
Hunts. Foreign nationals may apply for Premier Once-In-A-Lifetime 
hunts, but those that are drawn must be escorted by an authorized 
WSMR official at all times while on the Range. Hunters must possess 
a valid oryx license, issued by drawing.  Military authorities may delay 
or cancel hunts if there are concerns for public safety.  The number of 
licenses may be reduced from the maximum number listed, depending 
on population survey results.

License Fees
License fees for all hunts except Private Land-only Hunts
Resident  $163  Nonresident  $1,637
Fees include a nonrefundable application fee and Depredation 
Damage Stamp fee. A Habitat Management and Access Validation 
must be purchased separately.  WSMR charges a $150 access fee 
per hunter for all hunts taking place on the missile range. Successful 
applicants will receive an instruction letter from WSMR detailing 
payment of the fee, including deadline dates for payment. Hunters are 
responsible for timely payment and will not be allowed to hunt if the 
access fee is not paid by the deadline.
 

WSMR Security
All vehicles entering WSMR are subject to a security search by 
WSMR officers.  Items that are banned by WSMR include: alcoholic 
beverages, illegal drugs, camcorders, radar detectors, and concealed 
weapons.  Discovery of banned items or failure to comply with WSMR 
requirements or any other applicable law or regulation, may result in 
citation, arrest, and/or removal from WSMR and prosecution by federal 
or state officials.  It is illegal to enter any “CLOSED” area. Violations 
may result in the revocation of future hunting privileges on WSMR.  
Hunters do not get a second chance to correct violations.  If you are 
escorted off WSMR, your license fees will NOT be refunded.

What You Must Know Before You Hunt
There are no OTC licenses for oryx.  Blaze Orange Clothing:  
Hunters must wear at least 244 square inches of blaze orange while 
hunting on military property.

Once-In-A-Lifetime Hunt
All oryx hunts are once-in-a-lifetime hunts except: Population 
management, Youth Only, Broken-Horn, Incentive and WSMR Security 
Badged hunts. 

Broken-Horn Oryx Hunt
Broken-Horn hunts are not once-in-a-lifetime. See Definitions. Those who 
have held an once-in-a-lifetime oryx license may apply for a Broken-
Horn Oryx hunt.

Bag Limit
ES  Any one oryx of either sex        BHO  Any one broken-horn oryx

Special Restrictions
•  All oryx licenses (except population management, WSMR 

security badge, youth-only, broken horn, private land-only and 
incentive hunts) are once-in-a-lifetime licenses.  You may not 
apply for a once-in-a-lifetime oryx license if you have previously held 
a once-in-a-lifetime oryx license or authorization.  However, you may 
apply for a once-in-a-lifetime oryx license even if you have held a 
population-management, broken horn (non-typical), or incentive oryx 
license. 

•  You may designate up to three hunt choices per Form 2010. Address 
questions of eligibility for a license to any of the Department’s Area 
Offices or the Special Hunts office in Santa Fe.

•  Oryx hunters must check in and out of the White Sands Missile 
Range as described in the information letter they will receive if they 
are selected for a hunt.  Hunters will be provided a hunt area map 
which identify “CLOSED” areas where no hunting is allowed.

•  Up to three guests capable of assisting the hunter in cleaning and 
loading a downed oryx may accompany each licensed hunter. Only 
U.S. citizens may be guests of permitted hunters. No other help will 
be available for this purpose. The guests may not help the licensed 
hunter kill the oryx.

Legal Sporting Arms
Only a centerfire rifle or centerfire handgun, .24 caliber or larger, 
shotgun no smaller than 28 gauge, firing a single slug, muzzleloading 
rifle .45 caliber or larger or any bow and arrows. Crossbows may only 
be used by certified Mobility-Impaired Hunters, see page 15.
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Broken-Horn Oryx Hunts
Centerfire Firearm, Muzzleloader and Bow  These hunts are NOT Once-In-A-Lifetime
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Rhodes Canyon	 Aug. 21-22	 ORX-1-139	 10	 BHO
Rhodes Canyon	 Oct. 9-10	 ORX-1-140	 10	 BHO
Rhodes Canyon	 Dec. 11-12	 ORX-1-141	 10	 BHO
Rhodes Canyon	 Jan. 29-30, ‘11	 ORX-1-142	 10	 BHO
Rhodes Canyon	 Feb. 26-27, ‘11	 ORX-1-143	 10	 BHO
Red Canyon	 Sept. 25-26	 ORX-1-144	 5	 BHO
Red Canyon	 Jan. 1-2, ‘11	 ORX-1-145	 5	 BHO
Stallion Range	 Aug. 14-15	 ORX-1-146	 10	 BHO
Stallion Range	 Nov. 13-14	 ORX-1-147	 10	 BHO
Stallion Range	 Jan. 15-16, ‘11	 ORX-1-148	 10	 BHO
Stallion Range	 Feb. 12-13, ‘11	 ORX-1-149	 10	 BHO
Stallion Range	 March 19-20, ‘11	 ORX-1-150	 10	 BHO

WSMR Security Badge Hunts
Centerfire Firearm, Muzzleloader and Bow  These Hunts are NOT Once-In-A-Lifetime
DO NOT APPLY for these hunts if you are not a U.S. citizen or do not have an appropriate WSMR security and hunt badge or cannot be 
escorted by someone who does. Only badged sponsors with an approved 2010 WSMR Hunt Permit and their guests will be allowed to 
participate in these hunts. Badged sponsors must have received a 2010 WSMR Hunt Permit by Feb. 3, 2010. Hunters applying for a badged 
hunt must be certain that they have a permitted badged sponsor prior to applying for a badged hunt. Hunters who do not have a permitted sponsor 
will be denied access to the hunt. If in doubt, do not apply. Oryx hunts ORX-1-130 through ORX-1-137 are available ONLY to U.S. citizens with 
appropriate WSMR security and hunt badges and their guests in accordance with WSMR provisions.  There is no guarantee of access to WSMR for 
these hunts.  These hunts will be held on remote areas of White Sands Missile Range. Hunts will be conducted only on weekends, non-duty days 
and holidays. These hunts are NOT considered once-in-a-lifetime. Two persons may apply per Form 2010. Application must be made by Feb. 3, 
2010. Applicants may choose up to three hunt code choices. For further information on access and badging requirements, contact WSMR at 
(575) 678-7095 or (575) 678-3487.
	Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
WSMR TBA	 May 1-31	 ORX-1-130	 32	 ES
WSMR TBA	 Aug. 1-31	 ORX-1-131	 32	 ES
WSMR TBA	 Sept. 1-30	 ORX-1-132	 32	 ES
WSMR TBA	 Oct. 1-31	 ORX-1-133	 32	 ES
WSMR TBA	 Nov. 1-30	 ORX-1-134	 32	 ES
WSMR TBA	 Jan. 1-31, ‘11	 ORX-1-135	 32	 ES
WSMR TBA	 Feb. 1-28, ‘11	 ORX-1-136	 32	 ES
WSMR TBA	 Mar. 1-31, ‘11	 ORX-1-137	 32	 ES

Returning Iraq/Afghanistan Resident Veterans-Only Hunts
Centerfire Firearm, Muzzleloader and Bow  Premier Hunts, Once-In-A-Lifetime
Twelve hunts (below) have been established for New Mexico Resident Veterans who served on active military duty in Iraq or Afghanistan.  All 
hunts occur on White Sands Missile Range (WSMR).  Up to two persons may apply per Form 2010.  Application must be made by Feb. 3, 2010.  
Proof of Service is Required:  Applicants must supply proof of military service in Iraq or Afghanistan by the application deadline.  Submit a COPY 
of your Orders or DD-214 along with your Form 2010. If applying online, applicants must mail a copy of their proof of service with their application 
number written on it. Mail proof of service to: Department of Game and Fish,  Special Hunts Office, P.O. Box 25125, Santa Fe, NM 87504.  Blaze 
Orange Clothing:  Hunters must wear at least 244 square inches of blaze orange while hunting on military property.  Crossbows: Crossbows may 
only be used by certified Mobility-Impaired Hunters, see page 15.
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Licenses	 Bag Limit	
Rhodes Canyon	 Aug. 21-22	 ORX-1-101	 5	 ES
Rhodes Canyon	 Oct. 9-10	 ORX-1-103	 5	 ES
Rhodes Canyon	 Dec. 11-12	 ORX-1-105	 5	 ES
Rhodes Canyon	 Jan. 29-30, ‘11	 ORX-1-107	 5	 ES
Rhodes Canyon	 Feb. 26-27, ‘11	 ORX-1-109	 5	 ES
Red Canyon	 Sept. 25-26	 ORX-1-111	 5	 ES
Red Canyon	 Jan. 1-2, ‘11	 ORX-1-113	 5	 ES
Stallion Range	 Aug. 14-15	 ORX-1-115	 5	 ES
Stallion Range	 Nov. 13-14	 ORX-1-117	 5	 ES
Stallion Range	 Jan. 15-16, ‘11	 ORX-1-119	 5	 ES
Stallion Range	 Feb. 12-13, ‘11	 ORX-1-121	 5	 ES
Stallion Range	 March 19-20, ‘11	 ORX-1-123	 5	 ES



Off White Sands Missile Range Hunts  These hunts are NOT Once-In-A-Lifetime 
•  Open areas include: lands administered by Bureau of Land Management, U.S. Forest Service, State Trust Lands and private 

property with written permission.
•  Closed areas include: private lands without written permission, White Sands Missile Range, Jornada Experimental Station, San 

Andres National Wildlife Refuge, Holloman Air Force Base, Fort Bliss areas in units 19 and 28, and other lands closed to hunting. 
•  Applicant may choose up to three hunt code choices.
•  Successful applicants for off-range hunts will receive a license.
•  Application deadline is Feb. 3, 2010.

Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Statewide, off-range	 April 1-30	 ORX-1-200	 50	 ES
Statewide, off-range  Youth Only	 April 1-30	 ORX-1-201	 15	 ES
Statewide, off-range	 May 1-31	 ORX-1-202	 50	 ES
Statewide, off-range  Youth Only	 May 1-31	 ORX-1-203	 15	 ES
Statewide, off-range	 June 1-30	 ORX-1-204	 50	 ES
Statewide, off-range  Youth Only	 June 1-30	 ORX-1-205	 15	 ES
Statewide, off-range	 July 1-31	 ORX-1-206	 50	 ES
Statewide, off-range  Youth Only	 July 1-31	 ORX-1-207	 15	 ES
Statewide, off-range	 Aug. 1-31	 ORX-1-208	 50	 ES	
Statewide, off-range  Youth Only	 Aug. 1-31	 ORX-1-209	 15	 ES
Statewide, off-range	 Sept. 1-30	 ORX-1-210	 50	 ES
Statewide, off-range  Youth Only	 Sept. 1-30	 ORX-1-211	 15	 ES
Statewide, off-range	 Oct. 1-31	 ORX-1-212	 50	 ES
Statewide, off-range  Youth Only	 Oct. 1-31	 ORX-1-213	 15	 ES
Statewide, off-range	 Nov. 1-30	 ORX-1-214	 50	 ES
Statewide, off-range  Youth Only	 Nov. 1-30	 ORX-1-215	 15	 ES
Statewide, off-range	 Dec. 1-31	 ORX-1-216	 50	 ES
Statewide, off-range  Youth Only	 Dec. 1-31	 ORX-1-217	 15	 ES
Statewide, off-range	 Jan. 1-31, ‘11	 ORX-1-218	 50	 ES
Statewide, off-range  Youth Only	 Jan. 1-31, ‘11	 ORX-1-219	 15	 ES
Statewide, off-range	 Feb. 1-28, ‘11	 ORX-1-220	 50	 ES
Statewide, off-range  Youth Only	 Feb. 1-28, ‘11	 ORX-1-221	 15	 ES
Statewide, off-range	 Mar. 1-31, ‘11	 ORX-1-222	 50	 ES
Statewide, off-range  Youth Only	 Mar. 1-31, ‘11	 ORX-1-223	 15	 ES

Private Land-only Hunts  These hunts are NOT Once-In-A-Lifetime
Private Land-only License Fees
Resident  $153  Nonresident  $1,610 
Private land-only oryx licenses are valid only on deeded private land. Hunters must possess valid written permission from the 
landowner on whose property they wish to hunt. They are restricted to the season dates, eligibility requirements or restrictions, 
sporting arm types and bag limits that correspond to the public land hunts listed above as Off White Sands Missile Range Hunts 
(ORX-1-200 through ORX-1-223). The number of private land-only licenses is unlimited. These licenses are available through 
Department offices, on the Department’s Web site or Form 3.

McGregor Range Hunts  These hunts are NOT Once-In-A-Lifetime
•  These hunts are on lands administered by Fort Bliss which may charge an access fee. 
•  Anyone may apply for the ORX-1-224 and the ORX-1-226 hunt. 
•  All applicants for Fort Bliss/McGregor Range hunts must possess proof of successfully completing a certified hunter 

education course before their hunt. 
•  Hunters must wear a blaze orange hat and a blaze orange hunting vest while hunting.
•  Application deadline is Feb. 3, 2010.
Hunt Area	 Hunt Dates	 Hunt Code	 Licenses	 Bag Limit
Fort Bliss/McGregor Range	 Jan. 8-9, ‘11	 ORX-1-224	 25	 ES
Fort Bliss/McGregor Range Military Only	 Jan. 8-9, ‘11	 ORX-1-225	 25	 ES
Fort Bliss/McGregor Range	 Feb. 5-6, ‘11	 ORX-1-226	 25	 ES
Fort Bliss/McGregor Range Military Only	 Feb. 5-6, ‘11	 ORX-1-227	 25	 ES

continued  Oryx
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Draw Permits and Over-the-Counter Licenses
General Information
The state has been divided into six Bear Management Zones. This  
allows the Department to better manage bear populations on a regional 
basis.  All zones have two different harvest limits. One is the total 
number of bears that may be harvested. The other limit is the number 
of female bears that may be harvested. 

Harvest Limits for All Zones
The harvest limit for each Bear Management Zone is listed in the chart 
on the next page. The first number indicates the total number of bears 
that may be harvested in each zone followed by the number of female 
bears that may be harvested.  All Bear Management Zones will be 
closed when the harvest is within 10% of the total sustainable 
harvest limit or female harvest sub-limit. This measure is taken to 
avoid exceeding sustainable harvest of the resource. Bears taken 
from the Sargent WMA and Humphries WMA in Zone 1 or the Barker/
Neblett WMAs in Zone 2 and the Marquez WMA in Zone 3 shall count 
toward the harvest limit in those zones.

Zone Closure
Hunters MUST call (877) 950-5466 toll-free, or check our Web site 
www.wildlife.state.nm.us to ensure that they do not hunt in a zone 
that has been closed.

Over-The-Counter License
An over-the-counter (OTC) license with valid carcass tag may be 
purchased from license vendors, Department offices, online, or by mail 
using Form 3 (inside back cover).  One carcass tag comes with each 
license.  You must purchase a license to hunt bear AT LEAST TWO 
DAYS BEFORE HUNTING.

Draw Permit
Draw permits for bear hunting are available for Unit 2 Youth Only 
hunt and the Sargent, Humphries, Marquez, Barker and Colin Neblett 
WMAs.  Application for these draw permits must be made by 
Feb. 3, 2010, using Form 2010 or online at www.wildlife.state.nm.us 
submitting a nonrefundable application fee of $10 for residents and $27 
for nonresidents. Only one hunter may apply per Form 2010.  A hunter 
who receives a permit then must purchase an OTC bear license at 
least two days before hunting. Hunters who draw a license for a WMA 
hunt may also hunt during the OTC season if they possess an unused 
tag and have not taken a bear.

License Fees
License fee type is Standard (S)
Resident  $47	 Nonresident  $260
Fees include the Depredation Damage Stamp fee. Habitat Stamps are 
required for hunting, fishing, and trapping on U.S. Forest Service and 
BLM lands and must be purchased separately. A Habitat Management 
and Access Validation must be purchased separately. 

Legal Sporting Arms
Centerfire rifle or handgun; shotgun no smaller than 28 gauge, firing a 
single slug; muzzle-loading rifle; or bow and arrows.  Crossbows may 
only be used by certified Mobility-Impaired Hunters, see page 15.  In 
the Sandia Ranger District of the Cibola National Forest, only bows and 
arrows may be used.

Baiting and Trapping
Baiting or trapping is not a legal method of taking bear.  Anyone who 
accidentally traps a bear must either release it or call the Department 
for assistance in its release.

Tagging of Bear Hides
Bears must be tagged with both a carcass and pelt tag.  The carcass 
tag, which is received with the purchase of the license, must be 
attached immediately after the animal is taken by the hunter.  The 
hunter then must present the license and hide for pelt tagging to any 
District Conservation Officer or any Department office within five 
days of taking the bear or before taking the hide out of New Mexico, 
whichever comes first.  A hunter who takes any bear IS REQUIRED 
to present the unfrozen skull with the mouth fixed open, to any 
Department office for removal of a premolar tooth.  The pelt 
tag must remain attached to the hide until the hide is processed. 
Improperly tagged hides may be seized by the Department.  

State law does not require bear meat to be taken from the field.

Proof of Sex
The male bear’s testicles, penis, or baculum or the female bear’s vulva 
must remain attached to the hide of any bear taken and remain visible 
to the Department’s tagging official. The Department will only pelt tag 
a harvested bear if proof of sex is attached to the hide and readily 
visible to the tagging official. Bears presented to the Department 
for tagging without proof of sex attached, may be seized. 

Use of Dogs
Dog use is NOT ALLOWED on Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) or 
the Valle Vidal area.  

Dog use is NOT ALLOWED from Sept. 1-22 in ANY unit. Dog use is 
NOT ALLOWED on Sept. 23 and 24 in Zone 5 (Units 12, 13, 15-18, 20-
24, 26 and 27).

Dog use is REQUIRED during the Oct. 15-Nov. 15 season in Zone 4.

NOTE: When dogs are used in hunting bears, the licensed hunter 
intending to harvest the bear must be present continuously once any 
dog is released.  There is no “pursuit” or “training” season outside the 
regular open season.

Bag Limit
The bag limit is one bear. A hunter may not take any cub younger than 
a year old or any female accompanied by a cub(s).  Only male bears 
may be taken during the Oct. 15-Nov. 15 season in Zone 4.

Valle Vidal
It is unlawful to hunt bears in the Valle Vidal, except for properly 
licensed bear hunters who also possess a concurrent Valle Vidal rifle, 
muzzleloader or bow elk license and only during the dates of their 
specified elk hunts.  The bear season must be open and Bear Harvest 
in Zone 2 must also be open for bear hunting. The legal sporting arm 
for taking bears is the same as the concurrent elk hunt.  Dog use is 
NOT allowed in the Valle Vidal.

Livestock Damage
Landowners, lessees, or their regular employees may, without a 
license, kill any bear that has killed domestic livestock or presents an 
immediate threat to human life or property.  The person taking such 
action MUST report it to the Department of Game and Fish within 24 
hours.  Pelts, claws and other parts of depredating animals taken under 
the provisions listed above are the property of the State of New Mexico 
and must be turned in to the Department.

Bear  (877) 950-5466 - Toll-free Harvest Hotline
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What You Must Know Before You Hunt
Closed Areas:  The following units are closed to bear hunting: Units 2 (except by permit), 19, 25, 28-33, 39 and 40. All state Wildlife Management 
Areas are closed unless specifically open to hunting. See additional closures listed below.  Blaze Orange Clothing:  Hunters must wear at least 
244 square inches of blaze orange while hunting on military property.  Restricted Areas:  It is unlawful to hunt bears in the Valle Vidal except as 
noted on page 52. Grapevine Canyon and McGregor Range Buffer Zone area in Unit 34 of Zone 6 are accessible by permit and military permission 
only.  Units 10 of Zone 3 and Units 13, 18 and 20 of Zone 5:  These units are subject to closure by the U.S. Forest Service and/or the military 
during missile firings.  Zone 4: Hunters may use only bow and arrows to hunt bear in the Sandia Ranger District of the Cibola National Forest in 
Zone 4.  During the Sept. 1-22 bow season, dog use is not allowed and hunters may harvest a female bear.  During the Oct. 15-Nov. 15 season, 
hunting with dogs is required. The bag limit is one male bear only. No female bears or cubs younger than a year old may be taken.

Draw Permits and Over-the-Counter Licenses 

continued Bear 

Seasons For Over-the-Counter Hunts
Zone	 Open Units	 Hunt Dates	 Sporting	 Dog Use	 Total Limit or
			   Arm Type		  Female Limit
Zone 1	 Units 4-7, 51, and 52	
		  Sept. 1-22	 Bow Only	 Not Allowed	
		  Sept. 23-Nov. 15	 Any Legal	 Allowed
Zone 2	 Units 41-43, 45***, 46-50 and 53-59
		  Sept. 1-22	 Bow Only	 Not Allowed	
		  Aug. 16-31 and Sept. 23-Nov. 15	 Any Legal	 Allowed
Zone 3	 Units 9 (except Marquez WMA) and 10
		  Sept. 1-22	 Bow Only	 Not Allowed	
		  Aug. 16-31 and Sept. 23-Nov. 15	 Any Legal	 Allowed
Zone 4*	 Units 8 and 14
		  Sept. 1-22	 Bow Only	 Not Allowed	
		  Oct. 15-Nov. 15	 Any Legal	 Required
Zone 5	 Units 12, 13, 15***, 16***, 17***, 18, 20-24, 26, and 27
		  Sept. 1-24	 Bow Only	 Not Allowed	
		  Aug. 16-31 and Sept. 25-Nov. 30	 Any Legal	 Allowed
Zone 6**	 Units 34*** and 36-38
		  Sept. 1-22	 Bow Only	 Not Allowed	
		  Aug. 16-31 and Sept. 23-Nov. 30	 Any Legal	 Allowed

*      In Zone 4, only male bears may be harvested from Oct. 15 thru Nov. 15.
**    In Unit 34 of Zone 6, only 22 total bears or 9 female bears may be harvested.
***  Bear hunting is NOT allowed in the following Units during the following dates, except by deer and elk hunters who possess a 
valid deer or elk license for these hunts. Deer or elk hunters choosing to hunt bear under this provision must adhere to the hunt 
area and sporting arm type restriction specified by their deer or elk license. 

Unit	 Closed Dates
Unit 15	 Sept. 1-Oct.3 and Oct.9-13
Unit 16A, C, D and E	 Sept. 1-Oct.3 and Oct.9-13
Unit 16B, 	 Sept.1-Oct. 3 and Oct. 16-20
Unit 17	 Sept. 1-24 and Oct. 9-13 and Oct. 30-Nov. 3
Unit 34	 Sept. 1-22 and Oct. 2-6 and Oct. 23-27
Unit 45	 Sept. 1-Oct. 6

87 or 35

166 or 66

18 or 7

12 or 5

77 or 31
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46 or 18

Bear Management Zones

Seasons For Draw Permit Hunts
Area	 Date	 Hunt Code	 Permits 
Sargent WMA	 Aug. 1-31	 BER-1-100	 10
Humphries WMA	 Aug. 1-31	 BER-1-101	 5
Marquez WMA	 Aug. 1-31	 BER-1-102	 5
Barker and Colin Neblett WMAs
	 Aug. 1-31	 BER-1-103	 12
Unit 2 Youth Only	 Aug. 1-31	 BER-1-104	 5	



Cougar  (877) 950-5466 - Toll-free Harvest Hotline

General Information
The state is divided into 17 Cougar Management Zones. This allows 
the Department to better manage cougar populations on a regional 
basis.  All zones have two different harvest limits.

Cougar Season
Public land season is Oct. 1, 2010 through March 31, 2011.
Private land cougar season is April 1, 2010 through March 31, 2011.
All cougar mortalities on public and private lands shall count against 
the sustainable mortality and/or the female sub-limits for that zone. All 
cougar hunting will cease for zones that have met sustainable and/or 
female sub-limits.

Harvest Limits for All Zones
The harvest limit for each Cougar Management Zone is listed in the 
chart on the next page. The first number indicates the total number of 
cougars that may be harvested in each zone followed by the number 
of female cougars that may be harvested.  All Cougar Management 
Zones will be closed when the harvest is within 10% of the 
total sustainable mortality limit. This measure is taken to avoid 
exceeding sustainable harvest of the resource.

Zone Closure
Hunters MUST call (877) 950-5466 toll-free, or check our Web site 
www.wildlife.state.nm.us to ensure that they do not hunt in a zone 
that has been closed.

License Required
A resident or nonresident cougar license with valid carcass tag is 
available from license vendors and Department of Game and Fish 
offices, online or by mail using Form 3.  You must purchase a license 
to hunt cougar AT LEAST TWO DAYS BEFORE HUNTING.

License Fees
License fee type is Standard (S) 
Resident  $43	 Nonresident  $290
Fees include the Depredation Damage Stamp fee. Habitat Stamps are 
required for hunting, fishing, and trapping on U.S. Forest Service and 
BLM lands and must be purchased separately. A Habitat Management 
and Access Validation must be purchased separately.

Legal Sporting Arms
Centerfire rifle or handgun; shotgun no smaller than 28 gauge, firing a 
single slug; muzzle-loading rifle; or bow and arrows. Crossbows may 
only be used by certified Mobility-Impaired Hunters, see page 15. In 
the Sandia Ranger District of the Cibola National Forest in Units 8 and 
14, only bows and arrows may be used. Electronic calls may be used 
statewide.

Livestock Damage
Landowners, lessees or their regular employees may, without a 
license, kill any cougar that has killed domestic livestock or presents 
an immediate threat to human life or property. The person taking such 
action MUST report it to the Department of Game and Fish within 
24 hours.  Pelts, claws and other parts of depredating animals taken 
under the provisions listed are the property of the State of New Mexico 
and must be turned in to the Department. 

Use of Dogs
Dogs may be used in hunting cougars. NOTE: When dogs are used 
in hunting cougar, the licensed hunter intending to harvest the cougar 
must be present continuously once any dog is released. There is no 
“pursuit” or “training” season outside the regular open season.

Bag Limit
Bag limit is one cougar.  No hunter may take any spotted kitten(s) or 
any female accompanied by a spotted kitten(s).

Tagging of Cougar Hides
Cougars must be tagged with both a carcass and a pelt tag.  The 
carcass tag, which is received with the purchase of the license, must 
be attached immediately after the animal is taken by the hunter.  
The hunter then must present the license and hide for pelt tagging 
to any District Conservation Officer or any Department office within 
five days of taking the cougar or before taking the hide out of New 
Mexico, whichever comes first.  The pelt tag must remain attached to 
the hide until the hide is processed. Improperly tagged hides may be 
seized by the Department. A hunter who takes a FEMALE cougar 
IS REQUIRED to present the unfrozen skull with the mouth fixed 
open, to any Department office for removal of a premolar tooth.  

Proof of Sex
The male cougar’s testicles, penis, or baculum or the female cougar’s 
vulva must remain attached to the hide of any cougar taken and remain 
visible to the Department’s tagging official. The Department will only 
pelt tag a harvested cougar if proof of sex is attached to the hide 
and readily visible to the tagging official. Cougar hides presented 
to the Department for tagging without proof of sex attached, may 
be seized. 

State law does not require meat from a cougar to be taken from the field.

Baiting and Trapping
Cougar baiting is not legal in New Mexico. Trapping is not a legal 
method of taking cougar except on private land as permitted by the 
Department. Any private land owner wishing to use traps or snares on 
their property, MUST contact the Department’s Wildlife Management 
Division at (505) 476-8038. Anyone who accidentally traps a cougar or 
other protected animal must either release it or call the Department for 
assistance in its release.

Over-the-Counter Licenses
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What You Must Know Before You Hunt
Grapevine Canyon, McGregor Range Buffer Zone:  This 
area in Unit 34 is accessible by military permission only. Blaze 
Orange Clothing:  Hunters must wear at least 244 square 
inches of blaze orange while hunting on military property. 
Fort Bliss/McGregor Range require all hunters to wear a 
blaze orange hat and a blaze orange hunting vest. Closed 
Areas:  San Andres National Wildlife Refuge and the Valle 
Vidal/Greenwood areas are closed to cougar hunting. All state 
Wildlife Management Areas are closed unless specifically 
open to hunting. For additional closed areas, see pages 11-
12. Restricted Areas: Hunters may use only bow and arrows 
to hunt cougar in the Sandia Ranger District of the Cibola 
National Forest in Units 8 and 14.  Units 10, 13, 18, 19 and 20: 
These units are subject to closure by the U.S. Forest Service 
and/or the military during military operations. Unit 25, Florida 
Mountains Hunt Area: Cougar hunting is closed in the Florida 
Mountains Hunt Area during any ibex season.

Season Limits
Zone	 Open Units	 Sustainable 	 Female		
		  Mortality	 Limit
	
A	 Units 2 and 7	 27	 7

B	 Units 5, 50 and 51	 15	 4

C	 Units 43, 45, 46, 48, 49	 53	 13
	 and 53-55	

D	 Units 41, 42, 47 and 59	 13	 3

E	 Units 9* and 10	 30	 8

F	 Units 6 and 8**	 19	 5

G	 Units 13, 14** and 17	 46	 12

H	 Units 19 and 20	 22	 6

I	 Units 18 and 36-38	 34	 9

J	 Units 15, 16, 21 and 25	 69	 17

K	 Units 22-24	 38	 10

L	 Units 26 and 27	 13	 3

M	 Units 31-33, 39 and 40	 35	 9

N	 Units 4 and 52	 10	 3

O	 Unit 12	 6	 2

P	 Units 56, 57 and 58	 11	 3

Q	 Units 28-30 and 34	 46	 12

continued Cougar
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Cougar Zone
Cougar Zone Boundary
Tribal Reservation

M

Cougar management  zones
*    Except the Marquez and Water Canyon WMAs
**  Bow only in the Sandia Ranger District of the 
Cibola National Forest



Furbearers
Licenses
All trappers, both resident and nonresident, MUST purchase 
their trapper license from a Department office or from the 
Department’s Web site at: www.wildlife.state.nm.us or via 
Form 3. Trappers who do not report their trapping results by 
the deadline of April 7, may not purchase a trapper license 
for the 2010-2011 season.
Residents ages 12 to 17 who hunt or trap protected furbearers 
must purchase a Junior Trapper License. Residents age 18 or older 
who hunt or trap protected furbearers must buy a Trapper License. 
Residents need no license to take unprotected furbearers. See 
Unprotected Furbearers below. Trappers must permanently mark 
their traps and snares with the trapper’s name and address or have a 
Trapper ID number, which is provided free by the Department. There is 
no closed season or bag limit on unprotected furbearers or unprotected 
species. 
Nonresidents who trap protected or unprotected furbearers in New 
Mexico must have a nonresident Trapper license. Trappers must 
permanently mark their traps and snares with the trapper’s name and 
address or have a Trapper ID number, which is provided free by the 
Department. Nonresidents who hold a nonresident nongame license or 
any current New Mexico nonresident hunting license may use firearms 
or bows to hunt for or kill coyote, rabbit, prairie dog or skunk, but may 
not set traps or snares unless they also have a nonresident Trapper 
license.  Nonresidents should call any Department office for licenses.

License Fees	
Resident     $20.00 		  Nonresident     $345.00	
Nonresident Trapper licenses are NOT available to those who live 
in a state that does not permit a New Mexico resident to purchase a 
nonresident trapper's license. For more information, call any Department 
office. 

Junior Trapper	 Resident	 Nonresident	
(Residents age 12-17)	 $9.00	 Not Issued
Habitat Stamps are required for hunting, fishing, and trapping on U.S. 
Forest Service and BLM lands and must be purchased separately. 
A Habitat Management and Access Validation must be purchased 
separately.

Bag Limit
There is no bag limit on any furbearer or unprotected species.

Protected Furbearers
Protected furbearers that may be taken during open season are 
raccoon, badger, weasel, fox, ringtail, bobcat, muskrat, beaver 
and nutria.  There are other protected furbearers, but their take is 
prohibited. These include, but are not limited to pine marten, river otter, 
black-footed ferret, and coatimundi.

Unprotected Furbearers
Unprotected furbearers are coyote and skunk.

Legal Means of Harvest
Furbearers may be taken with dogs, firearms, bows and arrows, and 
traps and snares. Calls, including mechanically or electrically recorded 
calling devices, are legal in hunting protected furbearers. Dogs may be 
used to take protected furbearers only during open trapping season. 
There is no “pursuit or training season” outside the regular open season.

Trap Inspection
A licensed trapper or his representative (agent) must make a visual 
inspection of each trap every 24 hours. All traps must be personally 
checked by the trapper every other calendar day and all wildlife 
removed. A release device or catchpole shall be carried to release 
domestic animals, nontarget or undesirable animals.  If wildlife is held 
captive in the trap, the trapper or agent(s) must remove the wildlife. Each 
trapper will be allowed one or more agent(s), who must possess written 
permission from the trapper and a valid Trapper license. The permission 
must include the trapper’s full name, address, Trapper license number, 
Trapper ID number and general location or route of traps. 

Trap Identification
The following restrictions apply in the setting of any trap or snare that 
could reasonably be expected to catch a protected furbearer. Each trap 
or snare used to take furbearers must be permanently marked with 
either the user’s name and address or have a Trapper ID number that 
is issued only by the Department. To get a free Trapper ID number, call 
the Department at (505) 476-8038.  The identification number or name 
and address must be stamped on the bottom of the frame or included 
on a metal tag riveted, welded, or otherwise securely attached to the 
trap frame, chain or cable.

Land Sets
A land-set trap is a trap or snare set on land. No foot hold trap with an 
outside jaw spread larger than 6 1/2 inches (or 7 inches if laminated) 
and no tooth-jawed trap may be used in making a land set. A 
“laminated trap” means any alteration, modification or manufactured 
change to the jaws of a foot hold trap that increases the jaw width and 
therefore decreases jaw pressure.  

All foot hold traps with an inside jaw spread equal to or greater than 5 
1/2 inches must be offset.  An “offset” means any alteration, modification 
or manufactured change to a foot hold trap resulting in a gap of no less 
than 3/16 inches between the jaws when the trap is sprung.  

No land set may be placed within one-quarter (1/4) mile of an occupied 
dwelling without prior, written permission of the dwelling’s occupant, 
except for a land set placed by a landowner on his own land. No land 
set may be placed within one-quarter (1/4) mile of an established 
public campground, roadside rest area, picnic area or boat launching 
area. No land set may be placed within 25 yards of any U.S. Forest 
Service or Bureau of Land Management system trail designated by the 
agency on a map provided for the general public, or within 25 yards of 
the shoulder of any public road annually maintained with public funds. 
When a boundary fence is present, sets must be made on the side 
of the fence opposite the road. No land set may be placed within 50 
yards of any man-made livestock or wildlife catchment, pond or tank 
containing water, except on private land with written permission of the 
landowner.

If setting Conibear-type traps on land, the following restrictions apply.  
No Conibear-type trap with an inside jaw spread greater than 7” may 
be set on land.  A Conibear-type trap with a jaw spread of  6” but less 
than 7” must be used in conjunction with a cubby set such that the trap 
trigger is recessed in the cubby at least 8” from the entrance. Conibear-
type traps with an inside jaw spread less than 6” are not required to be 
used in conjunction with a cubby set. Foot hold traps may be used in 
conjunction with a cubby set as defined above under Land Sets.

Water Sets
A water-set trap is a trap or snare set fully or partially under water. No 
steel trap with an inside jaw spread larger than 7 1/2” or Conibear-type 
trap with a jaw spread greater than 12” may be used in making a water 
set.

Visible Bait, Trap Flags
It is illegal to place, set or maintain any snare or steel trap within 25 
feet of bait that is visible from any angle and that consists of the flesh, 
hide, fur, viscera or feathers of any animal. However, a cubby set is 
legal when the bait can only be seen from a height of three feet or 
less above ground level at a distance of 25 feet from the trap. The bait 
must be placed within the natural or man-made cubby but the trap 
may be outside. Bones that are entirely free of flesh, hide, fur, viscera 
or feathers may be used as visible bait. The restriction on visible bait 
does not apply to a trap flag that is suspended above the ground and is 
made from materials other than parts of mammals, birds, fish, reptiles 
or amphibians.
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Importation & Possession of Live Furbearers
It is illegal to import or possess protected furbearers or other wild-by-
nature animals in New Mexico.

Possession
It is illegal to import any furbearer, or to retain alive in captivity, any 
protected furbearer. The Director of the Department may issue a permit 
for retention of raccoons or other activity permitted by rule.  A person 
must receive a permit prior to possessing a raccoon.

No Bear or Cougar Trapping
There are no open trapping seasons on bear or cougar, except 
as permitted for cougars. Livestock owners or others suffering 
depredation from bear or cougar should call the nearest Area Office 
of the Department of Game and Fish for assistance.  See page 3 for 
phone numbers.

Tagging of Bobcat Pelts
Anyone who takes a bobcat in New Mexico must present the pelt to a 
licensed fur dealer or any Department of Game and Fish office for pelt 
tagging. District Conservation Officers do NOT have bobcat tags. The 
trapper or his agent must arrange for all bobcat pelts to be tagged no 
later than April 14 annually and report the county in which the bobcat 
was harvested. Anyone (except residents younger than 12 years of 
age) presenting a bobcat pelt for tagging must present a valid Trapper 
license. It is illegal to present for tagging the pelt of any bobcat taken 
outside New Mexico. No one shall transport across state lines, sell, 
barter or otherwise dispose of any bobcat pelt taken in New Mexico 
unless it has been properly tagged.
It is unlawful for a fur dealer to tag any bobcats contrary to the 
Furbearer Rules.

Accidental Trapping of Mexican Wolves, 
River Otters, Lynx and Other Species
Mexican Wolves are federally protected species.  River otters are a 
state protected species. Both may occur in parts of New Mexico. If you 
should capture a river otter, you must release it immediately.  
If you capture a Mexican wolf, please contact the Department of Game 
and Fish 24-hour dispatch phone at (800) 432-GAME (4263) or call 
your local conservation officer or call the Mexican Wolf Interagency 
Field Office at (888) 459-9653 immediately.  An officer will respond 
to remove the wolf and secure it until a member of the Mexican Wolf 
Interagency Field Team can arrive to process and radio collar the wolf.  
Trappers should consider double staking traps and/or using heavier 
drags in order to minimize injury to accidentally captured Mexican 
wolves. 
If you happen to trap a legally protected mammal (other than Mexican 
wolf) or bird or trap a protected furbearer during closed season, you 
must release it.  Trappers must carry a device for release of non-
target animals.  If, however, it is badly injured, or its release would be 
dangerous to accomplish, you must advise the Department of Game 
and Fish as soon as possible.  The Department will release the animal 
and, if necessary, treat its injuries. 
Trappers will not be held criminally liable if they accidentally capture 
a wolf, river otter or lynx in New Mexico. Any river otter inadvertently 
taken in a trap, must be reported to the Department of Game and Fish 
and released if alive or turned over to the Department if dead.

What You Must Know Before You Hunt or Trap
Closed Areas:  All of Los Alamos County is closed to all trapping 
except the northern quarter and a strip along the west bank of the Rio 
Grande, (north of Water Canyon, from the Rio Grande to a line 1,000 
feet below the canyon rim); the Valles Caldera National Preserve 
(formerly the Baca Ranch); the Rio Grande Wild and Scenic River; 
Orilla Verde and Santa Cruz Lake recreation areas; the Valle Vidal/
Greenwood area; Chihuahuan Desert Rangeland Research Center; 
state parks; national parks and monuments; national wildlife refuges 
and state wildlife management areas.  Ft. Bliss/McGregor Range 
only allows furbearer hunting and is closed to trapping (see Military 
Reservations page 13). The Gila, Cibola, Lincoln and Apache 
Sitgreaves National Forests are all closed to beaver trapping.

Seasons
Badger, Weasel, Fox, Ringtail and Bobcat
Nov. 1, 2010 - March 15, 2011
Beaver, Muskrat and Nutria
April 1 - April 30, 2010 and Nov. 1, 2010 - March 31, 2011

Raccoon
April 1 - May 15, 2010 and Sept. 1, 2010 - March 31, 2011

There is no open season on pine marten, river 
otter, black-footed ferret, or coatimundi.

continued Furbearers
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Colorado Division of Wildlife

This is a lynx. Note the long ear and cheek tufts, black tail, large 
fur-covered feet and no spots on the belly.

Mandatory Harvest Reporting
By Feb. 15, anyone who is licensed to hunt deer or elk, or by 
April 7, anyone who is licensed to hunt or trap furbearers in New Mexico, 
must report the results of their hunt or trapping season. This is true whether 
or not they hunted, trapped or harvested animals. Deer, elk, and furbearer 
hunters and trappers that do not report, will have ALL applications for draw 
hunts, population management authorizations or private land authorizations 
rejected the following year.

Know the Difference Between
a Bobcat and a Lynx

Bobcat
•  Underside of tail is white all the way to the tip
•  Ear tufts are under 1 inch long
•  Cheek tufts are not prominent
•  Brownish in color, usually black spots on the belly
•  Total length is 25 to 37 inches
•  Feet appear small with no hair between pads
•  Track size is under 2.5 inches wide
•  Stride length is 20 inches

Lynx
•  Tail has black tip, not white underneath
•  Ear tufts are at least 1.5 inches long
•  Cheek tufts are prominent
•  Grayish color, no spots on the belly
•  Total length is 32 to 37 inches
•  Feet appear quite large, pads covered with hair
•  Track size is 3.5 to 4.5 inches wide
•  Stride length is 28 inches



Apply for Draw Licenses, Permits & Population Management Hunts
Instructions For Form 2010
For public draw license applications received before 
deadlines, the Department attempts to identify 
errors and notify applicants so they may correct the 
errors and resubmit before the deadline to apply.  
However, there is no assurance that this will occur 
for erroneous applications and payments because 
of mail processes, demands on Department staff 
time, and response of applicants.  Correctness of 
applications and associated fee payments is the sole 
responsibility of the applicant.
You may apply for 2010-2011 draw licenses and permits 
on paper Form 2010 or apply online at:
www.wildlife.state.nm.us.  The deadline for  oryx 
licenses,  turkey draw permits, all population management 
hunts, and bear hunts on certain wildlife management 
areas is Feb. 3, 2010.  The application deadline for other 
big game draw licenses is April 7, 2010.  Any application 
postmarked after the deadline will be rejected.
Hunters wishing to hunt deer on private land in Units 
2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A must first obtain a specially 
marked Form 2010 from the landowner.  Applications 
for these hunts may NOT be made online.  Hunters 
wishing to hunt elk or turkey on the Valles Caldera 
National Preserve must apply through the Valles 
Caldera National Preserve directly; see page 30.  
You must use a separate form for each species you wish 
to hunt.
Hunters may apply online at: www.wildlife.state.nm.us 
using their credit card. Applicants will be charged the full 
fee for licenses including deer, elk, pronghorn antelope, 
Barbary sheep, bighorn sheep, javelina, oryx and ibex. 
Applicants only will be charged the application fee for 
bear and turkey permits. 
Applicants are responsible for ensuring their card can 
cover ALL fees at the time of application. 
If you complete paper Form 2010, use the envelope 
attached to the form and mail it with your payment to:

The Department of Game and Fish
Special Hunts Office, PO Box 25125

Santa Fe, NM  87504-5125
All applications must be submitted to the Santa Fe office.  
Return the entire form, regardless of the number of 
applicants (do not cut the form).  Do not use the sample 
form on this page.

Do not submit faxed or photocopied versions of Form 
2010.  All copies will be rejected.

	 ALWAYS retain your application number.  Use this 
number to obtain your draw results.

      	You may designate up to three hunt choices, if 
available. ( See page 59, #8 for exception on elk and 
deer hunt choices.) Your second and third choices 
MAY be for different sporting arms types.

Residents and nonresidents may apply together for 
draw licenses.

Form 2010-Draw Hunts
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Apply for Draw Hunts Online!
Use you Visa or Master Card to apply online. Applicants will be charged 
the full fee for licenses including deer, elk, pronghorn antelope, Barbary 
sheep, bighorn sheep, javelina, oryx and ibex. Applicants only will be 
charged the application fee for bear and turkey permits. The automated 
process will spot many errors for you. It’s fast, convenient, and secure. 
Apply at www.wildlife.state.nm.us.
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Applying for Draw Licenses, Permits & Population Management Hunts
    	 For elk and deer draw hunts, there are standard (S), quality (Q), high-

demand (HD), or both quality and high-demand (Q/HD) hunts.  There are 
no quality or high-demand hunts for any other species.  Those hunt types 
are all standard (S). Refer to deer and elk pages for the correct fee type.  

    	 Fill in the total amount enclosed with this form.  This is the total dollar 
amount for all hunters applying on the form.  Applicants should include 
the appropriate license fee listed on page 7.  Hunters should send 
the fee for THE MOST EXPENSIVE HUNT for which they are 
applying.  If you draw a less expensive hunt, you will receive a refund 
for the difference.  Bear and turkey draw applicants should send only 
a nonrefundable application fee for each applicant.  Make checks, 
cashier’s checks, or money orders payable to the Department of Game 
and Fish.  Do not send cash, a blank check or a blank money order. 

	 Up to 4 hunters per form may apply for deer licenses (except private land 
hunts in Unit 5A), or elk, javelina, Barbary sheep, and pronghorn antelope 
draw licenses.  When more than one person applies per form for 
pronghorn antelope, members of the party may be assigned to separate 
but nearby ranches.  Up to 2 hunters may apply for oryx and turkey draw 
hunts.  Only 1 hunter may be listed per application for Unit 5A private 
land-only deer, bighorn sheep, ibex, bear and all population management 
hunts.

	 For ibex only:  If you have purchased an ibex IBX-1-528 license and are 
applying for a draw ibex hunt, indicate license number here and submit 
only a nonrefundable application fee. Do not apply for IBX-1-528 on 
Form 2010.

	 Applicants for deer or elk draw licenses may choose to accept any license 
(same sporting arms type as the applicant’s first choice) in one of the four 
quadrants of the state by designating the fourth choice on the application.  
See pages 20 and 32 for more information on 4th choice hunts. A hunter 
who draws the fourth choice will receive a license for a specific hunt within 
that quadrant.  A hunter drawing a fourth choice elk hunt could receive 
an antlerless license even if the first three choices were for mature bull 
licenses and vice versa.  If any choice is for a bull elk, the bull elk license 
fee must be sent.

	 Nonresidents must indicate whether they will be using an outfitter.  Use 
of an outfitter is optional, see page 16.  Those nonresidents who plan to 
contract with an outfitter must have a signed contract before applying for 
a draw hunt and include that outfitter’s number on the application form.  
State law requires that nonresidents who use an outfitter’s number on 
a Form 2010 must have a valid contract with that outfitter and must use 
that outfitter for the hunt.  Lists of registered outfitters are available from 
Department offices and are on our Web site at: www.wildlife.
state.nm.us/.  Residents will receive 78% of the licenses or permits 
drawn.  Nonresidents who submit a valid outfitter’s registration number 
on their application, and hire that outfitter, will receive up to 12% of the 
licenses or permits.  Nonresidents who apply to hunt without outfitters will 
receive up to 10% of the licenses.  This quota does not apply to oryx, ibex 
and bighorn sheep hunts.

	 Check and initial the top box if you want your LICENSE or PERMIT 
mailed to your outfitter instead of to you. Check and initial the bottom box 
if you want your REFUND mailed to your outfitter instead of to you. If you 
do not check either box, your license and/or refund will be mailed directly 
to you.

	 If you are using an outfitter, fill in their registration number here. You must 
have the outfitter’s current permission to use their number.

	 Applicants must provide the last four digits of their Social Security 
Number when applying for a license or permit.

	 ALL applicants MUST include their Customer ID Number.

	 Fill in your check or money order number here.  Each applicant 
should indicate his or her check number if multiple checks are 
submitted.

	 Fill in the amount submitted for this applicant. Total amount for all 
applicants combined goes on the front of application under total 
amount enclosed.  See License Fees on page 7.

	 Check the appropriate boxes.

	 Applicants must enter their correct MAILING address.

	 Fill in the applicant’s daytime phone number.  This should be a 
telephone number where the applicant can be reached during 
normal business hours, 8 AM to 5 PM. 

	 To apply for a free resident DAV Deer License, the hunter must 
enter their DAV number here.  

	 Any applicant younger than age 18 on the day they apply for a 
firearm hunting license must submit proof of passing a certified  
hunter education course. In addition, to be eligible for a youth 
only hunt, they must be younger than age 18 on the first day 
of the youth only hunt for which they are applying. If the hunter 
education certificate has no number, attach a photocopy of it to 
Form 2010.

	 If the applicant has been certified Mobility-Impaired, place that 
number here. See page 8, License Information, for definitions.

	 EVERY applicant must read, sign and date the application in the 
appropriate box. Unsigned applications will be rejected.

continued Form 2010-Draw Hunts

Your Application May Be Rejected
Your application may be rejected for ANY of the following reasons.  
•	 You did not provide your Customer ID Number.
•	 You did not report your hunting or trapping results to the New 

Mexico Hunter-Trapper Reporting System.
•	 You provided an incomplete application.
•	 There are more applicants than allowed for on Form 2010.
•	 You have previously held a once-in-a-lifetime license for that 

species or hunt area.
•	 You are not certified as Mobility-Impaired when applying for a 

Mobility-Impaired hunt.
•	 You did not submit required military certification with application.
•	 You did not submit the specially marked Form 2010 for deer 

hunting private land in Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4, or 5A.
•	 You do not meet age requirements for youth only hunts or did 

not include the hunter education certificate number on your 
application.

•	 The application number is a duplicate.  You cannot reproduce 
Form 2010.

•	 You improperly submitted more than one application for the same 
species.

•	 You did not submit enough money with your application.
•	 Your check was returned for insufficient funds.
•	 Your credit card was rejected for insufficient funds.
•	 Your hunting, fishing, and/or trapping privileges have been 

revoked.
•	 An individual applicant may be rejected on a party application.
•	 Rejected applications will be charged the application fee.
If you re-submit a rejected application, it must still be postmarked by 
the deadline.
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Turn in a Poacher, Earn a Reward!
Rewards for the arrest or charges against game violators are:
$750 for cases involving elk or bighorn sheep
$500 for cases involving deer or oryx
$350 for cases involving pronghorn antelope
$250 for cases involving turkey, bear, cougar, javelina, ibex, Barbary 
sheep, endangered species, small game, fish, raptors and furbearers.

Call: (800) 432-4263 to report poachers and remain anonymous

Operation Game Thief
Operation Game Thief (OGT) continues to be a successful 
deterrent to wildlife law violators.  Operation Game Thief was 
established in 1977 as a way to report game and fish violations.  It 
allows the reporter to remain anonymous.  The reward fund does 
not use tax or license fees.  It comes from clubs, organizations, 
businesses and from thousands of men and women who have 
contributed anywhere from a few to hundreds of dollars each. 

Operation Game Thief needs your support.  Please send a check 
payable to Operation Game Thief and mail it to the Department 
of Game and Fish, PO Box 25112, Santa Fe, NM 87504.  Your 
donation is tax-deductible.  All the money is used to pay rewards in 
wildlife cases and promote the program.

During 2008/2009, the Department received $17,000 in donations to 
Operation Game Thief.  Conservation Officers investigated a total of 
105 new cases that were generated as a result of calls to the OGT 
telephone number.  The result from these tips led to 85 criminal 
charges.  More than 29 convictions and $6,521 in fines were levied 
because concerned citizens like yourself took the time to call in a tip for 
Conservation Officers to investigate.

The State Game Commission revoked all hunting, fishing and trapping 
privileges of 399 people who failed to pay penalty assessment, 295 
for big game violations, and 725 people who failed to comply with the 
Parental Responsibility Act.  In total, the Commission revoked 1,419 
people of their hunting, fishing and trapping privileges.  A total of 
$44,325 in penalty assessments was collected.

Operation Game Thief
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Donation Certificate
Use this certificate if you give game meat, fish or parts of game animals to someone.

I,	 Place of Transact ion:

Hereby convey to:	 Date of transaction:

The following game animal(s) or animal parts:

The animal(s) was (were) taken by me under NM Hunting License:	

License No.:	 License Date:

Signature of Donor:	 Signature of Recipient: 	

We affirm that the above information is true and correct. We understand it is unlawful to postdate, predate, or otherwise falsify a Donation Certificate.

Parental Responsibility Act
The New Mexico Parental Responsibility Act requires the State 
Game Commission revoke the recreational and professional 
licenses of anyone who does not comply with a court-ordered child 
support obligation.
  
The purpose of the act is to eliminate child support arrearage.  This 
will help reduce the number of children living at or near the poverty 
level and decrease the financial obligation that falls to the state 
when parents do not provide for their children.
  
There are currently 5,947 individuals that have their hunting and 
fishing privileges suspended because of the Parental Responsibility 
Act.  For more information about this law, please contact the 
Department’s Law Enforcement Division at (505) 476-8065.
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Gaining Access Into Nature

What is GAIN?
Gaining Access Into Nature (GAIN) is a program offered by 
the Department of Game and Fish. Many Wildlife Management 
Areas (WMAs) are being opened to additional wildlife 
associated recreation activities beyond the traditional uses of 
hunting and fishing. Depending on the WMA, wildlife viewing 
and wildlife photography opportunities are accessible by 
hiking, bicycling, skiing, snowshoeing and horseback. These 
activities are designed to offer new incentives to recreate and 
draw attention to the conservation of public trust wildlife and 
the habitats they depend on.

Which Wildlife Management Areas are open to 
GAIN activities?
Open areas may include: Pecos River Complex (Bert Clancy, 
Mora, Terrero, and Jamie Koch areas), Charette Lakes, Colin 
Neblett, Elliott Barker, McAllister Lake, Rio de los Pinos, Urraca, 
Wagon Mound, Bluebird Mesa, Edward Sargent, Jackson Lake, 
Ladd S. Gordon Waterfowl Complex (Bernardo and La Joya), 
Rio Chama, Water Canyon, William Humphries, Bear Canyon, 
Bill Evans, Heart Bar, Lake Roberts, Mimbres, Red Rock, 
Socorro-Escondida, Brantley, Lesser Prairie Chicken Areas, 
Seven Rivers, William Huey and the Sandhills Prairie.

Who needs a GAIN Permit?
Anyone 18 years or older must purchase a GAIN Permit and a 
Habitat Management and Access Validation (HMAV) to access 
one of the above WAs for a GAIN activity. Anyone who holds 
a current hunting, fishing, trapping, or limited use license, a 
Permit, a valid park permit issued for a state park associated 
with that land, or a special activity permit where required does 
NOT need to purchase a GAIN Permit. Persons younger than 
18 do NOT need a permit or HMAV. 

What activities are LEGAL 
Any person, holding a valid GAIN permit and HMAV may, 
unless specifically prohibited:
• View and/or photograph wildlife.
• Hike, horseback ride, snowshoe, ski or bicycle if specifically 
allowed at that WA.
• Camp, if the WA is open to camping, for no more than 9 
consecutive days.
• Licensed hunters and their guests may camp during their 
hunt.
• Have an open fire only if it is contained in a metal fireplace, 
charcoal grill or is otherwise contained.
• Pets must be leashed and under control at all times except 
during established seasons when hunting dog use is permitted.

What activities are ILLEGAL
It is illegal for a person to:
• Operate any motorized vehicle or bicycle off established 
roads or on closed roads within a WA.
• Deface or remove any rocks, minerals, plants, firewood or 
man-made features from a WA.
• Excavate, injure, destroy, or remove any cultural resources or 
artifacts from a WA.
• Violate any of the provisions of signs posted on WAs.
• Use or possess any hay or feed that is not certified “weed 
free.”

How much are the fees?
Each person 18 years or older who does not hold a license or special permit 
listed above, must purchase a GAIN Permit and a HMAV to participate in any 
GAIN activity. Permits available include:

• An Annual GAIN Permit is $15 + HMAV $4 = $19.
• A Temporary (5 consecutive days) GAIN Permit is $4 + HMAV $4 = $8.
• A $1 vendor fee may be charged if you purchase them from a license 
vendor.
• If you purchase it online, a $4.95 convenience fee will be charged.
• Both permit types are valid statewide.

Do I need another HMAV if I purchased one with my 
hunting or fishing license?
No. Only one HMAV must be purchased each license year (April 1-March 31).

Where can I get more information?
Visit the Department’s Web site at www.wildlife.state.nm.us or call
(505) 476-8000.

Learn more about Gaining Access into Nature, a new 
Game and Fish program at Wildlife Management Areas 
across New Mexico.GAIN

Wildlife Area
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Instructions for Form 3  
Over-the-Counter Licenses by Mail
Anyone who hunts protected game must have a 
license, regardless of age.  All nonresidents must 
be licensed, even for hunting unprotected nongame 
species.
You are advised NOT TO purchase a Private 
Land-Only Deer License until you know whether 
you were successful in the deer draw or have 
access to hunt private land.  
Use Form 3 ONLY for the licenses, stamps and 
validations listed.  Do not use this form to apply for 
draw licenses or permits.  Over-the-Counter licenses 
(except ibex, Barbary sheep, Trapper and Resident 
Junior Trapper) are available from all license vendors 
in New Mexico.
•	 Print all information legibly.
•	 Photocopies of Form 3 are acceptable but it must 

have an original signature.
•	 Check all applicable licenses or permits.
•	 Submit fees listed on Form 3.
•	 Do not fax Form 3.
•	 Add a $1 vendor fee to the total amount for all 

licenses.
•	 Mail orders for licenses should be received in our 

office at least 14 days before the license is needed.
•	 Pay only by credit card, check or money order 

made payable to Department of Game and Fish.  
Do not mail cash. Persons using any license 
purchased with a check or credit card returned 
for insufficient funds can be prosecuted for using 
a license unlawfully procured and are subject to 
a one-year revocation of all hunting and fishing 
privileges.

•	 You must sign Form 3.
Return Form 3 with your payment to any Department 
office or mail it to:

Special Hunts Office
Department of Game and Fish

PO Box 25125, Santa Fe, NM  87504

Refunds and Transfers
You can only get a refund for a license after 
it has been issued under VERY LIMITED 
circumstances. See page 4. It is unlawful to 
alter, predate or postdate any license. If you 
are not selected for a draw hunt or population 
management hunt, your money, minus the 
application fee, will be refunded.

Form 3, Licenses By Mail
Discounted Resident Combination 
Licenses
Residents applying ONLINE for public land deer licenses 
will have the opportunity to select a combination license in 
conjunction with their deer application. 

Residents will have the choice to apply for a General Hunting 
and Fishing License or a General Hunting License or a Deer 
License or a Handicapped General Hunting and Fishing or 
a Handicapped General Hunting or a Junior/Senior Deer 
License.  Additionally, applicants will have the option to 
purchase a Habitat Management and Access Validation, 
Habitat Improvement Stamp and/or Harvest Information 
Program (HIP) number, at the same time.

Online applicants will be charged the full fee up front at the 
application deadline.  An authorization number will be provided 
prior to April 15 to residents who select one of the combination 
hunting and fishing license options online along with the proper 
stamps and validations. This authorization number will serve as 
their legal Fishing License. Be aware that applicants selecting 
any combination hunting and fishing license will not be able 
to fish legally UNTIL they have received their authorization 
number. If you wish to fish April 1, you MUST purchase 
a separate Fishing License. Customers may obtain their 
authorization number by accessing their customer account 
between April 7 and April 15.

Residents who choose a combination license and who 
successfully draw for deer will be issued a deer license. 
Residents who are unsuccessful in the deer draw will be issued 
a refund for the difference of the full combination package price 
and the lesser one for which the authorization was issued. 
No refunds will be issued for licenses tied to an authorization 
number. 

Free Fishing Day
June 5, 2010, is Free Fishing Day. Whether you’re an old hand 
at fishing or if you feel like testing the waters for the first time, 
June 5th is the perfect time to get out and make a cast or two 
at lakes and streams across New Mexico - no license required.  

There will be free fishing clinics across the state.  Almost all 
of them will be generously stocked with catchable-sized trout 
or channel catfish before the events. Anglers of all ages are 
encouraged to participate. All you need is some basic fishing 
equipment and a desire to fish in New Mexico’s great outdoors.  
Most clinics will offer prizes for kids who register and attend 
educational stations!

For more information about the clinics, contact Kevin Holladay 
Kevin.holladay@state.nm.us or call (505) 476-8095.

National Hunting and Fishing Day 
Sept. 25, 2010 is National Hunting and Fishing Day. License-
free fishing, fly tying, archery and air rifle shooting are among 
activities sponsored by the Department of Game and Fish.

For a schedule and location of events, visit the Department’s 
Web site at: www.wildlife.state.nm.us.
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Form 3, Licenses By MailReturn Form 3 with payment to any Department Office, or mail it to:  
Special Hunts Office, Department of Game and Fish
PO Box 25125, Santa Fe, NM  87504

20
10

-2
01

1

Hunting Licenses, Stamps, Validations
	  Resident Nonresident
Do not purchase any OTC deer license until you know your results in the draw or 
have access to private land to hunt.

	 Private Land Deer - Standard (S)	 $39.00	 $270.00

	 Private Land Deer - Quality (Q)	 39.00	 355.00
	
	 Private Land Resident Jr/Sr Deer	 27.00	 Not Issued

	 Resident General Hunting	 43.00	 Not Issued
	 (Deer, squirrel, game birds)

	 Resident General Hunting	 62.00	 Not Issued
	 and Fishing (Deer, squirrel, game birds and fish)

	 Resident Junior General Hunting	 18.00	 Not Issued
	 (Residents younger than 18 years old)

	 Resident Junior General Hunting	 23.00	 Not Issued
	 and Fishing (Residents younger than 18 years old)

	 Resident Senior (Residents 65 and older)
	 or Handicapped General Hunting	 27.00	 Not Issued

	 Resident Senior (Residents 65 and older)	 31.00	 Not Issued
	 or Handicapped General Hunting and Fishing

Private Land-Only Deer Licenses

You MAY NOT use this form to purchase a Private Land License for hunting in Units 2A, 
2B, 2C, 4, or 5A. Private Land-Only Licenses are issued for a specific unit, sporting arm type and 
hunt period as defined by a hunt code.  You must provide the hunt code in the boxes below.  

Deer Hunt Code:

	 Resident Small Game and Fishing 33.00           Not Issued

	 Resident Jr/Sr Small Game and Fishing 
	 (Younger than 18 and 65 years and older) 16.00               Not Issued

	 Small Game 20.00 90.00
	 (Squirrel and game birds but not turkey) 

	 Temporary Small Game (4-day)              NA 33.00
	 *(Specify dates in box to the left)

	 Spring Turkey 25.00 100.00

	 Spring Turkey-Second Tag 10.00 10.00

	 Fall Turkey 25.00 100.00

	 Bear 47.00 260.00

	 Cougar 43.00 290.00

	 Nonresident Nongame Animals NA 65.00
	 (Not required of any nonresident holding a NM nonresident hunting license.)

	 Ibex 103.00 1,610.00
	 IBX-1-528 (off Florida Mountain hunt area). Valid all year and only in Units 20, 21, 		
	 23-25 (except Florida Mountain hunt area), 26 and 27.  Available only by mail using 		
	 this form or in person at any Department office.

	 Private Land Oryx (See page 51) 153.00 1,610.00	
Oryx
Hunt Code:

	 Private Land and Statewide 
	 Barbary Sheep  103.00 360.00

	 Trapper 20.00 345.00
 (Not available to nonresidents who live in a state that does not permit a New Mexico 	
resident to purchase a nonresident license. Available only by mail, on the 
Department’s Web site or in person at any Department office.)

Resident Junior Trapper 9.00 Not Issued
 (Not available to nonresidents who live in a state that does not permit a New Mexico 	
resident to purchase a nonresident license. Available only by mail, on the 
Department’s Web site or in person at any Department office.)

*For any Temporary License, please specify dates:

Starting 12:01 AM	 (MM/DD/YY)

Ending 11:59 PM	 (MM/DD/YY)

Resident   NonresidentFishing
Annual Fishing $25.00 56.00

Junior Fishing (ages 12-17) 5.00 28.00

Resident Senior Fishing (ages 65-69) 8.00 Not Issued

Resident Handicapped Fishing 8.00 Not Issued

Resident Free Fishing (age 70 and older)	 Free Not Issued

1-Day Fishing *(Specify dates below) 12.00 12.00

5-Day Fishing *(Specify dates below) 24.00 24.00

Second Rod Validation 4.00 4.00

Hunter Education No.              State Required for firearms hunting 
licenses issued to persons under 
18 years of age.

State of Driver's License Driver's License Number

FORM 3 Application to purchase hunting or fishing license by mail
•  Please print legibly.
•  Applicants must sign this form.  DO NOT fax this form.
•  Do not use this form to apply for any draw license. 

Zip Code Date of Birth (MM/DD/YY) Date Residency Established (MM/DD/YY)

Height Weight Eye Color Hair ColorSex

City State

Day-time Phone Number Last 4 Digits of SSN

Last Name

Hunter’s Mailing Address

MIFirst Name

Credit Card Number                Keep This Information Confidential
(Master Card or Visa Card Only)

Please check one:                          Expiration date

Mastercard Visa (MM/YY)

Security Code

Total Amount Enclosed (DO NOT MAIL CASH)

$
Add $1.00 vendor fee.
Make checks payable to: 
NM Dept. of Game and Fish

I attest that this information is true and correct.  I understand the rules of eligibility and 
that I am eligible for this license as per chapter 17 N.M.S.A. 1978 and associated rules.

Signature of License Applicant

Harvest Information Program 1.00 1.00
(HIP) Number (Required of all migratory bird hunters)

Habitat Stamp 5.00 5.00
(Required if hunting, trapping or fishing on any U.S. Forest Service or Bureau of Land 	
Management properties. Required only once per season.)

Habitat Management and 4.00 4.00
Access Validation (For hunting, trapping or fishing on any lands. Once per season.)
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New Mexico has new requirements for off-highway motor vehicles 

(OHVs) designed to protect the safety of all OHV users and ensure 

responsible and sensitive OHV use.  The law requires all OHV users to 

register or acquire a permit for their OHV if it is used on public land.

Vehicles that are considered to 
be OHVs & must be registered:
l All-terrain vehicles (ATVs)
l Dirt bikes
l Off-road vehicles (ORVs, UTVs 	
	 or Mule type vehicles)
l Snowmobiles

Vehicles not required to be 
registered for off-highway 
motor vehicle use:
l Motorcycles registered for use 	
	 on public streets
l Vehicles used strictly for 	
	 agricultural use
l Vehicles used strictly on 	
	 private land

Registration (IF USED ON PUBLIC LAND)

SAFETY REQUIREMENTS
Riders under 6:
	 l	May not operate an ATV on public land.
Riders under 18 MUST:
	 l	Wear an approved, securely fastened helmet.
	 l	Wear approved, protective eye wear.
	 l	Never carry a passenger, even on OHVs designed for 	
		  two persons.
	 l	Be visually supervised when operating an OHV, unless:
		  w	 Age 13 and above with a valid motorcycle license.
		  w	 Age 15 and above with a valid driver’s license.
	 l	Complete a certified OHV course and obtain a safety permit.

New Mexico resident registration and fees
	 Contact: New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD)
	 Phone: (505) 827-4636     Toll-free: (888) 683-4636
	 Web site: www.state.nm.us/tax/mvd
	 Or any field office
l $53 for initial registration - $50 thereafter (Must be renewed every two years 
from the date of initial registration.)

Nonresident permit and use fees*
	 Contact: New Mexico Department of Game and Fish
	 Phone: (505) 476-8000
	 Web site: www.B4uRide.com or www.wildlife.state.nm.us
	 Or any New Mexico Department of Game and Fish office
l Two-year permit – (Must be renewed every two years from the date of initial 
registration.)		  $48
l 90-day permit	 $18
*Non-residents who have proof of a valid OHV registration, user fee or similar fee, 
may not need to purchase the New Mexico Permit. Please check the Web site 
for a listing of those states.

Prohibited uses:
It is illegal for any person to use an OHV to:
l	 Damage or destroy signs, windmills or other property.
l	 Operate any OHV in a way that damages the environment, plants, animals 
	 or creates excessive noise.
l	 Harass, pursue or hunt wildlife or domestic animals.
l	 Operate any OHV where prohibited or on private land without permission.
l	 Operate an OHV on paved roads or highways.
l	 Negatively affect livestock and or agricultural practices.
l	 No one, regardless of age, may drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

Riding responsibly & on designated trails:
l	 Know before you go. Contact the local U.S. Forest Service, Bureau of 		
	 Land Management or other appropriate agency office to find out about 		
	 trails, roads or areas open to OHV use.
l	 It is your responsibility to obtain permission to travel accross private lands.

Your responsibility:
This document is not to be used as a substitution for New Mexico Statutes 
66-3-1001 to 66-3-1020 or Title 18 of the New Mexico Administrative Code.  It is 
intended to provide basic information regarding the requirements for OHVs and 
users.  It is your responsibility to know the law.

REGISTRATION AND FEES:

l  Be Safe  l  Stay on trails  l  Tread Lightly  l  Enjoy
   www.B4uRide.com
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