ORDER NUMBER SJ-2015-05

FOREST ORDER
USDA FOREST SERVICE
SAN JUAN NATIONAL FOREST

Mancos-Dolores Ranger District

Mancos — Cortez Camping Restrictions

Pursuant to 16 United States Code (U.S.C.) 551 and 36 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) §
261.50 (a), the following acts are prohibited on those National Forest System Lands on the
Mancos-Dolores Ranger District of the San Juan National Forest, Montezuma County, State of
Colorado as depicted of the attached maps hereby incorporated into this Order as Exhibits A and
B (the “Restricted Areas™).

This Order is necessary to reduce user conflicts and parking area crowding.

PROHIBITIONS:

1) Camping within 1 mile of Transfer Campground located in T.37N, R.12 W, Section
19.36 C.F.R. § 261.58(e)

2) Camping within 300 yards of National Forest System Road (NFSR) #693 in T.37N,
R.13W, Section 32. 36 C.F.R. § 261.58(e)

3) Camping within 300 feet of the following Trailheads. 36 C.F.R. § 261.58(e)

Box Canyon Trailhead T.37N R.12W Section 19
Gold Run Trailhead T.38N R.11W Section 31
Sharkstooth Trailhead T.37N R.11W Section 17
Chicken Creek Ski Trailhead T.37N R.13W Section 32
Echo Basin Trailhead T.36N R.12W Section 7

EXEMPTIONS:

Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. § 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this order:

1) Persons with a Forest Service permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited
act or omission.

2) Any Federal, State, or local law enforcement officer or member of an organized
rescue or firefighting force engaged in the performance of an official duty.
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3) Persons camping in designated campsites within Transfer Campground.
This Order shall remain in effect until June 1, 2016, or until rescinded, whichever occurs first.

Done at Durango Colorado this8" day of June 2015.

ara L. Chadwick

Forest Supervisor
San Juan National Forest

Violations of these regulations are punishable as a Class B misdemeanor, by a fine of not more
than $5000 for an individual or $10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than
six months or both. 16 U.S.C. § 551 and 18 U.S.C. 3571



