Noxious Weeds - Cooperative Weed Management Areas

Contact the Forest Weed Coordinator or County Weed Supervisor for Details

Managing and controlling weeds must be a cooperative effort. There are many cooperative partnerships throughout the Region, some documented under Memorandums of Understandings, most under a Cooperative Weed Management Area (CWMA) Participative Agreement. Most efforts have many partners, including Federal Agencies, State Agencies (State Designated), County governments, Universities, Extension offices, tribes, specific interest organizations, and private parties. Listed below are Cooperative Weed Management Areas by State, including involved County partners. Our goal is to have 100% of National Forest System lands covered by a CWMA

California | Idaho | Nevada | Utah | Wyoming


Alpine - Upper Carson CWMA (Inyo County)
Lake Tahoe Basin CWMA (Washoe, Placer, El Dorado, Alpine, Douglas, Lyon and Story Counties)
Lassen County SWAT (Lassen County)
Owens Valley CWMA (Inyo and Mono Counties)
Surprise Valley CWMA (Modoc, CA and Washoe, NV Counties)


ISDA's Cooperative Weed Management Area web page

Adams CWMA (Adams County)
Boise Basin CWMA (Ada County)
Black-Snake CWMA (Bingham County)
Blaine County CWMA (Blaine County)
Boise Basin CWMA (Boise and Elmore Counties)
Camas Creek CWMA (Blaine and Camas Counties)
Continental Divide CWMA (Clark County)
Custer County CWMA (Butte and Lemhi Counties)
Frank Church River of No Return (Valley, Custer, Lemhi and Idaho Counties)
Goose Creek CWMA (Cassia County)
Henry's Fork CWMA (Fremont County)
Highland CWMA (Bear Lake, Bonneville, Caribou, Rich and Lincoln Counties)
Jordon Valley (Owyhee County)
Lemhi CWMA (Lemhi County)
Lost River CWMA (Butte County)
Lower Weiser CWMA (Washington County)
Minidoka Snake River Corridor CWMA (Minidoka County)
Northside Tri-Counties CWMA (Gooding, Jerome and Lincoln Counties)
Power County CWMA (Power County)
Raft River CWMA (Casia County)
Shoshone Basin CWMA (Twin Falls County)
Snake River Breaks CWMA (Washington County)
South Fork Boise River (Boise, Camas and Elmore Counties)
Upper Payette River CWMA (Boise, Gem and Valley Counties)
Upper Snake River CWMA (Bonneville County)
Utah-Idaho CWMA (Bannock, Box Elder, Cache, Franklin and Onieda Counties)


Alpine/Upper Carson River Watershed CWMA (Douglas and Lyons Counties)
Carson City CWMA (Carson City)
Churchill County CWMA (Churchill County)
Clark CWMA (Clark County)
Dayton County CWMA (Dayton County)
Diamond Valley CWMA (Eureka County)
Douglas County CWMA (Douglas County)
Elko County CWMA (Elko County)
Eureka County CWMA (Eureka County)
Gerlach CWMA (Pewrsing, Washoe and Humboldt Counties)
Goose Creek CWMA (Elko County)
Humboldt River Watershed CWMA (Humboldt, Elko, Eureka, White Pine, Lander, Nye, Pershing and Churchill Counties)
Lander County CWMA (Lander County)
Las Vegas Wash CWMA (Clark County)
Lincoln County CWMA (Lincoln and Nye Counties)
Long Valley/Newark Valley CWMA (White Pine and Elko Counties)
Lower Truckee CWMA (Storey and Lyon Counties)
Pershing County CWMA (Pershing County)
Raft River CWMA (Elko County)
Railroad Valley CWMA (Nye County)
Robinson/Ruth CWMA (White Pine County)
Snake Valley CWMA (White Pine County)
Southern Nye County(Nye County)
Spring Creek CWMA (Elko County)
Steptoe Valley (White Pine County)
Storey County CWMA (Storey County)
Tahoe Basin CWMA (Washoe, Placer, El Dorado, Alpine, Douglas, Lyon and Storey Counties)
Truckee Meadows Pershing County CWMA (Washoe County)
Tri-County CWMA (White Pine, Lincoln and Nye Counties)
Walker River Basin CWMA (Lyon County)
Washoe Valley CWMA (Washoe County)
West Central Lyon County (Lyon County)
White River Valley CWMA (Nye County)


Arizona Strip CWMA (Washington County)
Bear River Divide CWMA (Rich County)
Beaver CWMA (Beaver County)
Bonneville CWMA (Box Elder and Tooele Counties)
Canyon Country CWMA (Kane and Garfield Counties)
Cove Fort CWMA (Millard County)
Four Corners CWMA (San Juan County)
Four Rivers CWMA (Summit County)
Goose Creek CWMA (Box Elder County)
Green River Basin CWMA (Daggett County)
Highland CWMA (Bear Lake, Bonneville, Caribou, Rich and Lincoln Counties)
Highlands CWMA (Rich County)
Juab CWMA (Juab County)
Middle Colorado River Watershed (Grand and Uintah Counties)
Millard CWMA (Millard County)
North Ute Indian Tribe CWMA (Uintah County)
Salt Lake County CWMA (Salt Lake County)
Sanpitch CWMA (Sanpete, Sevier, Juab and Utah Counties)
Sevier - Piaute CWMA (Sevier and Paiute Counties)
Skyline CWMA (Carbon and Emery Counties)
Spanish Fork CWMA (Utah and Sanpete Counties - Organized under a CRMP)
Squarrose Knapweed CWMA (Tooele, Juab and Millard Counties)
Uintah Basin CWMA (Uintah County)
Utah County Weed Education and Management Area (Utah County)
Utah-Idaho CWMA (Bannock, Box Elder, Cache, Rich, Franklin and Onieda Counties)
Wasatch CWMA (Wasatch County)
Weber River CWMA (Weber, Box Elder and Cache Counties)
West Basin CWMA (Duchesne County)


Bear River Divide CWMA (Uinta and Lincoln Counties)
Green River CWMA (Sweetwater and Daggett Counties)
Green River Basin CWMA (Lincoln and Sublette Counties)
Highland CWMA (Bear Lake, Bonneville, Caribou, Rich and Lincoln Counties)
Jackson Hole CWMA (Teton and Park Counties and Yellowstone National Park)
Sublette CWMA (Sublette County)

For a map of these CWMAs across the Intermountain Region click here (.jpg)

For assistance in starting and running a success Cooperative Weed Management Area, please read:
"Cooperative Weed Management Area Cookbook - A Recipe for Success" pdf format (1.67 Mb)