Multiple Use Trail Information

Rules and Regulations - Fines range from $125 - $500

OHVs are allowed only on the designated Multiple-Use Trail System, cross-country travel is not
permitted.

Only street legal vehicles are allowed on Forest Service roads.

OHVs used on the Multiple-Use Trail System must be no wider than 50 inches.

OHVs must be equipped with an exhaust which has a spark arrestor which emits 96 decibels of
sound or less.

OHVs must have a current Texas OHV decal properly mounted on the vehicle.

OHV operators must carry a valid ID, proof of day-use payment, and if riding an ATV, proof of
ATV Operator Education Course completion.

Riders must wear approved helmet and eye protection.

Passengers are not allowed on an OHV unless it is specifically designed by the manufacturer for
multiple riders.

OHVs operated after sunset and before sunrise must be equipped with working head and tail lights.

Texas Off-Highway Vehicle Decal

To ride on public land in Texas, any vehicle used for trail riding (street legal or not) must have a
current Texas Off-Highway Vehicle Decal properly mounted on the vehicle.

A Texas OHV decal can be purchased from the Texas Parks & Wildlife Department Customer
Service Center (CSC). The CSC phone number is: 512-389-8917. Decal cost is $16 and may be
paid for with a credit card. Decals are valid from September 1 to August 31 of each year.
Additional information about the Texas OHV Program and locations to purchase decals can be
found on the web at: www.tpwd.state.tx.us/spdest/ohv/

Example decal

TEXAS OFF HIGHWAY

R

ATV Operator Education Course

To operate an ATV (three or four wheeled vehicle) on public land the Texas Law requires operators
to complete an ATV Safety Course.

Information about this program is available at Texas Department of Public Safety website:
www.txdps.state.tx.us/msb/atv.htm

To enroll in the ATV operator education course call: 800-887-2887
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