Order Number: 03-0475

ORDER
STAGE I FIRE RESTRICTIONS
Cibola National Forest and Grasslands
Mt. Taylor Ranger District

Pursuant to 16 U.S.C. 551and 36 CFR § 261.50(a), the following acts are prohibited on all National Forest
System lands within the Mt Taylor Ranger District of the Cibola National Forest and Grasslands, in the counties
of Cibola, McKinley, and Sandoval, within the state of New Mexico. The restricted area is depicted on the
attached map, hereby incorporated into this Order as Exhibit A.

PROHIBITIONS:

1. Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, campfire, charcoal, coal, or wood stove, except within a
Forest Service developed recreation site or Forest Service improved site; 36 CFR § 261.52(a). The use
of petroleum-fueled stoves, lanterns or heating devices are allowed provided such devices meet the fire
underwriter’s specifications for safety.

2. Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or building, a developed recreation site, or while stopped in
an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable material; 36 CFR §

261.52(d).
EXEMPTIONS:

Pursuant to 36 CFR § 261 50(e), the following persons are exempt from this order:
1. Persons with a Forest Service permit specifically authorizing the prohibited act or omission.
2. Any federal, state or local officer or member of an organized firefighting force in the performance of an
official duty.

3. Residents, owners and lessees of land, and holders of Forest Service recreation special use
authorizations, within the restricted area are exempt from Restriction No. 1 above ONLY, provided such

fires are within a permanent structure.

This Order is necessary to protect public health and safety due to the increased fire danger.

This Order becomes effective at 8:00 AM, on May 10, 2013, and will remain in force until rescinded or until
December 31, 2013.

Done at Albuquerque, New Mexico, this C" day of May, 2013 /
i | ! /
| ~ ‘ l /j "’ j “"
JOSEPH S. NORRELL

Acting Forest Supervisor
Cibola National Forest and Grasslands

]

Violation of these regulations is punishable as a Class B misdemeanor, by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an
individual or $10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, or both; 16 USC §

551 and 18 USC §§ 3559 and 3571.
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