About the Forest Home Page

SustainableForest History

The Arapaho National Forest was established by Theodore Roosevelt on July 1, 1908. The Roosevelt National Forest, originally part of the Medicine Bow Forest Reserve, was first named the Colorado National Forest in 1910 and was renamed by President Herbert Hoover to honor President Theodore Roosevelt in 1932. The Pawnee National Grassland was transferred to the Forest Service from the Soil Conservation Service in 1954. It was designated a national grassland in 1960.

Organization & Office Location

Forest Supervisor Monte Williams lead a team of four Staff Groups, and five Ranger Districts . The headquarters for the Arapaho and Roosevelt National Forests and Pawnee National Grassland, which is part of the Rocky Mountain Region, is located in Fort Collins, Colorado. Ranger District Offices are located in Boulder, Fort Collins, Granby, Ault and Idaho Springs.


The Rocky Mountain Research Station supports our natural-resource programs through relevant research and development of state-of-the-art management tools. The Fraser Experimental Forest is located on the Sulphur Ranger District of the forest.

Rules & Regulations

General rules for national forests and grasslands include details about camping, pets, firearms, permits and more. Also see Forest Closure Orders and Alerts and Notices.