
Order Number 19·10·03 

USDA Forest Service 


Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit 

Campfire Restrictions 

Pursuant to 16 USC 551 and 36 CFR 261.50(a), and to protect natural resources and provide for 
public safety, the following acts are prohibited within the Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit. 
This Order is effective from July 1, 2010, through June 30, 2012. 

Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, campfire, charcoal fire, or stove fire 
except in the locations listed below: 

1. 	 Bayview Campground, Fallen Leaf Campground, Kaspian Campground, 
Meeks Bay Campground, and Nevada Beach Campground. 

2. 	 Within the grills located in the Kaspian Day Use Area, Meeks Bay Day Use 
Area, Nevada Beach Day Use Area, Tallac Historic Site Day Use Area, 
William Kent Day Use Area, Pope Beach Day Use Area, Baldwin Beach Day 
Use Area, and Kiva Picnic Area. 

36 CFR 26\.52(a). 

Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this Order: 

I. 	 Persons with a permit from the Forest Service specifically authorizing the otherwise 
prohibited act or omission. Persons with a valid Campfire Permit issued by the Lake 
Tahoe Basin Management Unit are not exempt from the prohibition listed above, but may 
build, maintain. attend or use a fire, campfire, or charcoal fire within the Meiss Management 
Area, Bucks Lake, Lost Lake and Duck Lake areas, Mount Rose Wilderness, and within the 
fire rings provided in the designated campsites in the Watson Lake, Blackwood Canyon and 
Luther Pass areas. 

2. 	 Persons with a valid Campfire Permit issued by the Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit 
are not exempt from the prohibition listed above, but may use portable stoves or lanterns 
using gas, jellied petroleum. or pressurized liquid fuel within the Lake Tahoe Basin 
Management Unit. 

3. 	 Persons with a valid Desolation Wilderness Permit are not exempt from the prohibition 
listed above, but may use portable stoves or lanterns using gas, jellied petroleum. or 
pressurized liquid fuel in the Desolation Wilderness. 

4. 	 Persons with a valid Special Use Permit and a valid Campfire Permit issued by the Lake 
Tahoe Basin Management Unit are not exempt from the prohibition listed above, but may 
build, maintain, attend or use a fire , campfire, or charcoal fire inside the boundary of their 
Special Use Permit. 

5. 	 Any Federal, State or local officer, or member of an organization rescue or fire fighting force 
in the performance of an official duty. 



This prohibition is in addition to the general prohibitions in 36 CFR Part 261, Subpart A. 

A violation of this prohibition is punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an individual or 
$10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both. 16 USC 551 
and 18 USC 3559, 357 1, and 3581. 

Done at South Lake Tahoe, California, this t1 day of June, 2010. 

{;!ERRI MARCERON 
Forest Supervisor 
Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit 


