Areas of the Sulphur Ranger District Closed Due to the Sugarloaf Fire

Contact(s): Reghan Cloudman

Due to fire operations and smoke from the Sugarloaf Fire on our Sulphur Ranger District in Grand County, the Arapaho and Roosevelt National Forests and Pawnee National Grassland has signed an area closure for a portion of National Forest System lands.

Particular areas of interest closed under this order include the Sugarloaf and South Fork Campgrounds; the Byers Peak Wilderness; Ptarmigan Pond; South Fork, Boardwalk, Ute Peak, Ute Pass, Kinney Creek, Byers Peak, Keyser Ridge, Lake Evelyn, St. Louis Lake, Williams Fork and Darling Creek trailheads; and numerous National Forest System roads and trails (see order in link below for details).

The closure order can be found online at and the map is available at

Information on the Sugarloaf Fire can be found at An information line is also available at 970-557-4276.

Please remember, there are Stage 1 Fire Restrictions in place on the Arapaho and Roosevelt National Forests. Details are available online