
  Order No. PSICC-2020-04  
 

FOREST ORDER 
 

USDA FOREST SERVICE 
PIKE and SAN ISABEL NATIONAL FORESTS 

 
Occupancy and Use  

  
Pursuant to 16 USC § 551, and 36 CFR § 261.50(a), the following act is prohibited on the National 
Forest System lands within the Pike and San Isabel National Forests as described below and 
hereinafter referred to as the Restricted Area. The Restricted Area is located in the state of 
Colorado and is depicted on the attached maps hereby incorporated into this Order as Exhibit A. 
The Restricted Area also includes all Developed Recreation Sites, and all recreation sites occupied 
under Special Use Permit, as described in the attached definitions, hereby incorporated into this 
Order as Exhibit B.   
 
The purpose of this Order is to protect public safety by minimizing adverse interactions between 
bears and humans.   
 
PROHIBITION: 
 

1. Possessing or leaving unattended any food, refuse, or other bear attractants as defined in 
Exhibit B, unless it is stored in a bear-resistant manner, is being eaten, or prepared for 
eating, or is being transported in a motor vehicle.    36 CFR § 261.58(cc) 

 
EXEMPTIONS: 
 
Pursuant to 36 CFR § 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this Order: 
 

2. Persons with a USDA Forest Service permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited 
act or omission. 

 
3. Any federal, state, or local officer or member of an organized rescue group or fire fighting 

force, in the performance of an official duty. 
 

This order supersedes, rescinds, and replaces Order PSICC-2019-13, dated March 25, 2019. 
 
This Order shall remain in effect for one (1) year from the date signed, or until rescinded, 
whichever event occurs first.      
 
Done at Pueblo, Colorado. 
 

 
__________________________________________ 
Diana M. Trujillo 
Forest and Grassland Supervisor 
Pike and San Isabel National Forests 
Cimarron and Comanche National Grasslands 

 
Violation of these prohibitions is punishable as a Class B misdemeanor by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an individual or 
$10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or both.  (16 U.S.C. § 551 and 18 U.S.C. §§ 3559 and 
3571). 
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