ORDER NO. 98-1

\@ OCCUPANCY AND USE

PACIFIC SOUTHWEST REGION

Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50(a) and (b), the following acts are prohibited on any
area, forest development road, or trail within the Pacific Southwest Region of
the Forest Service. This order is in effect June 1, 1998.

1. Possessing any bottle, can, or other receptacle containing any
alcoholic beverage which has been opened, or a seal has been broken,
or the contents of which have been partially removed, while driving,
riding in, or riding on any motor vehicle or off-highway vehicle.

36 CFR 261.58(bb) .

2. Possessing an alcoholic beverage by any person under the age of 21
years of age. This prohibition does not apply if the person is
accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, responsible adult relative,
or any other adult designated by the parent or legal guardian for the
purpose of transportation of an alcoholic beverage. If the person is
unaccompanied, this prohibition does not apply if the person was
following, in a timely manner, the reasonable instructions of his or
her parent, legal guardian, responsible adult relative, or adult
designee relating to the disposition of the alcoholic beverage. This
prohibition also does not apply if the person is employed by a
licensee under the Alccholic Beverage Control Act of California and
possession or control of the alcoholic beverage is in the course of
the person’s employment. 36 CFR 261.58(bb).

Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this order:

1. Persons with a permit specifically authorizing the otherwise
prohibited act or omission.

2. Any Federal, State, or local officer, or member of an organized rescue
or fire fighting force in the performance of an official duty.

These prohibitions are in addition to the general prohibitions in 36 CFR Part
261, Subpart A.

Executed in San Francisco, California, this22nd day of May 1998.
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Regional Forester
pPacific Southwest Region

Violation of these prohibitions is punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000
for an individual or $10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more
than six months, or both. 16 USC 551 and 18 USC 3559 and 3571.
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