
JETBOATS – CONDITIONS OF USE 

A permit is required yearlong for all non-commercial power boating on the Wild Section of the 
Main Salmon River between Corn Creek and Vinegar Creek.    

WATERCRAFT 
Possessing or operating a watercraft in violation of applicable State and Federal laws and 

regulations is prohibited.  Refer to The Handbook of Idaho Boating Laws and Responsibilities published by Idaho State Parks and 
Recreation. 

In the above described area, the following types of watercraft are prohibited yearlong:  water-skis, jet-skis, airboats, motorized 
surfboards, hovercrafts, winged hovercrafts, any power boats not equipped with a water cooled exhaust system, amphibious craft, 
mini-submarines, powerboats under eight feet in length and designed to carry a maximum of two passengers, and watercraft that must 
be straddled when ridden by the operator and /or passengers. 

PERMITS 
A signed permit is required for entry onto the Main Salmon River between Corn Creek and Vinegar Creek yearlong.  The Trip Leader 
as signature must have this permit in his or her possession, display upon the request of any Forest Officer, and is responsible for 
compliance of the group.   

Individuals must be 18 years of age to hold a permit. 

During the Control Season (June 20 – September 7), non-commercial powerboats are limited to no more than six (6) boats  on the 
Main Salmon River at one time, with a maximum length of 7 days per boat.  Permits are allocated using a reservation system based on 
a first-come, first-serve basis.  Reservations and payments are accepted beginning the 1st of June through the end of the control season 
by calling the Salmon River Ranger District, (208) 839-2211. 

There are no limits on the number of powerboats allowed during the non-control season (September 8 – June19), and the 
maximum length of stay is 10 days.  Permits are self-issued at launch site.  

Recreational rules, required equipment, and fees are the same yearlong, and follow the same guidelines as float boaters.  Recreation 
fees are $4 per person per day (including partial days), and are payable in advance during the control season through the Salmon River 
Ranger District; or during the non-control season through the use of the self-issue permit/fee tubes located at the launch sites.   

PARTY SIZE 
Maximum party size is 30 people, with no more than three boats traveling as a group, yearlong.     

CAMPING 
Maximum stay is limited to six nights/seven days during the control season (June 20 – September 7) and nine nights/ten days during 
the non-controlled season (September 8 – June 19). 

During the control season, approximately 30 campsites are available for reservation.  Numerous other campsites are available 
on a first-come, first-served basis.  Camping at these sites is prohibited without a reservation during the control season.  If you 
wish to reserve a campsite, call 208-865-2700.  Layovers are not permitted in Reserveable Sites. 

Camping within 250 yards of Barth Hot springs is prohibited yearlong. 

Leaving equipment unattended for more than 24 hours without permission from a Forest Officer is prohibited. 

Public nudity is prohibited. 

Practice “Leave No Trace” ethics.  Naturalize your campsite, pack out all garbage and debris, including micro-trash as cigarette butts, 
twist ties, dental floss, and nutshells. 

SANITATION 
All solid human waste (fecal matter) must be carried out and disposed of as required by local regulations.  All trips must be equipped 
with an approved human waste carry out system. 

Urinate in the river, not on land. 

Strain wastewater (dishwater). Dispose of food particles in trash, and disperse water above the high water line away from the camping 
area. 

Use or disposal of soap, including biodegradable soap, detergent or other pollutants in the river and tributary streams is prohibited. 



FIRE, FIREWOOD, AND FIRWORKS 
Open campfires are prohibited.  Fire pans are required yearlong to contain camp and/or cooking fires.  All ashes, charcoal and other 
fire residue must be packed out. 

Use of a chainsaw is prohibited unless authorized by either the North Fork or Salmon River District Ranger.  Only down and dead 
firewood and driftwood may be gathered. 

Possession and/or discharge of fireworks are prohibited. 
 
FIREARMS 
Discharging a firearm near or within an occupied area, such as a campsite, is prohibited.  Appropriate and safe use of firearms by all 
members of the party will be the direct responsibility of the trip leader. 

REQUIRED EQUIPMENT 
All jet boat parties must carry the same required equipment as those that are floating the Wild and Scenic Main Salmon. This list 
includes:  porta potty, shovel, bucket, mesh strainer, metal fire pan, and an ash container.  For more details on required equipment, see 
“Equipment Requirements” listed on this site.  

Violation of the terms of this permit is punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000.00 for an individual or $10,000.00 for an 
organization, or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both (16 U.S.C. 551 AND 18 U.S.C. 3559 AND 3571). 

For information contact the USDA Forest Service, Salmon River Ranger District HC01, Box 70, Whitebird, ID  83554, 
(208)839-2211; or North Fork Ranger District PO Box 180, North Fork, ID  83466, (208)865-2700. 
 
 
 


