
                

ORDER NO. _02-423_ 

 

 

             

  

UNITED STATES FOREST SERVICE 

CARSON NATIONAL FOREST 

EMERGENCY TRAIL CLOSURES 

PROHIBITIONS 

 

Pursuant to 16 USC 551 and 36 CFR 261.50(a) and (b), the following acts are prohibited on the following trails:  

San Leonardo Trail #30, Trampas Trail #31, Santa Barbara Trail #24, Serpent Lake/Alamitos Trail #19 and 

Trail #36 at Ripley Point which access the Pecos Wilderness area within the Carson National Forest, in Rio 

Arriba and Taos Counties within the state of New Mexico.  The “restricted area” is as described in this Order 

and depicted on the attached map hereby incorporated into this Order as Exhibit A. 

 

     1.  Going into or being upon the restricted areas.  36 CFR 261.52(e) 

 

EXEMPTIONS       
 

Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this closure order: 

 

     1.  Persons with a Forest Service permit that authorizes actions specifically prohibited by this closure order. 

     2.  Persons conducting activities in those designated areas where the activity is specifically authorized by  

          written permit.           

     3.  Any Federal, State or local officer, or member of any organized rescue or fire fighting force in the  

          performance of an official duty. 

     4.  Residents in the area accessing private property via a restricted Forest Service road. 

 

PURPOSE 

 

The purpose of this Order is to provide for the public’s health and safety and to protect National Forest system 

lands, resources and facilities during the current period of severe fire danger. 

 

This order becomes effective at 8:00 a.m. June 13, 2013 and will remain in force until rescinded or until  

 

October 1, 2013, whichever occurs first. 

 

Done at _____Taos, New Mexico____, this _12_
th

__ day of   __June, 2013. 

 

 

 __/s/ Buck Sanchez_____ 
 Juan E. (Buck) Sanchez, 

 Forest Supervisor 

 Carson National Forest 

 

Violation of these regulations is punishable as a Class B misdemeanor, by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an 

individual or $10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than six (6) months or both 16 USC 

551, and 18 USC 3559 and 3571. 

 


