UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
FOREST SERVICE
NATIONAL FORESTS IN NORTH CAROLINA
Grandfather Ranger District

Order Number: 03-02-2006

Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50 {a) and (b), the following orders apply to the Pisgah, Nantahala,
Uwharrie and Croatan National Forests in North Carolina. This order is in effect from May 12"

2011 through May 12 2016.

This order applies to all motorcycles being driven off of designated roadways and all-terrain
vehicles (ATV’s). For the purpose of this order, ATV's are defined as having a seat to be
straddled by the operator and a handlebar for steeting, with 3, 4 or 4 or 6 wheels, and under 60

inches in width.

1. For public health and safety, ATV and motorcycle operators and riders must wear
eye protection and a helmet that meets United States Department of
Transportation motorcycle safety standards. 36 CFR 261.53(e) and 36 CFR

261.55(d).

2. For public health and safety, it is unlawful for a parent or legal guardian to
knowingly permit:
-A child under age 8 to operate any ATV or motorcycle.
-A child under age 12 to operate any ATV 70cc or farger.
-A Child under age 16 to operate any ATV 90cc or larger.
-A child under age 16 to operate any ATV or motorcycle unless under the
continuous visual supervision of a person over age 18. 36 CFR 261.53(e) and 36 CFR

261.55(d).

3. For public health and safety, an OHV operator cannot carry passenger(s) unless
the manufacturer specifically designed the vehicle for such purposes.
36 CFR 261.53(e) and 36 CFR 261.55(d).

4. An OHV operator cannot operate any internal or external combustion engine
without a spark arresting device properly installed, maintained and in effective
working order meeting either: (1) Department of Agriculture, Forest Service
Standard 5100-1a; or {2) Appropriate Society of Agriculture Engineers (SAE)
recommended practice 153335 {b) AND 3350 (A). 36 CFR 261.52(j).

Viclation of these prohibitions set forth above is punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an individual and $10,000 for
and organization, or imprisenment for not more than six {6) months, or both. 16 U.5.C. 551, 18 1,5.C. 3559 and 3571.



Pursuant to 36 CFR, section 261.50({e), the following persons are exempt from this order:

1. Any Federal, State, or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or firefighting
force in the performance of an official duty.

This prohibition is in additional to general prohibitions in 36 CFR 261, Subpart A,
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Executed in Asheville, North Carolina This fxf’ ___day of May, 2011.
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Marisue Hilliard
Forest Supervisor

National Forests in North Carolina
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