
PIKE and SAN ISABEL NATIONAL FORESTS 
Pueblo, Colorado 

 
Order No. 10-10 

 
FOREST ORDER 

 
Occupancy and Use Restrictions 

 
Pursuant to 16 U.S.C. § 551, and 36 C.F.R. § 261.50(a), the following acts are prohibited in all developed 
recreation sites including campgrounds, picnic areas, and trailheads on the Leadville, Salida, San Carlos, 
Pikes Peak, South Park and South Platte Ranger Districts of the Pike and San Isabel National Forests, 
State of Colorado, hereinafter referred to as the Restricted Area.  The Restricted Area also includes the 
areas identified on the attached maps, hereby incorporated into this order as Exhibit A.  Also included in 
the Restricted Area are all recreation sites occupied under a Special Use Permit as defined in the attached 
definitions, hereby incorporated into this order as Exhibit B.  This Order is necessary to minimize adverse 
interactions between bears and humans.   
 
PROHIBITIONS: 
 
Possessing or leaving unattended any food, refuse or other wildlife attractants as defined in Exhibit 
B, unless it is: 
 

a. stored in a bear-resistant manner, or 
b. being eaten, being prepared for eating, or being transported. 36 C.F.R. § 261.58(cc) 

 
Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. § 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this order: 
 

1. Persons with a Forest Service permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or 
omission. 

 
2. Any federal, state, or local officer, or member of an organized rescue group or fire fighting  force, 

in the performance of an official duty. 
 

This order supersedes, rescinds, and replaces Order 10-07, dated June 2, 2010. 
 
This order will remain in effect for five (5) years from the date signed, unless amended or rescinded.      
 
Executed in Pueblo, Colorado, this 26th day of July, 2010. 
 

 
 
_/s/ John F. Peterson_________________________ 
JOHN F. PETERSON 
Acting Forest Supervisor 
Pike and San Isabel National Forests 
Cimarron and Comanche National Grasslands 
 
 

Violation of these prohibitions is punishable as a Class B misdemeanor by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an individual or $10,000 
for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or both.  (16 U.S.C. § 551 and 18 U.S.C. §§ 3559 and 3571). 


