Special Places - Wilderness

"A wilderness, in contrast with those areas where man and his own works dominate the landscape, is hereby recognized as an area where the earth and community of life are untrammled by; man, where man himself is a visitor who does not remain."

From the Wilderness Act September 3, 1964

Wilderness and wild places are words that stir our souls that bring us back to America’s beginnings. In the 1960’s Congress understood their importance and acted to preserve many wild places as wilderness or wild and scenic rivers. Much of the Northern Region remains remote and wild today. Five million acres are preserved within the Wilderness System and seven rivers are part of the Wild and Scenic Rivers System.


Gospel-Hump - Nez Perce-Clearwater
Salmo-Priest - Idaho Panhandle NF
Frank Church River of No Return Wilderness - Nez Perce-Clearwater

Selway-Bitterroot - Nez Perce-Clearwater

Anaconda-Pintler Wilderness - Beaverhead-Deerlodge
Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness - Kootenai NF
Bob Marshall Wilderness - Flathead NF
Cabinet Mountains Wilderness - Kootenai NF
Gates of the Mountains Wilderness - Helena NF
Great Bear Wilderness - Flathead NF
Lee Metcalf Wilderness - Kootenai NF
Medicine Lake Wilderness (Fish & Wildlife Service)
Mission Mountain Wilderness - Flathead NF
Rattlesnake Wilderness - Lolo NF
Red Rocks Lakes Wilderness (Fish & Wildlife Service)
Scapegoat Wilderness - Lolo NF
UL Bend Wilderness (Fish & Wildlife Service)
Welcome Creek Wilderness - Lolo NF 

North Dakota
Lostwood Wilderness (Fish & Wildlife Service)
Theodore Roosevelt Wilderness (National Park Service)