All About the Rogue River-Siskiyou National Forest

Rogue River-Siskiyou National Forest Website

The 1.8 million acre Rogue River-Siskiyou National Forest is a place all its own. It is known for its free-flowing Wild and Scenic River (more than any Forest in the nation), its globally significant botanical values, world famous salmon and steelhead runs, unique geology, collaborative approach to forest restoration, and for addressing the social and economic needs of local communities.
The Forest spans an area from the crest of the Cascade Range nearly to the Pacific Ocean. Vegetation on the Forest varies from sub-alpine to dense coastal forests, but mostly encompasses fire-adapted mixed conifer ecosystems.

The Forest includes 8 wildernesses, 6 Wild and Scenic Rivers, and 368,000 acres of Roadless Areas. Only the Great Smokey Mountains rival the Siskiyou Mountains in plant diversity. Of the approximately 400 sensitive plant species in the region, 100 species are found in this Forest. Next to the Columbia, the Rogue Basin is the second most productive salmon and steelhead system on the west coast.

The Forest is composed of two distinct geological provinces: the Cascade Range, and the Siskiyou Mountains. The Cascade Ranges is dominated by volcanic peaks such as the 9,495-foot Mt. McLoughlin, located within Sky Lakes Wilderness on the High Cascades Ranger District.

The Siskiyou area embodies the most complex soils, geology, landscape, and plant communities in the Pacific Northwest. Geological parent rocks range in age from 200 million years old to the recent ice-age alluviums that are about 50,000 years old. The varied geological substrate and the climatic extremes of the Siskiyou Mountains provide a range of niches of genetic material. Fifteen distinct plants series, comprised of 92 plant associations and numerous endemic plants can be found in this area.

Originally named the Crater National Forest, the Forest was established by Theodore Roosevelt in 1908. In 1932 the name was changed to the Rogue River National Forest in 1932. The name Rogue River commemorates the Takelma people, whose defense of their homeland led French-Canadian trappers to call them “Les Coquins,” which means “the Rogues.” 

The Siskiyou Forest Reserve was established by Theodore Roosevelt in 1905, and the Reserve was designated a National Forest in 1907. The name Siskiyou is a Cree work for bob-tailed horse. 

The Forests combined in 2004 to become the Rogue River-Siskiyou National Forest.

1.4 million acres
340,000 acres of wilderness
368,000 acres of roadless
208 developed  recreation sites
205 miles of wild and scenic rivers
200+ special use permits
  • Your Fees At Work

    A placeholder image

    See what was accomplished this last year on the Rogue River-Siskiyou National Forest thanks to recreation fees.