ORDER NUMBER SJ-2016-06
FOREST ORDER
USDA FOREST SERVICE
SAN JUAN NATIONAL FOREST
Columbine Ranger District

Camping Restrictions
Pursuant to 16 United States Code (U.S.C.) 551 and 36 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) § 261.50(a) and (b),
the following acts are prohibited on National Forest System lands on the Columbine Ranger District of the San Juan
National Forest, La Plata County, State of Colorado located in Township 36 north, Range 11 west, Sections 3, 4, 8,
9,10, 16, 17, 20, 21, 28, and 29. Also Township 37 north, Range 11 west, Sections 24, 25, 26, 34, 35,and 36.
Finally Township 37 north, Range 10 west, Sections 19 and 30 (the “Restricted Area”) as depicted on the attached
map, hereby incorporated into this Order as Exhibit A.

This Order is necessary to reduce impacts to Forest System Lands in this area caused by Urban Interface use which
has resulted in an increase of resource impact and damage due to the improper disposal of human waste, illegal

dumping of garbage, illegal drug use, underage drinking and residential use.

PROHIBITIONS:

1) Camping on or within % mile of La Plata County Road 124 north of Mayday in the Restricted Area
EXCEPT when camping within sites designated by the U.S. Forest Service. 36 C.F.R. § 261.58(¢)

2) Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, campfire, or stove fire EXCEPT in fire-grates provided by
the U.S. Forest Service. 36 C.F.R. § 261.52(a)

EXEMPTIONS:
Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. § 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this Order:
1) Persons with a Forest Service permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or omission.
2) Any Federal, State or local law enforcement officer, or member of an organized rescue or firefighting force
engaged in the performance of an official duty.

This Order shall remain in effect until July 20, 2019 or until rescinded, whichever occurs first.

Done at Durango, Colorado, this 20 day of July, 2016

A A
KEVIN KHUNG
Acting Forest Supervisor

Violations of these regulations are punishable as a Class B misdemeanor, by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an
individual or $10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, or both. /6 U.S.C. §
551 and 18 US.C. § 3571



