Scenic Byways

Open grassy meadow with snow capped mountains in background


What is a Scenic Byway?

The Wallowa-Whitman National Forest has 4 major scenic byways with State, National or All-American Road designations.  These routes have been selected to enhance their "intrinsic qualities" such as natural, scenic, historical, cultural, recreational or archeological.


As designated byways they are now managed as scenic routes that serve to attract in-state and out-of-state travelers, and enhance local communities.

The Federal Highway Administration's goal in recognizing National Scenic Byways or All-American Roads is to create a unique travel experience and enhance the local quality of life through efforts to protect, interpret, and promote the intrinsic qualities of designated byways. To be designated a National Scenic Byway, a road must possess characteristics of regional significance within at least one of the above mentioned intrinsic qualities. All-American Roads must possess characteristics of national significance in at least two of the intrinsic qualities. In Oregon, state scenic byways include outstanding scenic roads that would accomodate most travelers, and tour routes include all other routes with unique features yet may have some form of limited drivability. 

Wallowa-Whitman National Forest Scenic Byways

Hells Canyon All-American Road Scenic Byway

Elkhorn Drive Scenic Byway

Journey Through Time Scenic Byway

Grande Ronde Tour Route

More Information

More information about the state scenic byways in Oregon can be found at visit the Oregon Department of Transportation, or the national scenic byway program at National Scenic Byway Program.