Due to a lapse in federal funding, this USDA website will not be actively updated. Once funding has been reestablished, online operations will continue. On-going operational updates will be posted here (https://www.fs.fed.us/shutdown) as we are able to provide them.


Rocky Mountain Region Announces New Application Time Frames

Contact(s): Lawrence Lujan, (303) 815-9902

Job seekers can begin applying for temporary jobs starting tomorrow, Sept. 19.

All jobs open and close at midnight.

DENVER, Colo., – The Rocky Mountain Region of the USDA Forest Service today announced new application time frames for over 900 temporary jobs available for the 2019 field season throughout national forests and grasslands in Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wyoming. Temporary jobs are available in a variety of exciting and rewarding occupations such as fire, trails, forestry, engineering, wildlife, recreation, fisheries, archaeology and administrative support.

Job seekers can apply for temporary jobs through USAJOBS during these times:

  • September 19 – October 18, 2018: Wildland fire jobs and other early season temporary jobs
  • September 19 – October 2, 2018: Recreation, fisheries, forestry, engineering, and other jobs

Temporary job opportunities are searchable online at www.fs.usda.gov/detail/r2/jobs. Job seekers can apply through USAJOBS during the applicable time frames at www.usajobs.gov. Temporary and permanent job opportunities can also be found online at: https://fsoutreach.gdcii.com/Outreach.

Below are resume tips and application resources to support job seekers in applying for jobs.

  • Resume Tips
  • Include all required information (e.g., name, address, previous work history with dates and hours worked per week, etc.), or use the resume builder
  • Tailor your resume to each job announcement
  • Spell out acronyms
  • Be honest
  • Write clear and concise statements
  • Use active verbs
  • Proofread your resume

Application Resources

The Forest Service is a federal agency within the U.S. Department of Agriculture that manages 193 million acres of land, roughly the size of Texas. The Rocky Mountain Region includes 17 national forests and seven national grasslands located in Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wyoming. The mission of the Forest Service is to sustain the health, diversity, and productivity of the nation’s forests and grasslands to meet the needs of present and future generations.

For questions about the virtual hiring call, accessibility, or to request an accommodation, please contact Lawrence Lujan at (303) 275-5356 or lmlujan@fs.fed.us.


USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender.