2017 Eastern Region & Northeastern Area Honor Awards

Kathleen Atkinson delivers opening remarks at the Honor Awards


Employees and partners from across the Eastern Region and Northeastern Area gathered last week for the annual Honor Awards program. Held in the Regional Office in Milwaukee, and at Forest Service units across the east, the Honor Awards recognize those that exemplify the core Forest Service value of “Caring for the Land & Serving People.” The Eastern Region/Northeastern Area Leadership Team gathered in Milwaukee to meet with employees, speak with honorees, and celebrate partners both in person and virtually through video conferencing.

The Forest Service recognizes excellence in five categories which address critical elements of an effective Volunteers & Service Program. Candidates for the Honor Awards include Forest Service employees or units, volunteers, groups or partnerships and conservation crews or other service participants such as interns or resource assistants involved in the delivery of the Volunteers & Service program. This year’s awardees are below.


Category 1: Sustaining Our Nation’s Forests & Grasslands

Sharp-tailed Grouse Restoration Project (Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest)

Team members represent: Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest, Northern Research Station, Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, Wisconsin Sharp-tailed Grouse Society, The Nature Conservancy, Minnesota Sharp-tailed Grouse Society, Regional Office, and Volunteer – retired U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service


New York Southern Pine Beetle Program (Northeastern Area)

Team members represent: Northeastern Area, Southern Research Station, Region 8, Brookhaven National Lab, National Park Service, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, NY State Dept. of Environmental Conservation, Central Pine Barrens Commission, New York State Parks, Dartmouth College, University of Vermont


Honorable Mentions:

Enriching the Sustainability of Early Succession Habitat (Hoosier National Forest)

Team members represent: Hoosier National Forest, National Wild Turkey Federation, Indiana Department of Natural Resources, Northern Research Station, and Purdue University  


A Landscape Approach to Non-native Invasive Species Control Program; Partnership of the Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe and the Chippewa National Forester (Chippewa National Forest)

Team members represent: Chippewa National Forest, Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe


Category 2: Delivering Benefits to the American People

Brandon Gap Backcountry Access Project (Green Mountain & Finger Lakes National Forests)

Team members represent: Green Mountain & Finger Lakes National Forests, Catamount Trail Association, Vermont Backcountry Alliance, Sustainable Trailworks, Dartmouth College, Rochester Area Sports Trail Alliance, Volunteer, Rochester Selectboard Chair, Rochester Selectboard Chair, State of Vermont, Commissioner of Vermont Forests, Parks, and Recreation, Vermont Search and Rescue Coordinator, Mad River Glen Woods, Vermont Huts Association


Urban Forest Strike Team Partnership (Northeastern Area and Southern Research Station)

Team members represent: Northeastern Area, Southern Research Station and Southern Research Station


Massachusetts Tree Wardens and Foresters Association, State Urban & Community Forestry Program Staff, UFST Team Leaders/ Trainers/Advisory Committee

Team members represent: Massachusetts Tree Wardens and Foresters Association, Michigan Dept. of Natural Resources, Ohio Dept. of Natural Resources, Illinois Dept. of Natural Resources, Massachusetts Dept. of Environmental Conservation, MTWFA Board and Army Corp of Engineers (retired), Virginia Department of Forestry, City of Tampa Parks and Recreation Dept.


Honorable Mentions:

Jakes Rocks Mountain Bike Trail Project (Allegheny National Forest)

Team members represent: Warren County Chamber of Business and Industry, Pennsylvania Kinzua Pathways, Northern Allegheny Mountain Biking Association, Allegheny National Forest, Idaho Panhandle National Forest, Wayne National Forest


"City of Trees" Documentary Film (Meridian Hill Pictures, Washington Parks and People, DC, Dept of Transportation, Northeastern Area, Washington Office’s State and Private Forestry)

Team members represent:  Northeastern Area, Washington Parks and People, Meridian Hill Picture, DC-DDOT-Urban Forestry Administration, Urban and Community Forestry, WO, Urban and Community Forestry, MFO


Category 3: Apply Knowledge Globally

Long-Term Benefits of Research in the Northwoods: A Partnership with Northern Research Station and the Chippewa National Forest (Chippewa National Forest and Northern Research Station)

Team members represent: Northern Research Station, Chippewa National Forest, Region 5, Midewin Prairie Supervisor, and Region 1


Honorable Mention:

Monongahela National Forest Ecosystem Service Mapping Pilot (Ecosystem Service Economics Team)

Team members represent: WO-Research and Development, Monongahela National Forest, and Northern Research Station


Category 4: Excel as a High Performing Agency

*Inclusivity Initiative: Deaf Culture Awareness (Green Mountain & Finger Lakes National Forests)

Team members represent: Vermont Youth Conservation Corps, Lexington School for the Deaf, Green Mountain and Finger Lakes National Forest, Regional Office, Horace Mann School for the Deaf,

  • *Chief’s Award Winner


Honorable Mention:

Hoosier National Forest: Career Gateways for Youth Engagement and Diverse Employment (Hoosier National Forest)

Team members represent: Hoosier National Forest


Wisconsin Good Neighbor Authority Timber Production (Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest)

Team members represent: Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources


Category 5: Volunteerism and Service

Trailhead Steward Program (White Mountain National Forest)

Team members represent: White Mountain National Forest and Trailhead Steward Volunteer


Honorable Mentions:

Preservation Partnership Linking Monongahela National Forest, HistoriCorps, and Appalachian Forest Heritage Area (Monongahela National Forest Heritage Partnerships)

Team members represent: Monongahela National Forest Heritage Partnerships, Appalachian Forest Heritage Area, Vetworks, HistoriCorps, Appalachian Forest Heritage Area- Hands On Team, Americorps Crew Member


Charles C. Dean Wilderness (CCDW) Cultural Resource Survey (Hoosier National Forest)

Team members represent: Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Indiana University Bloomington, Ball State, Earlham College, and the Hoosier National Forest


Congratulations to all of the winners!


Back to top