North Umpqua Hydroelectric Project

Background Information

The North Umpqua Hydroelectric project, is located in South-central Oregon on the west side of the Cascade Mountain range in Douglas County, approximately 60 miles east of Roseburg. (Map - 483 KB PDF) The Project, owned and operated by PacifiCorp, is located on the North Umpqua River. PacifiCorp’s project facilities include eight hydroelectric developments with a total capacity of 194 megawatts, constructed between 1947 and 1956. Each development typically consists of a dam, waterway, penstock, and powerhouse. There are 21 miles of canals, 9.8 miles of flumes, and 5.8 miles of penstocks and tunnels, for a total waterway length of 37.3 miles and also includes 117.5 miles of transmission line service which connects it to the power grid.

Several major reservoirs (Soda Springs, Lemolo, Stump, and Toketee) and five forebays (Clearwater No. 1 & 2, Lemolo No. 1 & 2, and Fish Creek) provide water storage. The Project is located primarily on lands administered by the Forest Service and BLM. All hydroelectric generation facilities, as well as the eastern portions of several major transmission lines, are located on National Forest System lands administered by the Forest Service. The western portions of the transmission lines, from the Umpqua National Forest west to the town of Glide, are located on a patchwork of private and BLM-administered public lands.

Federal Mitigation Fund

The North Umpqua Hydroelectric Project license was finalized by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission on October 17, 2005, initiating a schedule of items in the North Umpqua Hydroelectric Project Settlement Agreement (SA) requiring all administrative and judicial appeals relating to the new license to have been resolved prior to implementation. One of these items was the Federal Mitigation Fund, as provided in the SA Section (§) 19.3 (

SA §19.3 requires PacifiCorp to deposit funds into an interest bearing escrow account at intervals beginning in January 2004: annually $250,000; and $1 million dollars in periodic installments beginning in 2004, and on the 2nd (2006), 7th (2011), 10th (2014), 13th (2017), 16th (2020), 19th (2023), and 22nd (2026) anniversaries of this first payment. These funds shall be administered at the sole discretion of the Forest Service.