Order No. NNFG 2019-20

FOREST ORDER
OCCUPANCY AND USE

USDA - FOREST SERVICE
NEBRASKA NATIONAL FORESTS AND GRASSLANDS

Pursuant to 16 United States Code (U.S.C.) § 551 and 36 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) §
261.50 (a) and (b), the following acts are prohibited on all National Forest System lands
administered by the Nebraska National Forests and Grasslands within the State of Nebraska and
South Dakota.

The purpose of this Special Order is to establish limits of stay for camping and to provide a
sustained quality environment for public use.

PROHIBITIONS
General Occupancy/Use Restrictions

1. From May through November 15 of each year, no person, group or organization shall
camp at, use, store equipment at or otherwise occupy any single location for a period of
more than 14 consecutive days within any 28 day period. After the 14" day of
occupation, campers must leave the “District” (where the occupancy of stay is occurring)
for 14 days. Once the 14 day limit of stay has been reached, use shall not occur again
until 14 days have lapsed from the last day of use. 36 § 261.58 (a).

2. “District” is defined as Fort Pierre Ranger District, Wall Ranger District, Fall River
Ranger District, Pine Ridge Ranger District and Bessey Ranger District.

EXEMPTIONS

Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. § 261 .50(e), the following persons are exempt from this order:

1. Persons with a Forest Service permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act
or omission.

2. Any Federal, State or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or firefighting force
engaged in the performance of an official duty.

This order shall remain in effect until October 30%, 2024 or until rescinded, whichever occurs first.

Done at Chadron, Nebraska this 30th day of October 2019.
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Jack L. Isaacs, Forest Supervisor
Nebraska National Forests & Grasslands

Violations of these regulations is punishable as a Class B misdemeanor, by a fine of not more
than $5,000 for an individual or $10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than
six (6) months, or both. 16 U.S.C. § 51 and 18 U.S.C. §§ 3559 and 3571.



