
Hunting in the NFGT 
Frequently Asked Questions 

 
Licenses 
What kind of licenses do I need to hunt on 
Forest Service land? 
Texas Hunting License on General Forest land and 
Texas Hunting License and Annual Public Hunting 
Permit (also referred to as ‘Type II’ permit) on 
WMAs, with the appropriate endorsements; 
archery, migratory bird, etc. 
 
What kind of licenses or permits do I need to 
hunt on a WMA on Forest Service land? 
Texas Hunting License and Annual Public Hunting 
Permit (also referred to as ‘Type II’ permit) on 
WMAs with the appropriate 
endorsements…archery, migratory bird, etc. 
 
Where can I buy the Annual Hunting Permit and 
how much does it cost? 
Where Texas Hunting Licenses are sold, the Annual 
Public Hunting permit costs $48 per year (2012 cost). 
 
Are youth required to have the Public Hunting 
Lands Permit ($48) to hunt in a WMA? 
No, as long as the youth (under the age of 17) is 
hunting with someone who is in possession of one 
and is within normal voice range of that person. 
 
Is hunting allowed in the Wilderness Areas? 
Yes. 
 
What age is considered to be a “Youth?” 
Under 17 years of age, for deer, turkey and squirrel 
hunting. Duck hunting, it is 15 years of age or 
younger (Outdoor Annual). 
 
Does the Youth have to sit in the same stand as 
the adult? 
No, youth under 12 years of age must remain within 
normal voice distance of an adult supervisor. For 
youth ages 12 to 16 who have received hunter 
education certification, the requirement for 
immediate supervision is relaxed to the extent that 
the supervising adult is required only to be present 

 
on the public hunting unit (Public Hunting Lands 
book). 

 
Is a Limited Use Permit required to hunt on                   
National Forest?                                                          
No, the U.S. Forest Service is exempt from the Limited 
Use Permit 

 
Means and Methods 
What kind of guns and ammo can I use to kill a 
deer? 
(Outdoor Annual Public Hunting Land – Means and 
Methods) 
No rim‐fire during Deer gun season. 
 
Can you use buckshot for deer? 
Yes, in the General Forest 
No, in the WMA                                                                                   
(Public Hunting Lands Booklet under Means and 
Methods).  Slugs only in WMA 
*Possession of buckshot in WMA is illegal* 
 
Can you spear a deer from a tree? 
No,  a spear is not identified under the legal Means 
and Methods (Outdoor Annual) as a legal method to 
harvest deer, hogs or any game. 
 
Can I carry a loaded gun in a vehicle on Federal 
lands? 
No (WMA Public Hunting Lands book  – Means and 
Methods). 
Supervisors Order ORDER NUMBER 08‐13‐00‐09‐06; 
36 CFR 261.23(e): This applies to all NFGT general 
forest and WMA. Loaded is defined as one in the 
chamber, magazine loaded in weapon/ including 
box magazine, tubular, removable magazine still in 
weapon and any type of muzzleloader/ in‐line 
muzzleloader loaded with powder, bullet/ball and 
cap on nipple. 
 
 
 



What is the rule on loaded firearms? 
It is prohibited (illegal) to possess a loaded rifle or 
shotgun in all developed recreation areas, hunter 
camps, boat ramps and parking areas. This applies 
year round, not just during hunting season. This 
means that you cannot have a loaded rifle or 
shotgun while in the hunter camp. You can have a 
loaded, concealed handgun with permit in 
accordance with the concealed handgun law. 36 
CFR 261.53(e) 
 
What does it mean to have a loaded gun? 
According to the Public Hunting Lands book…a 
firearm containing a live round of ammunition 
within the chamber and/or magazine or, if muzzle 
loading, one which has a cap on the nipple or a 
priming charge in the pan. 
 
 
Can I use suppressors? 
It is legal to harvest game animals with suppressors 
in Texas. 
 
Can I carry a handgun while bow hunting? 
No, Concealed weapons, in accordance with 
Concealed Handgun laws of Texas, are used for 
personal protection, not hunting. If you are archery 
hunting – you are still hunting. You may carry 
concealed if so permitted but the handgun is not to 
be used for hunting purposes no matter the species 
killed. 
 
Can I carry a loaded handgun while just walking 
out in the woods scouting for personal 
protection? 
Yes, as long as it is not concealed. If you have a CHL, 
then you can carry a concealed weapon. 
 
Is it legal to harvest a doe during muzzleloader 
season? 
Yes. If the outdoor annual doesn't require an 
antlerless permit for National Forest under the 
county listings during muzzleloader season then you 
may harvest whatever you have left from your 
county bag limit, not to exceed the state bag limit of 
five does. Note: the Caddo‐LBJ National Grassland 
does not have this season. 
 
Is it legal to harvest a doe in the national forest 
during archery season? 
Yes. You can harvest two doe deer per county (not 
to exceed the statewide maximum of 5 deer total 
for the hunting year) during the archery season 
(WMA or General Forest). You must use the tags off 

of your hunting license. 
 
Is it legal to harvest doe in the national forest 
during the general season? 
This depends on whether you are hunting WMA or 
General Forest and whether you are on one of the 
forests or one of the grasslands. For WMAs on the 
Forests (not the Grasslands), the harvest of doe deer 
is by permit only (found under county listings “no 
antlerless permit required except on National 
Forest). The NFGT does not issue permits for the 
General Forest, therefore it is illegal to harvest a doe 
deer during the general gun season in the General 
Forest (Forests, not Grasslands). 
If a you possess an antlerless deer permit for a WMA 
(Moore Plantation, Bannister, Alabama Creek, Sam 
Houston) then you are permitted to harvest a doe 
deer in the WMA with that permit, not one off of 
your hunting license. If you have already harvested 
two doe deer during archery season and have a 
WMA antlerless deer permit, then you are 
permitted to harvest a third doe deer during the 
general gun season in the designated WMA. You 
need to possess the Annual Public Hunting Permit to 
hunt in the WMA. 
As for the Grasslands, the harvesting of does, 
whether on the Caddo WMA or the LBJ General 
“Forest”, is permitted only during the specified doe 
days that are listed in the Outdoor Annual and the 
Public Hunting Guide booklet. There are no 
Antlerless Permits issued for the Caddo WMA or the 
LBJ. 
 
Antlerless Permits for WMAs (with the 
exception of the Caddo WMA) 
Antlerless Deer Permits are no longer administered by 
the National Forests and Grasslands in Texas (U.S. 
Forest Service). Texas Parks and Wildlife Department 
will conduct Antlerless Deer permit applications and 
selections. For information on Antlerless Deer Permits, 
contact Texas Parks and Wildlife Department at 936‐
645‐8363. 
 
Why do we not issue anterless permits for the 
General Forest areas? 
TPWD determines if and when antlerless permits can be 
issued on National Forests and Grasslands in Texas.  Due 
to challenges with collecting accurate harvest records 
and deer population data, TPWD does not issue 
antlerless permits for the General Forest. 
 
How many deer can you harvest? 
You can harvest 5 deer statewide. No more than 3 
bucks (Be sure to stay within the bag limit of the 



county you are in. For example, if the limit in County 
A is 2 buck and the limit in County B is 2 buck, then 
you can take 2 buck in either County A or B and then 
only one more buck in the other county). 
In the WMAs, the bag limit is one buck. This is 
included in your total county limit. For example: 
Sabine County bag limit is two bucks. If you harvest 
a buck on the Moore Plantation WMA, you can now 
only harvest one more buck in the whole of Sabine 
County, not two more.  However, a deer harvested and 
tagged using your antlerless deer permit will not count 
toward your county or statewide limits. 
 
Where do I measure on a deer for the 13 inch 
antler restriction? 
The inside spread of the antlers. 
 
Can I use corn or other bait to hunt deer? 
No. Baiting wildlife and hunting over baited areas is 
prohibited. However, this prohibition does not 
apply to the use of traps or snares for the taking of 
furbearing and predatory animals (see the Outdoor 
Annual for a list of specific species) in accordance 
with applicable state and federal law. 36 CFR 
261.58(v) 
 
Can I hunt deer in Archery Season with a deer 
decoy? 
Yes (Outdoor Annual,  Legal Methods‐Decoys). 
 
Are game cameras legal and are they 
considered baiting? 
Yes, they are legal and No, they are not considered 
baiting…not a food substance. (Outdoor Annual).  
However, game cameras cannot be nailed to a tree and 
the Forest Service is not responsible for lost or stolen 
game cameras. 
 
Is doe urine considered baiting? 
No, it is not considered baiting, not a food substance 
(Outdoor Annual). 
 
Am I required to register on‐site and/or to bring 
my harvest to a check station? 
For the General Forests, no. For the Caddo WMA, 
yes to both (please refer to the Public Hunting Lands 
booklet  for more information). For the other NFGT 
WMAs, no to onsite registration, but yes to check 
station (please refer to the Public Hunting Lands booklet 
for more info.) 
 
 
Can I deer hunt from a boat? 
NO, you cannot hunt deer from a boat. You can 

hunt migratory birds (waterfowl) from a boat if the 
sail and/or motor are not in use. (Outdoor Annual p. 
73) 
 
How far off the lakeshore do I have to be to 
hunt? 
You must be 150 yards off of roads, designated trails 
and boundaries. Similar to designated trails because 
the lake can potentially be occupied at any time, you 
must be 150 yds. from the lakeshore. 
 
How far off the road do you have to be to hunt? 
You must be 150 yards off of roads, designated trails 
and boundaries. 
 
What about hiking trails? 
Hiking trails are identified as occupied areas, because 
they can potentially be occupied at any time; 
therefore, there is a 150 yard buffer on hiking trails. 
The designated Hiking Trails on the NFGT are: 
Sawmill Hiking Trail (Angelina NF), Four C Hiking Trail 
(Davy Crockett NF), Piney Creek Horse Trail (Davy 
Crockett NF), Trail Between the Lakes (Sabine NF), 
Lone Star Hiking Trail (Sam Houston NF), Multi‐Use 
Trail (Sam Houston NF), Double Lake Bike Trail (Sam 
Houston NF), LBJ Multi‐Use Trail (LBJ NG) and Bois 
d’Arc Multi‐Use Trail (Caddo NG) 
 
While hunting, can I park in the woods or 
logging roads? 
No, the road has to be an open road on the MVUM 
(Forest Service Motor Vehicle Use Map) to be traveled 
legally. 
 
Can I leave my box/tree/ground/climbing stand 
on  the Forest for the entire deer season? 
No, placing or leaving a hunting stand on the Forests 
or Grasslands for more than 72 hours is prohibited. 
For the purpose of this Order, a ‘hunting stand’ 
includes any structure or device used to elevate, 
camouflage or hide a person so that wildlife may be 
hunting or observed. 36 CFR 261.58(v) 
 
Can I have alcohol in the camp sites or Hunter 
Camps? 
It is illegal to publically consume or display an alcoholic 
beverage, however it is considered legal if you are 
within your camp and not causing a disturbance. (Forest 
Supervisor’s Orders) (WMA Public 
Hunting Lands book) 
 
Can I have a loaded gun in the camp, in my tent, 
for personal protection? 



Only if you have a concealed handgun license and 
adhere to concealed handgun laws. (WMA Public 
Hunting Lands book  – Means and Methods) 
 
How long can I camp in the Hunter Camps? 
14 consecutive days during a 30‐day time period CFR 
261.58(a). Camping equipment cannot be left 
unattended for more than 24 hrs. No matter the 
location hunter camps or rec areas. 

 
Pack it in/Pack it out 
Upon leaving after stay limit ALL LITTER needs to be 
removed by camper/hunters. There is no trash pickup/ 
service for many of the NFGT Hunter Camps. 
Please be courteous and take your trash with you. 
IT IS PROHIBITED TO DUMP TRASH ON THE FOREST! 

 
Campfires 
Camp fires should be OUT COLD before leaving 
camp. Campfires are not to be left unattended in a 
burning state while out in the field or after pulling 
camp. 

 
Hunter Orange 
CFR261.58(v) PROHIBITED: Hunting or accompanying a 
hunter during any permitted hunting season without 
wearing  400 Sq. inches of daylight fluorescent orange, 
with a minimum of  144 Sq. inches visible on both chest 
and back, and daylight fluorescent headwear, except 
when hunting turkey, migratory birds, furbearing 
animals or predatory animals at night. 
 
Do I have to wear hunter orange during Archery 
Season? 
Yes, except for fur‐bearing or predatory animals at 
night or when hunting turkey or migratory birds 
(USFS Hunting Guide). 
 
Can I use hunter orange camouflage (the 
mingled orange with black in a camouflage 
pattern) as my 144 sq. in. of hunter orange? 
No. The vest must be solid hunter orange. The hat 
can be a camouflage orange pattern. 
 
Can I remove my hunter orange when I get to 
where I am hunting or to my hunting stand? 
No. 

 
Hogs 
Under the rules and regulations, feral hogs are not 
fur‐bearing animals but are considered Exotic 
animals (Outdoor Annual) 
 

What kind of weapon can I use to kill a hog? 
During general hunting seasons, all legal firearms, 
archery, and crossbows may be used to take feral 
hogs. (Public Hunting Lands book) 
 
Is it legal to hunt hogs with dogs on the General 
Forest at night? 
Yes. A courtesy call to the local sheriff would be 
appreciated. 
During deer season, you may not possess (have on 
you) a shotgun and buckshot or slugs while in the 
field with dogs for the counties that make up the 
Angelina, Sabine, Davy Crockett, and Sam Houston 
National Forests (as well as a few more East Texas 
counties). (Outdoor Annual) 
Dogs may be used to aid in the hunting of any game 
bird on the General Forest (Outdoor Annual) 
 
Can you hunt feral hogs with a firearm in the 
WMA during archery season? 
Yes, hog season is open year round ‐ and you can 
use all legal means and methods within all the NFGT 
WMAs except for the Sam Houston WMA and 
Caddo WMA. Sam Houston WMA has the archery 
only area ‐ no firearms period. The Caddo WMA has 
a season for feral hogs and you can only use a bow 
during archery season for feral hogs. A crossbow 
may be used if they have a documented upper arm 
disability (please refer to the Public Hunting Lands 
booklet on the Caddo WMA for more 
information). 
 
Can you hunt feral hogs at night in the WMA? 
No, Hunting of feral hogs is restricted to daylight 
hours only. (Public Hunting Lands booklet) 
 
What other restrictions are there on hunting 
with dogs within the WMA? 
It is illegal to hunt deer, turkey, and feral hogs with 
dogs (Public Hunting Lands Booklet). It is 
illegal to hunt furbearers or predatory animals 
during daylight hours within an open general season 
for deer (Public Hunting Lands Booklet). 
Dogs may be used to hunt squirrel, rabbits, hares, 
furbearing animals, predatory animals, and game 
birds (other than turkey) during the open seasons 
for those species (Public Hunting Lands Booklet). WITH 
THE EXEPTION OF GENERAL SEASON 
FOR DEER (see above). 
 
Where can I sight in my gun? 
It is legal to target shoot in the General Forest, with 
the exception of the Caddo‐LBJ National Grasslands, 
as long as you do not shoot from, down, across a 



road, have a sufficient back stop (not a live tree), and 
pick up your trash (targets, empty shells, etc.) when 
you leave. This is an example of referring to the 
Code of Federal Regulations. Target shooting is 
prohibited in the WMA on all units of the NFGT: 
Angelina NF, Davy Crockett NF, Sabine NF, Sam 
Houston NF, Caddo‐LBJ NG. 
CFR 261.58(m) states PROHIBITED: DISCHARGING A 
FIREARM, AIR RIFLE, OR GAS GUN FROM, INTO, OR 
ACROSS ANY PARKING AREA, TRAIL, BOAT RAMP OR 
FOREST DEVELOPMENT ROAD. 

 
ATVs, UTVs, Four Wheelers 
Can I ride a four wheeler on the National forest? 
No, except on designated ATV/UTV trails.  However, you 
cannot hunt within 150 yards of designated trails. 
 
Can I ride a four wheeler because I am 
disabled? 
No, except on designated ATV/UTV trails.  However, you 
cannot hunt within 150 yards of designated trails. 
 
Can I ride a four wheeler only to get a deer out 
of the woods? 
No. 
 
Horseback Riding 
Do I need a LPU (Limited Public Use) Permit to 
ride horseback on the WMA? 
No, You do not need a LPU permit for horseback 
riding on the Caddo WMA. 

 
Trapping 
Can I trap in the National Forest? 
Furbearing Trapping is allowed by state standards and 
guidelines.  If selling commercially, then you need to 
abide by state and federal law.  Conducted commercial 
sales from NF property, in Accordance with CFR traps 
must be checked daily.  (Within a 24 hour period). 
Hog traps are not allowed.  Either cage type or corral 
type could be considered an improvement or structure 
on the forest.  Improvements or structures are not 
permitted to be erected on the forest. 
 

 
Forest Service Terms 
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) presents the 
official and complete text of agency regulations in an 
organized fashion in a single publication. The Forest 
Service and Department of Agriculture are covered 
in Chapter II of the CFR. When a rule/regulation is 

not stated in the Outdoor Annual or Public Hunting 
Lands booklet, federal Law Enforcement Officers 
refer to the CFRs for guidance/ruling on an issue (an 
example of this is target shooting). 
 
District Office 
The local office for each forest and grassland. 
Addresses and contact information located in the 
NFGT Hunting Guide. 
 
Forest Supervisor Order (FSO) 
These orders describe the prohibitions, closures, and 
regulations for the National Forests and Grasslands 
in Texas and are subject to updates and changes. 
FSOs can be for an entire forest or can also be 
specific to an area.  FSO is normally effective for one to 
five years and can be renewed. 
The current list of FSOs and termination orders can 
be found at: 
www.fs.usda.gov/goto/texas/hunting‐faq 
 
General Forest 
The National Forest land that is not part of the 
WMAs is referred to as General Forest. You are not 
required to buy the $48 Annual Public Hunting Lands 
Permit (also referred to as the Type II Permit) to 
hunt within General Forest. Rules and regulations 
are different on General Forest than on WMAs. 
 
Motor Vehicle Use Map (MVUM) 
This map shows all roads that can be legally used by 
vehicles (not ATVs/UTVs, as suggested in the Public 
Hunting Lands Booklet, but DOT approved vehicles – 
cars, trucks, etc.). Basically, if a road is not on this 
map, you (the public) cannot legally drive on that 
road. This is regardless of whether or not that road 
is gated/not gated or unlocked/locked. CFR 
261.54(d) These maps are free at the District Offices. 
 
Outdoor Annual (OA) 
The rules and regulations handbook published every 
year by Texas Parks and Wildlife Department. This 
rulebook covers the entire state of Texas. The 
General Forest basically uses this rulebook, with the 
exception of a few Forest Supervisor’s Orders (for 
Example: Baiting (of any kind) is not allowed on U.S. 
Forest Service lands but is legal on private lands.) 
The Outdoor Annual is available, for free, wherever 
hunting and fishing licenses are sold and at U.S. 
Forest Service District Offices. 
 
Public Hunting Lands 
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department uses this term 
to refer to the Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs). 



This can also be a general term referring  to any 
public lands, either General Forest or WMA.   General 
Forest areas and Forest Service WMAs are both 
National Forests lands, but have slightly different 
hunting regulations. 
 
Prohibited 
Legal term for not legal. If something is Prohibited – 
you cannot do it! Example: Baiting wildlife and 
hunting over baited areas is prohibited. This means 
you cannot use bait to hunt deer, turkey, etc. 
 
Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) 
Areas of the NFGT that are managed in partnership 
with Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD) 
with emphasis on game species management. You 
are required to purchase the $48 Annual Public 
Hunting Permit (Also referred to as the ‘Type II’ 
permit) 
Rules and regulations are different on WMAs than on 
General Forest. 
 
WMAs on NFGT: 

・ Moore Plantation (Sabine) 

・ Bannister (Angelina) 
・ Alabama Creek (Davy Crockett) 

・ Caddo (Caddo National Grassland) 
・ Sam Houston (the entire Sam Houston 

National Forest is a WMA) 
 
Notes on the differences between General 
Forest and WMA land 
Think of the WMA portion on NF land as state WMA 
Property.   Hunting regulations are found in the Public 
Hunting Lands and Forest Supervisor’s Orders. 
The rest of the NF land is considered as "General 
Forest” or “US Forest Service", which you will find in the 
"Outdoor Annual" and it basically goes by County 
Regulations and, a few Forest Supervisor's Orders. 


