
/s/ William E. Taylor, Jr. 

 

National Forests and Grasslands in Texas 

PROHIBITIONS 
 

FOREST SUPERVISOR ORDER NO. 08-13-00-17-01 
NO WILDLIFE BAITING AND HUNTING STAND LIMITS 

 
Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50(a) and (b), and for the protection of public health and safety and resources, the following 

acts are prohibited within the specified areas.  

 

AREAS CLOSED: This Prohibition applies to all National Forests and Grasslands in Texas.   

    

EFFECTIVE DATE:  This Closure Order is effective October 8, 2017 until October 9, 2022, or until rescinded. 

 

PROHIBITED ACTS: (1) Baiting wildlife and hunting over baited areas is prohibited.  However, this 

prohibition does not apply to the use of traps or snares for the taking of fur-

bearing and predatory animals in accordance with applicable state and federal 

law.  36 CFR 261.58(v) 

 

(2) Placing or leaving a hunting stand on the Forests or Grasslands for more 

than 72 hours is prohibited.  For the purpose of this Order, a “hunting stand” 

includes any structure or device used to elevate, camouflage or hide a person so 

that wildlife may be hunted or observed.  36 CFR 261.58(v) 

 

(3) Hunting from a hunting stand, which has been in place for more than 72 

hours, is prohibited.  36 CFR 251.58(v) 
  

Pursuant to 36 CFR § 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this Order: 

(1) Persons with a permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or omission. 

(2) Any Federal, State, or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or fire fighting 

force in the performance of an official duty.  

 

These prohibitions are in addition to the general prohibitions in 36 CFR Part 261, Subpart A. 

 

Executed in Lufkin, Texas this 8th day of October, 2017. 

 

   

_______________________________            

William E. Taylor, Jr. 

Forest Supervisor 

 National Forests and Grasslands in Texas 

2221 North Raguet Street  

Lufkin, Texas 75904 

 
 

Violation of these prohibitions is punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an individual or $10,000 for 

an organization, imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, or both. (16 U.S.C. 551 and 18 U.S.C. 3559 and 

3571). 


