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30.1 - Authority 
 
The authorized officer must determine and collect in advance an annual fee for special use 
authorizations, except as provided for by statute or regulations.  See FSM 2701 and FSH 
2709.11, section 30.1 of the parent text for other statutory authorities, regulations, and provisions 
which govern the establishment and collection of fees. 
 
31 - ESTABLISHING FEES 
 
Review fees periodically, such as at the time when an authorization is re-issued or amended, or at 
set times within a long-term authorization.  At a minimum, fees for each authorization should be 
reviewed every five years, unless otherwise specified in the authorization.  Adjust fees when 
appropriate, in accordance with the terms and conditions of the authorization, or as established in 
the Alaska Region Land Use Fee Schedule. 
 
31.4 - Documentation 
 
The Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act of 1971 (ANCSA), as amended, requires that proceeds 
from lands withdrawn for selection by an ANCSA corporation be deposited into an escrow 
account for payment to the corporation upon conveyance of the land.  Similarly, the Alaska 
National Interest Lands Conservation Act (ANILCA) requires that 90% of the proceeds from 
lands selected by the State of Alaska be held for payment to the State upon conveyance of the 
land.  Both of these requirements apply to special use authorizations, including permits, 
easements, and rights-of-way. 
 
Check land status records and/or consult with the Alaska Lands Team to determine if the 
authorized area is on lands that have been withdrawn for selection by an ANCSA Native 
corporation or on lands that have been selected by the State of Alaska.  If either situation applies, 
plan to deposit proceeds into an escrow account and ask for assistance from Forest Budget.  For 
additional information see FSH 6509.11k or the Region 10 supplement for FSH 5509.11, chapter 
40. 
 
31.5 - Fees Established by Field Units 
 
Minimum fees are the lowest fees established for a particular use.  Minimum fees shown in 
section 31.5, exhibit 01 are comparable to the flat rates used by similar State, Federal or 
Private/Corporate land managers across the Alaska Region.  The minimum annual fee for any 
special-use authorization shall be $106.23, unless otherwise specified in section 31.5, exhibit 01, 
or unless a higher established fee is stated in FSM 2721, FSH 2709.11, chapter 30, or elsewhere.  
When a higher minimum fee has been established, the higher fee shall prevail. 
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Minimum fees are not subject to partial (semi-annual or quarterly) payment procedures, or 
proration for portions of a year.  Minimum fees may be waived in full if the holder qualifies 
pursuant to waiver instructions in 36 CFR 251.57(b) and FSH 2709.11, section 31. 
 
See section 31.5, exhibit 01 for the Alaska Region Land Use Fee Schedule.  Fees in this schedule 
are adjusted annually by the Implicit Price Deflator-Gross National Product (IDP-GNP) to reflect 
current market values.  Based on a market review conducted in 2009, the general market has 
been relatively static to moderately increasing for the past several years.  A new base year began 
in CY2009.  Major changes were not warranted in fees; however, the fees were rounded to the 
nearest $10 beyond indexing.  The fees have been updated for 2014 using the IDP-GNP. 
 
Land use fees may be prorated.  Determine land use fees beginning on the first day of the month 
following the effective date of the authorization through the last day of the month when the 
authorization terminates.  For example, if an authorization became effective January 10 and 
terminated September 16, the rental period would be February 1 through September 30, or eight 
months.  Minimum fees may not be prorated. 
 
The authorized officer must apply the fee schedule to each use code.  Deviation from the 
specified fee requires written rationale submitted to the Director of Recreation, Lands, and 
Minerals.  Upon receipt of the staff comments, the authorized officer may exercise due discretion 
in establishing the fees. 
 
The established fees reflect the market for rural, remote properties.  These fees should be re-
evaluated for properties in proximity to communities that have access to amenities such as 
electricity, water, and sewer.  In such cases, the established fees are on the very low end of the 
scale. 
 
See FSH 2709.11, section 36 for direction regarding specific fee systems and schedules. 
 
32 - FEE ADMINISTRATION 
 
32.2 - Payment of Fees 
 
32.21 - Consolidated Payment 
 
Advance payments save time and costs to the government, and are encouraged to the extent 
possible. 
 
The lump-sum fee is the annual fee for the type of use, multiplied by the duration of the 
authorization, up to 5 years.  Do not index for future years. 
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33 - RECREATION RESIDENCE LOT FEES 
 
33.1 - Base Fees and Annual Adjustments 
 
The Alaska Region Land Use Fee Schedule establishes land use fees.  For purposes of adjusting 
land use fees in the Special Uses Data System (SUDS) from a base year to the next subsequent 
year, the authorized officer may use the minimum fee as the base fee.  If an independent market 
value has been established for the authorized use, then it must be documented in the case file. 
 
36 - FEE SYSTEMS AND SCHEDULES 
 
36.2 - Communications Site Fee Schedule 
 

1.  Use code 805 (Local Exchange Network) refers to radio service that provides basic 
telephone service, primarily to rural communities.  Local Exchange rates have been 
established and segregated by population strata. 
 
2.  The fee for use code 807 (Passive Reflector) is based on similar market fees on 
adjacent land ownerships.  Use this fee for all passive reflectors, regardless of location. 

 
36.4 - Linear Right-of-Way Fee Schedule 
 
Use the fees for the Alaska Region for all National Forest System lands in Alaska except for 
lands located in the Municipality of Anchorage and Juneau Voting Districts 3 and 4. 
 

Area Fee/Acre 

Alaska Region $50.76 

Anchorage $101.53 

Juneau, Voting 
Districts 3 & 4 

$1,692.15 

 
36.7 - Commercial Filming and Still Photography Fees 
 
Regional Commercial Filming and Still Photography fees remain in effect until a National fee 
schedule is implemented between the Forest Service and Department of Interior agencies. 
 
37 - OUTFITTER AND GUIDE FEES 
 
37.2 - Commercial Services Not Associated With Public Service Site 
 
37.21 - Fees 
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37.21a - Minimum Fee 
 
The minimum fee in the Alaska Region is $106.23. 
 
37.21c - Fee for Commercial Use 
 
Flat fees for commercial outfitting and guiding uses in the Alaska Region are shown in section 
37.21c, exhibit 01 of this supplement.  Assess fees for any commercial use of National Forest 
System (NFS) lands for outfitting and guiding, even if the use is or was unauthorized.
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31.5 - Exhibit 01 
 

Alaska Region Land Use Fee Schedule 
 

 

Use 

Code 

 

Use 

Definition 

** Implicit in all definitions are that these uses 

occur in remote settings. 

Regional 

Minimum 

Fee or CY 

2014 Fee 

 

Instructions 

100 Privately Owned 

Improvements 

Authorized for Groups 

Restrict to Organized Groups, or Semi-Public or 

Public Agency Groups 

  

111 Boat Dock and Wharf Facilities that serve groups of boaters in remote site. $1,921.19 Recreational remote sites. 

112 Club Facilities that serve membership of private organizations. $1,921.19  

114 Shelter Recreational shelter such as for trails and/or waiting 
sheds. 

$129.52  

116 ANILCA Shelter Individual private use temporary facilities that fall under 
the provisions of Section 1316 of ANILCA. 

$453.31 For 3 months.  Minimum fee is 3 months. 

   $151.10 Each additional month. 

   $906.64 Per 6 months.  Maximum fee not to 
exceed 6 month fee. 

120 Non-Commercial, 

Privately Owned 

Improvements 

Authorized to 

Individuals 

Privately owned facilities authorized to individuals for 

their own use. 

  

121 Isolated Cabin  $906.64 Tongass National Forest (NF). 

 Isolated Cabin  $852.67 Chugach NF – Eyak River sites. 

 Isolated Cabin  $712.35 Chugach NF – Other sites forest wide. 
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31.5 - Exhibit 01 – Continued 
 

 

Use 

Code 

 

Use 

Definition 

** Implicit in all definitions are that these uses 

occur in remote settings. 

Regional 

Minimum 

Fee or CY 

2014 Fee 

 

Instructions 

130 Lodging    

131 Private Lodging Condominiums-financed on NFS lands originally 
authorized for private use or private privileges. 

$3,237.97 Better sites.  For new authorizations 
consult Forest Program Manager. 

141 Campground, Picnic  
Ground 

Non-Government-owned – Government-owned. $3,237.97 For new authorizations consult Forest 
Program Manager. 

200 Agriculture, Crops Serve individual exclusive interest, not the public.   

211 Cultivation Planting and harvesting traditional farm crops. $140.31      
per acre 

Up to 5 acres.  If >5 acres consult Forest 
Program Manager. 

216 Fish Hatchery Hatching or rearing of fish for commercial or game 
management. 

$3,237.97 For new authorizations consult Forest 
Program Manager. 

216b Fish Net Pens For the rearing of small fry. $809.50 Minimum fee is 3 months. 

   $269.82 For each additional month. 

219 Mariculture Facilities Farming marine products in saltwater, with facilities on 
the uplands. 

$1,921.19 For new authorizations consult Forest 
Program Manager. 

220 Agriculture 

Improvements 

   

223 Agriculture Residence Principal places of residence related directly to 
agriculture. 

$1,921.19 For new authorizations consult Forest 
Program Manager. 
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31.5 - Exhibit 01 -- Continued 
 

 

Use 

Code 

 

Use 

Definition 

** Implicit in all definitions are that these uses 

occur in remote settings. 

Regional 

Minimum 

Fee or CY 

2014 Fee 

 

Instructions 

300 Sanitary Systems    

342 Liquid Waste Disposal 
Area 

Non-hazardous liquid sewage and industrial waste 
collection and disposal facilities. 

$3,237.97 For new inquiries consult Forest Program 
Manager. 

350 Community Residences    

351 Residence, Privately-
Owned Building 

Issue only for existing privately-owned residences. $1,921.19 Do authorize new uses (FSM 2723.51). 

352 Residence, Government-
Owned Building 

The use and occupancy of all or part of Government 
structures when the building would otherwise be unused; 
when the occupancy would afford protection to the 
structure; and when the Government has no further need 
for a building not yet scheduled for disposal. 

$1,921.19 For new authorizations consult Forest 
Program Manager. 

353 Residence, Alaska Term 
Permit Act 

Permits issued under the Alaska Term Permit Act of 
March 30, 1948 and other Alaskan laws that cover 
community residence permits. 

$1,921.19 If you are considering this use consult 
Forest Program Manager. 

360 Service Uses    

361 
 

School All education institutions except education centers, 
observatories, training, and demonstration areas. 

$1,921.19 For new authorizations consult Forest 
Program Manager. 

362 Service Building Other community service facilities, such as jails, police 
stations, firehouses, medical offices, and so forth. 

$3,237.97 For new authorizations consult Forest 
Program Manager. 

366 Parking Lot  $129.52 <2,000 sq. feet.  If >2000 sq. feet and for 
all new uses consult Forest Program 
Manager. 

370 Encroachments    

371 Cabin (invalid mining 
claim) 

Arise through illegal use of buildings originally or 
ostensibly built for mining purposes under the 1872 
Mining Law.  Authorize use only as interim measure to 
resolve the encroachment and ensure that permits are of 
the shortest possible duration. 

$906.64  
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31.5 - Exhibit 01 -- Continued 

 
 

Use 

Code 

 

Use 

Definition 

** Implicit in all definitions are that these uses 

occur in remote settings. 

Regional 

Minimum 

Fee or CY 

2014 Fee 

 

Instructions 

372 Residence Occurs through survey errors, improperly marked 
boundaries, and so forth.  Quite often only a portion of the 
structure encroaches on NFS lands. 

 Call Regional Office (RO) or 
Supervisor’s Office (SO) Special 
Uses (SU) Program Manager for 
advice. 

374 Cabin Predating 
ANILCA 

Cabins that were occupying NFS lands at the enactment of 
ANILCA but were not authorized under a special use 
permit. 

$906.64 No new uses should be 
authorized. 

420 Research Sites for a variety of studies, research, training, cultural 

resources. 
  

421 Experimental and 
Demonstration 

Temporary or permanent sites for monitoring or 
modifications to the area or a particular resource.  
Activities not related to Forest Service projects. 

$453.31 For 3 months.  Minimum fee is 3 
months. 

   $151.10 Each additional month. 
Maximum fee not to exceed 6 
month fee. 

   $906.64 Per 6 months.  Maximum fee not 
to exceed 6 month fee. 

422 Research Study Non-specific studies for a wide range of academic 
interests. 

$453.31 Per 3 months.  Minimum use is 3 
months. 

   $151.10 Each additional month. 
Maximum fee not to exceed 6 
month fee. 

   $906.64 Per 6 months.  Maximum fee not 
to exceed 6 month fee. 
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31.5 - Exhibit 01 -- Continued 
 

 

Use 

Code 

 

Use 

Definition 

** Implicit in all definitions are that these uses 

occur in remote settings. 

Regional 

Minimum 

Fee or CY 

2014 Fee 

 

Instructions 

430 Training    

431 Military Training Area Federal and State military training activities and sites. $3,237.97 Up to 2 acres.  If > 2 acres and for new 
uses consult Forest Program Manager. 

432 Education Center Education facilities that are not physically part of a 
community school system. 

$1,921.19 Up to 2 acres.  If > 2 acres and for new 
uses consult Forest Program Manager. 

500 Industry Camps    

511 Construction Camps  and 
Residences 

Camps, cabins, or residences to house personnel 
employed in road, logging, and other industries.  This 
designation also includes prisons camps. 

$3,237.97 Up to 2 acres.  If > 2 acres and for new 
uses consult Forest Program Manager. 

512 Commercial Fishing 
Camp 
 

Authorized site and facilities are directly and necessarily 
related to commercial fishing. Permit holder must have 
Alaska limited entry permit.  Authorized facilities are 
temporary in nature. 

$453.31 Minimum fee for up to 3 months. 

   $151.10 Each additional month.  Maximum fee 
not to exceed 6 month fee. 

   $906.64 Per 6 months.  Maximum fee not to 
exceed 6 month fee. 

513 Commercial Fishing 
Cabin (or Warehouse) 

Authorization pre-dates ANILCA and the authorized site 
and facilities are directly and necessarily related to 
commercial fishing. Permit holder must have Alaska 
limited entry permit. 

$906.64  
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31.5 - Exhibit 01 -- Continued 
 

 

Use 

Code 

 

Use 

Definition 

** Implicit in all definitions are that these uses 

occur in remote settings. 

Regional 

Minimum 

Fee or CY 

2014 Fee 

 

Instructions 

514 
 

00133 

Temporary Camps Temporary camps, tent platforms for Trapping, ADF&G, 
and other commercial uses.  

$453.31 Minimum fee for up to 3 months 

   $151.10 Each additional month.  Maximum fee 
not to exceed 6 month fee. 

   $906.64 Per 6 months.  Maximum fee not to 
exceed 6 month fee. 

520 Storage    

521 Warehouse and Storage 
Yard 

Storage areas with some improvements constructed on 
them.  The stored items usually consist of equipment or 
material goods. 

$3,237.97 Up to 2 acres.  If > 2 acres and for new 
authorizations consult Forest Program 
Manager. 

522 Stockpile Site Bulk storage of sand or gravel, and so on.  Site does not 
have significant improvements associated with the 
storage use. 

$3,237.97 Up to 2 acres.  If > 2 acres and for new 
authorizations consult Forest Program 
Manager. 

523 Crab Pot Storage Storage area for commercial fishing gear. $140.31 <2,000 sq feet.  If >2,000 sq. feet and for 
all new authorizations consult Forest 
Program Manager. 

530 Manufacturing    

531 Processing Plant Buildings and other structures needed for the 
manufacture or packing of a product.  Examples include 
canning or packing plants, factories, and sawmills. 

$3,237.97 Up to 2 acres.  If > 2 acres and for new 
authorizations consult Forest Program 
Manager. 

533 Batch and Mixing Plant Facilities for preparation of road construction materials, 
usually project-related.  Most are of a short-term nature. 

$3,237.97 Up to 2 acres.  If > 2 acres and for new 
authorizations consult Forest Program 
Manager. 
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31.5 - Exhibit 01 -- Continued 
 

 

Use 

Code 

 

Use 

Definition 

** Implicit in all definitions are that these uses 

occur in remote settings. 

Regional 

Minimum 

Fee or CY 

2014 Fee 

 

Instructions 

550 Arts    

551 Still Photography 1 to 10 persons on site. $140.31 Per day. 

  11 to 30 persons on site. $205.07 Per day. 

  Over 30 persons on site. $334.59 Per day. 

552 Commercial Filming 1 to 10 persons on site. $205.07 Per day. 

  11 to 30 persons on site. $269.83 Per day. 

  31 to 60 persons on site. $679.97 Per day. 

  Over 60 persons on site. $744.74 Per day. 

700 Transportation    
711 Aircraft Facilities Sites used for the takeoff and landing of aircraft, and 

related facilities. 
$3,237.97 Up to 2 acres.  If > 2 acres and for new 

authorizations consult Forest Program 
Manager. 

712 Hangar and Service 
Facility 

Structures related to airport where the airport itself is not 
on NFS land. 

$3,237.97 Up to 2 acres.  If > 2 acres and for new 
authorizations consult Forest Program 
Manager. 

720 Marine    

721 Mooring Point Minor uses along waterways for securing boats or other 
water craft to the land.  No improvements at such sites. 

$106.23 Minimum fee. 

722 Boat Dock, Wharf, Pier Improvements used for securing watercraft.  Range from 
minor pilings for log raft operations to larger pier 
facilities. 

$3,237.97 Up to 2 acres.  If > 2 acres and for new 
authorizations consult Forest Program 
Manager. 

725 Navigation Aid Beacon, buoy marker, and others.  Generally non-
electronic signaling or locating devices assisting 
operators of water craft to determine their positions. 

$106.23 Minimum fee. 
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31.5 - Exhibit 01 -- Continued 
 

 

Use 

Code 

 

Use 

Definition 

** Implicit in all definitions are that these uses 

occur in remote settings. 

Regional 

Minimum 

Fee or CY 

2014 Fee 

 

Instructions 

800 Communications Use See FSH 2709.11, Section 36.2  Consumer Price Index-Urban (CPI-U) 
index factor. 

805 Local Exchange 
Network 

Radio service that provides basic telephone service 
primarily to rural communities. 

  

  1 to 100 people served. $159.24  

  101 to 500 people served. $467.10  

  501 to 1,000 people served. $774.98  

  Over 1,000 people served. Full Common 
Carrier fee 

 

807 Passive Reflector Non-powered reflector devices to bend or ricochet 
electronic signals point-to-point. 

$1,263.30 All passive reflectors, regardless of 
location. 

900 Water (non-power 

generating), Water 

Transmission 

   

923 Water Diversion, Weir Private residence or similar insignificant use. $106.23 For less than <1,000 sq. ft.  If >1,000 sq. 
ft. and for new authorizations consult 
Forest Program Manager. 

941 Stream Gauging Station Non-navigable freshwater. $106.23 For less than <1,000 sq. ft.  If >1,000 sq. 
ft. and for new authorizations consult 
Forest Program Manager. 
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37.21c - Exhibit 01 
 

Alaska Region - Flat Fee Schedule for 2014 
 

Activity 2014 Flat Fees 

General Recreation $5.31 

Road-Based Nature Tours $5.31 

Remote-Setting Nature Tours $5.31 

Flight-Seeing Landing Tours $5.31 

Helicopter Landing Tours $5.31 

Non-motorized Freshwater Boat Trips $5.31 

Dog Sled Tours $5.31 

Camping $5.31 

Road-Based Wildlife Viewing $5.31 

Remote Wildlife Viewing $5.31 

Visitor Centers $1.60 

Over-Snow Vehicle Tours $10.63 

Heli-Skiing Tours $10.63 

Freshwater Fishing $10.63 

Waterfowl and Small Game (Including Wolf) 

Hunting 

$10.63 

Brown Bear: Per Hunt (includes Day Use and 
Camping) 

$350.57 

Black Bear: Per Hunt (includes Day Use and 
Camping) 

$159.35 

Elk: Per Hunt (includes Day Use and Camping) $212.46 

Moose: Per Hunt (includes Day Use and 
Camping) 

$212.46 

Mountain Goats: Per Hunt (includes Day Use and 
Camping) 

$212.46 

Dall Sheep: Per Hunt (includes Day Use and 
Camping) 

$212.46 

Deer: Per Hunt (includes Day Use and Camping) $106.23 

Delivery and/or Pick-Up of Motorized and  
Non-motorized Equipment, Such as Kayaks, Over-
Snow Vehicles, and Camping Equipment, to 
National Forest System lands 

$10.63 
total per day – no limit on 

equipment numbers, or 
numbers of trips 

 
 


