UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
GEORGE WASHINGTON AND JEFFERSON NATIONAL FORESTS

Order Number 15-08-17

OCCUPANCY AND USE OF SHERANDO LAKE RECREATION
AREA

Pursuant to the provisions of Title 36, code of Federal Regulations, Section 261.50(a)(b), the
following acts are prohibited within the Sherando Lake Recreation Area. This are includes
the following:

A. Beach Area- Includes sand and grass from swimming area to bathhouse and the
island.

B. Swimming Area- Water area enclosed by ropes and buoy markers.

C. Boating Area - Area of lake outside of swimming area.

Organized games on beach and swimming area. 36 CFR 261.58(b)
Swimming outside the hours of 6:00 am to 8:00 pm. 36 CFR 261.58(k)
Swimming beyond outer rope and buoy markers. 36 CFR 261.53(¢)
Bringing boat into the swimming area. 36 CFR 26158(k)
Bringing glass bottles and other materials to the beach area which may cause injuries.
36 CFR 261.58(b)
Being on the beach or in day use areas after dark. 36 CFR 261.58(b)
. Using gasoline propelled boats on either lake. 36 CFR 261.58(n)
8. Operating a boat if under 12 years of age, unless accompanied by an adulit.
36 CFR 261.58(n)
9. Failing to remove private boats from lake before dark. 36 CFR 261.58(p)
10.Having more than four adults in a boat at one time. 36 CFR 261.58(b)
11.Possessing any alcoholic beverages in the beach, picnic, swimming areas and in
parking lots. 36 CFR 261.58(bb)
12.Being on concrete dams or spillway risers on either lake. 36 CFR 261.58(b)
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Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this order:
(1) Persons with a permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or omission.

(2) Any Federal, State or local officer or member of an organized rescue or fire fighting
force in the performance of an official duty.



These prohibitions are in addition to the general prohibitions in 36 CFR Part 261, Subpart A.

Done at Roanoke, Virginia, this 2 ]ﬁday of (edefRen ,2017.

JOBY F.TIMM
Forest Supervisor

George Washington and Jefferson National
Forests

Violation of these prohibitions is punishable by a fine of not more than $5000 for an individual
and $10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both. 16

USC 551 and 18 USC 3559 and 3571.

This order will expire five (5) years after the date of execution.



