
ORDER 

STAGE 1 FIRE RESTRICTIONS 

KAIBAB NATIONAL FOREST 

Order Number: 07-16-05-F 

Pursuant to 16 U.S.C. 551,and 36 CFR § 261.SO(a), the following acts are prohibited on National Forest System 
lands within the North Kaibab Ranger Districts, K.aibab National Forest, in the following counties (Coconino, and 
Mojave) within the state of Arizona. The restricted area is depicted on the attached map, hereby incorporated into 
this Order as Exhibit A. 
PROHIBITIONS: 

1. Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, campfire, charcoal, coal, or wood stove, except within a
developed recreation site; 36 CFR § 261.52(a).

2 Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle, building, or a developed recreation site; 36 CFR § 261.52( d). 

EXEMPTIONS: 

1. Using a device solely fueled by liquid petroleum or LPG fuels that can be turned on and off. Such
devices can only be used in an area that is barren or cleared of all overhead and surrounding
flammable materials within 3 feet of the device.

2. Any Federal, State, or local officer, or member of any organized rescue or fire fighting force in the
performance of an official duty.

3. Persons with a Forest Service permit specifically authorizing the prohibited act or omission.

AREA DESCRIPTION: 

This area affects National Forest System lands within the exterior boundary of the North Kaibab Ranger Districts of 
the Kaibab National Forest. 

PURPOSE: 

This Order is necessary to protect public health and safety due to the high fire danger. 

IMPLEMENTATION: 

1. This Order becomes effective at 8:00 A.M. July 6, 2016, and will remain in effect until August 15, 
2016 or until rescinded, whichever occurs first.

2. This Order rescinds, replaces and supersedes any previous Orders prohibiting the same acts covered by 
this Order in that area addressed in Exhibit A.

Done at Williams, Arizona, this 5th day of July, 2016. 

Heather C. Provencio
Forest Supervisor 
Kaibab National Forest 

Violations of these regulations is punishable as a Class B misdemeanor, by a fine of not more than $5000 for an individual or 
$10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than six (6) months or both; 16 USC § 551, and 18 USC §§ 3559 
and 3571. 




