ORDER NUMBER SJ-2016-01

FOREST ORDER

USDA FOREST SERVICE
SAN JUAN NATIONAL FOREST
Dolores Ranger District

Grizzly Peak Research Natural Area
Special Closure Order

Pursuant to 16 United States Code (U.S.C.) 551 and 36 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) § 261.50 (a),
the following act is prohibited on National Forest System lands within the Grizzly Peak Research Natural
Area (RNA) on the Dolores Ranger District of the San Juan National Forest, Dolores County, State of
Colorado. The Grizzly Peak RNA includes all or part of Sections 4-6, 8 and 9, T.40N.,R.9 W.; Section 1, T. 40
N., R. 10 W.; Sections 19 and 20, 28-33, T. 41 N., R. 9 W., and Section 36. T. 41 N., R. 10 W., New Mexico
Principal Meridian as depicted on the attached map hereby incorporated into this Order as Exhibit A and
more topographically shown on Exhibit B.

This Order implements prohibitions approved in the September 13, 2013 Record of the Decision for the San
Juan National Forest Land and Resource Management Plan and is necessary to provide for maintenance of
natural conditions and processes in order to facilitate research and education and maintain biological
diversity — the purposes for which RNAs are established on National Forest System lands — within the
Grizzly Peak RNA.

PROHIBITIONS:

Going into or being upon the Restricted Area with a vehicle as defined under 36 C.F.R. § 261.2.
36 C.F.R. § 261.53(b)

EXEMPTIONS:

Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. § 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this Order:
1) Persons with a permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or omission.
2) Any Federal, State, or local law enforcement officer or member of an organized rescue or
firefighting force engaged in the performance of an official duty.
3) Persons operating game carts or wheelbarrows.

This Order shall remain in effect until January 15, 2021, or until rescinded, whichever occurs first.

Done at Durango Colorado this 15 day of January 2016.

l(ara L. Chadwick
Forest Supervisor
San Juan National Forest
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Violations of these regulations are punishable as a Class B misdemeanor, by a fine of not more than
$5,000 for an individual or $10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than six months or
both. 16 US.C. § 551 and 18 U.S.C. § 3571



