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FOREST ORDER 
 

USDA FOREST SERVICE 
PIKE and SAN ISABEL NATIONAL FORESTS, CIMARRON and COMANCHE 

NATIONAL GRASSLANDS, ARAPAHO and ROOSEVELT NATIONAL FORESTS, 
PAWNEE NATIONAL GRASSLAND AND WHITE RIVER NATIONAL FOREST 

 
NATIONAL FOREST OCCUPANCY AND USE REGULATIONS 

 
Pursuant to 16 United States Code (U.S.C.) § 551 and 36 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) § 
261.50 (a) and (b),  the following acts are prohibited on National Forest System lands within the 
states of Colorado and Kansas (the “Restricted Areas”) and on all roads and trails located within 
the Restricted Areas (the “Restricted Roads and Trails”).  The Restricted Areas and Restricted 
Roads and Trails are depicted and shown on the attached maps hereby incorporated into this 
Order as Exhibits A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z, 
AA, BB and CC.  The Restricted Areas and Restricted Roads and Trails are further described in 
the attached tables, also hereby incorporated into this Order as Tables G, H, I, J, K, L, M, N, O, 
P, Q, R, S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z, AA, BB, and CC. 
 
The purpose of this Order is to protect natural resources and provide for public safety. 
 
PROHIBITIONS IN THE RESTRICTED AREAS AND ON THE RESTRICTED ROADS 
AND TRAILS: 
 
The following Prohibitions apply to all National Forest Service System lands that are depicted 
and shown on Exhibits A, B, C, D, E and F: 
 

1. Where not otherwise restricted, camping or leaving camping equipment at any location 
more than 14 days within a continuous 30 day period, and/or occupying any campsite 
within three (3) air miles of any prior camping or equipment location for a combined total 
of more than 28 days within any continuous 60 day period.   36 C.F.R. § 261.58 (a) 

 
2. Going into or being upon the Restricted Areas while in possession of a controlled 

substance unless such substance was obtained by the possessor directly from a 
practitioner acting in the course of professional practice, pursuant to a valid prescription 
or order legal under Federal Law, or as otherwise allowed by Federal Law.   36 C.F.R. § 
261.53(e) 

 
Controlled substance means a drug or other substance, or immediate precursor, included 
in schedules I, II, III, IV, or V of Part B of the Controlled Substances Act  (21 U.S.C.§ 
812) or a drug or substance added to these schedules pursuant to the terms of the Act. 
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The following Prohibitions apply to the areas, roads and trails within the Restricted Areas that 
are specifically depicted and designated on Exhibits (Maps) G, H, I, J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, 
T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z, AA, BB and CC and specifically described in the Table corresponding to 
each map: 
 

3. Parking or leaving a vehicle in violation of posted instructions.   36 C.F.R. § 261.58(g) 
 

4. Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, campfire, or stove fire except in 
campgrounds and dispersed camp sites that are designated and provided by the Forest 
Service.   36 C.F.R. § 261.52(a) 
 

5. Camping except in campgrounds and dispersed campsites designated and provided by the 
Forest Service.   36 C.F.R. § 261.58(e) 
 

6. Discharging a firearm, air rifle, and/or gas gun, including paintball guns, except persons 
legally hunting in accordance with the State Laws of the Restricted Area.   36 C.F.R. § 
261.58(m) 
 

7. Being in the Restricted Area after sundown or before sunrise except in campgrounds and 
dispersed camp sites designated and provided by the Forest Service.   36 C.F.R. § 
261.58(l) 
 

8.  Possessing a dog except when it is: 
A) On a leash 6 feet or less in length; 
B) In a designated off leash area; 
C) A working stock dogs; 
D) A dog being used for legal hunting purposes; or 
E) A seeing-eye dog or other dog used to assist with disabilities. 
36 C.F.R. § 261.58(s) 
 

9. Going into or being on National Forest System Lands within a Restricted Area shown on 
the attached maps.  36 C.F.R. § 261.53 (a), 36 C.F.R. § 261.53 (e),  36 C.F.R. § 261.53 
(f) 
 

10. Being in the area between 10:00 PM and 6:00 AM except a person who is camping or 
who is visiting a person camping in a Forest Service designated and provided campsite in 
that area.     36 C.F.R. § 261.58(u) 
 

11. Possessing or using bicycle off National Forest system roads and trails.  36 C.F.R. § 
261.56 and 36 C.F.R. § 261.55(a) 

 
 
EXEMPTIONS: 
 
Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. § 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this Order: 
 

1. Persons with a Forest Service permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act 
or omission. 

 
2. Any Federal, State or local officer or member of any organized rescue or fire fighting force 

in the performance of an official duty. 
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If a federal court issues an order that invalidates any provision of this Order, all other provisions 
of this Order not specifically so invalidated shall remain in full force and effect. 
 
This Order shall be in effect from July 1, 2016 until June 30, 2017 or until rescinded, whichever 
event occurs first. 
 
 
Executed in Pueblo, Colorado, this       17th       day of June, 2016. 
 
Executed in Fort Collins, Colorado, this     22nd     day of June, 2016. 
 
Executed in Glenwood Springs, Colorado, this       22nd      day of June, 2016. 
 
 
 
 
 
 _Erin  Connelly                                                        __ 
ERIN CONNELLY 
Forest and Grassland Supervisor 
Pike and San Isabel National Forests 
Cimarron and Comanche National Grasslands 
 
 
 
 
 
    Monte  Williams                                                                      _                                            
MONTE WILLIAMS 
Forest Supervisor 
Arapaho and Roosevelt National Forests 
Pawnee National Grassland 
 
 
 
 
 
__Scott  Fitzwilliams_                              _______________    
SCOTT FITZWILLIAMS 
Forest Supervisor 
White River National Forest 
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Violations of these prohibitions are punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an individual 
or $10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or both.  16 U.S.C. 
§ 551 and 18 U.S.C. §§ 3559 and 3571 


