ORDER NUMBER $J-2014-06

FOREST ORDER
USDA — FOREST SERVICE
SAN JUAN NATIONAL FOREST
Columbine Ranger District

Trail closure
Big Mountain Enduro mountain bike event

Pursuant to 16 U.S.C. 551 and 36 C.F.R. § 261.50(b), the following acts are prohibited on the Colorado
Trail (Trail No. 520) from Kennebec Pass to the trail’s Durango terminus on the Columbine Ranger
District of the San Juan National Forest within La Plata County, State of Colorado (hereinafter referred to
as the “Restricted Trail”). The Restricted Trail is depicted on the attached map, hereby incorporated into
this Order as Exhibit A. This Order is necessary to protect public health and safety while facilitating the
management of the Big Mountain Enduro mountain bike race.

PROHIBITIONS:

Being on a trail 36 CFR § 261.55(a).

1. Being on any portion of the Restricted Trail from 8:00 am through 2:00 pm on June 28, 2014
as depicted on the attached map (Exhibit A). The section of trail is further described as the
portion of the Colorado Trail from Kennebec Pass to the informal trailhead immediately
adjacent to the Junction Creek Campground along Junction Creek Road. The Restricted Trail
crosses parts of T. 37 N., R. 10 W. and T. 36 N., R. 10 W. within La Plata County, Colorado.

EXEMPTIONS:
Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. § 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt:

1. Persons with a Forest Service permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or
omission.

2. Any Federal, State or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or firefighting force
engaged in the performance of an official duty.

These prohibitions are in addition to the general prohibitions in 36 CFR Part 261, Subpart A. This Order
shall remain in effect from 9:00 am until 3:00 pm on June 28, 2014.

Done in Durango, Colorado this 04" day of June, 2014.

““Kkara Chadwick
orest Supervisor
San Juan National Forest



Violations of these prohibitions is punishable as a Class B misdemeanor, by a fine of not more than
$5,000 for an individual or $10,000 for a legal entity other than an individual, or imprisonment for not
more than six (6) months, or both (16 USC 551 and 18 USC 3559 and 3571).



