
FOREST ORDER NO. 05-04-50-22-12 
USDA Forest Service 
Inyo National Forest 

Stage I Fire Restrictions  
 
Pursuant to 16 U.S.C. § 551 and 36 C.F.R. § 261.50(a) and (b), and to protect natural resources and provide for 
public safety, the following acts are prohibited within the Inyo National Forest.  This Order is effective from 
June 6, 2022, through December 31, 2022. 
 

1. Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, campfire, or stove fire, except in the Developed 
Recreation Sites listed in Exhibit A.  36 C.F.R. § 261.52(a).   

 
2. Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or building, within the Developed Recreation Sites 

listed in Exhibit A, or while stopped in an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren or cleared 
of all flammable material.  36 C.F.R. § 261.52(d). 

 
3. Welding, or operating an acetylene or other torch with an open flame.   

36 C.F.R. § 261.52(i). 
 

Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. § 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this Order: 
 

1. Persons with a Forest Service Permit No. FS-7700-48 (Permit for Use of Roads, Trails, or Areas 
Restricted by Regulation or Order), specifically exempting them from this Order.   
 

2. Persons with a valid California Campfire Permit are not exempt from the prohibitions contained in 
this Order.  Persons with a valid California Campfire Permit, however, may use a portable stove or 
lantern using gas, jellied petroleum, or pressurized liquid fuel. 
 

3. Any Federal, State, or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or fire-fighting force in the 
performance of an official duty.  
 

4. Persons with a Special Use Permit from the Forest Service for a recreation residence in one of the 
residence tracts listed in Exhibit B are exempt from Prohibition No. 1 while they are at their 
recreation residence, provided that the activity is done in compliance with the terms of the permit. 

 
5. Persons with a Special Use Permit from the Forest Service for an organization camp, pack station, 

range permittee, or resort listed in Exhibit B are exempt from Prohibition No.1 while at their 
organization camp or resort, provided that the activity is done in compliance with the terms of the 
permit.    

 
These prohibitions are in addition to the general prohibitions contained in 36 C.F.R. Part 261, Subpart A.  
 
A violation of these prohibitions is punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an individual or $10,000 
for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both.  16 U.S.C. § 551 and  
18 U.S.C. §§ 3559, 3571, and 3581. 
 
Executed in Bishop, California, on this 31 day of May, 2022. 
 
 
________________________ 
LESLEY YEN 
Forest Supervisor 
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