ORDER NUMBER STF 2010-04
Temporary Fire Restrictions in the High Hazard Area
Stanislaus National Forest
Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50(a) and (b), and to provide for public safety and protect natural resources, the
following acts are prohibited within the High Hazard Area of the Stanislaus National Forest. The High

Hazard Area is shown on Exhibit A, and is described in Exhibit B. This Order is effective from July 30,
2010, through the end of the official 2010 fire season.

1. Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, campfire, or stove fire, except in the developed
recreation sites listed in Exhibit C. 36 CFR 261.52(a).

2. Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or building, within the developed recreation sites listed in
Exhibit C, or while stopped in an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all
flammable material. 36 CFR 261.52(d).
3. Welding, or operating an acetylene or other torch with an open flame. 36 CFR 261.52(i).
4. Using an explosive. 36 CFR 261.52(b).
Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this Order:

1. Persons with a permit from the Forest Service specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act
or omission. Persons with a valid California Campfire Permit are not exempt from the prohibitions listed

above. However, persons with a valid California Campfire Permit may use a portable stove or lantern using
gas, jellied petroleum, or pressurized liquid fuel.

2. Any Federal, State, or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or fire fighting force in the
performance of an official duty.

3. Persons with a Special Use Permit from the Forest Service for a recreation residence on National
Forest System lands within the High Hazard Area may use a campfire or stove fire at their recreation
residence.

These prohibitions are in addition to the general prohibitions in 36 CFR Part 261, Subpart A

Done at Sonora California, this 29™ day of July, 2010.

SUSAN SKALSKI
Forest Supervisor
Stanislaus National Forest

A violation of these prohibitions is punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000.00 for an individual or
$10,000.00 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both. 16 USC 551 and 18
USC 3559, 3571 and 3581.



