Snowmobiling

 

 

A line of snowmobiles travel along a snow covered forested road on a clear, blue sky day.

Snowmobiling permitted in the GMNF

 

The Green Mountain National Forest (GMNF) is in partnership with the Vermont Association of Snow Travelers (VAST) to operate and maintain the snowmobile trails in the GMNF.  These trails are part of the statewide snowmobile trail system. You may ride on trails posted open to snowmobiles.  Trail maps are available at GMNF District offices and from VAST.  Snowmobile trails open December 15th, conditions permitting, through April 15th.

 

Rules and Regulations:

Registration Requirements:

  • Your snowmobile must be legally registered in the state or province you reside in. 
  • You are also required to purchase a VAST Trails Maintenance Assessment (TMA) decal and join one of their local snowmobile clubs.  The TMA decal must be displayed next to the registration on the snowmobile.  A TMA can be purchased from a club’s membership chairperson or a local business that has been contracted to sell them for the club.  Contact VAST for TMA pricing.
  • A liability insurance policy is required for your snowmobile in Vermont.

Rider Regulations:

  • Riders must be over 16 years of age.  If under 16, you must be under direct supervision of a person 18 years of age or older. 
  • You must have in possession a valid snowmobile safety course certificate from Vermont or another state or province if you are 12 years of age or older.
  • Helmets are required when snowmobiling on the VAST trail system.
  • You must operate your snowmobile at a speed that is reasonable and prudent, taking into consideration current conditions, trail traffic and other hazards present on the trail. Vermont Law, Title 23, Chapter 29.
  • The maximum speed limit on state lands is 35 m.p.h. The use of radar on snowmobile trails is becoming a standard practice. With the use of hand held radar guns, the enforcement of speed limits that are imposed on all state lands, has increased dramatically.
  • Snowmobiles are subject to posted speed limits on public roadsopen to snow­mobile traffic.
  • Vermont has a tough Snowmobiling While Intoxicated (SWI) law. This law covers both drugs and alcohol. While you will be charged with SWI on the VAST trail system, intoxicated snowmobilers operating on a public highway will be charged with DWI. As a result of this violation, you will be assessed points and your driver’s license will be suspended.
  • A frozen lake is considered a public highwayand the maximum speed limit is 50 m.p.h.
  • If you are involved in an accident, resulting in personal injury, death or property damage in excess of $500, it is your duty to stop and report it to local authorities. You must give your name, address, registration number and the name of the owner of the snowmobile to the party whose person or property is injured. You must also file an accident report with the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles within 72 hours.

Snowmobile Requirements:

  • All sleds must have a headlight.  Colored lens covers on headlights are illegal.
  • Red rear light.
  • Windshield free from jagged or sharp edges.
  • Fully functional brake in good condition.
  • Windshields are mandatory or the operator must wear eye glasses, goggles, or a protective face shield.

Snowmobiling Areas

  • Finger Lakes - Hector District
  • Backbone Trailhead
  • Silver Lake Area Trails

Recreation Areas

Recreation Activities