No permit or fee is required for quantities less than one gallon. If collecting more than a gallon - even if only for personal use - a permit is required.
Up to six (6) matsutake mushrooms can be collected per day for incidental/non-commercial use. All matsutake mushrooms collected under incidental use must be cut in half length-wise immediately after picking to remove their commercial value.
Mushrooms gathered under incidental harvest are for personal use only. Selling or exchanging mushrooms gathered incidentally is a violation of Federal Regulations (Title 36 CFR 261.6F), punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000 or imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or both.
Permits are required. Quantities under this permit are unlimited (this does not include matsutake mushrooms, see below). Each person picking mushrooms commercially must have a valid permit and must be at least 18 years of age. The permit will list other specific terms and conditions that apply to picking mushrooms. (Information on getting a permit)
Only the following edible mushrooms are included in this commercial use permit: Chanterelles, Boletus, Oyster, Sulfer Shelf Fungus, Slipper Jack, Imperial, Hedgehog, Shaggy Mane, Lobster, Cauliflower, Pigs Ear, and Coral Fungus.
Permits are available for 10 consecutive days for $20 or $100 annually. There is no limit to the number of permits a person may purchase during the year.
Permits are required. Quantities under this permit are unlimited. Anyone gathering matsutake mushrooms within the Siuslaw National Forest for the purpose of selling must carry a commercial-use permit while picking. Each person picking mushrooms commercially must have a valid permit and must be at least 18 years of age. The permit will list other specific terms and conditions that apply to picking matsutake mushrooms.
Annual permits for matsutake mushrooms go on sale from 9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 16, 2016, at the Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area (NRA) office, 855 Hwy. 101, in Reedsport. One hundred permits will be available for sale at $250 a permit. One permit per person. Permits will be sold on a first come, first served basis. Contact the Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area office, for further information about commercial matsutake.
How Do I Get A Permit?
Commercial mushroom permits are available throughout the year and are required when more than one gallon of mushroom is harvested. (If collecting less than one gallon, see information on incidental use.) Purchase the permit from the District office where you plan to harvest or the Supervisors Office in Corvallis.
To purchase a permit, the following information must be provided:
- Valid identification card issued by a state or U.S. federal government
- Vehicle make, model and license plate number
- Permits can be purchased using cash, check or credit card.
Details on Special Forest Products permits and regulations