
ORDER NO. 09-05-20-02 

USDA Forest Service 

Mark Twain National Forest – Forest-wide 

Conditions of Motor Vehicle Use 

Pursuant to 16 USC 551 and 36 CFR 261.50(a), the following acts are prohibited on all Forest Service lands 
on the Mark Twain National Forest. This Order is effective upon the date of signature until rescinded and 
this order rescinds and supersedes Order#R9-05-17-08, signed on September 18th, 2017. 
 

1. Possessing or operating a vehicle on any National Forest System Road in violation of the 
posted speed, load, weight, height, length, width, or in violation of Missouri state law. (36 
CFR 261.54d) 

2. Operating a vehicle carelessly, recklessly, or without regard for the rights or safety of other 
persons or in a manner or at a speed that would endanger or be likely to endanger any 
person or property. (36 CFR 261.54f) 

3. Operating a motor vehicle on a National Forest System Road that has been signed to 
temporarily prohibit such use. (36 CFR 261.54e) 

4. Using a road for commercial hauling without a permit or written authorization. (36 CFR 
261.54c) 

5. Parking or leaving a vehicle in violation of posted instructions. (36 CFR 261.58g) 
6. Possessing or operating a motorboat or watercraft in violation of Title 33 U.S. Coast Guard 

regulations or Missouri state law. (36 CFR 261.58n) 
7. Possessing or operating a motorboat or watercraft carelessly, recklessly, or without regard 

for the rights or safety of other person in a manner that would endanger or be likely to 
endanger any person or property. (36 CFR 261.58n) 

8. Operating a motorboat in excess of ten (10) horsepower on Council Bluff Lake and Palmer 
lake in excess of slow; NO WAKE SPEED. (36 CFR 261.58q) 

9. Possessing or operating a motorboat other than electric power when posted. (36 CFR 
261.58n) 

Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this Order: 

1. Any Federal, State, or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or fire fighting force in the 
performance of an official duty. 

2. Persons with a permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or omission.   

These prohibitions are in addition to the general prohibitions in 36 CFR Part 261, Subpart A. 

A violation of these prohibitions is punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an individual or $10,000 
for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both.  16 USC 551 and 18 USC 3559, 
3571, and 3581. 

Executed in Rolla, Missouri, this      20th      day of August 2020. 

          
SHERRI K. SCHWENKE  
Forest Supervisor 


